Scone Palace

Scone Palace, Perth: Hours, Address, Scone Palace Reviews: 4.5/5

Scone Palace
4.5
Historic Sites • Castles
Read more
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Write a review
About
Scone Palace - 5 star Historic House visitor attraction. Open 7 days from 9.30am - 5.00pm (please note last entry is 4.00pm). Guides are on hand in the palace as well as multi-lingual information for tours of the palace. Tickets for Palace & Gardens or just the Gardens can be booked via our website or you can pay when you arrive. Come along and visit Moot Hill the 'Crowning Place of Scottish Kings' and the chapel. Have a wander around our 100 acres gardens and grounds, including our Murray Star Maze, Pinetum, Douglas Fir and Kids Adventure Playground . Our Coffee Shop serves hot & cold food daily & kids lunch boxes. We're dog friendly, so bring your family pet, there are dog water bowls near our ticket hut & outside our Food Shop. We have two cafe seating areas and the Old Kitchen welcomes dogs as well! Our Food Shop has a selection of products that we try to source locally and our Gift Shop has something for everyone - even pocket-money gifts. You can expect a warm welcome :-)
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience Scone Palace and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
2,216 reviews
Excellent
1,224
Very good
735
Average
171
Poor
52
Terrible
34

MerseysideTinkerbell
Merseyside, UK4,337 contributions
May 2021
We had to book to visit here and thankfully we arrived with enough time to spare as the queing system before you got to the car park was not the best way of doing it. We were waiting in a hot car for 20 mins in queue and of course you couldnt use the loo or anything as hadnt even got to car park. You had had to book and buy tickets online but when it eventually got to your turn someone greeted you and told you that you had to get out of the car to go to the hut to collect your tickets! Couldnt quite see why you couldnt just go into the car park and then get out and go to the hut to physically collect your tickets and map, because you couldnt get into the grounds without then showing your tickets to yet another person. I assume that this was all down to covid measures and that normally it wouldnt be like this. When we had got our tickets and then could move into the car park and got what we wanted from the car and made our way to the entrance gate of grounds where we had our tickets checked and told where to meet for the start of the tour. It was actually outside on the mound by the site of the crowning of the scottish kings. We were told by the guide that she would not be doing our whole tour as there was an issue and so she was just filling in until the proper guide for that time slot could take over. We were shown around a number of rooms around the inside of the house and items in it and things explained to us. We do like it when you get a guided tour be it audio guide that you do at own pace or a person, you get so much more from it that looking around on your own at things. We had been given a map and it showed various things on it, we failed to find some of the places, despite intense looking for them, But we did have a lovely time as the weather was good.
Written September 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI there. Many thanks for the feedback. During this difficult time we have had to implement new measures to ensure we comply with all track and trace requirements and in normal times you would indeed proceed straight to the car park. I am glad to read that overall you enjoyed your experience and I do hope you visit us again in the future.
Written November 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tony T
Ramsbottom, UK108 contributions
Oct 2021
20 quid for a guided we thought was a bit steep... how wrong we were! We love visiting stately homes and castles and Scone Palace is up there with the best we have visited. Covid meant that only guided tours were the option and we are so glad we took the plunge. Jason a young guy that was our guide has so much information to impart, his enthusiasm and good humour kept our group of ten engaged throughout the hour long tour. Do not hesitate in booking a tour... and a huge highlight for our group was the amazing painting of Belle and her 'sister'
Written October 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delighted that you enjoyed your visit!
Written October 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ann P
London, UK27 contributions
Sep 2020 • Couples
If ever you are in Scotland you’ll need to set aside a day to see this amazing palace. We had to book a tour but it was worth every penny, the group was obviously restricted due to COVID and all precautions were taken, The guide was Interesting and informative and all info was given with a sense of humour. The house is beautiful and the grounds are large and lovely, the walks are mapped out and the maze is excellent. It has a largish shop and had an outdoor coffee room and tent to sit in, they also served food which was plentiful, hot and tasted good. We paid £55 for the both of us which was the tour and the gardens, you can just do the gardens if you wish. I would certainly recommend a visit.
Written September 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many thanks for visiting and I am delighted that you had a great day out!
Written September 15, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JennieB58
Southampton, UK94 contributions
Sep 2021
4 of us booked on my phone during a visit to Scotland, disappointingly there didn't seem to be any concession rates so paid £20 per person and no way did we feel we got our moneys' worth. We only saw about 4 rooms and we're not permitted in the built to order Queen Victoria's bedroom as it was too small. Given there were 36 people on our tour, I can understand how we couldn't all crowd in there, but they could have let a few in at a time or at least opened the doors so you could peek in. The guide wore a mask though out and thats fair enough in these Covid times, but it made it impossible for me to lip read and as a deaf person it meant I missed sizeable chunks of the speeches. Given what I did hear, which was a dry as it could be, I clearly didn't miss much. Surely given the charges the guide could have worn either a visor or a mask with a clear plastic bit over the mouth as many other curators at attractions do. Any questions were met with either a blank look and an "I don't know" or an off hand remark. The food was mediocre and overpriced and precious little choice. There was far too much emphasis on dates and not enough focus on the who and the how, and the stone of destiny. They were preparing for a family wedding the coming weekend which may have explained the rushed feeling of the tour and the lack of rooms but for me it was a waste of money, They could learn a great deal from the tour of the House of Dun in Montrose, which was half the money and 4 times the value. It was also weird to have a hut at the entrance to the car park which meant each car had to stop and present the prepaid confirmation to be given wristbands and maps etc. Surely you could have parked up and had the hut at the entrance to the grounds? no wristband, no tour so it made little sense to have queues of cars and one person dealing with it all. So many improvements could be made and I speak as a retired tour guide, so know what 'good' looks like.
Written September 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many thanks for the feedback. The tour takes in 8 main rooms, with only Queen Victoria's Room being closed to the public for the reasons you mention. It is also accessed via a Corridor which does not give sufficient space for visitors to feel comfortable in. You mention 36 people in your tour which is surprising as our tours are capped at 24 per time slot. The last year has brought many challenges as you will appreciate, not least our Guides having to wear masks whilst conducting the tour. Your suggestion of clear masks is one for us to consider but we are also working on an app with Perth & Kinross Council which will give a better experience for visitors with hearing difficulties. This will be live for 2022 season. The purpose of asking people to stop at the Ticket Hut is to ensure we control entry both to the gardens and the Palace. One person on duty would struggle to keep an eye on all cars that are parked and it does generally only take a couple of minutes to check visitors in if they have pre purchased a ticket. The position of the hut is similar to many other attractions. Next season we will have a different offering and it would be interesting to receive any feedback should you visit us again in 2022.
Written October 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Howard P
Perth, UK1 contribution
Jun 2022
Earlier today Wednesday 8th June 2022 my wife & I drove from nearby Auchterarder to Scone Palace with a view to visiting for the first time their dog friendly cafe as we will in October become owners of two Maltese Dogs.
Having not visited before with this view we hoped that as relative locals this visit to said cafe may become a regular visit once owner of the dogs.
However as it turned out to do the above we had to first purchase tickets to the grounds at £10 each. A very expensive coffee.
I appreciate that some form of control would be needed with regards to persons wandering around the grounds.
But I'm sorry to say we will not be returning which is a shame because as locals we would of been willing to provide our custom out of season if the cafe was open.
Written June 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your note. We have a special membership scheme called Friends of Scone and it was designed specifically for local residents so that you can return as many times as you like throughout a 12 month rolling period. It is advertised on our website and at the ticket hut. As we are a tourist attraction and historic house with over 100 acres to explore and upkeep/staffing of the palace and gardens, we do have to charge an entry fee as do all historic houses. We do hope that you enjoyed your coffee and that you were able to see how dog friendly we are. Did you take the chance to walk around the grounds and see all the great places you can walk your dogs? The Maze, Pinetum, Kitchen Gardens, and all the pathways around the grounds. We hope that you have wonderful adventures with your new doggies when they arrive.
Written June 9, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Random Jenny
Gourock, UK182 contributions
May 2021 • Couples
We were left a little underwhelmed and disappointed at our visit to Scone Palace.
We had booked in advance so we knew the prices were £20 palace and gardens entry and £10 for the gardens alone.
Given the price is at the very high end of historic homes we were naturally expecting a lot but left a little deflated after our visit.
My husband toured the palace with a guide whilst I walked the grounds with our dog.
The tour itself was detailed and the guide friendly and knowledgable but only a little time is spent on the story of the stone of destiny and the history of the crownings the majority of the tour talks of the Earls of Mansfield.
The grounds are extensive at over 100 acres and the trails are well marked out and easy to follow but overall a little bland, there was nothing growing in the kitchen garden even though it is listed as an attraction.
The staff were very friendly particularly in the shop and cafe, dogs are welcome at lunch to dine in a dedicated room, they even sell frozen yoghurt in the shops for dogs.
The cafe food was nice but nothing special and of course it’s tradition to eat a scone at scone but no clotted cream was available and the jam was low end plastic tubs, our toastie was plain white supermarket bread.
All in all a little more attention to detail in the quality and presentation of the food would make all the difference.
We were made to feel welcome and enjoyed aspects of our visit but wouldn’t visit again or take family and friends back
Unfortunately.

Written May 15, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many thanks for the feedback. Our Kitchen Garden is understocked at the moment as we were unable to do much planting during lockdown whilst a number of our team were on furlough. We have now started focusing on this area and I am sure we will see some results in due course. The Stone is an important of the tour, as is the history of the Palace and the role of the Earls of Mansfield, and we need to balance what is presented to Visitors with the time available for the tour. We generally don't offer clotted cream in the Coffee Shop, but we do offer fresh whipped cream, and have just reinstated our home made jam as we now have staff available to produce this. Hopefully should you return at some time in the future, you will be able to taste our delicious raspberry and strawberry jam.
Written May 21, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

aaaanderson
9 contributions
Oct 2021
We had the privilege of staying in the Balvaird wing at Scone Palace for 3 nights to celebrate a 50th birthday. What a magical place indeed! The location is stunning and the apartment which is situated in an upper wing of the Palace is both luxurious and homely at the same time. There are 3 beautiful double bedrooms all en suite with a very well equipped kitchen with everything to hand and a spacious comfortable living area. The master bedroom has a fabulous canopy over the bed and an original 19th century roll top bath. There are some lovely pieces of period furniture within the apartment. The photos do not do the apartment justice and it has commanding views over the parklands and countryside with the trees looking stunning in the autumn weather.
We had a breakfast pack delivered on two mornings and the quality of the locally sourced ingredients was superb.
So the palace and grounds with all the accompanying history is magnificent and we were but a short stroll from Moot Hill where ancient Kings of Scotland were crowned. We were fortunate that our visit coincided with the Spirits of Scone Halloween event which is definitely to be recommended and is fantastically organised for those of a robust disposition!!! The crowning glory of the Palace however has to be its staff!!! Nothing was too much trouble and they went our of their way at every step to make our stay extra special, anticipating our needs before we even knew what they were. Stephen is the Head of Scone Palace and everyone should have a Stephen in their life! He was ably assisted by professional and knowledgeable long serving staff and special thanks to Pat, Becky our guide for our private palace tour, Kate the wonderful chef and to Graeme our gatekeeper.
Without hesitation this is indeed a five star location fit for Kings, Queens and our good selves for the last few days. We have had a ball and cannot recommend Scone highly enough. It is so wonderful we would love to keep it a secret!
Written October 31, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi both. It really was a pleasure looking after you and your guests and I am delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Pat, Becky and Graham. Hopefully we will see you back again sometime soon!
Written November 1, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

BlackpoolMono
Preston, UK68 contributions
Sep 2021
Good day out for all ages, with an interesting tour and excellent woodland walks around the grounds. Plus the maze to keep the kids entertained, of course.
Although we didn't have to queue for long at the entrance, I do agree with other reviewers that it seemed strange to make people stop and collect tickets that were already booked, before entering the car park. Why not let them park up first?
We ate lunch in the cafe inside but were not impressed. We both had a jacket potato, which arrived in a cardboard box and was only lukewarm. Now I understand the kitchen sending out boxes to those sitting outside, but surely if you're at a table inside plates would be better? I get that there are covid restrictions in place but surely that's not the reason.
Our tour of the Palace was certainly interesting and our guide knowledgeable, but she didn't have the loudest voice and with a mask in place, half the people on the tour couldn't hear her.
It would be churlish to give it only three out of five because it is certainly worth a visit, but there are improvements to be made that would make it a better experience.
Written September 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many thanks for the feedback. Unfortunately, as like many other hospitality businesses, we do get a bit overstretched at times staffing wise and on occasion we have to resort to using disposable containers. This is always a last resort. I note your comments about the guide being difficult to hear and will address that accordingly.
Written October 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

elio falls
32 contributions
Apr 2022
A lovely way to spend a long afternoon. Have to hope it doesn't rain as the gardens are the primary attraction and actually despite paying extra for entry to the palace, you aren't allowed in a huge amount of rooms as the family still lives there. It's also really difficult to get to the palace from Perth via public transport - I had to walk there and back (45 mins each way) and coupled with walking around the gardens got quite tired. But not much can be done about that! Overall, a lovely time.
Written April 11, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking time to leave us some feedback. We were glad to hear you enjoyed your time here. We would really like there to be public transport that stopped here -too :-)
Written April 12, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

BeckyWestLondon
West London126 contributions
Oct 2021
The guided tour of Scone Palace was very interesting, informative and we learned a lot about the history of Scotland and the local area, It was a small group of 6 adults and 2 young children. Though the level was rightly pitched at adults and not for children. The cost was £20 per person and it took just over an hour. We took time to look around the grounds afterwards. The gift shops and cafe are worth a visit.
Written November 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many thanks for coming to visit.
Written November 15, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,862
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scone Palace

Scone Palace is open:
  • Sun - Sat 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Scone Palace tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 4 Scone Palace tours on Tripadvisor


Restaurants near Scone Palace: View all restaurants near Scone Palace on Tripadvisor