We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: The Island, Ballinakill | Ballinakill, Waterford, Ireland
Phone Number: 353 51 878203
Website
Improve this listing
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

The Island Haven Waterford Castle Hotel and Golf Resort located on a 310...

The Island Haven Waterford Castle Hotel and Golf Resort located on a 310 Acre Island only accessible by private ferry is unique amongst golfing locations in Irelands South East. The Resort consists of an Authentic 16th century 19 Bedroomed Castle 45 Self Catering Lodges and an 18 hole 72 Par course extending over 205 acres Golfers can enjoy Bistro style dining in The Club House along with private areas for group dining and prize giving. We also stock a wide range of golfing clothing and accessories in The Golf Shop.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 61 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 32
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
The best course in waterford

This course as well as the hotel has been taken over by new owners . They are making a big difference to the course. If you ever get the chance to play it you should. Keep an eye... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed December 15, 2015
sheehan1960
,
Waterford, Ireland
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

This course as well as the hotel has been taken over by new owners . They are making a big difference to the course. If you ever get the chance to play it you should. Keep an eye open for open weeks and open competitions.

Helpful?
Thank sheehan1960
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. The Green Keepers and the Golf team have worked tirelessly through 2015 to get the course into top condition and have even more improvements planned through 2016. They will be delighted with your feedback. We hope to see you here again sometime in 2016. Kind regards Helen Courtney More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2015 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. You need to take the boat to get to the hotel as it's on an island of its own. The hotel is well kept. The afternoon was lovely. 25euro per person and we'll worth it. Everything seems to be homemade the scones where the best part just out of the oven. Highly recommended. Grounds have lovely to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank J183
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your review, following your recent visit to Waterford Castle. We are always delighted when our guests have a great experience. Afternoon Tea at Waterford Castle is very special and yes everything is prepared and cooked here at The Castle by our creative Pastry Chef. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

Golf course was ok but I felt the tee areas wanted cutting and anything that was not on the very narrow fairways was buried,the 1st cut was far too long and punishing,greens were poor,but had just been hollow tined and top dressed,all in all dissapointing

Helpful?
Thank JeffGraham_11
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I will share it with our Golf Team who welcome feedback and will take your comments on board. We had just completed some maintenance work on the course as you mention. Generally we receive great comments from all visiting golfers but sincere apologies if you were left disappointed.... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

Played this course on a beautiful sunny day. Greens were fast, fairways in great shape. Seen lots of wild life, deer, swans, and other birds. Lots of good views. Course is on an island, so you have to take a fairy.

Helpful?
Thank Bob E
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Bob, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Golf Course. Our Golfing team work tirelessly to ensure the course is in top condition. We have a very unique setting on an Island only accessible by Ferry. The abundance of wildlife including the Deer who have made the island home are a welcome sight to... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

Very enjoyable course well maintained suitable challenge for both high and low handicap golfers.Club house offers a good choice of meals and snacks and good value.

Helpful?
Thank Fintan L
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Fintan, Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to see that an enjoyable round of Golf with us here at Waterford Castle. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Helen Courtney More 

Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Enjoyed the visit of this beautiful old castle. Would recommend to tourists in the area. Very picturesque.

Helpful?
Thank MaryAdrienne
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for sharing your review of Waterford Castle. We are always delighted when guests having traveled such distances have a memorable stay. We hope that we will see you again at Waterford Castle in the future. Kind regards Helen Courtney More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

My husband and I recently stayed at Waterford Castle. We stayed in the Rose Suite and it was beyond our expectation. On top of the bathroom, there were 2 large rooms. We had a sitting room as well as our very large bedroom, which also offered a chase lounge and chairs in a sitting area. The service was out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank MMontes10
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay here at Waterford Castle I am delighted to see that we exceeded your expectations during your stay. Waterford Castle is a very special place, unique and full of old world charm. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team here who take... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Played this course recently with two pals of mine. In order to get onto the course with a car you need to take a 200 meter ferry across the water which is free of charge. Had a light meal in the club house before the round which was quite nice. The course itself is like a resort course with generous... More 

Helpful?
Thank John N
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and give our Golf Course and facilities such wonderful praise. Our Golfing team have worked tirelessly to ensure the course is in top condition. We have a very unique setting on an Island only accessible by Ferry. The abundance of wildlife including the Deer who have made the... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

Beautiful castle to stay in. The staff were very friendly. The castle has been updated just enough for current comfort with a castle feel. Our room was a little smokey because it shared the main area fireplace chimney but it was tolerable. If you don't golf there isn't much else to do at the castle but they are supposedly adding... More 

Helpful?
Thank Curtis V
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Castle is indeed authentic and in keeping with the bygone age. Golf is part of that experience for some guests but others enjoy the tranquility and take the time to relax and recharge. Thank you again for... More 

CBS
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Stayed at the Waterford castle and talked with the golf pro about getting a round I. The next morning. Told him we were leaving early and he said he would come in early so we could get nine holes in. True to his word he came I. Early and we did the front nine. Course is In Excellent shape. Would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob H
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Golf Club, responded to this review

Dear Rob, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we are delighted that you had the opportunity to experience the Golf Course here at Waterford Castle. We were delighted to be able to accommodate you. I look forward to sharing your review with Eamonn, Ryan and the entire team at Waterford Castle Golf Club. We hope to... More 

Travelers who viewed Waterford Castle Golf Club also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford Castle Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waterford Castle Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?