We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Sightseeing Edinburgh

#104 of 497 Tours in Edinburgh
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
More
About City Sightseeing Edinburgh
Operating every day of the year City Sightseeing Edinburgh will show you the main sights of the city. Offering multi-langage commentary via headphones, see Edinburgh in your own language, choose from English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Japan, Russian and Mandarin Chinese. There is also an extra special Horrible Histories Children's channel, written and narrated by Terry Deary himself.
Read more
Opens in 16 min
Hours Today: 9:30 AM - 6:30 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about
Tours and Tickets by City Sightseeing Edinburgh

City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour

An Edinburgh city sightseeing bus tour means you can enjoy all the benefits of a guided tour—including hassle-free transport and onboard audio commentary—but still explore the sights at your own pace. Your ticket is valid for 24 hours, so you can hop on and off at attractions such as Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, and Arthur’s Seat, or stay on board and take in the views aboard an open-top double-decker bus.
Read more
1 hour
from $21.70
802Reviews9Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 442
  • 242
  • 58
  • 33
  • 27
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Eric S wrote a review Nov 23
Atlanta, Georgia19 contributions12 helpful votes
Clean. Friendly staff. Timely. The only improvement would be the instructions on how to reach the bus. It left from a point 2 blocks away from where the service asked us to meet
Read more
Date of experience: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Roisin H wrote a review Nov 15
12 contributions4 helpful votes
Reconsider if travelling with young children, elderly or disabled. Bus stops are not as shown on map and departure times are closer to every 60 minutes than 20 and it looks like they just wait until they have what they decide is enough passenger to depart, meaning a tour could take 3-4 hours if you decided to get off at 2-3 stops and you would likely spend most of your tour waiting at bus stops. I had injured my knee so we decided to take a tour on the bus after we arrived at Waverley Train Station as Stop 1 was indicated on the map as a short 2-3 minute walk from the platform. In reality is was a 15-20 minute uphill walk which took us half an hour of walking around in the rain to locate. We could see the bus at the stop 10 minutes before we boarded as we made our way there. Given the bus was scheduled to leave every 20mins we expected to depart circa 10 mins after we boarded. After 25 minutes on the bus without moving many passengers decided to leave and a little while later we did too. I can't comment on the tour as we never got to do it, but the bus itself was the standard double decker with audio jack and headphones. The website advertised a special discount offer to book online which we discovered was almost double the cost if you had just paid on the bus. Having done 10-15 other City Sightseeing HOHO tours without issue in cities around the world the standard on this tour is not what you would hope or expect from the company.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at City Sightseeing Edinburgh
Responded 4 days ago
Roisin I appreciate you giving me the opportunity to address some of your comments about our tours. It sounds like you have used out of date information so it would be helpful if you could contact me direct so I can find out which website you refer to. 1/ City Sightseeing operates every 30 minutes at this time of year. We are a registered service so depart on our times, we certainly do not wait until the bus is full enough to leave. There may sometimes be delays along the route. Edinburgh is a busy city and there are a certain amount of roadworks going on at the moment. Any stops not in use are detailed on our app, and to customers when they buy or redeem their tickets. 2/ Bus stops are shown on our tour map - our departure point has been St Andrew Square for at least a year, after the closure of Waverley Bridge to vehicles. Hopefully there was a staff member on hand to direct you. 3/ Our current online discount is for our live guided Edinburgh Tour - it is the same price online as on board. You chose our City Sightseeing Tour which is £16 per adult, kids go free online and on bus. The current offer on this ticket is a free upgrade to a GRAND24, meaning your ticket was valid on all three routes at no extra cost. We do not charge double on site or indeed on bus. Again it sounds like you looked at a different website as this is all clear on our own site. 4/ I am sorry to hear that compared to the many tours you have taken with CS Worldwide ours was not up to standard - especially as you didn't listen to the tour. I apologise if you were provided with inaccurate information, I look forward to hearing from you so I can follow this up with the website in question Many thanks Elaine egreen@lothianbuses.co.uk
Read more
Peter M wrote a review Nov 9
2 contributions
Great way to see the city. Our guide Sandy was informative and entertaining. Do not miss this. Especially liked the ability to hop on and off whenever we wanted.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at City Sightseeing Edinburgh
Responded 2 weeks ago
Peter M It sounds like you choose our live guided Edinburgh Tour. Thank you for hopping on and for sharing your review here. It sounds like Sandy was the perfect Guide - informative and entertaining is what we strive for. The validity of the ticket means you can explore the city, then hop back on a later tour - it's good to hear you made the most of your ticket. Many thanks Elaine
Read more
jknyc9 wrote a review Nov 1
New York City, New York14 contributions5 helpful votes
Hop off hop on are usually a great way to see the city but I had a lousy experience in Edinburgh. It rain the whole two days I was there which I can blame the site seeing company for that but as I was driving around, all the windows were completely fogged up, I couldn’t see anything. I spent 45 mins on the bus listening to a recording detailing the city referencing you to take a look outside but obviously couldn’t. Isn’t there a way to treat the windows with anti fog spray? Pointless to do this tour if raining as I didn’t use it again and felt like it was a total waste. Prob great if the weather is good but I would stay away if it rains which is quite often in October and November
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at City Sightseeing Edinburgh
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here. Sadly we can't do anything about the weather but I would hope that you would have mentioned to the driver of the tour the issues you were having so they could offer advise or some blue paper to clear the window. A lot of customers choose our tours when the weather isn't great to stop them from getting wet on foot. Hopefully the weather will be better for any future visits. with best wishes Elaine
Read more
Leanne F wrote a review Oct 2021
Sheffield, United Kingdom69 contributions33 helpful votes
I was a little nervous taking this tour, being unfamiliar with the city and not knowing where all the stops were. But my partner and I easily found the nearest stop to our hotel, clearly marked with a poster on the stop and hopped on the next bus that came. We were given a bus ticket available for 24 hours and a pair of ear phones which we plugged into the small screens on the back of the seats in front of us. The audio was very clear and informative, available in many different languages but also had a screen at the front of the bus with subtitles appearing on it - the upper deck was full so we sat on the lower deck. There was even a Horrible Histories audio for the kids narrated by the author Terry Deary himself! Once you had done one tour of the circuit and were more familiar with the stops, you could go round again and get off where you wanted, including close to Edinburgh castle and the Scottish home of the Queen, Holyrood House, and jump back on when you wanted, which saved us quite a lot of walking time! It is a short tour, only an hour, but it is a great way to take a rest and learn some history of Edinburgh along the way. Plenty of space for wheelchairs and pushchairs on the lower deck but can get quite busy depending on how many people get on and off each stop.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from ElaineEBT, Sales Manager at City Sightseeing Edinburgh
Responded 3 weeks ago
What a lovely and very comprehensive review - thank you. It's good to hear how much you enjoyed the commentary and used the validity of the ticket to hop on and off, saving your legs!! I hope now that you are a bus tour pro, you'll try other tours in cities you visit. With best wishes Elaine
Read more
Previous
123456