Southern Pursuits
Southern Pursuits
4.5
Off-Road & ATV Trails
This location was reported permanently closed
About
Southern Pursuits is an outdoor pursuits company, conveniently situated between London and Brighton. With a range of packages and prices to suit any budget and requirement. Southern Pursuits activities include: quad biking, off road karting, clay shooting, archery, axe throwing, argocat driving and team building. Whether you have to arrange a stag or hen do, corporate event or just want a fun day out - Southern Pursuits is the place for you! Specialists in their field, with fantastic equipment, friendly and experienced staff and an on-site restaurant.
Duration: More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles791 reviews
Excellent
657
Very good
80
Average
20
Poor
12
Terrible
22

Ram
Woking, UK50 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
I organised a booking for 16 for a Stag Do. The booking experience was positive - Fay was very friendly and helpful in accommodating our booking, and arranged a package of 3 activities for our group to do together.

Arriving on site, I was immediately disappointed to be told that our group had been split into two groups of 8, despite what we had been told at booking time. This was particularly disappointing because we wanted the Stag to be with the whole group, and the fact we were told this would be the case was a deciding factor in selecting Southern Pursuits over other options. This decision was particularly baffling given the activities were all mixed with other groups, so there was clearly the ability to accommodate our group.

The activities themselves were fun - we did archery, clay pigeon shooting and quad biking. I had some concerns over the safety, or lack thereof; the member of staff supervising the archery was paying no attention after the first volley was fired, and was too busy spending time talking to a friend / colleague to give instructions on when it was clear to retrieve arrows or when it was safe to start firing again. He then decided to join in the activity but was again focussed on shooting himself rather than effectively supervising.

The clay pigeon shooting was better run and the staff seemed to take things more seriously, although they begun firing guns before everyone had chance to grab a pair of ear protectors. The quad biking was also fun, but marred by apparently poor equipment maintenance, as there were three quad bike breakdowns spread across our 2 groups.

All in all, the activities themselves were fun, but given the questionable safety and maintenance and the fact that what was agreed was changed without consultation means I'm likely to give another operator a go the next time I'm interested in doing similar activities.
Written August 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

David K
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 • Friends
We’ve used SP before many times but things seem to be getting worse not better. The state of the quads are awful. They are the same vehicles we were on 5 years ago. None of the tyres have any tread, the brakes are non-responsive and one kept breaking down which disrupted things.

What used to be an exhilarating thrill was a walking procession. We were led out by a lady who insisted we go at ‘walking pace’.

We were a group of 4 accomplished riders which was obvious but off we went at snail’s pace and that continued for the whole ride.

I suspect this is to ensure the overall state of the vehicles is not exposed.

We won’t be using again. Enjoyment and safety is being compromised for profit.
Written November 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback, we are dissapointed to hear you didn’t enjoy your experience with us. Our Quad Bikes our maintained to a high standard each week, so it is disspointing to hear that you had an issue with brakes being non-responsive and that you felt the state of our Quad Bikes where awful. Did you mention this to an instructor at the time and fill out a complaint form? Health and safety are our priority at Southern Pursuits and this is infact the main reason why we have slowed down the Quad Biking sessions, this is clearly printed on both our Quad Biking pages, your confirmation email and also our terms and conditions – which you would have agreed to on booking; ‘The quad bike riding is carried out at a speed just above walking pace in order reduce risks and unnecessary accidents.’ Again, we can only apologise you didn’t enjoy your activities with us. If you wish to discuss this any further, please feel free to contact us on 01293 611020 or drop us an email on info@southernpursuits.co.uk Jessica Events Manager
Written November 2, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dan M
5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
This review relates to the terrible experience that we had on Saturday 11/07/2021.
We booked the Quad Bike experience for six of us. I wish we had read the reviews on this Facebook page before wasting our money on what was a horrendous morning. First off, the staff that they employ are rude and lack any customer service skills. We were told to go and select a crash helmet each that had just been used by the group of people before us. The helmets were wet with sweat. The staff didn’t sanitise the helmets before we were expected to put them on. Thankfully I took my own and the rest of the party had some sanitiser that they could use. The member of staff that had been told to lead us on the experience was then told to conduct a health and safety briefing. He was rude and even shouted at another member of the team because apparently, they were standing in the wrong position to see what he was trying to show us, even though he had told them to stand there for the briefing. He continued to bark orders at everyone saying if we didn’t do what he asked we wouldn’t be able to go on the experience. The order he barked at us was looking over our shoulders to look around and make sure nobody else was close to us, as we had to be at least one quad bike away from the next bike. Finally, we were allowed to follow the obnoxious kid on the experience. The bikes as we were told “are very powerful 350cc and if we would need to be very careful” This is true they could be very powerful, but not on this experience. We set off at what can only be described as a snail’s pace. We thought this was until we got confident using the Quads, how wrong we were it stayed like this for the full length of the experience. We even got told that if we dropped back further than one quad bike again, we would be told to stop and go back to the main area while the rest of the party carried on.
I’ve been on lots of quad experiences before and this must be the worst. Please save your money and find another experience elsewhere.
As mentioned earlier this wasn’t just a one-off, lots of people have had the same poor experience.
I’m sure Southern Pursuits will just ignore this review as they have with all the others. They only comment on the good reviews.
Written July 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nina A
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Friends
4 of us booked the quad biking and clay pigeon shooting for a Saturday afternoon. As soon as we arrived, we were welcomed by the instructors and made to feel at home :) they were informative and helpful! The grounds are amazing, Tulleys farm has so much space and everything is set out brilliantly.
Clay pigeon shooting was really great, instructor was by us at all times and gave amazing feedback throughout (his name was Stanley). We did quad biking too with Alastair and Matt - that was brilliant, they were really helpful and always checked on us to see if we were keeping up/okay! You get really muddy so make sure you wear old comfy clothes!
Highly recommend for anyone, such a fun day out and would definitely go again - thank you southern pursuits!!!
Written March 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Nina, Thank you for your wonderful 5* review of our Quad Biking & Clay Pigeon Shooting. We are happy to hear you had such a fantastic experience through-out your session and Alastair and Matt where helpful through-out! The Quad Biking is particularly muddy at the moment with all the rain fall, so we agree and think it's a great time to attend!! When you come to book again, please make sure you mention you have attended our site before and we will be able to offer you a 10% loyalty discount. Many Thanks, Jessica Events Manager
Written March 16, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Caramel_x30
London, UK483 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020
I had booked quad biking and axe throwing as part of a birthday surprise for my boyf and we got air rife shooting for free, for not cancelling our booking when the second lockdown as announced.

Axe throwing was fun, it will def bring out your competitive streak if you have one. Admittedly we both found the air rifle shooting a bit boring after about 10 mins - nobody's fault, it is what it is.

The best was saved 'til last - the quad biking! We loved it, I got muddy but didn't give a damn. I had the best time, zipping through the woods, down the muddy banks and racing through puddles. It was brilliant! Because it was so muddy, we had to ride faster than usual - no complaints here!

I was actually frozen when it was time to do quad biking but I think my adrenaline and overall excitement warmed me up cos I was fine within 5 mins of getting on the bike. Make sure you wrap up warm and def don't turn up in footwear you love cos they'll get wrecked in the mud!

Our instructor Milly was lovely. Very encouraging and explained each activity with confident detail. She's an asset to the company. I'd also like to mention Victoria who I dealt with during the booking process, she's amazing and her customer service skills are brilliant!

Thank you to everyone who contributed to a fun day out!
Written December 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your wonderful and thorough review of our activities at Southern Pursuits. Thank you again for not cancelling your activities and for bearing with us during this difficult time and re-arranging. We are so happy to hear you loved your activities with us and had a fun and very muddy day out!! We will pass on your thanks to both our on-site team and office team who will both receive a small work bonus for such fantastic words. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in he near future. Jessica Events Manager
Written December 15, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hayley Kirby
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 • Couples
We had a good day at southern pursuits. We done buggy racing, archery and air rifle shooting. All the activities were addictive. Victoria was brilliant when booking the day for my partners birthday. Lydia was our instructor and was very friendly. The only thing that would have made it better would be 2 buggys going or 2 tracks with a buggy on each to save waiting around time. Would keep the buzz going. But overall a brilliant day and would highly recommend
Written October 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation - we are so pleased you enjoyed your day with us. I will pass your feedback on to both my on-site manager and MD. Thank you also for your feedback about Victoria and Lydia, they will both receive a small work bonus for such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Jessica Events Manager
Written October 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Matt T
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Friends
Group of 10, ranging in age from 16 to 40 something. Started with lunch on site, burger and chips, filling a gap nicely and they where able to cater for individual dietarary needs.
First activity was on the air rifles, under the guidance of Bradley. Nice clear instruction. The experience was improved by shooting up various cans and bottles, good idea to bring some of your own if you want more targets.
Second activity was on the quads, the instructors were again brilliant, Good clear instructions and after a trial lap to ensure we were all 'safe' to ride set off thought the woods. Brilliant experience. Had an issue with my quad, but the instructor with our group quickly gave me his quad instead. Can't remember the instructors names, sorry, but I think we were all buzzing so much.
Highly recommend the company, thanks for a great afternoon.
Written March 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your fantastic 5* review. We are delighted to hear you had such a fantastic time throughout your activities and that the instructors provided you with clear and guided sessions. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Jessica Events Manager
Written March 11, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

George B
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 • Family
Been here 3 times in a few years, ALWAYS WORTH IT.

The menu for this one was clays, axe throwing and off road karts.

Keiran was superb, helped me improve my shooting and was a general delight the entire day! We were lucky enough to have him show us around all day and I hope he hosts us next time.

My brother and I had a blast and as always everything was well planned, managed and safe. Staff here are always friendly helpful and able. The whole experience is beyond any other similar ones I have done before and the equipment is great.

Costs are always good, especially when you look at pricing for a similar experience at a gun club in the area...

Book a day, bring some friends, you will not regret it.
Written June 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

gezzybee
Worthing, UK6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020
Thank you all for a great experience. I booked quad bikes and axe throwing for my husbands birthday but sadly had to cancel due to the second lockdown. Jessica was very organised and promptly changed our booking for a date and time to suit us.
We had a great time on the day. Sam our instructor was so patient with me as a complete novice to the quad bikes and took everything at a pace I was comfortable with. The axe throwing was a real giggle and he had me and my husband in competition with each other. Would highly recommend Southern Pursuits and we will be back!
Written December 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your 5* review of both myself in the office and our on-site team. I am delighted to hear you had such a fantastic experience and that you had a wonderful day out Quad Biking and Axe Throwing and that you would recommend Southern Pursuits so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Jessica Events Manager
Written January 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Charliefromworthing
Worthing, UK162 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
Booked off-road karts and quad biking with four friends, none of whom were novices and all adults so looking for a fun day out.

The staff were really friendly and helpful, the time we were there was well organised and we had no issues with any of the equipment or how the place was run.

The reason I have scored 3 stars is that the off road karting is is not especially exciting, as you are not racing another kart and your laps are not even being timed. There is not much sense of competition as a result and whilst it is fun enough driving, it just lacked the excitement factor we were seeking. In respect of the quads, the circuit was decent but the pace was very slow. It would be good for kids, non-drivers or those with a nervous disposition but for us it was a little on the dull side in all honesty.

At the end we all walked away and said it was a nice couple of hours to spend as a group but not very thrilling. I would look elsewhere for our next experience and we recently did go-karting at Q Leisure just outside Brighton, which was brilliant and very much five stars, so it is not as though we don't enjoy these kind of activities.
Written October 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Charlie, Thank you for your positive feedback in regards to our activity centre, equipment and staff members. However, it ss disappointing to hear you didn’t enjoy your activities with us. Both the points you have made about the Off-Road Karts and Quad Bikes are infact clearly explained on our website and would have also been explained to you on the phone prior to you making the booking. In regards to the Off-Road Karting (https://southernpursuits.co.uk/off-road-karts/); ‘We have a maximum of 2 karts on the track at any one time, in a ‘Chase me Charlie’ formation…. Groups of 6 or more will receive 2 karts on the track at any one time. We are unable to time your laps, although customers are welcome to this themselves. All groups will receive unlimited laps within the hour session provided.’ And in regards to the pacing of the Quad Biking, this is both in our terms and conditions which you accepted prior to your arrival and on our website both here (https://southernpursuits.co.uk/quad-biking/) & (https://southernpursuits.co.uk/terms-and-conditions/) ‘The quad bike riding is carried out at a speed just above walking pace in order reduce risks and unnecessary accidents.’ *Please note due to COVID-19 the Quad Biking trek is being carried out at a reduced speed* Both these activities are very much aimed for adults and not for children and we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your day with us. Jessica Events Manager
Written October 15, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 787
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Southern Pursuits - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Crawley HotelsCrawley Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Crawley
All things to do in Crawley
Casinos & Gambling in CrawleyDay Trips in Crawley
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars