We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

CairnGorm Mountain

CairnGorm Ski Area, Aviemore PH22 1RB, Scotland
+44 1479 861261
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Over 50's Mountaineers

Caught local bus from Aviemore to the Cairngorm Mountain railway base station car-park. it was a... read more

Reviewed today
oldpostie2017
,
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Amazing

Had a great day out and booked a guided tour which was excellent. Unfortunately, the restaurant was... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
novice_traveller89
,
United Kingdom
Read all 2,285 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Consistently voted one of Scotland's Top 10 Visitor Attractions, CairnGorm Mountain is an unforgettable visitor attraction throughout the year! Nestled in the heart of the spectacular Cairngorms National Park, CairnGorm is home to the UK's highest Funicular Railway and Restaurant, incredible snow-sports (plus our own on-site snow school) during the winter and epic guided walks during the summer season. Add to that our atmospheric Storehouse Cafe (with the region's best homemade cakes!), our Outfitters Store, the UK's highest postbox, beautiful wildlife and plenty of other adventures, there's something for all to enjoy during your visit to CairnGorm! Join us for our spectacular summer line-up in 2018, where we've got a whole host of family adventures to enjoy on the mountain! Visit our website for further details...
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
LOCATION
CairnGorm Ski Area, Aviemore PH22 1RB, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 1479 861261
Write a ReviewReviews (2,285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"funicular railway"
in 395 reviews
"viewing platform"
in 162 reviews
"ptarmigan restaurant"
in 73 reviews
"base station"
in 68 reviews
"windy ridge"
in 23 reviews
"guided walk"
in 71 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 75 reviews
"car park"
in 150 reviews
"ski resort"
in 27 reviews
"fantastic views"
in 71 reviews
"low cloud"
in 24 reviews
"gift shop"
in 77 reviews
"half term"
in 24 reviews
"worth a trip"
in 22 reviews
"great trip"
in 41 reviews
"soup"
in 35 reviews
"sunny day"
in 29 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed today

Caught local bus from Aviemore to the Cairngorm Mountain railway base station car-park. it was a beautiful morning so we decided that we would walk to the summit have a coffee in the mountain cafe and travel down via the Funicular railway. We walked via...More

Thank oldpostie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Had a great day out and booked a guided tour which was excellent. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed but we still enjoyed our time.More

Thank novice_traveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRCairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hello Thanks for your short review. Our Ptarmigan Restaurant (at the top) is open every day till 4.30pm and our Storehouse Restaurant (car park level) is open till 5pm. I can only presume that you were here when we had our funicular closure? I am...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

When we first arrived we were disappointed to find the funicular was closed for maintenance. We decided to walk up to the summit instead which we were really glad we did. Absolutely fantastic walk, not too difficult (we followed path up from right side of...More

1  Thank SueR2630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRCairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hello Sue Thanks for your wee review and understandably you would have been disappointed re the funicular closure, however I am delighted that you made it a positive experience and had a fantastic walk to the summit. Our funicular was closed for one month for...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Visitors come here throughout the year - for ski-ing, snowboarding, walking, climbing or just to take a trip on the funicular. We were here to do a walk to Ben Macdui and back via Cairn Gorm. No railway for us. We did stop at the...More

1  Thank chestervoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRCairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Chester Thanks for your review. As you say, we are an all year round attraction with many visitors. The scenery up here is stunning and the Ptarmigan Restaurant is a very welcome break for you with good food and drink on offer after a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Great service and well worth the trip, fantastic views and staff very friendly and helpful, well done and keep up the good work. Great insight to the landscape history, wildlife and plants.

Thank Karin56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRCairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hello Karin Thanks for your brief but positive review of your recent visit to us. Our staff work hard to give our guests a great service and warm welcome. Do come back again soon. Kind regards Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

2nd year in a row we have visited ... this time with my daughter and the mother in law. Although cloudy at the top ... yet again a breath taking experienceMore

Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRCairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Simon Thanks for your short review. Unfortunately we have had a spell of very foggy weather these past few days, however I am delighted that you still had a breath taking experience and do hope you come back again on a clear day. On...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We booked the Funicular Railway and guided walk to get the opportunity for the children to reach the summit of Cairn Gorm. The 8 minute train journey only gave a taste of the spectacular views we were to experience. Staff at the base were friendly...More

Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRCairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Donald Thanks for taking the time to review our funicular/guided walk experience. We are very lucky to have Gerry and our other walk guides who are all passionate about their environment and extremely knowledgeable in many subjects. You were blessed with great weather which...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

May have been the heat but Saturday morning service not too busy. Could see mountains 80 miles away from viewing platform. No access to mountain from the viewing platform but plenty of trail walks from the car park. Great fun - boys (11 and 12)...More

Thank EHunters5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRCairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi EHunters5. Saturday's weather was glorious and you obviously had brilliant visibility taking in our magnificent views. We do offer guided walks from our Top Station so perhaps next time you come up, you can participate in this? We do have a plethora of walks...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whilst in the Highlands for a relaxing retreat, we went skiing here for a day. We hired our equipment and all the clothes etc, and it wasn't too expensive at all. It was my first time skiing (I didn't book with an instructor) and the...More

Thank LaurenDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRCairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Lauren That is brilliant that you had a great day skiing up here in our beautiful mountain. Our staff endeavour to give our guests a great service. As you say it is bl---dy beatuiful and we do welcome you back again soon. Kind regards...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a view from the mountains! No fog for us - great booking online - under 6 are free I think (5 year old was free) - enjoyed the roof top view - you walk on an area with 400 million years of history -...More

1  Thank Divyajeevan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRCairnGorm_Mountain, Marketing Assistant at CairnGorm Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Divyajeevan Thanks for taking the time to write a short report. I am delighted that you had a good online booking experience and you enjoyed the exhibition, funicular and restaurant. The cost of running our funicular is extremely high which slightly reflects on our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1,856 reviews
.40 miles away
Cairngorm Hotel
864 reviews
.51 miles away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
884 reviews
.51 miles away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
230 reviews
.54 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Miele’s Gelateria
10 reviews
.39 miles away
Subway
93 reviews
.37 miles away
The Coffee Pot
250 reviews
.19 miles away
Mountain Cafe Aviemore
1,499 reviews
.31 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cairngorm Brewery
318 reviews
.45 miles away
Cairngorm Creations
5 reviews
.62 miles away
Strathspey Railway
1,146 reviews
.50 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
hfowler1
June 5, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from NRCairnGorm_Mountain | Property representative |
Hi Please check our website/getting here and the bus link. Lorna
0
Votes
Nudibranquios
May 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Juice2017 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, you may be able to walk up, I certainly saw some walkers on their way down, but I would check first. In terms of how long it will take, depending on your fitness and the weather, possibly a couple of hours to go up?? I’d... More
0
Votes
Monkey-aj
April 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Robert L | Reviewed this property |
Not sure it’s the best place for either of those apparatus . It’s a mountain and there is deep snow so not ideal .
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor