We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wester Pickston Railway

Perth, United Kingdom
More
About Wester Pickston Railway
Wester Pickston Railway runs for approximately 2 km through 7 acres of landscaped woodland 3 miles from Methven and 6 miles from Perth. It is open to the general public on four days per year usually starting with Easter Sunday see our website for further details. As well as the railway there is usually traction engines and a display of static models. Parking and access to the site is free and there is a picnic area and a tea room. The railway is owned and run by the Scottish Model Engineering Trust, a Scottish registered charity who also provide a medium for educational purposes in workshop practice in mechanical and civil engineering to help mainly younger persons to gain apprenticeships in industry. The Trust also opens the railway to other groups of all ages by appointment. It also runs a portable railway to support other groups in the area to help fund raising for various causes.
Read more

Wester Pickston Railway
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
14Reviews1Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 10
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Bill wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Lots of little Steam (and "Diesel") engines running round the railway with their passengers, and Steam lorries pulling trailers full of passengers around the woodland paths. Plus radio controlled live steam models in a garden layout. model railway and other stuff in the workshops. There was also a cafe. I was solo, but agreat day out for young kids as well as enthusiastic adults
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
David G wrote a review May 2018
17 contributions1 helpful vote
Great for little (and big kids) makes for an unusual day out. Though the lack of decent toilet facilities (a portaloo and a hut with a metal bowl with remains of previous visitors easily shown) is a major let down. This coupled with the vast wooded area that could have sign posted trails and more picnic areas with in. Leaves some disappointment on what could have been a throughly entertaining family day out.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Graham B, Manager at Wester Pickston Railway
Responded May 28, 2018
We are not a Country or Theme Park, we advertise ourselves purely as a Miniature Railway that also gives miniature traction engine rides. We do not charge any entry fee or for parking, the only charge is for the rides. We do provide two safe areas that families can use for recreation and picnics, which were very busy due to the superb weather; however as we do not own the neighbouring woodlands we have no authority to use them or provide woodland walks. We are sorry you found the toilet facilities lacking, they are provided by a reputable company and usually of a high standard for an event toilet.
Read more
SBett wrote a review Jan 2018
Dunkeld, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
The kids and adults enjoyed rides on the various trains (steam and electric) through the lovely rural setting. This is such a great day out and the best kept secret. A must for all, especially wee ones obsessed with trains! Great value too.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Graham B, other at Wester Pickston Railway
Responded Jan 23, 2018
Thank you for your review, we are please you had a good day out, that is always what we try to achieve. Thanks for coming.
Read more
rosscanderson wrote a review Oct 2017
Aberdeen, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
First visit to site3 miles north methven in perthshire. Has regular open steam days and is a family friendly place with cafe. Trains rides and rides on model steam tractors available thoughout day. Worth a visit.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2017
Helpful
Share
Howard-Liverpool wrote a review Aug 2017
Liverpool, United Kingdom2760 contributions933 helpful votes
Visited this time on an ordinary open day - not a special visit and it was great. Crowded but trains running so regularly that a huge queue disapeared in minutes. The track is great fun and excellent for all ages - including children!! Very well laid out and neat and tidy and very well organised. The guys who are the members here are an absolute delight and love chatting. All so enthusiastic. A great afternoon
Read more
Date of experience: July 2017
Helpful
Share
Responded Aug 5, 2017
Thanks Howard for your review, we are pleased you all enjoyed your visit.
Read more
Previous