Swindon Arts Centre
Swindon Arts Centre
4.5
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM, 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Write a review
About
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
281 reviews
Excellent
153
Very good
92
Average
25
Poor
9
Terrible
2

I love dining out
Bath, UK505 contributions
May 2022 • Couples
Easy to book and on arrival, a lovely welcome from the staff.
Because the theatre is small, one gets a good view of the stage and great acoustics are evident.

My only criticism (not of the theatre at all) are the incredibly selfish people who are constantly using their mobile phones! We all pay good money to see a show and nobody has the right to spoil an evening by imposing glaring white lights on other theatre-goers!
Maybe something should be said prior to a performance to inform ‘mobile phone ‘addicts’, that their use is NOT permitted!

Despite this annoyance, we will definitely be back.
Written May 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your kind feedback about our intimate venue and staff. We too find 'mobile phone addicts' an annoyance and have put a number of measures in place to try to discourage mobile phone usage during a performance. Our volunteer usher team are also on the lookout for anyone filming or taking photos of our performances which is strictly forbidden. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sophie Dodson Guest Experience Manager
Written May 29, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rae G
18 contributions
Oct 2021 • Family
On a recent visit to the Swindon Arts Centre, to see Emily Atack, we found the staff very helpful, smiley and caring. They made sure we felt comfortable and welcome. The bar staff were excellent and showed as much care as the ushers.
Written October 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sophie Dodson Guest Experience Manager
Written October 12, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PJWWPM
Abingdon, UK19 contributions
Jul 2017 • Friends
Brillant great night matched any other show of priscilla I have seen in the uk. Loved every minute and didnt stop laughing even when I now the lines as I seen it so many times. Loved swindons take in it where were you. You missed a brillant night
Written July 2, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for the 5 stars for this great show! Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager
Written July 3, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Claire P
37 contributions
Jul 2016 • Couples
This was much better than i expected. The facilities there are small but reasonably comfortable. The people behind the bar were swift and the prices reasonable. The show was very good, They caught the comedy of rock of ages very well, and for a small stage i thought they did a very good job of choreography. We were entertained the whole way through, i thought all the case members did a good job with what are quite difficult songs to sing. A thoroughly entertaining evening.
Written July 15, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Claire, Thanks for this wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for more great entertainment in the future! Darren Edwards | Customer Service Manager | Wyvern Theatre & Arts Centre
Written July 27, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

FussyEater83
154 contributions
Jul 2016 • Friends
This is the 1st time I've been here as a member of the audience, not as a performer.
Firstly the show Rock of Ages was fantastic!! Couldn't fault it.
The staff seemed friendly.
I do however have a few gripes about the place... Upon entering there is no clear sign to show where to go for the auditorium - just a desk which had a bit of a queue, which we were told to get it & that the lady at the desk would help us I already had my tickets in my hand).When we got to the desk she told us to go upstairs to the auditorium. Maybe save everyone some time & put a sign showing where the auditorium is, so there's less obstruction as you enter.
When entering the auditorium it was dark & difficult to see which row was ours as the letters are nailed into the floor& not obvious. Luckily another audience member was able to assist us. Maybe turning on the lights a bit when people are entering would be useful as we weren't the only ones confused with where our seats were.
The seats weren't very comfortable either.
However all this said I would come back to watch another performance.
Written July 13, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for your feedback. We do regularly review signage and I will take your comments into account for when we look at this. We do however try to opt for the personal touch and have greeters in key areas to direct people as required. I have spoken to our technical team who have informed that the house lights in the auditorium were fully on for this performance and there was additional lighting coming from the stage. I will keep an eye on this during the incoming of this evening’s performance. We are also currently in the process of replacing our seating and a rolling programme is now underway, all said and done, we look forward to welcoming you back as a performer and audience member. Darren Edwards | Customer Service Manager | Wyvern Theatre & Arts Centre
Written July 19, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

wiltslady2016
Swindon, UK51 contributions
Nov 2019
I go to this venue on a regular basis and always enjoy the experience as it’s a very cosy Theatre. However, the drinks and refreshments in general are very expensive (£12.50 for two drinks and £3 for an ice cream is excessive) so we prefer to have a drink in the local Pub before and after the Show.
Written November 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for this feedback, we hope to welcome you back many more times in the future. Darren Chivers customer service manager
Written December 9, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PaulPain
Swindon, UK10 contributions
Jul 2019 • Couples
What a great show, fabulous cast and music. The theatre is nice and small, making the whole experience feel more personal.
My only concerns about the venue is that it was too hot inside, might benefit from central heating. The refreshments were limited and expensive.
Written July 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for your review and and rating, we hope to welcome you back soon Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager
Written July 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

FussyEater83
154 contributions
Jun 2019 • Couples
Came to watch 5 lesbians eating a quiche & whilst the show was good I personally found the theatre a little chaotic - no clear signage on where to go, people everywhere & the seats really weren’t comfortable- I’m only 5ft 2 & of a small frame & struggled to get comfortable.

Also it was a struggle finding our seats as the letters are drilled in to the floor - we weren’t the only ones- several other audience members were using their phone light to ascertain where they were sat.

Staff however were friendly & polite.

I definitely however prefer the Wyvern Theatre- more organized & better seating.
Written June 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review. To address your comments: Some rows do offer additional leg room, if you mention this at time of booking then our team will happily help guide to the best seating to suit you.. We do have hanging signage in the foyer, which is very small and would be hard to miss, there is also a member of our volunteer team assigned to this area to help direct people as well as the reception desk too. We have not had an issue with people not being able to find the correct rows in the past and t is standard to have rows labelled either in this way or on the side of the seating. Our volunteer team are always more than happy to assist people with any seating issues whenever they arise. But I can assure you we have a highly organised team (the exact same team who also run the Wyvern infact) Kind regards Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager
Written June 17, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jjtjk
Shrivenham, UK57 contributions
Apr 2019 • Couples
Good one-man show if a little short in the second ‘half’. Unfortunately Gyles has used all his best stories in his promo material on TV. Nonetheless it was an amusing and entertaining evening. The Swindon Arts Centre needs to get its air conditioning sorted. It was a sweat box or a sauna as Gyles referred to it. Please SAC, the patron experience needs to match the ticket price!
Written April 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for the review and rating. Sadly the Arts Centre does not have the luxury of Air Conditioning and never has, mainly due to the layout and age of the building. We do all we can to keep the air moving and as cool as we can to make people as comfortable as possible but when the temperature raises outside it does impact the auditorium. We will continue to monitor temperatures and do all we can! Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager
Written April 25, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fatty14
Newbury48 contributions
Sep 2018 • Friends
We went on Saturday to see Pete Firman a magician and comedian. This was my first visit to Swindon Arts centre and I was very impressed. It is a tiny theatre, probably only 200 seats so it is very intimate and you are really close to the action.

As for Pete Firman, not only is he really talented as a magician, but he is very funny. Seriously recommend going to see him.
Written September 24, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for the feedback and star rating. We are thrilled you enjoyed yuor visit. Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager
Written September 25, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 281
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Swindon Arts Centre - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Swindon Arts Centre

Swindon Arts Centre is open:
  • Mon - Sat 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
  • Mon - Sat 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM


Restaurants near Swindon Arts Centre: View all restaurants near Swindon Arts Centre on Tripadvisor