Calderfields Golf & Country Club

Calderfields Golf & Country Club, Walsall: Hours, Address, Calderfields Golf & Country Club Reviews: 4/5

Calderfields Golf & Country Club

Calderfields Golf & Country Club
4
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Sunday
7:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Popular mentions

4.0
97 reviews
Excellent
50
Very good
22
Average
11
Poor
8
Terrible
6

Leslie B
17 contributions
Great carvery
Oct 2021
Best carvery I’ve had for a long time,3 meats to choose from,plenty of fresh veggies.
Lovely settings,Will definitely be back
Written October 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ken T
8 contributions
Sunday Driver golf break
Aug 2020
I stayed at Calderfields with 3 friends on a Sunday Driver golf break, taking into account the price point of our stay & play golf package my opinions are as follows;

The Positives;
I liked the log cabins with a view onto the golf course, they were comfortable & clean.

The Sunday Carvery was excellent.

The golf course was picturesque, enjoyable to play & a good test for any handicap golfer.

All the staff I had contact with were friendly & helpful, particularly Lisa who was a very nice lady who deserves a special mention.

The Negatives;
The poor lighting in the cabins needs to be looked at.
There are other minor negatives however they had no significant impact on our enjoyable stay at Calderfields so I will not go into details.

Conclusion;
An excellent place to stay & play golf, my friends & I will definitely be booking a golfing break at Calderfields next year.
Written August 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Ken, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We are currently in the process of changing our older halogen light bulbs for new, brighter LED light fittings which should provide better lighting in the accommodation. If you would like to contact the venue direct I would be more than happy to discuss the minor concerns you had. We hope to see you again very soon.
Written May 2, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Mistermulligan
Stafford, UK4 contributions
Great value great service
Aug 2020 • Friends
Went for lunch yesterday to meet our best friends whom we had not seen since lockdown,the food and service was first class and with the offer made great value.we all felt very COVID safe and will certainly come back.
Written August 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Geoff, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Written August 9, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Louise
2 contributions
Awful Sunday carvery
Mar 2020 • Family
Wrote a review on the 8th March after a meal on Sunday the 7th.
Terrible meal & awful service not impressed by the fact my review has been deleted & not addressed.
Louise
Written March 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Lottie, If you wish to contact the venue direct, I would be more than happy to discuss these issues with you.
Written May 2, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Alan A
Redditch, UK928 contributions
Birthday meal
Feb 2020 • Couples
Having visited Caulderfield several times and had excellent meals, service and golf, tonight was very poor.
Firstly, the place was deserted, perhaps the weather. Soulless, we asked for the tele to be put on to give a little background noise. AND freezing. Sitting by the window didnt help, we moved.
Meal ordered fairly quickly, both ordering Hunters Chicken and chips. Microwaved im afraid, and it took the skin off your lips, frozen chips too. To be fair it tasted ok, but just pub food. Shame that as I was hoping for a special birthday dinner for the misses.
Couldn't get a dessert ordered as the chap had abandoned us, so we paid and left.
Couldn't bring myself to give one star as usually the place is great, but not tonight.
Still plenty of parking and the evening cost 30 squid for dinners and drinks.
Written February 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Alan, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you didn't receive our usual friendly, warm and welcoming service. I have now called an extra training session to ensure all staff are aware of your concerns. If you wish to contact me personally, I will ensure we rectify this experience for you.
Written March 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Broaden Your Horizons
Walsall, UK329 contributions
Sunday carvery
Jan 2020 • Family
We hadn’t been to the carvery at Calderfields for some time so were hopeful that the quality and service would be the same as our last visit. Despite a booking late in the afternoon, there was still a choice of 3 meats and a large selection of freshly cooked vegetables. There is a nice ambience here, far better than at other local carveries. The price had increased slightly since our last visit but I think is still worth it for the quality of food and pleasant surroundings.
Written January 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Simon, Thank you for your kind and fair review. We really appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again very soon.
Written February 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Andrea S
Walsall, UK42 contributions
Lovely surroundings shame about the food
Dec 2019
We attended a group Christmas meal in late December.There were between 20 or 30 of us. We were seated in a lovely room overlooking the golf course. The first thing I noticed was that the glasses on the table were dirty. They were changed on request. The first course was adequate but the bread accompanying the page was white and limp with bits of half melted cheese. Not something I enjoyed. The main course was the biggest disappointment. We were presented with plates with a couple of slices of reformed turkey breast resting on soggy roast potatoes swimming in gravy. The vegetables peas, broccoli and carrots were served in dishes that had obviously been stacked one on top of the other as the contents were flattened, they were also too well cooked for my taste. The Christmas pudding was fine. I had never eaten there before and I certainly won't eat there again.
Written January 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Andrea, Thank you for your review. Since your visit we have changed our Food & Beverage Manager and issues such as dirty glasses have been taken on board. With regards to the "Limp bread" this is chefs homemade Melba toast enthused with Parmesan cheese, slowly grilled to accompany the pate, a very popular dish over the festive season. Our vegetables are steamed and i have passed on your comments about them looking stacked to the head chef. We would love to see you back at our lakeview restaurant or join us for a Sunday carvery to be able to put your average experience right.
Written January 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Wendy B
Birmingham, UK8 contributions
Festive afternoon tea.
Nov 2019 • Friends
Visited yesterday for a festive afternoon tea treat. We arrived early, but were taken to our table straight away. Offered a complimentary glass of mulled wine which was lovely. Selection of teas was brought over to look through & chose from, I personally requested coffee, which was a little bitter for my taste. Having advised when the booking was made that there was a pescatarian in the party, and advising that neither of us liked smoked salmon and requesting this be substituted by tuna if possible, we were presented with a selection of sandwiches - minus tuna! There was 1 beef and 1 turkey sandwich finger neither of which had any accompanying sauces (horseradish/cranberry) and meat was very thin - not joint carved, along with additions of cucumber/mixed cheese/cheese salad sandwiches. We were told that the sandwiches would be topped up as required. Once these were consumed we waited to be asked if any more were wanted - in the hope we could request some tuna maybe. In the end, we just moved on to the selection of cakes - which couldn’t be faulted. There was small mince pies, mini chocolate eclairs, scones with jam & clotted cream, raspberry tartlets, fresh cream meringues & macarons. We washed it all down with a latte coffee each, which we were expecting to be paying for separately - only to be told afterwards that it was included in the package. Then we were asked if we’d like more sandwiches!! A little too late, but having said that by this time we were full to bursting. The only disappointment was the lack of variety in the sandwiches for the non meat eater. It was, however, nice not to be rushed out and have time to enjoy a leisurely afternoon treat.
Written December 1, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. As per most venues we do not offer extra sandwiches, these are brought out on the tier and presented as the £15.95 package. A glass of mulled wine at Christmas or Prosecco in the year is complimentary. We do our up mos to cater for all dietary requirements even if this occasionally means taking a food item off the menu. We would love to see your party back again very soon.
Written December 16, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

johnandmel123
Penkridge, UK308 contributions
Sunday Carvery
Nov 2019 • Friends
Visited this place with friends for the Sunday carvery. There were six of us in our party. We all had a lovely carvery and could not fault the food. The service for drinks was excellent. We all had a sweet and these were lovely too. Lovely place to eat but very busy so long queue for food. Gents toilets very nice. Ladies toilets only one tap working in three sinks. Very poor. Overall a nice place to eat and drink. Not cheap but good quality.
Written November 3, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the second tap stopped working on the morning of your visit. I am pleased to say that all 3 taps are now working. We hope you visit us again very soon.
Written December 16, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

AzeezHakeem
Wem, UK46 contributions
Group luncheon for 34 members of the Harriets society.
Oct 2019 • Business
We have been visiting this restaurant twice a year for many years now & the food & service is always good but today the team excelled themselves & everything was fantastic - it was great food & wonderful service.
Written October 24, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for the fantastic review. I am delighted to hear that we looked after your party so well. We look forward to seeing you back ere in 2020.
Written December 16, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 97
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing