We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
right in middle of town

we didn't do the museum, just walked around the outsides, on the walls. Nice as right in the middle... read more

Reviewed July 12, 2016
Kristell L
Well worth a visit!

We rented bicycles from Nantes and rode the ~1 hour out of town (Rent from Metropole a velo rather... read more

Reviewed September 12, 2015
Michael W
,
Cookeville, Tennessee
Read all 188 reviews
119
All photos (119)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good45%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Jun 8, 2017
“Visiting the Goulaines.”
Nov 15, 2016
“Historic day out”
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
69°
51°
Sep
60°
46°
Oct
51°
40°
Nov
Contact
East of Haut-Goulaine, Nantes, France
Website
+33 2 40 54 91 42
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Nantes
from $29.70
More Info
from $17.20
More Info
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
6
5
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
6
5
3
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 16 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2017

Yes, it was much more than tourism. In fact it wasn't tourism at all. It beguns as a visit to the first of 4 chateaux foreseen for the afternoon. Luckily, it became the only one! Are you confuse? I explain. The castle was closed that...More

2  Thank EduAlv
Christophe d, Propriétaire at Chateau de Goulaine, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Thank you so much , and such a pleasure to recieve you as special visitors , you were so friendly that I wanted to keep you inside the the château instead of outside ! I hope you enjoyed visiting our region . I allways remember...More

Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful french style castle integrated in the city. The gardens are lovely and well cared, as well as the inside which you can visit buying an extra ticket!

Thank KatieDiaz
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Not much of this small to medium chateau was available to see and what there was, was fairly interesting. The LU biscuit museum was worth a visit for the artwork on display but the gardens and large empty courtyard and buildings were disappointing.

Thank Simon P
Reviewed July 12, 2016

we didn't do the museum, just walked around the outsides, on the walls. Nice as right in the middle of the town!

Thank Kristell L
Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

Very disappointing, after driving a long way the château wasn't even open despite supposedly opening at 2pm was still closed at 2:45. Call before you go to avoid disappointment.More

Thank HETanner
Christophe d, Gérant at Chateau de Goulaine, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015

We are sorry if you did a long way to visit us , to make sure we are open please check our web site, the openning hours are easy to read , if you do send us a mail we will answer , or please...More

Reviewed September 12, 2015

We rented bicycles from Nantes and rode the ~1 hour out of town (Rent from Metropole a velo rather than the Bicloo because it will be cheaper in the long run). The ride was extremely flat and easy as well as beautiful as it meandered...More

3  Thank Michael W
Christophe d, Gérant at Chateau de Goulaine, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2015

Thank you for visiting us , it's a great idea to use the bicycle from Nantes ! It was nice meeting you.

Reviewed August 25, 2015

gorgeous architecture, on warm days, it's nice to sit down by the moat in the sun quaffing crisp, cold, white wine whilst reading a good book

1  Thank Philip N
Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

On the outside the chateau looks promising but the inside is very disappointing. The guide was finishing a tour when we arrived and we expected to be next ones for the tour but she left quickly, never to return. So we explored the 4 rooms...More

1  Thank Paul S
Reviewed July 28, 2015

Within a 10 minute walk from the train station is this gorgeous chateau. It is free admission unless you want to see objects of art which comes with an admission fee. You get to experience visiting a chateau right in the city, that has been...More

1  Thank Meisterporsche
Reviewed June 25, 2015 via mobile

We didn't go in as we were late arriving and the place was closed. However we did walk the grounds and took some photos, we also had a game of frisbee with the kids. Look closely at the most, it is full of wildlife, the...More

2  Thank Peter P
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 106 hotels in Nantes
Hotel de la Louee
55 reviews
2.24 miles away
Hotel Restaurant de la Haute Foret
49 reviews
3.84 miles away
Campanile Nantes Est - Saint Sebastien Sur Loire
64 reviews
3.95 miles away
B&B Hotel Nantes Reze Saint-Sebastien
44 reviews
3.98 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,519 restaurants in Nantes
Manoir de la Boulaie
327 reviews
1.54 miles away
Chez Pipette
241 reviews
1.73 miles away
Restaurant Jean D'la Queue
471 reviews
1.75 miles away
Restaurant du Pont
186 reviews
3.49 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 245 attractions in Nantes
Cine Pole Sud
20 reviews
3.54 miles away
Nantes Wine Tour
22 reviews
3.58 miles away
SKYWAY Simulation
104 reviews
3.88 miles away
Ruban Vert
39 reviews
4.43 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chateau de Goulaine staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines