We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Milk & Honey Tours

#134 of 665 Tours in Berlin
Berlin, Germany
More
About Milk & Honey Tours
Milk & Honey Tours is a Berlin-based tour company that offers tours in over 50 European cities. We offer specialized tours of Jewish Europe as well as a wide range of historical tours, art and architectural tours and other special programs. Discover Europe with our expert guides in Berlin, Budapest, Vienna, Prague, St. Petersburg, Istanbul and many other destinations.
Travelers talk about
94Reviews5Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 83
  • 2
  • 0
  • 4
  • 5
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ElleRo777 wrote a review May 2020
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida23 contributions3 helpful votes
After researching before the trip in autumn 2019 I went with Milk & Honey to gain the historical sites from a Jewish perspective. Several days were long days but most sites researched were visited. The tours are pricey for solo traveling; and with anything the experience is either over or under expectations due to private guides involved. There were a couple of issues with timing in that sites were closed on a specific day and the route taken caused one museum in the Bohemia area to be closed before we arrived. My thoughts were the day probably should have had that site first. For other closures i think this should have been known in advance as well. That being said, Milk & Honey took much time and care in making it right in terms of money. But making it right for another trip to those areas might not happen again due to my own personal time. The guide in Vienna was fun, knowledgeable, aimed to please and seemed more like a good friend. The driver in Vienna was courteous, prompt and also a great driver. In Prague area, Jirina was the guide and Emil was the driver. Jirina was the best! So much history, anecdotes, courtesy and also did everything to please. She pointed out some of the best places for great views in some of the places visited. It is always nice when a guide presents a parting gift; i was so appreciative of a booklet on the place we had visited. The other guide was courteous and pleasant but seemed very distracted; was left in one place to view a film without a translator as it was in Czech. Much of the tour on this day i probably could have done on my own based on the experience. It was good though to have companionship of another person. The driver was extremely courteous and thoughtful (same driver for both days). Overall I think that the experience was good but it did vary according to the guide. Timing for the routes and visits into museums or sites could have been better planned so I could see the specific sites I requested when booking. Overall the customer service was excellent when contacted about the above issues. If they ever reopen for business I would probably book again since know more about expectations, etc. I do have great photos that i will post at another time; not handy at the moment.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Richard V wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Milk & Honey went out of Business 3/10/2020 and we have lost over $5000 . They do not answer phone and the link to their insurance company is in German
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jennifer F wrote a review Jan 2020
Miami Beach, Florida2 contributions
We were so excited to take this tour, but somehow, inexplicably, the tour guide went to a different hotel to pick us up. I had sent the correct information AND a picture of the hotel address. Who knows why the tour guide went to a different place. We waited 30 minutes, called their hot line (in which a machine answers, not a real person) and decided to leave the hotel to see the sights on our own, since the day light is short this time of year. It was so disappointing and upsetting. We never book tours, but we really wanted to maximize seeing Prague’s jewish sites and better understand their history. This tour company completely destroyed our Jewish Prague experience with their carelessness and lack of attention to details. If they can’t even get the pick up address correct, what can you expect from the rest of their service?
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from NoaRenrel, Owner at Milk & Honey Tours
Responded Jan 8, 2020
Dear Jennifer Flasz, You are absolutely right. It is unacceptable that our guide mixed up the hotel, and our hotline that is usually a 24/7 service for our clients was for some reason not functioning. Things like this happen once in 2-3 years, and we are very sorry that this had to happen on the day of your tour. We did, however, apologize to you many times; as we always strive to find a perfect solution and do the best we can towards clients` satisfaction. The guide was ready to meet you, and extend the tour, but you refused. We tried to find a compromise and make sure that you do not miss out on anything in Prague, unfortunately you were not open for conversation. Quite the contrary, you yelled at several people in our company, and instead of being patient for few minutes and providing us the information of your whereabouts, you chose not to take the tour. Once we realized that you would rather go that way, we promised to fully reimburse you. We have initiated a refund to your credit card as soon as you provided us the necessary information. You could have had an amazing experience and a wonderful tour in Prague, but you chose not to.
Read more
dzfnyc wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
My family and several close friends have benefited from Milk & Honey's impeccable combination of deep appreciation for Jewish culture, religion and heritage and their unerring instinct for quality accommodations, dining options and site selection over the past 15 years. We turn to them for our own travel plans and recommend them to friends- all of whom have been very impressed with the comfort, style and content of what Milk & Honey offered.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
OwlsAerie2019 wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
This tour was advertised as: "Jewish Zagreb 3 hour walking tour ...Take a walk through ages, starting at 11th century foundation of Zagreb, over to the 14th century and the first arrival of Jews to the city, through the golden years of late 19th and early 20th century, when Zagreb developed rapidly, with Jewish community reaching its peak - just before almost completely perishing in the Shoah. Our tour includes visits to all the landmarks and sites of Zagreb, with detailed insight into history of Jews in Croatia and surrounding areas, and the revival of Jewish life today. Visit the Jewish community and Synagogue, Mirogoj cemetery, Jewish school in Zagreb, and Judaica collection at the Museum of Arts and Crafts. See the site of the former Synagogue and various examples of Jewish architecture." 360EUR for 6 people. Our guide was pleasant and very knowledgeable, however, NO jewish community and Synagogue visit, NO Jewish school in Zagreb, NO visit to the Museum of Arts and Crafts. The site of the former Synagogue consisted of a plaque in a parking lot. We walked quite a bit and had to pay for our own city bus transportation to the cemetery. The cemetery visit was very informative. This was, by far, the most expensive 3 hour tour our group has ever taken that excluded transportation.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from NoaRenrel, Owner at Milk & Honey Tours
Responded Nov 13, 2019
Dear client, we are very sorry that the tour in Zagreb did not meet your expectations. As you said our guides in Zagreb are very knowledgeable and we work with them very successful for years now. Highly qualified, members of the Jewish community, they are specialised in telling the story of their history and introducing our guests to the current situation. Though, we were not informed ahead that the Jewish institutions were closed for visitors due to security restrictions and this is a mistake in our communication structure, which we deeply apologize for. As you might imagine, the recent events are causing a lot of security issues and the situation in the small communities is changing daily It is very hard for us to keep track of it, and our local teams are sometimes overwhelmed by the developments as well. We are fully responsible for the mistake, and we would like to make up for this. Please contact us by email! Thank you very much, and again, we are really sorry!
Read more
Previous
Recommended experiences in and around Berlin
from $12.06
More Info
from $19.29
More Info
from $22.91
More Info
from $3.62
More Info