We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Slainte Scotland

Glasgow, United Kingdom
More
About Slainte Scotland
Wonderful tours of Scotland including whisky tours, filming locations tours such as Outlander Tours, Harry Potter Tours and and history tours.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
See all hours
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Slainte Scotland

Outlander Day Tour from Glasgow or Edinburgh

Getting to Outlander's filming locations on your own can be tricky. On this tour, forget about tackling public transportation or the hassle and expense of renting a car (and driving on the left). With a guide—and perhaps an extra from the show—see key locations like Castle Leoch and Lallybroch come to life. Enjoy seamless travel between each location and a choice of either Glasgow or Edinburgh pickup and drop-off.
Read more
8 to 10 hours
from $105.86
from $282.30
305Reviews6Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 272
  • 14
  • 4
  • 1
  • 14
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gretchen Z wrote a review May 2021
141 contributions44 helpful votes
I booked a 3 day outlander tour for £1080 last June 2020. I paid a £108 deposit. The trip was for my 70 year old mother. It reached Christmas 2020 and I contacted Slainte tours who operate as Clyde coast tourism at Companies house. After a few weeks I had confirmation that the trip in February was cancelled and that I could rearrange which I understood with Covid-19. I sent new dates and chased for 2 months. Nothing. I received one email saying an owner (Helmut) had been ill and that they would get back to me. The former owner left the company last August 2020. This business is owned solely by Catriona Stevenson and is a scam. I asked for a refund repeatedly from February 19th 2021 as the company had breached contract. No contact. On the register at Companies house it shows the business is not financially stable and has a number of filing issues. The website shows they are part of a tourism group but again this is a lie and they have been asked to remove the logos (which they have not done). They are not part of any group that guarantees trips or money. As they use PayPal invoicing for trips, you are not protected financially. I am now looking at legal options having taken advice and am going through the slow steps required before I can take the company to small claims court (I have done the initial legal letters which have all been ignored). Save your money and book elsewhere! At least I found out before I travelled to Scotland with my 70year old mother! Avoid this scam.
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Núria P. wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
I made a tour with and it was fantastic. I strongly recommend choosing Slàinte Scotland Tours for their high professionalism, commitment and Kindness.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Diane E wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Excellent, Cat was very informative, nothing was too much for her, would go again, definitely recommend it
Read more
Helpful
Share
johntray wrote a review Aug 2020
Lindenhurst, Illinois2 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked the tour to the Royal Military Tattoo in Edinburgh. The tour was to take us from our cruise ship in Glasgow to Edinburgh, with some sightseeing stops in between. The Tattoo was cancelled due to COVID. At the time we booked, our booking confirmation had a staggered cancellation schedule and showed that if we cancelled more than 45 days before the tour, there would be a 10% cancellation fee (meaning we would get 90% of our money back). We received notice that the Tattoo was cancelled at the beginning of April (4 months before the tour). Immediately, I contacted Slainte and requested our booking be cancelled, acknowledging the 10% penalty. They responded back that they were aware of the Tattoo cancellation and would not be providing any refund, only a future credit to be used within the next 18 months (contrary to their cancellation policy in the original booking confirmation). Since we are from the U.S. and trips like these can be once in a lifetime, scheduling a trip to Scotland in the next 18 months, not knowing the status of COVID, is more than unlikely. Their website showed the tour was unavailable for months before the August date. The day before the tour date, I received an e-mail that the tour was cancelled and the notice reflected if the tour was cancelled by the tour company, the customer would receive a full 100% refund. Since the Tattoo did not occur, the website for months showed the tour unavailable and the e-mail notice sent indicated the tour was cancelled, their cancellation policy should refund 100% to the customer. They refuse to refund anything and claimed that I never cancelled the tour when I disputed the charge on my credit card, despite my e-mail in April requesting cancellation and agreeing to pay the 10% cancellation charge. I view this company as stealing not only my money, but the money of the other 11 people that booked this tour.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Catriona S, Owner at Slainte Scotland
Responded Aug 31, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I thought before we continue, we should clarify a few points: 1. We were not offering an 18-month credit but a 24-month credit. 2. We advised the reasoning for this as you can imagine, the whole industry dropped to its knees with insurers not having the facility to payout. 3. We advised that should it not be possible to take a tour, we would absolutely refund in the future. 4. If you happen to chargeback your credit card, we can refuse all we want but we cannot stop your monies being returned to you. 5. Our cancellation policy has never been 100 percent and that was made clear at every point of booking. So much of what has been mentioned here is an exaggeration on the truth and I welcome those who read this to get in touch. You can view much of what has been said on our Facebook Pages and our website when the pandemic became apparent that it would start to stop foreign travel. Thankfully, most of our customers have taken credits of which we are incredibly grateful for. This not only allows for the same experience in the future but it has managed to save many businesses from destruction. I too have taken credits for use in the coming 24 months to do my part to save the industry. To date, much of our industry has closed its doors for the final time and since we are looking at an unprecedented time by which not only are we experiencing a high volume of refund requests, but also lack the ability to replace the business lost during the lockdown. We are a small family business who asked for compassion and understanding and are absolutely willing to return that favour. Thank you again to all of our customers who have taken us up on the credit and we look forward to seeing you when it is once again safe and possible to do so. Thanks Catriona
Read more
Thomas N wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I loved the places we visited. Catriona is very knowledgeable and took care to explain me everything and to make me enjoy the day, even though a few places were unfortunately still closed due to covid-19. I really recommend it.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456