We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Champagne Michel Gonet

Closed Now: 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Open today: 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Review Highlights
Fantastic host & great Champagne!

We popped in here a few days ago, as we were staying a few doors down and experienced a very... read more

Reviewed April 9, 2019
Smithe1
via mobile
Wonderful experience

Our group was personally hosted by Sophie Gonet... The wines speak for them selves!!! Everything... read more

Reviewed April 3, 2019
Stan B
Read all 41 reviews
All photos (35)
All photos (35)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good31%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
“host”(4 reviews)
“house”(12 reviews)
“tasting”(17 reviews)
About
In our enthusiasm to welcome and share with all wine and Champagne lovers in a professional but still informal way, we will welcome in our 19th century Gothic Style mansion located in Epernay. Feel warmly welcome to visit us in the Champagne Michel...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:30 AM - 6:30 PM
See all hours
Contact
37 avenue de Champagne, 51200, Epernay, France
More
Improve This Listing
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
19
8
2
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
19
8
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews host house tasting champagne tours brand
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 33 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

We popped in here a few days ago, as we were staying a few doors down and experienced a very enjoyable tasting. Ben, the host was incredibly helpful and spent time explaining the 4 different champagnes we tasted which were very good, of the smaller...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Smithe1
Reviewed April 3, 2019

Our group was personally hosted by Sophie Gonet... The wines speak for them selves!!! Everything one could hope for in a fine champagne...could "taste" the brioche...

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Stan B
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

We spend all day touring around champagne and this was one of our highlights. We were warmly welcomed, received advise on our selection based on preferences and had absolutely stunning champagnes on the beautiful terrace of this old french villa. They picked the perfect champagne...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank astridjghs
Reviewed November 4, 2018

Maybe worst service I have ever experienced. Lady of the house was flavorless and rude. Despite of that we bought one bottle of their champagne, which was quite good.More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank PiaSavonlinna
ChampagneMichelGonet, Responsable réception at Champagne Michel Gonet, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

We are very saddened to see you were not received following Michel's Philosophy: Kindness, humor, good stories, and fine Champagne. Nevertheless, we hope you might have the chance to visit us again and meet our new team young and talented recruits or one of the...More

Reviewed October 1, 2018

I am a guide in Paris and I stopped here on September 30th with 5 clients visiting from the United States. We had an absolutely terrible experience. The lady working could not speak English, threw the champagne at my clients, hardly said anything about it,...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Abbie M
ChampagneMichelGonet, Responsable réception at Champagne Michel Gonet, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Dear Abbie, I am very sorry for what happened. It was unacceptable and will never happen again. We have noticed that this employee did not uphold our standards of quality, she no longer works with us. Warmly welcome our guests has always been one of...More

Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Sadly, our visit was a negative experience. I’d say the lady of the house was having a bad day and we were made to feel extremely unwelcome. I’m sure the champagne is good, however given the circumstances I can only recall a sour, nasty taste!...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank chch00007
ChampagneMichelGonet, Responsable réception at Champagne Michel Gonet, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

We are very saddened to see you were not received following Michel's Philosophy: Kindness, humor, good stories, and fine Champagne. Nevertheless, we hope you might have the chance to visit us again and meet our new team young and talented recruits or one of the...More

Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Just popped in while waiting for one of the big branded tours to open and were met by the owner herself! We felt obliged to partake in a quick tasting (very good btw) and as, at the time it was quiet, she told us about...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank paulmO673LP
Reviewed August 15, 2017

We decided to taste 3 different champagnes - the champagne ok - perhaps a bit to the average side. But the lady in charge seemed to have an off day - not very friendly or attentive and didn't seem to bother. First and last visit...More

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank ERiis
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

We stopped in unannounced as we drove into Epernay when we saw online that they are open a little later than other houses. The woman running the tasting house was so friendly and led us through a tasting of several of their champagnes (sorry, I...More

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank texanchi
Reviewed June 20, 2017

After visiting three of the larger more famous brands we popped in here. The lady was charming, very knowledgable and we felt special. One of the champagnes really did impress us and we purchased a case. Other places it was pay your money go on...More

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank martz238
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Hotel Kyriad Epernay
235 reviews
.18 miles away
Le Clos Raymi
199 reviews
.30 miles away
La Villa Eugene
549 reviews
.36 miles away
Hotel Jean Moet
511 reviews
.44 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 88 nearby restaurants
La Grillade Gourmande
1,117 reviews
.32 miles away
Chez Max
876 reviews
.40 miles away
le Theatre
611 reviews
.42 miles away
Symbiose
106 reviews
.36 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 53 nearby attractions
Paul-Etienne Saint Germain
155 reviews
.09 miles away
Avenue de Champagne
699 reviews
.26 miles away
Office de Tourisme Epernay Pays de Champagne
388 reviews
.39 miles away
Moet et Chandon Champagne Cellars
1,690 reviews
.33 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
gypsy2_25
August 24, 2018|
Answer
Response from ChampagneMichelGonet | Property representative |
No appointment is required from April to September, but it is preferable to take one from October to March
0
Votes
Google Translation