We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:45 AM - 5:15 PM
Book In Advance
All photos (3,730)
All photos (3,730)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good39%
  • Average23%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“state apartments”(205 reviews)
“guided tour”(812 reviews)
“throne room”(55 reviews)
About
Dublin Castle was for 700 years the seat of British power in Ireland. Today you can still view the remains of the 13th century structure as part of the guided tour. The present Dublin Castle dates from the mid 1700's and today is used by the Irish...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:45 AM - 5:15 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Dame St | Dublin Castle, Dublin 2, Ireland
South City Centre
Website
+353 1 645 8813
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Dublin Castle
from $28.75
More Info
from $56.36
More Info
from $17.25
More Info
from $23.00
More Info
Reviews (4,612)
Filter reviews
3,274 results
Traveler rating
1,283
1,209
634
109
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,283
1,209
634
109
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews state apartments guided tour throne room self guided worth a visit interesting history great tour palace tower moat government ireland foundation ruins undercroft viking parts
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,274 reviews
Reviewed today

It snowed for all of ten minutes, and the ladies ran outside to twirl around in it. GREAT gift shop! They ship for you. Helena made nice suggestions for Mullingar Pewter and china platters. I did much I my shopping there and didn't have to...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Mir2001
Reviewed today

We did a guided tour - best E12 you'll ever spend! Our guide, Daragh, was really great at getting over the history of the castle, whilst interspersing this with Irish history - he also answered questions at the end, was very approachable. This was all...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Rossano N
Reviewed yesterday

Sitting in the middle of the city Dublin Castle is an easy site to visit. It is, like most of the other famous landmarks, steeped in history. We chose the self guide tour because we had already had history lessons at Kilmainham Gaol and Glasnevin...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank amyo641
Reviewed 2 days ago

If you´re visiting Dublin Castle try to get the tickets for the guided tour, that might be more interesting.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Naicha86
Reviewed 4 days ago

Dublin Castle sits at the centre of the city. This is a medievil castle with a large chapel. There are guided tours.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jane C
Reviewed 5 days ago

The tour was engaging when we toured the medieval tower and learned a lot of history of the castle. Sadly, most of the medieval castle did not survive these past centuries so touring the actual castle was very short. The other half of the tour...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Nicole G
Reviewed 6 days ago

The tour guide was so knowledgeable and I learned a great deal about the castle and Dublin's history. It was certainly worth a stop. Try to go in the morning to avoid the bigger crowds.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Stephanie B
DublinCastle_OPW, Guide at Dublin Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for visiting and leaving us a review! We are delighted you enjoyed your guided tour.

Reviewed 6 days ago

knowledgeable tour guide and interesting factoids about the history. Apartments are nice and self-guided.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank treckRAC
DublinCastle_OPW, Guide at Dublin Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for visiting and leaving us a review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Most of the place was closed due to a graduation ceremony. But as far as Irish Castles I wouldnt recommend. Most of it is no longer original because it was destroyed so there are very few parts that actually look castle like

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank tonyloads
Reviewed 1 week ago

Apart from one nutjob in our guided tour, overall it was a great experience. The guide was very informative and had lots of great information and stories to share with us. One nutter kept asking questions that the guide had already shared information on bt...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank LuxAdventureTravel
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 155 nearby hotels
Parliament Hotel
1,571 reviews
.09 miles away
Kelly's Hotel Dublin
339 reviews
.13 miles away
Paramount Hotel Temple Bar
1,577 reviews
.13 miles away
Central Hotel
18 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3,102 nearby restaurants
Sano Pizza
431 reviews
.09 miles away
Umi Falafel
932 reviews
.10 miles away
Silk Road Cafe
274 reviews
.05 miles away
BitterSweet Cafe
139 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,569 nearby attractions
Chester Beatty
3,780 reviews
.05 miles away
Olympia Theatre
431 reviews
.11 miles away
City Hall
294 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Terry G
March 4, 2019|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from DublinCastle_OPW | Property representative |
Hi Terry, you can only visit the undercroft with the guided tour.
0
Votes
xanthec2016
December 29, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from DublinCastle_OPW | Property representative |
Hi there, from January 1st 2018 our prices will increase, so if your chosen date is in the new year you will be paying the new price.
0
Votes
ashleyt192
October 19, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from DublinCastle_OPW | Property representative |
It's no problem to show them on a phone! We just need the booking reference number. We have wifi here if you need access to your email.
0
Votes