Cuerden Valley Park

Cuerden Valley Park, Preston: Address, Phone Number, Cuerden Valley Park Reviews: 4/5

Cuerden Valley Park
4
Write a review

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
305 reviews
Excellent
147
Very good
80
Average
22
Poor
9
Terrible
47

Jack H
London, UK31 contributions
Couples
The cafe has some wonderful dishes and the staff are lovely and helpful. The park itself is well kept and offers a wonderful array of wildlife and different walking paths, the car park however is another story. BEWARE OF THE CARPARK. I cannot stress this enough, the fines are totally disproportionate to the initial charge, it's very cheap to park there but if you go over by as little as 15 mins you can expect a £100 fine. I understand the park is self funded and these fares help to run the facilities but it is incredibly unfair to penalise people so heavily, we were once regulars but unfortunatley we will not be returning as we simply cannot afford to pay such ludicrously high fines. You might say we should have been more vigilant with our parking times but as we were unfamiliar with all the parks routes and the cafe was noticeably busier than usual we ran over by a small amount and subsequently were fined. Please, to whoever is in charge of the car park, make your fines reasonable, this way you won't scare off previous loyal customers. It would easily have been a 5 star review of it weren't for the car parks issues, please sort ASAP.
Written December 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
I thank you for your kind comments about the Café and the Park in general. However, I am sorry to hear your comments about the problems you have had when using our car park. We acknowledge that the charge might be considered high in proportion to the £1.50 parking cost, which is why it is reduced to £60 if paid promptly within 14 days. Cuerden Valley Park Trust does not receive any portion of the parking fine, just the amounts paid for parking so have no interest in anybody receiving a fine. The car parks are all controlled by ANPR cameras so if you do overstay for any reason you run the risk of incurring a fine. There are orange signs in all the car parks explaining how to top up your payment if you think you have overstayed. Alternatively, if you think you may have overstayed, contact us at the office as soon as possible after your visit to let us know.
Written January 15, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

englishnat89
6 contributions
We live locally and visit here a lot. The park is lovely especially in summer as the kids can play in the river. It is such a shame though that the new car park enforcement is ruining the park. I received a £100 fine even though I paid and displayed because I left the car park 11 minutes after my time. This was in the height of lockdown, the car park was super busy and we couldn't get into our car because of social distancing then had to sanitise, sort the kids wellies out etc. I think Cuerden Valley really need to have a think about wether or not having an enforcement management team, especially one as forceful as Minister Baywatch is worth it as sadly it is slowly but surely ruining the parks reputation. I will be parking on the roads from now on and I recommend everybody else does the same.
Written January 11, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your kind comments about the Park. However, I am sorry to hear that you have experienced problems recently when using our car park. There is a 10 minute period of grace allowed if you stay beyond the time for which you have paid. If you have only stayed over by 11 minutes and would like to contact me at the office on 01772 324436 I would be happy to investigate further. The car parks are all controlled by ANPR cameras so if you do overstay for any reason you run the risk of incurring a fine. There are orange signs in all the car parks explaining how to top up your payment if you think you have overstayed. Alternatively, if you think you may have overstayed, contact us at the office as soon as possible after your visit to let us know.
Written January 15, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Ray
Leyland, UK39 contributions
Cuerden Valley Park is a very pleasant country park with the opportunity to walk for two to three miles away from traffic. The short woodland trails are very enjoyable and the walk along the bank of the river Lostock is very nice.

Plenty of wildlife to see and this year we have been watching the herons nesting in the trees in the middle of the reservoir.

Although access to the park is free, it is necessary to pay for parking. This is currently £1.10 for up to two hours, £2.20 for up to four hours, and £4.00 for a whole day. I appreciate a lot of people complain about the charges, but I think it is reasonable. Parking fees go towards the general running of the park.

The café is excellent and well worth climbing up to.
Written August 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Many thanks for taking time to post your kind and supportive review. Free maps are available from the Café and Visitor Centre which show all the walking routes around the Park. There is certainly plenty of nature to see particularly if you take the time to explore some of the quieter paths through the woods. It is with regret that I must say that our parking charges have recently increased to £1.50 for up to 2 hours, £2.50 for up to 4 hours and £5 for all day. As an independent charity, we receive no support from government or any local authority, so have to raise all the money for the upkeep of the Park ourselves. With everything that has happened this year, we have been unable to hold any of our fundraising events such as the Beer Festival, Fair and Circus which provide a significant portion of the income on which we rely. This is only the second price increase we have had to introduce in 13 years and I hope that you can understand the rationale behind this decision which was taken reluctantly.
Written October 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Richard S
Chorley, UK3 contributions
Same issues with Minster Baywatch Parking pretty much everyone else on here has reported. Google that company and you'll see hundreds of other examples in the main stream press of them doing similar scams at various venues. So we will join the hundreds of others we've read that are boycotting Minster Baywatch Car Parks. Expect to pay £100 for the parking and be completely ignored if you try to appeal - doesn't matter if you have evidence of their faulty machinery. Just google the news on Minster Baywatch.
Written March 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Shehan G
World1 contribution
We visited for the G7 summit and met a friend for a walk in this park. There was a note saying the parking meter wasn’t working, but as it was hand written we paid to be on the safe side. Left before our time was up and still got a letter from “Minster Baywatch” fining us £100. We appealed but their letter arriving several weeks after the date on it, so even though we appealed within days they told it was too late !!! Wish I’d read Trip adviser - loads of others had similar problems. AVOID the pay and display parks.
Written April 6, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Susan S
Telford, UK15 contributions
Solo
Really disappointed in the visit to Cuerden Park. Whilst the area is very nice, the parking fine for allegedly overstaying the paid hours is criminal. With an hour left on the ticket, it was assumed parking would be within the 4 hr timeline. It took some time to download the app, register and pay for parking and torrential rain meant immediate payment was delayed whilst the ticket process was explored. The signs say a friendly “ it’s ok to pay at the end of your visit” but this requires accurate time noting by the visitor. All this on a 3G connection, meant the start times differed from when the ticket was activated and when the ANPR registered. A £100 fine is ridiculous for what would have cost £1.50 especially as the entry time wasn’t precisely noted. It would be far better to pay on exit with the car registration number so accurate charges can be made. Instead it relies on exact timings being monitored by the visitor or incur a fine. Is this how Cuerden charity raises funds throughout the year, to out of region visitors who are unfamiliar with the system?
Written June 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for letting us have your feedback. I am sorry if you found the system we have for parking confusing. If you have paid for a 4 hour ticket you should not have received a fine if you left the car park within that timeframe. Assuming these circumstances, I can investigate further what has happened in this instance if you would care to contact me at admin@cuerdenvalleypark.org.uk For clarity, Cuerden Valley Park only receives the money paid for parking and none of that charged in fines.
Written August 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Nicola R
1 contribution
Family
Again another parking scam. Shame on you curden valley. I took my 2 old dogs for a wee brake. I didn’t pay and display as I wasn’t there that long but to send a £60 fine though the post is disgusting. If it was £20 I would understand but £60 is disgusting especially after we have lost money during the pandemic. But good on you for charging exorbitant about of money is disgusting. Call yourself a charity, I am a single mum of two, as I have to pay £60, I would have it if it was £20 which I can afford I cannot feed the kids for the next two weeks. What a great charity you are
Written July 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for posting your review. I am not sure you can call it a parking scam when all the car parks are clearly signed saying that you have to pay for parking (as has been the case for the last 13 years) and yet still you choose not to pay. As an independent charity we receive no support from any local authority or government so rely on the income from parking to fund the maintenance and upkeep of the Park. We do not receive income from any of the fines levied, just from the payments made to park.
Written July 29, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

LMMB2017
Manchester, UK41 contributions
Lovely park and cafe- if it were these factors alone would give a higher star rating. Parking is incredibly disappointing. Have just received a PCN for an overstay. Had paid for 2 hours parking but exceeded this time ever so slightly due to a tantruming 2 year old. Car park is camera controlled so if in any doubt pay for a longer duration of parking- I should have done this in hindsight.
The fine is a real deterrent to my returning which is a shame as we have enjoyed our previous trips but the risk of a £60 fine just isn't worth it. It's a shame the park cannot make money in other ways other than penalising their genuine punters who would continue to spend money supporting the park in future as opposed to being turned off returning in the future due to ridiculous fines.
Written February 14, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

EggTravel
Freckleton, UK90 contributions
Solo
I visited the park in January and tried to pay for parking but the machine was out of action. I photographed the machine and took video evidence and left it at that. Received a fine in the post which I appealed but just got a copy and paste letter back which didn’t even mention the broken machine. The letter was backdated (it said it was sent on a Sunday, to my knowledge there is no collection on Sundays and I didn’t receive the letter until Thursday) however, this contributed to the discounted period of two weeks being cut down significantly! In addition to which, the appeals process supposedly puts the case on hold, but it seems that this doesn’t also apply to the discount period. Long story short it cost me £100 to visit a park for two hours, even though their faulty equipment was to blame. By coincidence the government released their report on dodgy parking practices such as these on the day I received the fine so there can be absolutely no condoning this behaviour. Cuerden, don’t wait for the government to force you to treat people with decency and respect, just do it now.
Written February 16, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Firefaerie
Lancashire, UK10 contributions
Family
We love cuerden valley, however it’s not the valley that makes me award only 3/5, it’s the car park!
Be aware, very aware, there’s a camera videoing you arriving and leaving... I was daft enough to not realise! I bought a two hour ticket, displayed it, thought I was safe, but no, id bought the ticket ten minutes after driving through into the car park and past the camera, we’d sat in the car and ate sandwiches before I got the ticket, stupid in hindsight, that ten mins cost me £60! And I’d bought a ticket.
The fine has actually gone up to £100 now in the past two months, so Parker’s beware, there’s no free parking here, not even later on.
The actual valley is great, it’s clean, rural and natural, not man made, my daughter loves it for paddling in the stream. But I’m absolutely aware now of that parking fine, and it’s put a dampener on the visits a little.
Written October 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
I thank you for your review and your positive feedback about the Park itself. I am sorry that you had a problem with the parking. The ticket you bought covers you for 2 hours and can be topped up before you leave if you think you have overstayed. There are cameras on all our car parks so it is important that you ensure you cover the whole of your visit. If you overstayed by just 10 minutes, please can I ask you to contact me at the office to discuss your situation.
Written October 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 304
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cuerden Valley Park