La Pagode de Chanteloup et son parc

La Pagode de Chanteloup et son parc

La Pagode de Chanteloup et son parc
3
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
The Pagoda, built in 1775, is a Chinese curiosity of pure Louis XVI style. Virtual reconstruction images show the splendour of the Duke of Choiseul’s palace, destroyed in 1823 by the “Black Band”. Quaint Chinese garden, its oriental plants and Chinese ornaments invite to meditate. Awe-inspiring panoramic view from the top of the Pagoda, “old-fashioned” outdoor games, boat ride on the ornamental lake.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience La Pagode de Chanteloup et son parc and nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


3.0
3.0 of 5 bubbles390 reviews
Excellent
81
Very good
100
Average
86
Poor
80
Terrible
43

PapaBear
Chalais, France47 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 • Couples
It was the site of a magnificant chateau that resembled a smaller version of Versailles. Nothing exists at this site other than the Pagoda de Chanteloup and a half moon lake.
The admission fee of 12 euros per person was in my view expensive for what was available to see at this site. It is a "could see" rather than a "must see or should see"
Written April 8, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

OscarYorkshire
Yorkshire154 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023
Nice to walk around and climb if you are brave. Quite neglected and tatty in parts, including the stairs…..The lake looked cloudy and a bit iffy! The presentation of how the chateau looked and was built was fascinating and the best part. Left feeling a little sad for the place.
Written July 4, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Breizhlady
Derby, United Kingdom80 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2013 • Couples
I'd seen a picture of the pagoda in a book I have, and by chance on a trip in the Loire valley last autumn came across it. Yes, you do have to park at the gate and it is a few minutes walk down the lovely avenue but we felt well worth it. The pagoda is a folly, all that's left of a grand estate. It is an impressive 7 storey building narrowing up towards the top and sort of Chinese in style! It has been suitably restored as has the half-moon lake right by it. Each floor gets smaller as you go and some have balconies so that you can walk round outside (if you dare!). There are wonderful views from the top and yes, you can go outside here too.... No more than 6 people are recommended for the top but we thought two were plenty! We liked the exterior of the house with its red paint and thought the Chinese garden charming. There is an activity area for children of all ages and also picnic tables. I would say it's very family friendly, though discretion needed if you're thinking of taking children up the pagoda. We spent about an hour and half there but with more time you could explore the woodland that is also accessible from here. As noted by a previous reviewer, the ground immediately around the lake and pagoda is very open so if the sun is shining you'll need sun hats and sun block etc. It's an oddity in an area more noted for its grand chateaux. Easy to combine with a trip to Chenonceau and possibly Amboise. Also note to check the opening times as they vary greatly depending on time of year. These can be found on their website in French and English at www.pagode-chanteloup.com/ , In fact I'd recommend a look at the website before going.
Written January 31, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Visitor, We thank you for your commentary. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We continue to do our best to improve our site and satisfy our visitors. Best regards The manager
Written March 26, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

