La Serviette Blanche

La Serviette Blanche, Cannes: Hours, Address, La Serviette Blanche Reviews: 5/5

La Serviette Blanche
5
9:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 11:00 PM
About
La Serviette Blanche offers a selection of fun culinary activities like COOKING CLASSES, Cheese & wine tasting, foodie workshops, Private dining Restaurant & Gourmet picnics. The Hands-On Cooking classes with professionally trained chef Eliane, include shopping at the local market and lunch in La Serviette Blanche's private diningroom. A great way to discover the culinary delights of Southern France. Classes are in English. Experience Cote d'Azur living and come join us for a delicious 3-course gourmet meal in our stylish diningroom/supper club located in a private apartment in the heart of Cannes. A nice place for travelers and locals to meet new people and share good food. Supper clubs/pop-up restaurants are about bringing people together in an intimate dining environment, pleasant conversation and laughter over great food. It's casual and unpretentious with a nice Cote d'Azur ambience. All meals are prepared only with fresh seasonal ingredients.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

5.0
100 reviews
Excellent
89
Very good
7
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
1

robinkS5442OM
baltimore, United States15 contributions
May 2019 • Friends
On a recent visit to France, my Mom and I decided to go on a food tour. La serviette blanche offers cooking classes too. But, we chose the tour since it was market day at the Marché Forville food market. Our first stop was a bread shop. We tried one topped with caramelized onions and anchovies, spice cake, tall rum cakes, and a cake of brioche and pastry cream made famous by Bridget Bardot called Tarte Tropezienne. They were all so delicious!
Elaine Muskus is the Chef de Cuisine at la serviette blanche. She personally conducted our tour. Although no one else signed up for our tour (& it was lightly raining) she did not cancel our day. She is very friendly and generous. Our first French friend. Eliane made us feel welcome and we were lucky to have her knowledge and expertise to answer our culinary and cultural questions.
The Marché Forville food market was a delight for the senses. She knew many of the vendors. We were able to taste so many wonderful samples. Then we stopped for a beverage at a place where the French locals like to go. Our last stop was a meat shop where we met a delightful proprietor. We were treated to a lovely platter of duck sausages & meats with a gorgeous salad in the center. Our day was very enjoyable and the conversation came so easy.
My Mom and I had such a wonderful introduction to France, the generous nature of the locals, and it’s cuisine thanks to Chef Eliane. These souvenirs are the most precious.
Written June 29, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

GailP55
Gold Coast1 contribution
Sep 2018 • Friends
We were a group of 5 women celebrating a milestone birthday for one of us in Cannes. We wanted to do a cooking class. It had been suggested we use La Serviette Blanche by a local. We were not disappointed. Eliane made us all feel so welcome and gave so much of her time and she was a mine of information. Nothing was too much trouble. The class was in the centre of Cannes and in Elaine’s apartment. It was a small kitchen but as Eliane says most top chefs learn to use space very wisely so it is good practice. We chose to cook a Mediterranean meal which was quite simple yet with complex tastes. Most of the work was done by us with Eliane on the sideline giving us the tips. It was quite a long session but maybe that was because we could not stop asking questions about everything. Of course we all liked it when we sat down and ate our culinary efforts and with a couple of bottles of Rose and Eliane continued to give of her time way over what her time schedule indicated. There was ample food so we were able to take the remainder home. We were there from 11am until about 4.30. Of course bring your camera. The only negative I would say is that it was a little hot in the room maybe a small fan in the corner would do the trick. Otherwise we highly recommend La Serviette Blanche and I can’t wait to start cooking when I arrive home! Thank you Eliane for a wonderful experience. Gail Pollard
Written October 2, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased to read that you all have enjoyed your cooking class with us. Great group with excellent cooking skills. It has been a pleasure to sharing the love for good food, wine and lots of great stories with you. Looking forward to welcome you again next time you visit the area. Thank you. Kind regards, Chef Eliane
Written October 7, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

sailgirl
Rotterdam, The Netherlands189 contributions
Aug 2018 • Couples
As a special treat for my daughter-in-law's 40th birthday, my husband and I wanted to surprise her with a private catered dinner, prepared at the vacation villa she and my son had rented for the week, in the hills above Cannes. I am so very happy to have found La Serviette Blanche, Eliane arranged everything perfectly and to our specifications. She was very quick to respond and incredibly patient and kind during the days of back-and-forth over menu and other arrangements. Having told her that the couple speak little French and also would have their two bubbly little ones in house - ages 5 and 3 - who they would TRY to have in bed before the chef arrived, Eliane paired them up with the very kind and charming chef Axel who is not only a skilled chef but also a very nice guy. He and his wife prepared a fabulous 5-course meal within the confines of a small and only basically equipped kitchen, and served it with style and panache. There was enough food to stock the refrigerator with leftovers for the next day, and the kitchen was left spotlessly clean. For a couple with two lively little children, it was the ultimate luxury to tuck the kids into bed and then slip out onto the candle lit terrace to be served gourmet food and excellent wines under the stars, to be waited on and tended to in a friendly but professional manner. They were so pleased, and so happy with the chef and his wife, they all 4 sat down together at evening's end to polish off the bottle of good champagne.

Suffice it to say, this was a spectacular success, perfectly planned and executed, and will go down in the family history as "the best birthday gift ever". Thank you Eliane, and thank you chef Axel! Hope we have the opportunity to do something like this again!
Written September 10, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with our private chef services. It's been a pleasure to organizing and hosting your special dinner event. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed both the 5-course menu and our chef who prepared this special dinner for you. On behalf of all of us, thank you and hope to cook for you again next time you visit Cannes. Kind regards, Chef Eliane
Written October 7, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Adam G
3 contributions
Sep 2018 • Friends
The place is a small private apartment in the center of Canne. We were 5 people for private cooking class of 4 hours. The kitchen is very small with old and disfunctinal equipment. Only 3 small bottle of mineral water were served. This was very hot but the chef said that she does not like venting and air condition is not allowed. We had 3 cours in the plan the first was nice soup but it was the last one to be nice. The chicken dish was mediocre at best and the souflet collapsed.
The chef complained that she have a back pain and that supply does not arrive on Monday, the day was Tuesday.
I will not recommend this place to my hatters.
Written September 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you have not enjoyed the cooking class experience. I would like to take the opportunity to mention the facts based on what you wrote. Upon arrival you asked about airconditioning and I explained that the owner of the building does not allow built-in airconditioning because of its historic status. It's surprising to read that the chicken dish was mediocre, a classical French dish that you cooked yourself under the chef's supervision/instructions. You claim that the chicken dish was mediocre so how come did all of you finish your plates and even went for second servings? There was no food left and you all raved about the dish, especially the sauce and the tenderness of the chicken. We serve wine in all our cooking classes, including yours. You drank two bottles of excellent wine from the Loire and you also drank all the sparkling water cans we had left. Unfortunately we did not have a large selection of wine that day because, as I mentioned, delivery did not take place. I had just returned from a two week business trip the day before and on Monday's all wine suppliers are closed and even if I would have ordered on Tuesday, which I did, they do not deliver the same day. In order to have a successful cooking class, participants are expected to follow instructions from the chef to avoid any mishaps like the collapse of the soufflé. When participants do not wait for the chef's instructions and are talking among each other and adding ingredients to a dish or not applying the correct techniques, chances are the dish will not come out correctly. . In the confirmation email as well as on the website it clearly specifies that the cooking classes are held in the chef's own home kitchen on the 2nd floor of an apartment building. For Cannes standards, 85 square meters for an apartment is not considered small. Thank you. E. Muskus
Written September 8, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Amanda D
1 contribution
Jun 2018 • Family
We took the Mediterranean Appetizer Cooking Class and were disappointed with it on many levels. The class itself was very lackluster. We did little more than cut a few vegetables and cheese and put them on sticks while a chef did all the frying/baking/etc. The kitchen definitely isn't big enough to accommodate a class looking to actually cook their food- it's just a regular apartment kitchen. The wine was fantastic, the food tasted good, the host was very welcoming and interesting, but for 85 euro per person I expected to actually cook.

From a customer service level, we were also very disappointed. We were a large group of 8 people. When we booked we were told that we would be the only people in the class since the class is normally capped at 6 people. When one member of our group was not able to make the trip due to a medical emergency, we were refused a refund for their spot one week ahead of time. So, our group of 7 people paid the price of 8 people. To make it worse, when we showed up for our class there were two additional people attending. So in the end, there were 9 people in a class for 6, and they were able to collect the money for 10. It was very crowded, and we felt cheated.

While I did not feel like this class was a good value and was annoyed at the size of the class and how our situation was handled, we did have a good time. I would recommend it for a small group with little cooking experience.
Written July 13, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn that you had a different expectation of the class because all of our culinary activities are explained in detail on our website. In fact we were quite surprised to read your experience as it is the exact opposite of what you told us after the class. You told us that you all truly enjoyed the class. You booked the French Appetizer class which is not a complex class compared to our regular cooking classes where you get to prepare an entire menu and doing a lot of cooking. The Appetizer class is designed especially for those who like to entertain and learn how to make delicious relatively easy finger food without needing to stand in the kitchen for hours. The class did not consist of cutting a few vegetables and putting cheese on a stick only. There were 4 appetizers that you made including a tomato tart made from scratch. On the website and on your confirmation email it clearly mentions that the cooking classes are held in the chef's home kitchen. For €85 p.p. you had 3 bottles of expensive wine, 2 professional chefs and 4 appetizers to prepare using fresh market ingredients. For Cote d'Azur standards, €85 is not considered expensive for all that you get. We also served a charcuterie board as a Sunday special which is not included in the price of the cooking class nor is it commonly served in this class. The food was obviously enjoyed by all because there was nothing left. You did not request nor have you paid for a private class which gives us the right to fill up the remaining spaces. As per your request, we also adjusted the time of your class from 12.00 noon to 11.00 am on Sunday's when we are officially closed. When a client cancels a booking "last minute", the supplier does not refund. This applies to hotels, airlines and tour companies around the world. This can be found under our Terms & Conditions and cancellation policy. It is therefore always advisable for travelers to take a travel insurance that covers cancellations. Thank you. E. Muskus
Written September 8, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

idoltraveller
Los Angeles, CA187 contributions
Jun 2018 • Couples
This was a nine stop food tour that we really enjoyed. Fresh baguettes began the trip, as did many tips about French food and Cannes. Since Cannes is not known for its own particular cuisine, we were guided to the many different types of foods that have come here from different places. Plus, of course, we ate snails. Well worth it. There was no rush to finish, just to make sure that we saw and ate everything that we came for.
Written June 21, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the Food Tour. It's been a pleasure to have shared the various delicious French & Mediterranean specialties with you during this flavorful tour. Thank you. Kind regards, Chef Eliane
Written October 7, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

kshawn88
Saint Paul, MN1 contribution
Jun 2018 • Solo
I spent a lovely afternoon in Eliane's kitchen today, it was my favorite activity during my time in Cannes. The French Appetizers course allows you to learn how to make simple yet delicious French food, and because Chef Eliane was sure to let the participants do the actual cooking (this is not a show-and-tell kind of cooking class but a hands-on cooking class), I feel that I can truly make the recipes now at home. Great food and great company. Thank you, Eliane!
Written June 7, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your cooking class. It's been a pleasure to have shared our passion for delicious food, wine and fun stories with you. We hope to see you back next time you visit Cannes. Thank you. Kind regards, Chef Eliane
Written October 7, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

kapntravel
kansas159 contributions
Apr 2018 • Couples
Elaine was so kind and welcoming from the moment we met her. Not only did we enjoy cooking and eating, but her stories and hospitality were great. We will definitely recreate the recipes at home. If you have time while in Cannes and enjoy food, we recommend La Serviette Blanche!
Written May 22, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JJJG2013
Reigate, UK137 contributions
May 2018 • Friends
A delightful morning spent in the local market, understanding the foods and a little about Cannes as well. Followed by time for our party of three to help Jean Marc to produce three lovely dishes.
Written May 14, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kent S
New York City, NY34 contributions
May 2018 • Couples
My girlfriend and I took the Mediterranean Appetizer class and had a fantastic time. I’ve done things like this many times before but this experience really stood out. Elaine was lovely and Jean-Marc was a fantastic chef. We had a great time, learned a lot, and will certainly be putting our new recipes to work back home.

Thanks so much!
Written May 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 94
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing