Gambado

Gambado, Watford: Hours, Address, Gambado Reviews: 4/5

Game & Entertainment Centers
Read more
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Sunday
9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Write a review
About
The UK's most exciting indoor play and party centre. Our mission is to be the best quality family indoor play provider in the UK. We offer children the opportunity to play, run free and explore in a fun, safe and stimulating environment. Giant Play Frames, Huge Slides, Ball Pits, Dodgems, Carousel rides and a full size climbing frame - all included in one standard admission price. Great value annual pass available plus party offers all year round.
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

4.0
217 reviews
Excellent
98
Very good
55
Average
30
Poor
13
Terrible
21

Dae
1 contribution
Family
Had an excellent time at Gamabados watford for my sons 2nd birthday. All the kids enjoyed it very much. Nice and clean and lots for the kids to do! Luke was in-charge of the running of my sons party. He was attentive and patient and a huge credit to the team! Thank you Luke!
Written March 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. It is fantastic to hear you son and his friends enjoyed his 2nd birthday party with us. We will ensure your comments are passed onto Luke. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Written March 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Truemen
81 contributions
Family
This was our 2nd visit for a birthday party & can safely say will be our last! The place is absolutely disgusting infact that is being kind! Toilets are filthy so much so my daughter who it toilet training i actually put a pull up on her to avoid using them. My daughters socks were black within the first 5 minutes. The cafe area has food trodden in all over floors and tables, bins over flowing. Needs a massive deep clean. Also need to check their own policies re allowing older kids into the under 3s section, not a minutes rest praying the dont get pushed around by older children who shouldnt be in there! Dont waste your money, go DJ's or paradise instead of this excuse of a pit.
Written February 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, I was disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the centre on your last visit to Gambado, this is an unusual and unacceptable occurrence for which we apologise. We have procedures in place to ensure the centre is kept clean and it appears that these were not being adhered to on this occasion, the toilet checks were being carried out fully every hour and the centre manager has confirmed that during their peak times they will increase the checks to 30 minute intervals, we do encourage all customers to report concerns to the duty manager during your visit, so action can be taken then and there. Deep cleans are carried out every week and general cleans daily, the centre manager has confirmed that he will ensure all checklists are being carried out correctly and have an additional staff member monitoring the floors and tables. You will find that other soft plays don't have the dodgems track we have - the track surface does cause some black dust to be transferred to the floor, we do ask those who use the dodgems to wear shoes to try and reduce any transfer and signage has been put in place to try and enforce this, we can confirm that the track is regularly cleaned. We do ensure that our centres are a safe place for children to play however do advise that it is the parents responsibility to look after their own children when on the play equipment, additional staff have recently been recruited to enable the areas to be more closely monitored, in particular one member of staff to be on the Under 3 area at all times.
Written February 17, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amish
2 contributions
AVOID BOOKING A PARTY HERE AT ALL COSTS... we had booked a party for 20 children, and brought our own cake to the party. When the children sat down to eat, there are unwritten policies about how much food they actually serve, e.g. one slice of pizza per child, one veggie nugget per child etc. As a result, it was very embarrassing when the children wanted more items but not available due to their policy. I took it up with the staff there however they were quite rude on the day. I then further took it up with customer services after the party and they were not willing to do anything about it apart from thanking me for the feedback. MONEY HUNGRY PEOPLE WHO DO NOT PROVIDE THE RIGHT SERVICE AT ALL. Lastly i would add that our party bags had someone else's cake in them! That is highly unprofessional and downright cross contamination from Gambado Watford. We only figured this out when we got home and opened up some of the party bags left over which had different cakes in them. They did not even want to admit that there could have been different cakes contaminated within the party bags. Be Very Careful.
Written February 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Amish, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Of course we have policies on how much food we serve as do all businesses. We don't get complaints on the amount of food usually, so we're sorry if you were not happy. We have looked in to your comments with the Watford centre and can confirm once requested the birthday child did receive 2 slices of pizza. We do hope the children had a lovely party and enjoyed all our facilities.
Written February 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Louisa London
Enfield, UK17 contributions
Theres so much more to this than a soft play. They have racing cars, a fairground type ride, a balloon modeller... I challenge any child to get bored! You could spend a really long time here. Well worth the money, especially when cold and wet. Very friendly staff and comfortable for the adults too.
Written December 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Thank you for your review and great to hear your children love coming to Gambado and enjoy all our facilities. Thank you again for your comments and look forward to seeing you at Gambado soon Best Regards
Written December 19, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SPH90
Hemel Hempstead, UK77 contributions
Family
This was our first visit to Gambardo and it will be our last.
I researched the place prior to attending to make sure it was suitable for my 14 month old grandson. There was mention of a dedicated area for Under 3's to play in safety away from the older children. We headed straight to this area when we arrived. There's a 'soft area', a slide into a ball pit and a sensory area with a few lights and another ball pit.
Firstly, although there are signs clearing stating that the area was for under 3's only and asking parents/carers to help keep the little ones safe by keeping their older children out, however, there were so many children from 5 - 11 ish years old coming in and out - leaving the gate open usually. After my grandson got knocked over a number of times I started asking these older children to leave and go and play in their own area. There were also adults lying in the ball pit taking selfies, taking up the entire space, so no child could use it. There was absolutely no member of staff around to speak to or ask for help except for the two on the front entrance.

In addition to the safety concerns, the place looked so disgusting dirty. Every spare table had mountains of dirty plates, food, cups etc on them and there was so much food and rubbish on the floor it wasn't pleasant being without shoes! It has the appearance of not having anywhere near enough staff on duty to keep it clean and to keep it safe. We visited on a Friday afternoon at around 3pm.

I know from other reviews I've read on here today that some people/children really enjoy theit time here. We thought the whole experience was so awful that we will not be going back. Parents do not appear to supervise their children at all, therefore, I think it is completely unsuitable for young children and there are much nicer, safer places to visit with your toddler/baby. We left after 20 minutes because it was just too stressful. Having read the review from the family who asked to speak to the manager, I'm now wishing we had done the same; however, we just wanted to get out and banish the whole experience from our memories
Written October 26, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are of course disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with your recent visit to our centre. All Gambado employees understand the importance of safety when it comes to our visitors and the role that supervising adults have - that's why our rules of play make it clear it is the responsibility of parents and guardians to supervise and accompany their children at all times. Our staff are there to support you if you report any issues to them. When we operate at peak periods we do have a member of staff monitoring the gate due to the higher number of admissions. This was not a peak period and it seems we were caught out by a number of schools who had different half term dates and therefore we had a higher number of admissions than anticipated. To be able to enjoy the quieter times we would always encourage families with young children to visit 09:30 – 14:00 during school term time, when we have dedicated toddler time activities - Monday- Friday term time only between 10:30 – 11:00 for our younger guests. These activities include arts & crafts and story time, as well as access to suitable toys and games. Each evening the centre is thoroughly cleaned and we have a deep clean of our frame every 4 weeks. We are disappointed to hear during your visit that the tables were not cleaned regularly, please be assured this will be addressed with the centre management team to ensure they maintain our usual standards. Please fill in our feedback form on our website and we'll be delighted to send you a play voucher so that you can join us again at a quieter time. Thanks again for taking the time to tell us about your experience, and helping us to improve our customer experience.
Written November 1, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David M
2 contributions
Family
Went with my son and mother in law yesterday, not all that much for the under twos, price was £17.50 compared with £4.50 at my two local places and the small kids’ bit was over run with older kids, will try somewhere else next time I’m in Watford.
Written October 13, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello David, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, we have a sensory area for our guests who are under 3 years and a role play village for our under 4 guests. Children of all ages can use our carousel and interactive zone. We were concerned to hear that you felt our toddler areas were poorly monitored on your last visit to Gambado. The safety of all of our visitors is extremely important to us and we regularly review our procedures to ensure that we have the highest standards. As part of this, the management team will continue to review the level of monitoring of our toddler areas.
Written October 14, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dani T
Hertfordshire, UK7 contributions
Family
My son had his 5 th birthday party with some friends. They all enjoyed a brilliant party lovely food, friendly helpful staff and great value for money
Written August 27, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Dani, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. It is fantastic to hear you son and his friends enjoyed his 5th birthday party with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon to use your one month pass for more fun.
Written August 28, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DrRuby
London, UK40 contributions
Very upsetting visit to Gambado Watford this past Saturday which was terminated early and a full refund received. However, we are not from the local area and had to travel to get there and were expecting a nice afternoon with our 1 year old girl. We accepted it would be busy as it was a Saturday and school holidays but we did not expect the experience we had. There were multiple older children repeatedly entering the 0-3y area and being very boisterous to the point my daughter was nearly injured with her father on the slide. We actually became quite stressed in this environment with older children coming and going and the constant need to defend our daughter from their careless behaviour. I complained to the staff who asked them to leave but then other children kept coming in who were clearly older as well. We had paid a substantial amount to be there and expected that this area should have a constant monitor of children's ages on entering. It wasn't fair on us at all and after a short period of me complaining I was given a refund and dealt with appropriately by the manager. However we spent some time and effort to get there and back and left upset. I can see the same issue was raised with a complaint back in Dec 2018 here on Tripadvisor and it seems clearly nothing has been done. With the high prices being charged surely they could employ someone - at least during peak periods to monitor the 0-3 area. After all there are very limited options for parents of crawling 1 year olds to take their to children as it is.
Written August 12, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we can assure you that we take issues of health and safety very seriously. We do ensure that our centres are a safe place for children to play however do advise that it is the parents responsibility to look after their own children when on the play equipment. We do offer a Toddler Time session across all of our centres which are Mon - Fri, 10:30 - 11:00, term time only. This is a dedicated session with offers activities specially designed for toddlers. We are really pleased to hear that the manager on shift at the time of your visit dealt with the situation appropriately and was able to give you a full refund of your ticket price. We will pass on your feedback to the centre management team and we will actively look into how we can better monitor the under 3's area.
Written August 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

samanthamurphy2018
Hemel Hempstead, UK5 contributions
Family
We have visited twice over the past month, and my daughter loves it here. We visit a number of soft play places and this is definately our favourite. They have a lovely play section for babies and toddlers, with a sensory area. She loves the play village and enjoys pretend play in the 'shop' and at the 'vets'. There is also a carousel which she enjoys going on.
Typically we visit during the week and it's fairly quiet so we sometimes venture into the older kids section which my daughter loves, but needs a bit of assistance round. The staff are friendly and the place is always clean.
The only downside is that it can be more expensive than similar places as you have to pay as an adult too - however they sometimes run promotions so you can visit as a kid and adult for £6, which is good value.
We will definately be visiting over the summer holidays, and my sister has booked her sons 5th birthday party as he loves it too.
Written July 19, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Samantha Thank you for taking the time to write a review and sharing with us the activities that your daughter likes. We are running the £6 offer during the weekdays in school holidays (until 30 Aug). Book online. Hope your sisters son enjoys his birthday party and hope to see you again soon.
Written July 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tim N
Watford, UK16 contributions
Family
As members we take our daughter perhaps a couple of times a month, avoiding school holidays and weekends when it is busy. She is always keen to go and we have been members for a couple of years, since she was about two.

It's a little scruffy in places but most things work well and they do maintain it. The staff are helpful and our daughter has learnt to drive bumper cars thanks to Gambado.

The food is convenient and affordable but their "main meals" are mostly not very appetising!

However, if you are wondering what to do for a coupe of hours with an active child Gambado's is the answer - and I am sure I'd have loved it if such things had existed when I was a kid...
Written June 4, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello Thank you for your review and great to hear your daughter loves coming to Gambado. Amazing to hear that our staff have helped your daughter to learn to drive our bumper cars We have been closed for a couple of days for a refurbishment which includes cleaning and painting areas at the site, and we have also had a new feature installed of a interactive screen which seems to be very poplar with the children. Thank you again for your comments and look forward to seeing you at Gambado soon Best Regards
Written June 7, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 217
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gambado

Gambado is open:
  • Sun - Sat 9:30 AM - 6:30 PM