Vintgar Gorge
Vintgar Gorge
4.5
Geologic Formations
Read more
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Write a review
About
The Vintgar gorge is 1600 m long and till 250 m deep gorge on the eastern part of Triglav National Park, 4 kilometres northwest of the centre of Bled. The route through the gorge is in one direction. Visitors can choose between different circular routes to return to the entry point. All routes are clearly marked on the information boards and signposts along the route. Circular route Vintgar – Saint Catherine’s church Circular route Vintgar – Blejska Dobrava
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Top ways to experience Vintgar Gorge
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
5,040 reviews
Excellent
3,333
Very good
1,243
Average
310
Poor
94
Terrible
60

KTP310
Reading, UK824 contributions
Friends
We loved our visit to the beautiful Vintgar Gorge. The public transport options from Bled didn’t seem straightforward, so we booked a return shuttle with Mamut - only 5 Euros each way. The minibus drops you off at the entrance to the Gorge (luckily we also paid Mamut for the entrance tickets so didn’t have to queue). The walk through the Gorge was an easy and leisurely 45 minutes, with lots of stops for stunning photographs. The Gorge walk ends at Sum Falls where there is also a nice outdoor cafe serving coffee and cakes. We then turned right onto one of the return trails. Fortunately our minibus picked us up at the church so we didn’t have to walk all the way back to the entrance. The timings were perfect, giving us plenty of time to enjoy the Gorge (we left Bled at 12:45 and were met at the church at 15:15).
Written September 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for the amazing review, it's great to hear you had a wonderful experience visiting us with the shuttle.
Written September 16, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Deborah K
Caboolture, Australia303 contributions
Crystal clear water - magical when not crowded. Book online to secure a spot - choose an early start as crowds increase (significantly) as the day goes on. Parking at the Gorge is for online ticket holders only (although they didn't check ours) - parking however is not included in your online ticket purchase so have cash ready for the attendant. Walk through the gorge is one way only and INCREDIBLY scenic. 35min walk from Exit back to the Entrance car park is largely shaded but quite steep. There are shuttles apparently but didn't investigate these. We obviously drove to the Gorge but others walked from Bled. We were happy to have a shaded walk back to our car park as the walk back to Bled is quite exposed and would be quite hot.
Written August 2, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for the amazing rate and wonderful review.
Written August 3, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jure112
Maribor, Slovenia121 contributions
Enough parking at the entrance, parking is paid 5 euros per day. Parking staff kind, point to vacancies, leave enough space between cars. Admission is 10 euros per person. The first part is the most beautiful one, so don’t rush like some fools, take your time and enjoy the view, the sounds and the freshness. If you want to keep a social distance there are places where you let running fools pass. At the end of the gorge is a waterfall and a beautiful little cafe where you can sit back and refresh yourself before continuing the route. The road continues with a steeper part (and a shorter one) to the left, or an easier part through the forest to the lookout point, where you have a view of Bled, Bled town and its surroundings. In total, you can go through the tour in an hour or 3 hours, if you take the time to enjoy the untouched nature. If you are traveling with children take the shuttle back.
Written August 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for the detailed review and a wonderful rating.
Written September 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ozzyworld
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands5 contributions
Family
Cliff is beautiful, with great sights and a solid footpath. Construction work on the access roads are not visible on google, and detour signs only i. Slovenian language. Impossible to find the parking spots when arriving from Bled. Should improve. We were forced to park a long distance from the entrance, and tour back had poor signage and also took to long.

Also online ticketing was the only option to get in, but did not allow to bypass the queues. Queues were chaos, with people missing their slots due to unclear communication.

Overall great cliff, but many improvement required in ticketing, access roads and signs.
Written July 13, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Robert P
Croatia8 contributions
Couples
For a long time I have wanted to visit the "famous" Vintgar canyon. As the road to the parking lot was closed, my fiancée and I took a shuttle ride to the canyon entrance and back. Of course, by some miracle, the shuttle bus has access to the very entrance to the canyon, although no one else has that pleasure. At the shuttle transport agency, for unknown reasons, they gave us a little more than 2 hours to cross the canyon and reach the church of Sv. Catherine where the transport was to wait for us. Those two hours are barely enough to walk through the canyon, let alone stop for a moment, rest or take a few photos. And of course what no one is telling you: when you cross the canyon and get to the awful catering facility, you realize that the waterfall is a little further away. And time flows relentlessly. But the real torment is just beginning, because you soon realize that they forgot to mention that it is a 25-minute walk to the church of St. Katarine is actually a real mountain venture that I would not recommend to the elderly or people in poorer condition. But as time goes on relentlessly, you just have to keep up the pace of Usain Bolt, because the shuttle isn’t waiting for anyone. My wish has thus turned into a real nightmare for which you have to pay a considerable sum. I have been through a lot of similar places and I responsibly claim that there are many less famous and much more beautiful places than the Vintgar canyon.
Written June 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for reviewing. Unfortunately, it's never ideal for everyone. In your case the visit was a nightmare, in other cases is 99,9% a wonderful experience. 2.5 km in 2 hours means your walking tempo was 1km/h, we understand everyone has their own tempo, but usually, 2 hours is more than enough. The elevation of a propper mountain is 1000m, you made it only 100m.
Written June 22, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Aisleena
Aberdeen, UK234 contributions
Friends
We booked through Mamut at their shop in Bled (shop is at the main bus drop off in Bled). We were €20 each for a minibus which dropped us off at the entrance, and the tickets to get in. Mamut booked us the tickets and printed them off for us. Would recommend booking through them as was very simple and they dropped us off right at the entrance. They also told us where they would pick us up and gave us plenty time to do the walk and have something to eat afterwards.

There is a toilet and small shop before you enter the gorge. There is also a shop at the end of the gorge and a cafe at the end of the St Catherine trail.

I felt the gorge was underwhelming. I’d read so many good reviews I was expecting more.

Positives - It is beautiful, the water is so clear and you can even see fish swimming in it.

Negatives - We were there at 9/9.30 in the morning and it was already busy. There were numerous bottlenecks which slowed things down. The first few minutes of the walk were good but after that it is just the same scenery for the whole of the gorge walk.

When out of the gorge there are toilets at the bottom of the long set of steps and a viewpoint for the waterfall. We went back on the St Catherine trail (the gorge is one way). The walk was steep but it did take us the 25min that it says it should. We needed to take regular stops as was hard going but manageable.

Overall I would say give it a miss if you are tight on time as there are better things to do in the area.
Written August 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review. We keep on informing our future visitors about the rush hours between 9:30 and 14:00, we also accepted the restriction with an online ticket to limit the number of visitors, but somehow most of the visitors visit us during the time of rush hours and we are aware that it's not pleasant to walk in the crowd. Because of the crowd, we decided to do the circular routes. Nature is the way it is, the gorge is a "canyon" and to return back to the starting point there is no possibility to avoid the 100m of elevation.
Written August 16, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Claire D
Horsham, UK63 contributions
Family
We visited this gorge and it was lovely, dont just look at the river, the gorge sides and Birdlife are amazing too. We were totally unprepared for the hike back to the car park. Due to the road closures, we parked in a field about 20 min uphill walk to the gorge but coming back it was an hour and a half uphill through woods, then across fields in 35 degree heat. Whilst not superfit, we are regular walkers and found this tough and it detracted from our enjoyment of the gorge. At no point did we see advice on this unexpected hike anywhere on the website or at the entrance. Enjoy the gorge but be prepared.
Written July 12, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

womanintokyo
Sydney, Australia72 contributions
Visited the gorge on 1st September, it was a grey day but not raining. We booked tickets on online over breakfast that morning (all timeslots were available) for 10am, it was simple to do. Drove to P5 for parking, which was a mud bath (it had rained the previous day) and were sent by the staff manning the closed car park on the locals only roads round to P1. That drive was a bit hair raising due to being in a hire car and it only really being wide enough for a single car. Hopefully the roadworks blocking the main access route from Bled will soon be finished.
Arrived at P1 at 9:40am and turnstiles let us straight onto the walk, no need to wait for our allotted ticket time to start. I did notice the lady was still selling tickets to walk-up customers, despite it being into the time slots slated as being for online ticket holders only. In contrast to expectations P1 had maybe 25 cars in it when we arrived and the gorge was quiet. Beautiful walk, really enjoyed the scenery of the gorge, had plenty of time to stop and enjoy the view and take photos without impacting other people The waterfall is beautiful at the end too. Looped back via St Catherine's church, enjoying coffee and cake at the café there. Pleasantly surprised by the number of toilets available on the route, though many are portaloos. Whole walk took just under 3 hours including the coffee stop. We were walking with 2 kids aged 7 and 10. It is uphill for about 25 mins to St Catherine's church from the end of the gorge, which maybe is a problem if you are unfit and not a regular walker, but it wasn't an issue for us. The P1 car park was almost full when we returned about 12:30, but P2 was still not in use and the weather was better at that time. Just thought it was important to give people a bit of perspective on volume of people when we visited.
Written September 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for the fantastic review, that will be helpful also for our future visitors. It's such a pleasure to hear you had a great time visiting the gorge.
Written September 8, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Aya T
Arlington, VA151 contributions
Solo
The gorge is beautiful, calm and serene. Currently they limit the entry by time. So you don’t have to dodge through crowd on the narrow path. I had enough time to stop, take pics and enjoy the scenery. I highly recommend to visit this gorge.

However there is a catch. This gorge is a one-way trip. It ends at the water fall in the middle of nowhere. This is where your challenge starts. You can turn left for a short hike back to the entrance. You can turn right to a longer trail with overlooks (so was I told) and eventually back to the entrance. I picked the shorter hike to the left. You climb up the steep hill and you walk through a village where you can find a small snack bar and also shuttle service back to the entrance for the fee. Then you get into the mountain again crossing back to the gorge side. What a steep up and down! It takes about 45-50 mins to return to the entrance and this is the shorter trail. The return trip was an unexpected challenge.
Written July 30, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review. It's really important to inform yourself about the trails before the visit.
Written August 1, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nikola T
Zagreb, Croatia2 contributions
Couples
If traveling to Bled, Jesenice, Kranjska gora or places around it, you must not skip this beauty of nature. Hiking to the entrance or getting back from the exit that could last an hour or so are definitely worth visiting this place. Unfortunately the markings on the path are far from beeing precise, so inform yourself properly and do not rely on information centre personal ( our experience is that moat probably you will find closed offices - within declared working hours). Be aware that parking machines do not return change , no matter you can insert banknotes of 10, 20, 50eur?! They gladly accept it no matter a day ticket cost 5 eur and there is no change return. Once yo pay too much you will see the warning about not returning the change. OK if this will inprove the path markings, I can live with that. Anyhow do not miss it
Written June 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed sightseeing in the Vintgar gorge. Our office in Zgornje Gorje opened its door on the 25th of June. The parking P4 is on the property of Jesenice municipality, so I suggest you contact them. On the parking machine is written that the machine does not return the change and we are sorry you didn't notice that.
Written June 29, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 2,766
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Vintgar Gorge (Zgornje Gorje) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Vintgar Gorge

Vintgar Gorge is open:
  • Sun - Sat 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Vintgar Gorge tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 19 Vintgar Gorge tours on Tripadvisor