Albert Hall
Bars & ClubsDance Clubs & Discos
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Monday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Tuesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Wednesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Thursday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Friday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Saturday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Sunday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
About
Duration: More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Albert Hall and nearby attractions

The area
Address
How to get there
  • St Peter's Square • 4 min walk
  • Deansgate-Castlefield • 6 min walk
Reach out directly
See what travelers are saying
  • RLT01
    13 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fab night
    This is a fantastic venue for small intimate gigs. Had a brilliant night watching Teddy Swims who was incredible. Really quick and friendly service at the bar. Not too crowded even though it was a sold out event. If you want a seat you can get there early and queue to get in.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written July 11, 2023
  • amyelisemillar
    Congleton, United Kingdom504 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Bongos Bingo
    We went to Albert Hall for Bongos Bingo. This was my first for both the event and venue. For Bongos, there are tables on the first floor and two bars with the stage at the front. Up from there is the gallery (balcony seating) which is tiered that also had two bars either side. We did have to queue but it took about fifteen minutes to get in. The toilets are down below the ground floor and were quite the walk. It should flow easily with a one way system so try to stick to that as we got a bit muddled on our first trip up and down! The sound is fantastic in the hall and Bongos was absolutely insane and such a fun afternoon.
    Hi Amy, Thanks for the review and glad to hear you had a great night at the Albert Hall, hope to see you again soon! Thanks - Gina AH
    Written October 9, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written October 7, 2023
  • Sarah H
    20 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fantastic Venue, Accessibility poor.
    The Albert Hall is an amazing venue, the acoustics and the atmosphere are part of the experience that you don't get in many venues. The staff that I have met are all really friendly and helpful which is amazing as you can see they have a lot to deal with. The reason I gave only four stars? (This is not a moan just an observation for people looking to go with mobilities to make an informed decision, I do believe the venue should let people know these points before they go) The accessibility area that I booked into because of limited mobility was not as accessible as I had hoped. It was ok getting to it, lots of stairs but pre warned. Staff were lovely. Arriving at our seats we had cushions given which helped, but the view was not good, I was disappointed as the write up says it is a great view, you are at the very back side so your view is of the back of whatever is happening. I was expecting to have easier access to the toilet but sadly you still had to walk through a whole row of people to get to it in the dark, which i really feel is quite dangerous and there wasn't always someone there to assist you so I ended up going alone. The drinks runner was brilliant and she did her absolute best but had a lot of drinks to get and many stairs so you didn't get too many chances to grab her for assistance (completely not her fault she was brilliant) and lastly the area was so full people were sat on the steps in the accessibility area which was absolutely mad. It was as full as the main area so no more easy to get about than in the main area. My tips would be if you are in a wheelchair, use it as it is probably the only way you can attend. If you have reduced mobility get a pass to queue jump and then go to the balcony before it gets busy, when you enter sit right by the entrance which is the furthest to your right facing the stage, this is the entrance to the access toilet. (ask someone if in doubt which it is) that way you have no stairs to use in the dark and can get right near the toilet, which is easier access that from the accessible area! Lastly take a cushion lol. As I say, Its not really a moan, its an old building and they are obviously trying their best to accommodate but the overfilling of that area was definitely something they could change so at least people can move around safely (whilst there one poor woman fell over) . Would I go again, Definitely but not in the accessible area.
    Hi Sarah, thanks for your feedback. We take all honest comments like this as a means to improve + particularly take access area feedback very seriously. I am really sorry that you experienced discomfort and completely understand where you are coming from with this, I want every customer to feel as comfortable as possible in our venue, and I really apologise that we have missed the mark on the mark on this occasion. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you in more detail if you can please contact us on info@alberthallmanchester.com as we are always open to suggestions on improving this area. Many thanks!
    Written October 30, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written October 22, 2023
  • Tammy-Marie D
    Pontefract, United Kingdom44 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful building with exceptionally well trained staff
    A beautiful venue with amazing staff. I had bought tickets for myself, husband and son to watch a gig without realising it was standing only until I got email information through (which was full of useful information and very much appreciated). I dropped them an email explaining that I would have difficulties due to having joint hypermobility syndrome and if they had any seats left in the accessible area close to the time of the concert would they consider allowing us or me to sit there. They got back straight away saying they had booked us seats in the accessible area and gave us all the info needed. The staff (once we got in the venue) were so friendly, professional and approachable. How the drink runner managed to hear us and remember the orders was like a magic trick! Anyway, they did everything they could to make us comfortable. Shame about all the steps but being an old building it's understandable. The drinks were a little pricey. Perhaps a price list in the accessible area would be a good idea for people who need to budget. Overall though we had a lovely visit
    Hi Tammy, Thanks for the review and glad to hear you enjoyed the Albert Hall! :) We're so glad you had a fab time. We hold weekly managers feeding back all customer reviews in order to constantly improve our service, and I will feed back this to the venue manager team! Hope this helps + hope to see you back at the hall soon! Thanks
    Written December 11, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited November 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written December 9, 2023
  • TEQUILAMAX
    Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom66 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fab venue now spoilt by potential increased capacity & over selling
    Been to a lot of (sold out) gigs here over the years & loved it-fave venue by a mile. Beautiful building. Fab acoustics. Something has changed fairly recently though it seems - capacity increased & sadly now feels uncomfortable to the point of lots of comments concerning crowd safety. Friends & Colleagues have been to subsequent gigs there and reported same. Now selling our tkts for next gig in March & will avoid buying again until situation reviewed/inproved. Totally understand management need to have a financially viable venue, but having zero wriggle room to stand / dance and allowing punters to stand on the walkway up in balcony during gig is not safe/right.
    Hi there, sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. During a sold out event it will feel busy at times, but please do rest assured we never exceed our capacity restrictions, the venue has also undergone checks to ensure that we adhere to all fire and safety regulations especially concerning capacity. If you would like to discuss this or any of your other concerns please drop us an email to info@alberthallmanchester.com and a venue manager will be happy to discuss.
    Written February 13, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited December 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written February 3, 2024
  • Christopher W
    12 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Cracking gig venue.
    Pixies Gig, March 2024. Had heard this was a great venue and it did not disappoint. Compact. Up close and personal with the band and loud. Service at the bar was quick and I can imagine the view from the gallery would be fab. We stayed downstairs and loved how close to the action you could be.
    Hi Christopher! Thanks for the review and glad to hear you had a great night at the Albert Hall, hope to see you again soon!
    Written March 14, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2024
    Traveled as a couple
    Written March 13, 2024
  • Mike B
    1 contribution
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Cloakroom
    Good music venue. Had an issue with their cloakroom policy on ‘A4 size bags’ though. I had to store my rucksack at Piccadilly & was gutted to miss the last part of the show to retrieve it before they closed. This could have easily been avoided if I’d received a timely response to the email enquiry I sent the day before the show. I feel like actual dimensions (that refer to bags & not paper) & prices for the cloakroom would be useful info to have on the website!!
    Visited March 2024
    Traveled solo
    Written March 14, 2024
  • DJS
    Buncrana, Ireland263 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Overcrowded Overheated Overated
    Echo & Bunnymen. March 2024. Great sound but absolutely jam packed in like sardines. Mezzanine was closed off as full but looked half empty from the packed stalls. Smoking ‘terrace’ is a thin prison like area not nice at all just make it no smoking job done. Such a shame as this could be a great venue if not over sold like this.
    Hi there, sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. During a sold out event it will feel busy at times, but please do rest assured we never exceed our capacity restrictions, the venue has also undergone checks to ensure that we adhere to all fire and safety regulations especially concerning capacity. If you would like to discuss this or any of your other concerns please drop us an email to info@alberthallmanchester.com and a venue manager will be happy to discuss.
    Written March 19, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2024
    Traveled with friends
    Written March 18, 2024
  • snypa777
    84 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great music venue but very very hot in summer.
    Went to watch Sasha at the Albert Hall in late 2023, fantastic gig but the venue does have some issues. It’s an old building and in the summer it can get unbearably hot in there. If you smoke or vape the provided space is very very small - 1 in 1 out and is annoying, cramped and hot. Security is overbearing. Not enough variety of drinks and the lager not very nice. Plus side, relatively easy to get around in the venue, toilet facilities are first class with no real queuing. Acoustics are very good and the sound system is ok too.
    Hi there, Thanks for the review and glad to hear you had a great night at the Albert Hall, We hold weekly managers feeding back all customer issues that arise on our gigs to constantly improve our service, and I will feed back this to the venue manager team to ensure issues as such do not arrise in future. Hope this helps + hope to see you back at the hall soon! Thank
    Written May 17, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written May 13, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles345 reviews
Excellent
168
Very good
94
Average
43
Poor
11
Terrible
29

Lauren C
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Friends
Came here for bongos bingo for a friends birthday but unfortunately has the night ruined by security staff. As a group of young people (early 20s) we were enjoying ourselves until randomly a group (!) of security staff asked us to leave. Why? Apparently we’d thrown things off the balcony - complete lies. In reality the middle aged women sat next to us had just finished wrapping themselves in a load of blue paper towel from a roll they had somehow acquired and were ripping it off themselves and off the balcony. I tried to explain these women still had the roll in their hands to the security who kept repeating you all need to leave. The birthday girl tried to speak to the security and this resulted in her being separated from us as the rest of us were led outside. Unfortunately this caused a panic attack and none of the staff showed her any empathy, the rest of us were told we had to wait outside for her. A truly horrible, disgusting experience. I truly believe the staff made ageist assumptions based on our age and wouldn’t use common sense to realise they were wrong. I want to know exactly what Albert hall and their staff will be doing to ensure this doesn’t happen again and for anyone visiting, I’d just assume you’ll be thrown out at any time after buying some ridiculously overpriced drinks 👍
Written October 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good Afternoon, Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Albert's Hall. This is certainly not the experience we wish to deliver to any of our guests and I can only apologise if you were left to feel uncomfortable as a result of the actions of any of our team members. We take complaints of this nature very seriously so I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you in more detail if you can please contact us on info@alberthallmanchester.com Thanks Gina AH
Written October 24, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MelFletch49
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 • Family
My 12 years old daughter and I attended the Rick Astley and The Blossoms gig on Friday 8th October and I just wanted to shed some praise on the staff at the hall for their amazing service. I hadn’t realised it was a 14+ gig when I purchased the tickets but contacted the hall asking if I needed to sell them on. A lady called Ellie not only responded via email but also took the time to give me a call and explained that they would put us in the accessibility area. I cannot tell you what an experience they gave us. My daughter was taken straight into the hall, seated in the cordoned off area, a lovely girl called Lily (who was the drinks runner) offered us cushions for comfort - it was just the most civilised experience of a gig ever! I cannot wait to go back again - but next time maybe with adults just so I can stand at the bar 😉
If you get the chance go to this venue! You will just Iove it!
Written October 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the kind words and glad to hear you had a great night at the Albert Hall, hope to see you again soon! Thanks - Gina AH
Written November 24, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tammy-Marie D
Pontefract, UK44 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Family
A beautiful venue with amazing staff. I had bought tickets for myself, husband and son to watch a gig without realising it was standing only until I got email information through (which was full of useful information and very much appreciated). I dropped them an email explaining that I would have difficulties due to having joint hypermobility syndrome and if they had any seats left in the accessible area close to the time of the concert would they consider allowing us or me to sit there. They got back straight away saying they had booked us seats in the accessible area and gave us all the info needed. The staff (once we got in the venue) were so friendly, professional and approachable. How the drink runner managed to hear us and remember the orders was like a magic trick! Anyway, they did everything they could to make us comfortable. Shame about all the steps but being an old building it's understandable. The drinks were a little pricey. Perhaps a price list in the accessible area would be a good idea for people who need to budget. Overall though we had a lovely visit
Written December 9, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Tammy, Thanks for the review and glad to hear you enjoyed the Albert Hall! :) We're so glad you had a fab time. We hold weekly managers feeding back all customer reviews in order to constantly improve our service, and I will feed back this to the venue manager team! Hope this helps + hope to see you back at the hall soon! Thanks
Written December 11, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Studio9Productions
Nottingham, UK6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Solo
A great experience if you are going for a performer you're familiar with.
I went to see AURORA on April 1st 2022, both the atmosphere of the audience and performance by the artists was phenomenal.
Definitely worth the money and the time, would love to go again.
Written April 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 • Friends
I saw some last minute tickets on Wowcher and as my daughter and I are huge RuPaul Drag Race UK fans we couldn’t resist going here to see a show with the Vivienne and Baga Chips

In all the years I have lived in Manchester I have never been to the Albert Hall so was unsure what to expect. It is a beautiful old building on Peter Street and although it is looking quite tired it served the purpose well for the show. Plus the tickets were only £15 each so I could hardly complain.

Not being young anymore, I chose to climb the stairs to be seated during the show. So my daughter and I sat on the seats four rows back. Sadly as the people on the three rows in front of us decided to stand up when the show started we had to stand up too. This met with some complaints from the people behind us but if we had not done this we would not have been able to see. Perhaps the stewards could have asked the people in front to have been seated seeings that there was standing room downstairs and clearly upstairs was to allow those of us who are not able to stand for long to watch the show.

That said we had an amazing time and the drag queens were just brilliant. The acoustics are good in here and there was ample space for a good crowd. There is a full bar and the bar staff were very helpful.

We had a great night and I would visit again
Written December 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi ruth! Thank you for the kind words and glad to hear you had a great night at the Albert Hall, hope to see you again soon! Thanks - Gina AH
Written December 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gwynneth P
Stoke-on-Trent66 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 • Couples
Brilliant evening for the Billy Bragg gig- (20/11/2021) beautiful historic building. I contacted the accessibility dept prior to my visit to ask for a seat, asi recently had knee replacement surgery- the communication was excellent and I was told on my arrival to go to the front of the queue. My carer and I were greeted by a lovely young man who escorted us to our seats in a roped off area. Had an excellent view and there was even a drinks runner (who was so friendly and efficient) Made for a fantastic evening/
Written November 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Gwynneth, thanks so much for the kind review! We hope to see you at the Albert Hall again soon. All the best, Ellie - AH
Written December 15, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

chrisje
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022
This is a beautiful venue spoilt by the people who attend it. This is now the second time I have been there to see a jazz gig (first time was gogo penguin, last night was badbadnotgood), and I have NEVER been in a more inconsiderate audience, we were sat upstairs where I thought it might be less 'chatty' but it was like watching a gig at an airport departure lounge. People walking about all the time, the 'banter' between people was almost as loud as the gig just awful. I could go through how awful it was by describing a whole raft of behaviours but I cannot be bothered.
Never going there again. If you aren't there for the music, just go to a bloody pub. This venue needs to decide if its a nightclub or a serious music venue and get a grip if it's the latter.
Written December 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Good evening, Hope you're well + firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your recent visit to Albert Hall, we aim to give the best service and experience we can, and always value any insight where we have failed as a means to improve. I am sorry you rated us 1* and that you had an issue with the audience and crowd management on the day. This is certainly not the experience we wish to deliver to any of our guests and I can only apologise if you were left to feel uncomfortable as a result of this. We take all complaints seriously so I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you in more detail. Please contact us on info@alberthallmanchester.com Again, thanks for your feedback and hope to hear from you soon.
Written December 14, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

#goonsontour
Nottingham, UK4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 • Couples
Attended Grandaddy concert last night, with an orchestra. I'm of the opinion that this could be an amazing venue, if it had a little money spent on it. As much as the building is beautiful it's not very well maintained with paint peeling off of every surface in sight. I must say, the bathroom facilities were spotless. 2 bars in the main concert area means that a quiet gig is overshadowed by the noise from those. But the bit that ruined the gig for me were the doors. We sat upstairs and throughout the gig the fire doors were constantly banging. These need looking at and having some money spending on them, immediately! As said in the title, this could be an amazing venue, if a little thought and money was put into it!
Written April 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jimmy G
United Kingdom79 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Friends
Great venue for a gig. Nowadays it’s probably what they call ‘a wonderful space’. I sat upstairs in the Accessibility area with my friend, as her carer. I was impressed with all of the Accessibility team who treated everyone in a very caring but friendly manner. They take and deliver drinks orders too, which for those with accessibility issues is a dream come true. They are all excellent representatives for the venue. The only quibble I have is with the people who set the drinks prices. £6 for a pint of beer and £8 for a double JD seems rather steep to me.
Written February 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 • Friends
My daughter and I had a fun night with RuPauls drag queens performing on the Twisted Circus tour.
Davina and Jimbo had us laughing and the atmosphere in the crowd was great.
Albert Hall is such a grand old building, and the architects were probably never expecting a show such as this one to be performed here ha ha!
But we were happy as we chose to stand and be nearer to the queens.
My only wish, to make things even better, after standing for over two hours (at my age, wink wink) would have been to be able to have a breath of fresh air during the interval, but we were not allowed out.
The bar staff were so friendly and all the event staff did a great job directing us and helping us throughout the evening.
Acoustics were good as were the effects and lighting, and view down stairs was better than upstairs where we have sat previously.
Loads of restaurants and bars nearby if you want to make a night of it, as the Albert Hall is situated in a popular part of the city. Hold on, all of Manchester is popular!!
Parking is available right next door with a few Just Park spaces or Great Northern, Spinning Fields or The Manchester Central Convention Centre (formally GMEX). Also only a short walk from trains, trams and busses.
Would visit Albert Hall again xx
Written May 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, Thanks so much for the great review, really happy to hear our staff helped you enjoy your evening. Hope welcome you back to Albert Hall again soon! All the best, Ellie
Written June 6, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 338
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Albert Hall - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Albert Hall



All Manchester HotelsManchester Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Manchester
All things to do in Manchester
Casinos & Gambling in Manchester
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars