We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Falkirk Wheel

Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Book In Advance
2,414
All photos (2,414)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good32%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
About
This 35-meter-high rotating boat lift, the world’s first, connects the Forth & Clyde and Union canals.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 4:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
Lime Road | Tamfourhill, Falkirk FK1 4RS, Scotland
Website
+44 870 050 0208
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Falkirk Wheel
from $31.03
More Info
from $809.59
More Info
Reviews (4,847)
Filter reviews
4,549 results
Traveler rating
2,623
1,422
389
62
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
2,623
1,422
389
62
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip amazing piece of engineering feat of engineering rotating boat lift modern engineering union canal unique experience well worth a visit gift shop short trip play area antonine wall on site plenty of parking car park sunny day action
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,549 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

We were disappointed not to see the wheel in action due to maintenance taking place. We also found the car park to be closed. We did see a sign stating/saying use an alternative route, but not being from the area we didn’t know where that...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Jacqueline S
AlexV4508, Visitor Experience Coordinator at Falkirk Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Sorry to hear that you had a difficult time finding the route and that The Wheel was under maintenance. We have done our very best to publicise this with signage, and it is also on our website, Facebook and Twitter. Hopefully you will be able...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were disappointed with the wheel , one of the entrances was closed and there was no warning of this on the road.When we eventually got to them they were not working as they were being serviced.More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank D G
AlexV4508, Visitor Experience Coordinator at Falkirk Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit, we do have diversion signage on the main road coming towards The Falkirk Wheel, and we have also made people aware of the road closure and The Falkirk Wheel MOT on Facebook, Twitter and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were all very dissapointed with our trip on the falkirk wheel, very short and sweet to be polite and price wise, it was a rip off. It is an amazing piece of engineering but not worth wasting your time and money to go on...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Hidden-gems1988
AlexV4508, Visitor Experience Coordinator at Falkirk Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience here at The Falkirk Wheel, most of our visitors love the experience of using The Wheel in operation, but it can't be everybody's cup of tea! Best Wishes, The Falkirk Wheel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Worth the trip off the road between edinburgh and glasgow. A miracle of modern engineering- simply amazing.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank PadiP
AlexV4508, Visitor Experience Coordinator at Falkirk Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We would definitely agree! Best Wishes, The Falkirk Wheel Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I haven’t wanted to go here but was so disappointed that we arrived to find a road closed with a sign stating take alternative route! There were no signs whatsoever directing you to the alternative route. By sheer fluke we finally found the alternative car...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank EMELeicestershire
AlexV4508, Visitor Experience Coordinator at Falkirk Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry to hear you were so disappointed with your visit, The Falkirk Wheel has been out of operation since early January due to a maintenance period and is set to reopen on the 23rd March. We are also currently improving our main access route...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Am sure that this must be wonderful for anyone interested in engineering. I was surprised at how close it is to housing and that it is not in the best of condition. To be fair I was not sure what to expect so can not...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank suegray2017
AlexV4508, Visitor Experience Coordinator at Falkirk Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We hope to see you again in the summer so you can experience The Falkirk Wheel properly (: Best Wishes The Falkirk Wheel Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I really recommend this place for everybody. Everyone should like it. It’s really fun. Sadly the second time we went there were things closed.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Bibcay
AlexV4508, Visitor Experience Coordinator at Falkirk Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are glad to hear that you are such a fan of The Falkirk Wheel, we hope to see you back again soon once we reopen for the summer season ahead! Best Wishes, The Falkirk wheel Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

would have been good if we could have parked..main car park shut, alternate ones where not signed post. Ended up driving trough a housing estate to find a few parking space. Was worth it when we got there. with it being February the wheel it...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Ninafarina
AlexV4508, Visitor Experience Coordinator at Falkirk Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry to hear you had issues with the parking, our car parks and main access road are currently closed due to improvement works, but we do have signs displaying a postcode to another nearby cark park that offers free parking. Hopefully you will be able...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Wheel is a good visitor attraction: it has, obviously, the Wheel and runs boats full of trippers. Usually, during the season, the coaches empty into the boats and get the talk and come back again. However, trippers should use the opportunity to walk about...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank lumpitwood
AlexV4508, Visitor Experience Coordinator at Falkirk Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

There is definitely a lot on offer on and around The Falkirk Wheel site, and it's great to hear you have enjoyed so much of it! Best Wishes, The Falkirk Wheel Team

Reviewed February 5, 2019

The only one of its kind in the world! And also it has an Engineering Heritage Award. If you want you can join the boat tours. If you just want to see the motion, don't forget to check the opening dates and working times before...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank ykilter
AlexV4508, Visitor Experience Coordinator at Falkirk Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It really is an amazing piece of engineering isn't it?! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time here. Best Wishes, The Falkirk Wheel Team

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
Ben More Lodge Hotel
308 reviews
.98 miles away
Premier Inn Falkirk Central Hotel
497 reviews
1.27 miles away
Best Western Park Hotel
505 reviews
1.60 miles away
The Graeme Hotel Bar & Restaurant
104 reviews
2.10 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 197 nearby restaurants
Scarlett's Cafe
111 reviews
.98 miles away
Boardwalk
325 reviews
.53 miles away
Park Hotel
90 reviews
.60 miles away
Lucky ho
22 reviews
.97 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 61 nearby attractions
Xtreme Karting Falkirk
229 reviews
.94 miles away
Antonine Roman Wall
183 reviews
.04 miles away
Falkirk VisitScotland iCentre
72 reviews
.17 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
PeterFitzy
February 28, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from AlexV4508 | Property representative |
Hi, The Kelpies are approx. 4 miles from us here at The Falkirk Wheel, it is a very easy drive, or if the weather permits it can be a lovely stroll along the towpath! Best Wishes, The Falkirk Wheel Team
0
Votes
southwell43
February 16, 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from AlexV4508 | Property representative |
Hello, The Falkirk Wheel is absolutely suitable for people with mobility issues, the site is very flat and there are no steps to get on or off the boat. If you do need any assistance whilst you are visiting us, a member of... More
0
Votes
JACKD4444
January 13, 2019|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from AlexV4508 | Property representative |
Dogs are allowed on The Falkirk Wheel site but are not allowed in the visitor centre or on the boat trip. Best Wishes, The Falkirk Wheel Team
1
Vote