Camera Obscura and World of Illusions

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
4.5
Science MuseumsObservation Decks & Towers
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
About
Winner of VisitScotland's Best Visitor Attraction Experience 2022/23! We are Scotland’s oldest purpose-built attraction, established in 1835. Interact with over 100 illusions and get a breath of fresh air on our magnificent Rooftop Terrace, which offers the most spectacular 360 degree views of Edinburgh. At Camera Obscura & World of Illusions, experience five floors of interactive hands-on optical illusions, tricks and fun things to do including our head-spinning Vortex Tunnel, bewildering Mirror Maze and mind-blowing Shrinking Room. Not to mention our 170 year old Camera Obscura! Get involved, play, touch, listen, and see. Great fun for all ages and nationalities, whatever the weather. 'Best family attraction in Britain’, The Telegraph. 'Five Stars, outstanding, world class', VisitScotland. Free Wi-Fi. Allow about 2 hours. Please note the attraction is located in a listed 17th Century building over 5 floors without a lift. Open every day, open late on holidays.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The area
Address
Neighborhood: Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Reach out directly
See what travelers are saying
  • mic j
    6 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great day out
    Went on Friday schools were off, we used the Scot rail kid for a quid deal so my 2 kids got in for free with 2 paying adults but had to be in before 11am to get the deal. So for us a massive saving the price is high but it’s a city centre attraction and it seems to be the going rate. My kids were 10 and 13 so very hard to please them. They did enjoy it but you have to slow them down so they see every little attraction or you could do it in 30mins easy. We were in for 1hr 45mins and we did the wee show which was great. So overall a great day out.
    Hi Mic, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're so pleased you had a great day out with your family and felt it was entertaining for all ages, even hard to please teenagers! We do recommend spending time exploring all 5 floors of our attraction to discover the 100+ exhibits we have to offer, so we're pleased you had time to enjoy it all. We hope you all come back for another visit soon.
    Written May 31, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written May 29, 2023
  • Madison B
    12 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great for families and date nights
    The rooftop view at sunset was incredible! The optical illusions were very cool. Many different ways to engage people. The musical stairs were a great day way to end off the visit. Loved the show on the roof! Keep up the great work.
    Hi Madison, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and especially liked our stunning rooftop views! Our fascinating Camera Obscura show is a highlight for lots of our visitors so it's great to hear you loved it too. We're glad you got some fun photos to remember your visit, and hope to welcome you back again soon.
    Written May 31, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written May 30, 2023
  • jayne g
    96 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fun !!
    Our first time in Edinburgh saw this place and decided to book . Definitely fun so many things to see even for big kids ! The camera obscure show really interesting Jordan very knowledgeable. A great couple of hours definitely worth a visit .
    Hi Jayne, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're so pleased you had a fun first visit to Edinburgh and enjoyed our fascinating Camera Obscura show! We will pass on your compliments to our brilliant guide Jordan and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Edinburgh. We can't wait to welcome you back next time you're in town.
    Written June 9, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written June 7, 2023
  • Luca Hall
    Lower Hutt, New Zealand5 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Good for something different
    A unique experience in the old town district of Edinburgh. It's interesting to think about how the illusion artworks were created. The panorama rooftop view and mirror viewing room were also worthwhile parts of the gallery. Highly recommended.
    Hi Luca, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're thrilled you had a unique experience at Camera Obscura and learnt so much about our optical illusions! Our stunning panoramic rooftop views of Edinburgh are a highlight for lots of our visitors so it's great to hear you loved them too. We hope you visit again soon.
    Written June 13, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written June 9, 2023
  • Kattraveller20
    Colchester, United Kingdom59 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great fun to enjoy with friends
    8 of us visited. All mature adults. We naturally split into two groups with the second half dawdling. We had a great time here. So much fun and I would have overlooked it if not booked by my sister. The camera obscura is a tiny part of this attraction. Still very good but there’s so much more besides. We laughed A LOT!
    Hello Kati and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted you and your friends had such a wonderful time exploring all 5 floors of mind-boggling illusions! It's great to hear that your friends of all ages found lots to keep them entertained. We hope you all come back for another laugh soon.
    Written June 13, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written June 12, 2023
  • Nora_B
    9 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Something for everyone
    Great fun for everyone. Can easily spend a couple of hours here. Very interesting facts about the actual camera obscura at the top and great views on a good day! Book ahead as it's very busy.
    Hi Nora, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're so pleased you had a fun visit and learnt lots of interesting things exploring our world of surprises! Our rooftop views are certainly stunning, we're delighted you loved them and hope you got some great photos to remember your visit.
    Written June 15, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Written June 13, 2023
  • jessicahB3151JW
    6 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Must see on a family vacation
    Located right by the castle, this was a big hit with my family! The camera is “Victorian technology “ that offers 360 views of Edinburgh but you could also have a great view without it from the top. The illusions were our favorite part. Everyone who worked there was wonderfully friendly as well
    Hi Jessica, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're delighted you had such a wonderful visit with your family and enjoyed our mind-boggling illusions! Our 170 year-old camera certainly shows a great view of Edinburgh, we're so pleased you liked the show. Will will pass your compliments on to our friendly team, and hope you visit again soon.
    Written June 16, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Written June 15, 2023
  • Werner
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Top of the List of Attractions to Visit
    We spent 1.5 hours walking through the attraction but felt like 15 minutes. There is so much to see and do. The staff was very professional and friendly. It is located close to all the major attractions. It was a lot of fun and very educational. We really enjoyed ourselves and would recommend it to anyone staying in Edinburgh.
    Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're thrilled you spent 1.5 hours exploring all of the fun surprises we have to offer! Our staff work hard to ensure everyone has an excellent visit so it's great to hear your feedback, and we will pass it on to the team. We hope you visit again soon.
    Written June 20, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Written June 16, 2023
  • ZDonald
    Glendale, California38 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A unique museum in Edinburgh
    This is an extremely interesting and unique (so far as I know) museum, featuring six floors of different exhibits demonstrating both the camera obscura and the concept of how our perception works. Well worth a stop. Plan to spend 2 hours, which will include time on the roof that will give one a magnificent view of Edinburgh. Be sure to make a reservation and buy your tickets online as that's less expensive than walking up. Just down High St. from the castle, but might be a bit much to try to do both on the same day.
    Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're thrilled you found your visit interesting and unique, and enjoyed exploring our world of surprises! Our spectacular rooftop views of Edinburgh are a highlight for lots of our visitors so it's great to hear you loved them too. We hope you visit again soon.
    Written June 20, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written June 19, 2023
  • Jack D
    Darlington, United Kingdom3 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Camera Obscura and World of Illusions
    This is a fun and interactive attraction for family’s and younger children. The attraction is set out across various floors each of which include a wide variety of interactive games and optical illusions that you are able to interact with. You make your way up to towards the roof covering half of the attraction before coming back down and covering the second half. On the top floor there are options to take in the views of Edinburgh from roof along with a presentation and demonstration of the camera that is attached to the building. The demonstration lasts around 10/15 minutes and is very informative as you not only learn about the history of the building but the city itself. The attraction lasts around 1.5/2 hours depending on how quickly or slowly you wish to spend looking at the various different illusions throughout the building.
    Hi Jack, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're so glad you had a fun visit exploring our 5 floors of mind-boggling illusions and hands-on exhibits! Our rooftop views and Camera Obscura show are a highlight for lots of our visitors so it's great to hear you liked them too. We hope you visit again soon.
    Written June 26, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Traveled solo
    Written June 23, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles16,370 reviews
Excellent
10,989
Very good
3,962
Average
1,004
Poor
283
Terrible
133

Ca12039
7 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
We visited here due to the adverse weather and following positive reviews we thought we would give it a shot. However we were left heavily disappointed. Despite a couple of highlights in terms of the tunnel and the camera obscura, the rest was overcrowded and many of the exhibits were well worn. As much as it offers a couple of unique experiences, it is not worth the entry price. I fell going forward they need to put in place timed entry to allow people to get the most out of the exhibits.
Written January 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our head-spinning Vortex Tunnel and the demonstration of the 166-year-old Camera Obscura. These are only two of over 100 interactive exhibits, spread over five floors. During seasonal holidays we can get busy, and as you’ve mentioned the wet and windy weather can also encourage more visitors to indoor attractions, which is why we offer an All-Day Ticket to allow you to return later in the day at a quieter time to experience all our exhibits again. We use people counting technology and our team regularly monitor the amount of visitors in the building, but we will investigate your suggestion of timed ticketing for our future developments. Thank you for visiting.
Written January 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MancTeacher
Manchester, UK315 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 • Family
If you have kids who like problem solving, trying things out and love science museums, they will really enjoy it here. It is quite pricey and I recommend showing your Scot Rail ticket if you have one to get a discount.

There are a few floors of fun and your inner child can come out, so that you can be as one with the kids who love this place. There is even something for teens here, as there is a great deal to see and do.

Plenty of photo ops here and a really dramatic view of Edinburgh from the top. I prefer the Science museums as this did remind of the Ripley I can't Believe it attractions at times.

But my nephews had an absolute blast and that's what is about. They had enough to do to stop them reaching for their phone and that is some compliment! 😁
Written March 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, and thank you for this amazing review. We’re so pleased you found something to entertain everyone in your group. We pride ourselves on bringing out the inner child in everyone and are delighted to hear you all had so much fun. Thank you for visiting and we hope you’ll visit us again in the future.
Written March 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ElloWorld
Yarm, UK42 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 • Couples
We secured a last minute booking for entry a few hours before our train home.
Obviously, we were disappointed that the demonstration of the camera obscura was cancelled due to COVID restrictions, but needs must in these strange times and we were aware of this before booking, as it is mentioned in prominent view on the website.
The rest of the building was open however and we were very pleasantly surprised at how many of the illusions and exhibits remained open. There was an easy-to-follow one way system in place, which led you to the third floor and then up and around the rest of the building, following the exhibits.
The rooftop views are spectacular all around and the illusions and interactive exhibits all the way down are mind boggling.
Despite the amount of hands on stuff on display, there were plenty of sanitiser stands and we passed staff who were disinfecting surfaces on every single floor, so their cleaning regime is clearly very good.
I would also recommend going earlier in the day if you wish to avoid crowds and make social distancing that bit easier for yourself: we managed to sneak a 9:15 booking on the day, but prior to that we had been hard pressed to get bookings for 2 people after 12pm.
There is a locked cupboard where staff will le you deposit bags or luggage and there are toilets, but these are located right at the start, so use them first or lose them. There are no catering facilities in the building itself, but you’re pretty spoilt for choice in the area around.
We spent about 2hrs here, which was the perfect amount of time to enjoy some mind bending nonsense on a Sunday morning.

We’ll be back soon and can’t wait to see the camera demonstrations back up and running.
Written October 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello there, thank you for the marvellous five-review! We appreciate the in-depth detail of your review, and it's fantastic to hear you had a wonderful time exploring our wacky World of Illusions. As you mention, our Camera Obscura is currently closed given the current restrictions, and we finish installing the new ventilation system. We're grateful to receive positive feedback on our additional COVID-19. The views of Edinburgh from our Rooftop Terrace are spectacular. Hopefully, you captured plenty of photos on your visit. Thank you for visiting, and we can't wait to welcome you back in the future.
Written October 15, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mai Tang
Birmingham, UK18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Family
Starting on the top floor there are amazing views of Edinburgh, especially the sunset allowed us to see the city in the light and dark. The small show, done by Blaine, was very entertaining and informative as to the camera obscura. Working your way down the building there are plenty of optical illusions, most of which you can interact with, a very fun day for people of all ages. Only negative was when we went it was incredibly busy making stairways difficult and meaning a short queue before being able to interact with the exhibits.
Written January 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Maisie, thanks for leaving us such a lovely review. It is great to hear that you had such a good time when you came to see us recently. Blane will be delighted that you enjoyed his show, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments. With over 100 interactive illusions, we like to think that there is something for everyone. We provide all of our visitors with an All-Day ticket allowing you to leave and come back during our opening hours that day, meaning you could leave if it gets a little busy and return during quieter times. Thank you once again for leaving us a review. Hopefully, you will return and see us again soon.
Written January 8, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

buggiessarah
Salisbury, UK10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
We visited here with out 6 year old son. There was quite a long queue outside but it went down very quickly. We were disappointed to be told by an employee that the show at the top was sold out. Having been before we knew our son would love this and had already told him all about it so were quite disappointed but decided to carry on in anyway. There are several floors of amazing illusions and all very hands-on exhibits and my son loved all of them. Some of them he didn't quite understand but they are interesting to adults and he liked looking at them anyway. When we got to the top the lady doing the show said anyone who didn't have tickets for that show could wait to see if there were any spaces and there were loads so we got to see the show anyway, which was fantastic. They were offering you to come back the next day to see the show or to get 20% off entry as the show was fully booked so I felt bad as we had had 20% off our ticket price but, it was their mistake. I just hope too many people didn't leave and not bother going in as they thought they wouldn't see the show. The next showing after ours was the same and basically, there seemed to be lots of spaces left at every time so not sure what went on there. Our son loves a gift shop and I was glad to see everything was good quality and quite reasonably priced apart from the sweets! My husband thought we'd be in there an hour, it was more like 3! Fantastic fun.
Written March 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Sarah, thank you so much for your kind review. At Camera Obscura, we like to think that we appeal to all ages and are so pleased to hear that your whole family loved the experience. We want everyone that comes in to get the best out of their visit. We are so proud of our 167-year-old Camera Obscura that we want everyone to get a chance to have a look at it and it’s fantastic to hear there was space for you to enjoy the show. Thank you for letting us know what a great time you had and we hope to see you and your family again soon.
Written March 23, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Traveler
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
There is nothing wrong with the Camera Obscura, it is just way over priced for simple illusions that you will find at any science museum all over the world. The displays have not kept up with the times. Minds are no longer amazed by color tricks, size manipulations and carnival mirrors. You've seen this all before. At the steep price, this is something that can easily be taken off a must do list.

In contrast, the National Museum of Scotland is large with a sizeable kids' area filled with displays much more current and interesting than can be found at camera Obscura. Best of all, the museum is free and easily reached by foot or on one of the many hop on hop off buses.
Written February 23, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, and thank you for letting us know about your visit. With over 100 interactive exhibits, including modern trickery and classic illusions, we feel we offer something to entertain all ages. The majority of our visitors have great fun, creating humorous and memorable experiences with their friends and family. We hope that you had the time during your visit to discover all we have to offer including the 166-year-old Camera Obscura itself as well as the spectacular views of the city from our Rooftop Terrace. Being right beside Edinburgh Castle, we're really easy to find and easily accessible by bus and on foot. We agree the National Museum of Scotland offers a great visit, but it is a very different experience to ours, however we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit there.
Written February 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kit T
44 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
We visited late as there was a line out of the door.

Pros: A lot to look at, particularly for children. Excellent light displays and the mirror maze is very cool. Camera Obscura very good and the staff very enthusiastic and polite - allowed us two days for the price of one due to fading light for Camera Obscura.

Cons: It is a small building and is compact - the 6 floors are very busy and full with lots to look at. Stairs a bit dodgy and no one way system due to the building, which meant a lot of traffic. Difficult to have a go at much due to numbers not being limited. Seems very expensive for what you get for your money.
Written February 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We’re delighted to hear that you found plenty to engage with and enjoy during your visit, with over 100 interactive exhibits we have something to keep all ages entertained. As you allude to, we are a popular attraction, particularly at peak times. Visitor numbers are carefully monitored to ensure the safety of our visitors. We also offer an All-Day Ticket which allows you to return later on when it is a little quieter. We hope you found this helpful. We’re delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic experience with our staff, and we will make sure to pass your feedback along to the team, too. Thanks once again for visiting, and we hope to see you again.
Written February 27, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

sophieebee
Chatham, UK684 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
A great activity during our stay in Edinburgh (and we were 2 adults without children!)
We went in the evening to try and miss queues but this means you miss the show by the camera obscura.
Lots of mind boggling and fun activities with the highlight being the best maze we’ve probably ever tried!
There was a very friendly member of staff who welcomed us, a kind Scottish man in a kilt.
Every time we walked past there was a long queue so I’d recommend booking tickets online beforehand to save the queue time.
Written January 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Sophie and thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review. It is fantastic to hear that you all had such an enjoyable time on your visit. With over 100 interactive exhibits we like to think that there is something for everyone here. The nice Scottish man in a kilt would be Blane, we will make sure to pass your kind comments on to him, he will be thrilled to receive them. Also, it is great to hear that you enjoyed our Mirror Maze, hopefully you didn’t get too lost! Thanks once again for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Written January 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rafick E
Croydon, UK334 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020
Visited on a Saturday afternoon in March. It is quite costly at £16 each but there is quite a lot to see for the price and it also includes a small show from the top floor observatory.
Each floor has a small museum space with different themes/activities. These include things like; a mirror maze, a very fun if not a bit crazy tunnel thing and lots of other smaller attractions. There is lots of hands on attractions but at this time and during the current coronavirus crisis it was very good that there was lots and hand sanitizer stations.
There are lots of steps and no lift this is something to be aware of.
You get a time slot for the observatory show which gives excellent views of Edinburgh especially the nearby castle, our host was very entertaining and new a lot of interesting information, neat the show there is an outdoor roof space with amazing views all across Edinburgh well worth a look.
The combination of all of the above make it a very good museum.
Written April 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Rafick, thank you for letting us know what a fun time you had visiting us. We’re delighted to hear you took part in all of our interactive exhibits (we have over 100!) and also experienced our Camera Obscura show. We take health and safety very seriously and have always offered hand sanitiser stations throughout our attraction. We also have a cleaning team who continually keep our site clean and safe. Thank you for sharing your photos with us, the views from our rooftop are spectacular. Thanks for visiting and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Written April 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Luxtravellers
Brisbane, Australia64 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 • Family
We were a reasonably large group with kids age ranged from 9-16. The exhibits were great, keeping all ages intrigued and interested. Despite it being overcast the camera obscura was really good and the chap presenting (Blaine) was very engaging, amusing and informative! We had to leave briefly to go to the castle to see the 1pm gun and then did a tour and we were able to return to Camera Obscura and spend a further 2 hours enjoying the exhibits. I do have to say though, after reading a number of the 1 star reviews here ... you’d have to be a misery guts to leave anything lower than a 4 star review ! 😂 Keep up the great work Camera Obscura!! ❤️
Written January 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello there and thanks for taking the time to leave us an absolutely fabulous review! It is so good to hear that your whole group enjoyed their visit with us. With more than 100 interactive illusions, we like to think that there is something for everyone here and your feedback backs up that theory very nicely. We're delighted that you made use of our All-Day Ticket that allows you to come and go throughout the day. Thank you for sharing some of your fantastic pictures with us. We always enjoy seeing our visitors having fun! We hope that you will return to see us again very soon for more mind-boggling illusions and memories.
Written January 16, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 14,234
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Camera Obscura and World of Illusions - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

Frequently Asked Questions about Camera Obscura and World of Illusions




All Edinburgh HotelsEdinburgh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Edinburgh
All things to do in Edinburgh
Day Trips in Edinburgh
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars