We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

E Ragnole Plongee

Features Animals
Ajaccio, France
More
About E Ragnole Plongee
Dive center located in Ajaccio (Corsica - France). CMAS & PADI Center. You can dive with us everyday to discover our beautiful dive spots. You never dive : no problem, you will make your first dive alone with your instructor. If you need, we can pride you all equipments. We accept all divers since 8 years old.
Read more
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travelers talk about

E Ragnole Plongee
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
232Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 194
  • 27
  • 6
  • 1
  • 4
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
tcut wrote a review Jun 2022
Dallas, Texas423 contributions178 helpful votes
This dive shop is located on Plage Trottel in southern Ajaccio. The staff is super friendly and the whole process is easy (save for a very short wade out to the zodiac in full gear). Equipment was in good shape and we appreciated the equipment review with a very nice, English-speaking guy as we hadn't dived in a year and equipment does vary. We needed all equipment since we'd been traveling for 3 months in very different weather and had no luggage room for dive or even snorkel equipment. (Tip: Brush up on French diving terms.) The man at the front desk doesn't speak much English (not a problem as I speak functional French, just FYI if you don't), but is very friendly and accommodating. He made sure I got a shorty to wear over my long, hooded 3mm wetsuit since I told him I get cold. (Wetsuits were available in 3, 5 and 7mm, but apparently not all thicknesses in all sizes.) There was a short (10 min.) ride out to the dive location. My husband and I had one English-speaking divemaster to ourselves. The dive itself was interesting if a little underwhelming since we're used to the vibrant colors and exceptional visibility of the Caribbean and SE Asia. Still, visibility was decent and it was a continuation of the rugged Corsica above and interesting: Large boulders covered in tan, hair-like coral and vegetation. We saw groupers and a lot of small barracuda in addition to lots of smaller fish. There's a bit of tricky current action, but nothing serious. We were a little surprised at our guide's technique of gripping onto the coral-covered boulders to steady ourselves against the currents while we peered over the rock at fish. We're more used to a touch-nothing approach (especially with living coral). The water is cool lower down (appx. 20-23C at 20 m or so in late June), but I was never cold. The price was 45 euros/dive and there is only a single dive of about 50 minutes during a 9am to 11:30-12 dive slot. (By the time we were suited up and on the boat, it was probably 9:30-9:40. There are open cubby holes to leave your dry clothes and other things and 2 warm showers. (We saw wallets laying out, so no one seemed worried about security.) NOTE: They accept only cash or traveler's checks. We didn't realize this, but the man up front had no problem letting us dive and trusting us to return later with cash. (Which we did. :)) Also, the price is quoted as 35 euros in their flyers, but there was an extra 10 euro charge for something, I think insurance, but no info was taken beyond our names and PADI/NAUI cards.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Kristina K wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I booked a diving trip for two people, one « baptême » and one “exploration”. Via Mail I was told that it would be possible to do two different things as we had different diving experience (I have an open water diver status and my friend never divided before). When I arrived there I told several people again that I want to do an exploration. I showed them my diving license and one staff member asked me when my last diving trip took place (it was last year). The staff then told me that I should go to the bigger boat and finally I was assigned to the boat with the beginners. I had to wait about 3 hours on the boat to finally do a beginners dive again. I saw nice things but the diving was quite short and I was hold the whole time by the monitor although I told him again that I have an Oper water diver license. That never happened to me in any other diving school. Although I don’t dive like every month I always had the possibility to do a normal exploration as I already did my formation. The monitor in the water was really friendly and showed me a lot of things underwater. So that’s the only reason why this trip was kind of nice in the end. But I have to say I’m quite disappointed that nobody told me in advance that I can’t do a normal diving trip. I still don’t know if it was on purpose or by accident. So the communication wasn’t the best.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from ERagnole, Propriétaire at E Ragnole Plongée
Responded Aug 2, 2021
Hello, We hear your message and thank you all the same for pointing out the positive points of your stay with us. Indeed there was a mistake because in fact you were two people that day with the same first name. You say you were placed on the beginners boat but in fact the two boats were going to the same dive site and you found your friend there. There was a mistake and we apologize to you. The instructor who does not speak English and who took charge of you apparently misunderstood what you were saying to him. In addition, it often happens that certified divers are accompanied as baptisms if we feel stress or a technical failure. Thank you once again for highlighting the good time lived underwater.
Read more
Lucas S wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Nice moment with a nice group of people. First time diving is really something amazing. We arrived and were welcome warmly. Good explanation and equipment. Diving time is really nice because we're just 1 at the time so they can do it at your rythme. People there is experienced and nice.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from ERagnole, Propriétaire at E Ragnole Plongée
Responded Oct 4, 2020
Thank you very much for your message. it was a pleausure diving with you
Read more
nicoladersnah wrote a review Jul 2017
Toronto, Canada53 contributions6 helpful votes
After reviewing tripadvisor, we choose this company and booked a half day snorkel trip. We arrived by cruise ship and on th pier, nobody was there to meet us, we wandered around asking people if they knew where to go, trying to find the company and ended up at the tourist office. They placed a phone call for us and we were told the boat was waiting for us down at the pier, near to the cruise ship. When we got to the specified location, nobody was there. Several hours later on a bus tour of the town, we saw the snorkel center. We went and asked what had happened with no explanation or apology. We were offered the opportunity to snorkel off the beach for €30 each person. Wow! Didn't take the offer. My experience was frustrating, unprofessional, a complete lack of communication and planning which resulted in a disappointing day. I do not recommend you use this company and I will not use them in the future.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2017
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ERagnole, Propriétaire at E Ragnole Plongée
Responded Jul 21, 2017
Bonjour, Nous sommes surpris par votre récit qui ne correspond pas à la réalité. Nous avons effectivement échangé par mails avant votre venue pour savoir ce qu'il était possible de vous proposer. Vous n'avez jamais confirmé votre venue. Nous n'avons jamais convenu ensemble d'un lieu et d'une heure de récupération sur le port. Lorsque que vous n'avez contacté le jour même notre bateau de plongée était déjà en mer. A votre arrivée au centre de plongée, nous vous avons exposé la situation et proposé la même activité en partant du bord de plage situé face à notre club. Vous avez décidé de ne pas accepter cette proposition alors que d'autres personnes de votre groupe l'aurait fait. Enfin, nous avons récupéré un groupe de plongeurs sur le port le même jour et cela ne nous aurait posé aucun problème de vous récupérer si nous avions été au courant de votre venue. En conclusion, nous faisons toujours le maximum pour satisfaire nos clients depuis 25 ans et nous n'avons pas l'habitude de laisser un plongeur sur le quai. S'il y a un manque de communication il me semble qu'il vous incombe. Malgré le contretemps nous avons mis en place un moniteur pour vous accompagner sur un lieu où nous emmenons tous les jours nos plongeurs. Nous ne pouvons pas faire l'impossible. Cordialement Hello, We are surprised by your narrative that does not correspond to reality. We actually exchanged by e-mail before your arrival to find out what it was possible to offer you. You never confirmed your coming. We never agreed on a place and a time of recovery on the harbor. When you did not contact us on the same day our dive boat was already at sea. Upon your arrival at the dive center, we have exposed you the situation and proposed the same activity starting from the beach facing our club. You decided not to accept this proposal when others in your group did so. We finally picked up a group of divers at the port the same day and it would not have been a problem to get you back if we had been aware of your arrival. In conclusion, we always do our utmost to satisfy our customers for 25 years and we do not usually leave a diver on the dock. If there is a lack of communication, it seems to me that it is your responsibility. Despite the setbacks we have set up a monitor to accompany you to a place where we take our divers every day. We can not do the impossible. cordially
Read more