Swindon Arts Centre

Swindon Arts Centre: Tickets, Tours, Hours, Address, Swindon Arts Centre Reviews: 4.5/5

Swindon Arts Centre
4.5
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.5
279 reviews
Excellent
152
Very good
91
Average
25
Poor
9
Terrible
2

wiltslady2016
Swindon, UK49 contributions
Great venue but refreshments are very expensive!
Nov 2019
I go to this venue on a regular basis and always enjoy the experience as it’s a very cosy Theatre. However, the drinks and refreshments in general are very expensive (£12.50 for two drinks and £3 for an ice cream is excessive) so we prefer to have a drink in the local Pub before and after the Show.
Written November 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for this feedback, we hope to welcome you back many more times in the future. Darren Chivers customer service manager
Written December 9, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

andy017
wiltshire29 contributions
Living spit evening
Nov 2019
Another great evenings entertainment with living spit the theatre group they have added a female actor to the show and she fits in beautifully with the group wonderful voices ,this is the third show we have seen with this group and they are just great all round entertainment if you see this advertised at a theatre don’t miss it I would highly recommend the experience once you have seen them in action you will want more we would go and see their nativity again if it’s on it’s hilarious thanks living spit for another great fun night Andy walker
Written November 18, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for your 5 star rating and review! we love reading feedback like this and hope you have many more enjoyable visits to the Arts Centre Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager
Written November 27, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

XtreamXTC
Swindon, UK789 contributions
Showtime
Jun 2019 • Couples
We've been to the arts center a number of times, mostly to watch comedy and the occasional play, this is a great place to watch a show, it's intimate and cosy, you really feel part of it unlike some massive theatres where your so far back you can hardly see the stage.

That said with a small venue don't expect to see A Listers, but you'll catch the odd rising star here. We've seen the likes of Katherine Ryan and Emily Attack. Always worth a visit and reasonably priced tickets.
Written October 14, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Now when you say A listers......you might be surprised at some of the big names who enjoy trying their material out on a smaller and more intimate audience at the Arts Centre! Thanks for the 4 stars and the lovely feedback Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager
Written October 14, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PaulPain
Swindon, UK10 contributions
Chocolate Theatre- All Shook Up
Jul 2019 • Couples
What a great show, fabulous cast and music. The theatre is nice and small, making the whole experience feel more personal.
My only concerns about the venue is that it was too hot inside, might benefit from central heating. The refreshments were limited and expensive.
Written July 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review and and rating, we hope to welcome you back soon Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager
Written July 22, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michael B
Swindon, UK27 contributions
Great Show
Jul 2019 • Couples
Saw a medium great show
Top venue, nice people, good service,
Clean toilets, nice bar ,
All in all recommend
Written July 13, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thanks for the 5 star review and rating, we hope to welcome you back again soon Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager
Written July 15, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Clorryb
Swindon, UK52 contributions
A great venue!!
Jul 2019 • Couples
We have been to the Arts Centre several times already this year as it really is a great venue. It is small yet the seats are spacious and well layer out. There are no 'best seats' as they are all good. The acts can be a different to those at the wyvern but ticket prices reflect this.
The staff are so friendly and helpful which is an absolute joy!!
Written July 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for this review and rating, we hope you keep coming back to visit Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager
Written July 8, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Steve
Hampshire, UK90 contributions
Seedy and Stuffy with Exorbitant Refreshment Prices
Jun 2019
The seedy experience begins the moment you arrive. The "designated smoking area" seems to be immediately outside the entrance doors, so you have to run the disgusting gauntlet of tobacco smoke and vape fumes in order to get inside. Surely it's not beyond the wit of management to declare the entrance region a non-smoking/vaping zone and to designate an area away from the entrance?

We had been told by people who'd attended the previous night that the auditorium had been exceedingly hot and stuffy, so, with the forecast temperatures being even higher (and having been forecast to be higher for more than a week), surely the management would have done something about it? Not a chance! A member of the audience had to plea with the staff to open the rear side entrance door before even this minimal concession to the unpleasant conditions was implemented. From Trip Advisor reviews, it is obvious that this is not a new problem, but the management does nothing about it except make excuses (even referring to these repeated occasions as being "one time"). If (according to one of the management responses) they can hire in heaters for cold weather, surely they could hire (or, heavens forfend, buy) some fans to at least keep the air moving in hot weather.

Perhaps an ice cream during the interval would help us cool down? Well, yes, but at a price! For not-very-premium ice-cream, they charge an exorbitant £4.20 for a medium-sized (180g) tub!
Written June 30, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review, I can see that you clearly did not enjoy your visit which is also sad to hear. It is very disappointing to read you describe the venue as 'seedy', I certainly do not feel the Arts Centre is sordid or disreputable and have never heard this generally much loved venue described in such a negative way. To address your points. We do not have an official designated smoking area but there is an ash tray outside for people to extinguish their cigarette before entering the building which is there to avoid us having an entrance littered with cigarette butts. As you are aware the day in question saw excessive temperatures one the hottest day of the year for many years, any building that does not have the luxury of air con would see increased temperatures as we did. We do not have air conditioning in this lovely old building, it was not equipped with this when built and the age and layout of the venue now does not make that an easy fix, it is something we have looked into the past. As a venue we always do all we can to keep temperatures as low as possible to make the venue as comfortable as possible for our audiences. We do monitor the temperature of the auditorium on all shows and our readings indicate that efforts made by staff did manage to reduce the temperature of the auditorium. Prior to the audience arriving all staff had been briefed on having doors open where possible to allow air flow, there was no requirement therefore from any audience member to plea for this to happen, maybe the audience member you spoke to had exaggerated the point to you. It is also worth pointing out that at various points around the venue we set up drinking stations with iced water for people to help themselves to, I also note from the show report that there was not a single complaint made relating to any issue you raise, generally had there been a major cause for concern from experience there would have been comments and complaints raised on the night. Regarding Ice Cream, our range is chosen for quality, whether or not you see this as a premium range is subjective. Ice cream tubs on sale in the auditorium are actually available in the standard tubs (125g) for £3.20 which actually makes us cheaper in price for a better product than a lot of surrounding regional venues. There is then the option for a large tub (180g) for £4.20 should people wish for that option - I hope this gives a clearer and more accurate picture to people reading the review of what Ice cream is available to them. Assuring you of our best intentions at all times Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager
Written July 1, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

FussyEater83
146 contributions
Good show - theatre could be better
Jun 2019 • Couples
Came to watch 5 lesbians eating a quiche & whilst the show was good I personally found the theatre a little chaotic - no clear signage on where to go, people everywhere & the seats really weren’t comfortable- I’m only 5ft 2 & of a small frame & struggled to get comfortable.

Also it was a struggle finding our seats as the letters are drilled in to the floor - we weren’t the only ones- several other audience members were using their phone light to ascertain where they were sat.

Staff however were friendly & polite.

I definitely however prefer the Wyvern Theatre- more organized & better seating.
Written June 7, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. To address your comments: Some rows do offer additional leg room, if you mention this at time of booking then our team will happily help guide to the best seating to suit you.. We do have hanging signage in the foyer, which is very small and would be hard to miss, there is also a member of our volunteer team assigned to this area to help direct people as well as the reception desk too. We have not had an issue with people not being able to find the correct rows in the past and t is standard to have rows labelled either in this way or on the side of the seating. Our volunteer team are always more than happy to assist people with any seating issues whenever they arise. But I can assure you we have a highly organised team (the exact same team who also run the Wyvern infact) Kind regards Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager
Written June 17, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jjtjk
Shrivenham, UK54 contributions
Giles Brandreth
Apr 2019 • Couples
Good one-man show if a little short in the second ‘half’. Unfortunately Gyles has used all his best stories in his promo material on TV. Nonetheless it was an amusing and entertaining evening. The Swindon Arts Centre needs to get its air conditioning sorted. It was a sweat box or a sauna as Gyles referred to it. Please SAC, the patron experience needs to match the ticket price!
Written April 20, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for the review and rating. Sadly the Arts Centre does not have the luxury of Air Conditioning and never has, mainly due to the layout and age of the building. We do all we can to keep the air moving and as cool as we can to make people as comfortable as possible but when the temperature raises outside it does impact the auditorium. We will continue to monitor temperatures and do all we can! Darren Chivers Customer Service Manager
Written April 25, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Luckylady1945
Swindon, UK23 contributions
Theatre
Mar 2019 • Couples
This theatre is easy to travel to and has good facilities For example bar and coffee shop. Clean
Toilets and has a lift.
The staff are friendly and accommodating.
“The Bootleg Shadows”a very entertaining show.
Written March 18, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for the 5 star review and rating Darren Chivers Customer Services Manager
Written March 21, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 279
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Swindon Arts Centre

Swindon Arts Centre is open:
  • Mon - Sat 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM