We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

CairnGorm Mountain

Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Review Highlights
LOVED IT!

My first day in the Cairngorm National Park I went up Cairngorm Mountain. Its not too strenuous of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
818sydneyh
,
Bruges, Belgium
Great Views

Having been in Aviemore all week we waited for the perfect day to walk the mountain. Warm sunshine... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Tracey G
,
Cambridge, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 2,400 reviews
1,232
All photos (1,232)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
About
Consistently voted one of Scotland's Top 10 Visitor Attractions, CairnGorm Mountain is an unforgettable visitor attraction throughout the year! Nestled in the heart of the spectacular Cairngorms National Park, CairnGorm is home to the UK's highest...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
See all hours
Contact
CairnGorm Ski Area, Aviemore PH22 1RB, Scotland
Website
+44 1479 861261
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (2,400)
Filter reviews
2,292 results
Traveler rating
1,284
629
201
99
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,284
629
201
99
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews funicular railway viewing platform ptarmigan restaurant base station windy ridge hot chocolate guided walk car park ski resort fantastic views low cloud gift shop half term great trip soup sunny day cakes
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,292 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

My first day in the Cairngorm National Park I went up Cairngorm Mountain. Its not too strenuous of a hike so I do recommend taking it on foot. There is a cafe and free museum almost at the top with toilets and a gift shop...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 818sydneyh
CairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review Sydney. I presume you did this hike before September 2018 as our funicular hasn't been working since mid September? The summit walk is certainly stunning especially on a clear day. We also have a lovely cafe at car park level...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having been in Aviemore all week we waited for the perfect day to walk the mountain. Warm sunshine and a crystal clear day. Can recommend doing the Windy Ridge walk. Perfect views of the surrounding areas. Managed to find some snow on our way up....More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Tracey G
CairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Tracey Thank you for your lovely wee review - you certainly chose a lovely day and I hope it wasn't too windy? We can only open our Ptarmigan Restaurant when we have full snow cover for our snowsports and walkers guests. I am delighted...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Oh dear, lack of snow and lack of railway taking a toll! However we managed to get a little sledging done one day. Next day it was just the skiers and snowboarders, so we couldn’t go on the snow. Just very little snow and loads...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank SallyO85
CairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Sally Thanks for your review and understanding of our challenging season we have had with the lack of snow and funicular. I am glad that you had a reasonable priced lunch in our cafe and we do hope to welcome you back again soon....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived with friends and family to inspect what could have been. Appears to have great potential and with very little snow on the slopes we opted for a walk up the mountain. The views of Lock Morlich from the mountain were picturesque indeed. It was...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank MarshaB7
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only had one day of skiing due to the thaw and high winds - but v well set up for complete beginners like us. Useful lockers in the base station so you dont have to walk up the car park in your ski boots!More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank JabotOX2
CairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi JabotOX2 Thank you for your short review. I am delighted that you did get out onto our beginners area for some skiing. We do try and cater for everyone and as you say walking with ski boots is not ideal? Hopefully we can welcome...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our goal was ski! But, we decided to didn't do it because there wasn't snow. 2019 have being a hot winter, so the snow is not a quantity to cover the mountain. There were 2 ski slopes opened: beginner and to teach ski. Usually, February...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank fernandatunadias
CairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi fernandatunadias Thanks for your wee review. Yes 2019 has been a very challenging season for Scottish Skiing, however I am delighted that you found the snow with another 49 guests. We do have activities all year round so definitely worth visiting us again soon....More

Reviewed February 4, 2019

Slopes are starting to get there with the aid of manmade snow, was snowing when we left so hopefully will get better

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Patch7462
CairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2019

Hi Patch 7462. Thanks for your wee report. Yes we are very grateful for the man made snow being a perfect start for our beginners. Hopefully see you back soon? Kind regards Lorna

Reviewed February 1, 2019

The mountain railway is out of service due to as far as I know construction problems, this means that only skiers or snowboarders can reach the top of the mountain on the ski tows. Visitors who only wish to travel to the top can no...More

Date of experience: January 2019
3  Thank Allan M
CairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2019

Hi Allan M Thanks for your report. Unfortunately all your comments are correct which are out of our control. On a positive note we have been getting snow further up the hill allowing our snowsports guests getting longer runs in. Our operations team are working...More

Reviewed January 23, 2019 via mobile

Having been a regular snowboarder, mountain biker and Walker here for years. Just want to express my total disappointment in the state off the cairngorm this winter. I visited in November and was in the ranger office and was assured that the funicular would definitely...More

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank Susan M
CairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Thank you Susan for your review. I am sorry that you are disappointed with our winter season so far. Unfortunately our funicular is presently not operating due to structural issues. Work on the structure of the funicular can only be carried out during summer months...More

Reviewed January 16, 2019

Our visit up the mountain was well worth it for the stunning views we gained, but unortunately the funicular was still out of order and the onsite cafe/restaurant was completely over priced with a hot sausage roll costing £4.50! Despite this, the walk along the...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Helen B
CairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2019

Good morning Helen. Thank you for your review and I am disappointed that your found our hot sausage roll over priced. These costs are comparable with all other eateries in this area plus there are huge overhead costs in running the cafe. I am delighted...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 nearby hotels
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1,950 reviews
.40 miles away
Cairngorm Hotel
921 reviews
.51 miles away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
956 reviews
.51 miles away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
247 reviews
.54 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 67 nearby restaurants
Subway
113 reviews
.37 miles away
Mountain Cafe Aviemore
1,592 reviews
.31 miles away
The Cairngorm Hotel
1,654 reviews
.51 miles away
The Coffee Pot
283 reviews
.19 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 72 nearby attractions
Cairngorm Brewery
337 reviews
.45 miles away
Cairngorm Creations
5 reviews
.62 miles away
Strathspey Railway
1,222 reviews
.50 miles away
Aviemore VisitScotland iCentre
113 reviews
.43 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sharonandrew1992
January 11, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from FOODTART2011 | Reviewed this property |
Views from Car Parks makes this a worthwhile trip alone, access to shop, café etc
0
Votes
Darren-Campbell90
November 17, 2018|
Answer
Response from Aces F | Reviewed this property |
If you take the train to the top you are not allowed to walk on the mountain. You have to remain at the café and viewpoint
1
Vote
GlosterBirder
August 31, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from C R | Reviewed this property |
You have to book a guided walk or walk up to be able to gain access to the mountain. If you go up by train you are restricted to the viewing platform at the top.
1
Vote