storm76
Selkirk, UK50 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2011
We were very disappointed and felt totally misled by the leaflet we had picked up. The games area is interesting but that is about it. Unless we missed something that wasn't signed posted or on the map there is very little to see. Not to be recommended when there are so many other places to see.
Written July 15, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Visitor, The outdoor games are an additionnal animation for families. The crux of the visit is the Pagoda, the virtual reconstruction images of the castle and the park. Statistics reveal that most of our visitors stay more than two hours in the site. Maybe our visit route wasn’t clear enough to allow you to enjoy all the animations of the site. We thank you for your commentary which allows us to make improvements to our site Best regards The manager
Written March 26, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LLL2
Louisville, CO1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2011 • Friends
During our planning, we received BAD information about the Pagoda. We were told that the grounds around the Pagoda could be enjoyed for free but if you wanted to actually go up into the Pagoda, you needed to pay. We made the long walk from Amboise (much longer then 30 minutes... more like 1 1/2 hours!) and entered the grounds through the gift shop. We had just walked into the area near the games when we were VERY rudely met by the gift shop attendant who had followed us in. In very dramatic language she in no uncertain terms told us to GET OUT! that we were being very disrespectful and demanded to know how we got in. We tried to explain that we had misinformation and that it was never our intention to "sneak " in. She never asked us if we wanted to purchase a ticket, only asked us to GET OUT. We were never treated more rudely than here. I'm sure the structure was wonderful, too bad we have such bad memories!
Written June 18, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Visitor, We are sorry for the inconvenience that you suffered at the time of your visit. We are always happy to welcome our visitors. The hostess mis-understood your interest in the site. The paid entrance is necessary to enable maintenance and restoration work. We will be happy to erase this bad memory by welcoming you again at Chanteloup. Best regards The manager
Written March 26, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Liz N
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Not worth 10 euros a lot of money just for a view. Quite run down, staff not attentive at all . It is quite a way to walk before reaching pagoda so you can see it without going in. Amboise castle much better visit to spend money on.
Written September 13, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Visitor, You consider that the entrance fee is expensive. However, it is necessary to enable to carry out maintenance and restoration work in the site. The site offers you the visit of the Pagoda, its panoramic view, the park, and the quaint Chinese garden. You can also see the virtual reconstruction images of the castle and its gardens in the « Caretaker Pavilion ». You can also enjoy the other animations (outdoor games, boat ride …) We hope that you’ll come back to enjoy all the animations at our site. Best regards The manager
Written March 13, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Antony B
London, UK377 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2013 • Family
My wife and I came to the pagoda back in 2006, and returned this year with our children. It is a beautifully peaceful place to take a gentle stroll. Be warned - there is little shade once you're away from the café area! Climbing the pagoda is a little tricky as the stairs get progressively tighter towards the top. Some of the lower balustrades were missing when we visited, so small children definitely need to be accompanied. The views from the top are great though!
The selection of traditional games to play kept our boys amused for a while, and it was good to get a cooling drink from the café. As other reviewers have commented, this is a little pricey for what it is though.
Written November 10, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Visitor, We thank you for your commentary. You consider that the entrance fee is expensive. However, it is necessary to enable to carry out maintenance and restoration work in the site. We are aware that the first floor stair railing is missing. Unfortunately, it was damaged and will be replaced. Indeed, children must be accompanied by an adult (as indicated on the sign at the foot of the Pagoda). We will be very happy to welcome you again on your next trip to Chanteloup. Best regards The manager
Written March 26, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

S-JPE1970
Wickham, UK9 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2013 • Couples
A lovely little walk through the woods to get to it. Definitely better to visit on a nice day weather wise. There is an air of decay about it and it seems that it is still being worked on.
Written September 21, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Visitor, We were interested in your commentary. We have been deploying our efforts to save this monument for 27 years. We hope that you’ll come back, preferably with nice weather, and that you’ll be touched by the beauty of our site. Best regards The manager
Written March 26, 2014
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LeBiscuit D
Los Angeles, CA18,687 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2012 • Couples
The pagoda is cool, but probably not a key destination for most travelers in this region. But, if you're in the area for a few days, it is definitely worth a stop. The forest is beautiful, there were flowers and wildlife (muskrats?) nearby. The pagoda is a fascinating piece, not many tourists there. It's possible there are sometimes boat rides on the pond, but we didn't see any (we didn't see much reason to stay long). It turned out to be a fairly recent building (what's left of the old chateau), and while its setting is lovely (and you can picnic), we found it worth only a 20 minute stop or so. But, if you want a nice place to picnic and plan to take one, it's nice (there's some sort of visitor center, but since the chateau is mostly gone, it's not of keen interest).
Written January 20, 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

HiGirlie
Palm Desert, CA41 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2011
This was going to be a brief stop on the way out of town, but we ended up staying far longer. The pagoda itself is really picturesque. And it's very fun to climb the tiny winding staircase to the top. But what we loved most was the garden full of old-timey wooden games! There are dozens of large wooden gaming tables/equipment spread out on the lawn. Each has instructions on a nearby plaque and are ready to play. My kids (okay me and my husband too) could have played them for hours. I really recommend this as a stop with kids or teenagers.
Written August 25, 2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 64
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

La Pagode de Chanteloup et son parc - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Amboise HotelsAmboise Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Amboise
All things to do in Amboise
Amusement Parks in AmboiseDay Trips in Amboise
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars