V&A Dundee
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
We are Scotland's design museum and the nation's centre for design. Come and be inspired by design, and explore our welcoming space on Dundee's waterfront.
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience V&A Dundee and nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • moon
    Dundee, United Kingdom322 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Worth visiting in school holidays
    Definitely worth visiting during school holidays as have a range of learning activities for young children. Including painting and drawing classes and activities with threads linked to the tartan exhibition theme, such as making bracelets. Also nice places to sit inside and enjoy the setting of the V&A. Encountered friendly staff throughout in the exhibitions, activities and gift shop on the ground floor. Worth visiting in the holidays.
    It pleases us so much to know that you got the chance to visit recently and take advantage of our school holiday programme! Thank you for leaving us such a glowing review, we are thrilled to hear that you had such an exceptional experience while in V&A Dundee. Our summer workshop Sketch, Scribble + Style has been very popular since its launch earlier this month and it has been extremely rewarding to see audiences of all age groups enjoying the activities. Please know that Sketch, Scribble + Style will be available until Sunday 6 August, so don't hesitate to return and join us again for more fun occasions. We are always grateful to have our friendly staff acknowledged, so thank you for taking the time to mention the performance and positivity of our talented team. We hope that you get the opportunity to return to the museum again soon, we cannot wait to welcome you back!
    Written July 27, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written July 22, 2023
  • Chris M
    Toowoomba, Australia36 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    TARTAN!
    Many thanks to family for suggesting Dundee for our Scottish itinerary. This morning, we trained from Edinburgh to visit the new V&A Dundee Museum - in particular their current extremely popular Tartan exhibition. Opened in 2018 by the Duke & Duchess of Cambridge, the Museum is now in full swing post COVID as a significant investment spin off of the famous V&A in Kensington London. The new building design is inspired by both the Scottish coastal rocky outcrops and also the nautical history of the Dundee Docks area where the museum has been built on land re-claimed from the adjacent River Tay. The museum presentation is absolute top drawer including plenty of famous Vivienne Wedgewood tartan productions and historical tartan artefacts. And the young museum guide did a marvellous job explaining the building and the construct … Scottish Tourism reports over 150 MILLION (!) visits each year. The V&A and the permanent RRS Discovery exhibit next door certainly puts Dundee on the map for visitors planning to head to the Highlands. And not one crocodile seen all day!
    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us in review format, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent exploration of V&A Dundee! It is so touching to know that you travelled to Dundee to see the museum and specifically the new major exhibition. Tartan is the first exhibition curated entirely in-house by our own team, so we are honoured to have it receive praise from visitors like yourself. Please know that Tartan will be on display until 14 January 2024, so you will have plenty of opportunities to return again for additional interactions if you wish. There's no denying that Dundee is a vibrant city with fascinating attractions, and we at V&A Dundee are grateful to serve as part of such a strong and unique community. We always appreciate receiving kind comments regarding the performance and passion of our staff, so thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the Visitor Assistant that led your guided tour. We are extremely fortunate to have such talented individuals on our team, and know that all members of our staff will express gratitude for your stellar feedback. Thank you again for sharing your impressions with us, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to V&A Dundee very soon again in future!
    Written July 27, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written July 22, 2023
  • Nancy P
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands8 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fantastic day at V&A Dundee!
    I totally enjoyed myself at the V&A Dundee. The Tartan exhibition was so interesting! I also took the free architecture tour, which I really recommend. I didn't have much time to see their permanent exhibition even though I arrived at 10:45 am - there was so much to see - so I want to go back. It was such a stimulating visit!
    Thank you for leaving us such a glowing review! It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your visit to V&A Dundee, particularly the Tartan exhibition and our free Architecture Tour. Tartan is the first exhibition that has been curated entirely in-house, so it is very rewarding to know that you had such a great experience. Please keep in mind that we also offer a public V&A Dundee Highlights Tour every Friday to Sunday at 12:30 for a low cost of £5. Participants of these tours are eligible for a £2 discount to Tartan should they wish to go into the exhibition too. Hopefully you get the chance to return to the museum soon so that you can explore the Scottish Design Galleries at length and see other upcoming exhibitions. We look forward to welcoming back to V&A Dundee sometime in future!
    Written August 3, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled solo
    Written August 1, 2023
  • Dave C
    Kettlewell, United Kingdom1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great experience, lovely staff
    Visiting family in Dundee and decided to take an impromptu visit to the museum on recommendation. The Tartan exhibition was great, and Flo (I think it was Flo/Flora/Florence, please send my apologies if I've got her name wrong) was just so lovely, and was happy to tell us all about the museum, and answer some of my more bizarre questions, much to my wife's dismay. It's always really pleasing when you have knowledgeable staff like that. We're still in Dundee for a little while longer so may even pop in again, maybe this time to sample some of the café food, as we've heard great things.
    What excellent feedback, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! Our Visitor Assistants pride themselves on their friendliness and knowledge, so it is such a treat to have their hard work and passion acknowledged. We cannot wait to pass your kind words back to Flora, we know she will appreciate your comments and praise very much. Thank you for expressing your thoughts on the Tartan exhibition, it is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed exploring this special display. Tartan is the first exhibition curated entirely by our team at V&A Dundee, so we are especially proud of it success and delivery. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we are so grateful for getting the chance to gain insight on your experience in the museum. We hope to be able to welcome you back to V&A Dundee very soon!
    Written August 3, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 1, 2023
  • Karen M
    3 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Enjoyed this a lot!
    Spent the morning here and had a great time - really interesting catwalk section and a great building to have a wander around. The cafè is well set out and has a good selection - the tomato soup is delicious. Has great views too overlooking the Discovery ship. Well worth a visit.
    Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review! It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable visit at V&A Dundee, and that you took particular interest in the free exhibition ‘The Fashion Show: Everything But The Clothes.' Thank you for your kind words regarding Tatha Bar & Restaurant, we will be sure to pass your positive comments back to the catering team. We are thrilled to know that your overall experience stimulating and inspiring, it is always a treat to have visitors voice their appreciation of the museum. If you are interested in learning more about the building and its design, please know that we offer free public Architecture Tours every Monday - Thursday at 12:30. These tours present a unique opportunity to gain in-depth insight into the architecture and engineering that went into the building's creation. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the museum sometime soon!
    Written August 8, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written August 3, 2023
  • Navigate533922
    3 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mixed experience
    This is a difficult one, as a piece of architecture it’s an amazing building and the displays, as far as they are are good. But that’s the complexity as, by design of the building, they are very limited. The vast majority of floor space is dedicated to shop, cafe and stairs / balconies. As a visitor experience it’s pretty limited, yes free but not that great - the service in the cafe was very slow, so much so that if you order hot food as part of a party it arrives after everyone else has finished. For some reason menus are non existent making working out what is available very unclear. There was meant to be a participative weaving studio but it was unclear how as no one identified themselves, even though I assume the two people weaving were leading it, or offered how to try it out. So in all a mixed experience, worth a visit as a building but underwhelming otherwise.
    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate your feedback very much. We are sorry to hear that your visit to V&A Dundee was not as satisfying as we would have hoped, but thank you for coming in and giving us a chance regardless. Our principal goal is to provide exemplary, safe, and accessible experiences for all visitors at V&A Dundee, so it is disappointing to know that some our guests leave the museum not having felt stimulated or inspired. We understand your comments regarding the museum’s interior areas, we certainly have a very intriguing layout that pushes the boundaries of the conventional exhibition space. Please know that in addition to hosting exhibitions, V&A Dundee serves as a multi-disciplinary platform for a wide variety of community activities such as concerts, design markets, and live performances. While providing gallery displays is a core part of what we do, we must always ensure that our areas are readily flexible so that they may adapt to the needs of our evolving programme. Even with a wide range of activities taking place within the museum on any given day, our areas allow us to feature up to four exhibitions at a time. With that being said, we are receptive to visitor comments when they tell us they feel the museum is lacking with respect to collections. As a result, we are currently in the process of planning a new approach to certain areas of the museum. More information on the nature of these provisional changes will be released further down the line, but please rest assured that we have our sights set on transforming our approach to some spaces. It is our deepest hope that our audiences enjoy these changes when they come to fruition, as it is our full intention to enhance the visitor experience and access more of the building’s potential. It pleases us to hear that your visit gave you the opportunity to appreciate the building's unique architecture and design. It might interest you to know that as part of our activity programme we offer free public Architecture Tours every Monday - Thursday at 12:30. These guided sessions offer guests the chance to explore the museum's innovative architecture and engineering in depth, and might be something you'd like to explore if ever returning for future visits. Thank you again for voicing your thoughts and concerns with us, we very much value your impressions and comments as a member of our cherished visitor community. Please know that we are extremely dedicated to the happiness and stimulation of our audiences, and will do all within our power moving forward to ensure that V&A Dundee stands out as an exemplary attraction within the eyes of our community.
    Written August 14, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written August 9, 2023
  • LoveTravel455257
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A relaxing & inspiring experience
    We love our occasional visits to the V&A. The building is a pleasure to walk in and the exhibitions are well worth attending. The staff is very welcoming and friendly. We also love the eco-conscious effort that is clearly put in throughout the spaces. Even the membership cards are made of cardboard!
    This is such great feedback, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us! It is always rewarding to hear that we have return visitors who are continually stimulated and inspired when they come to V&A Dundee. We are always grateful to have our staff recognised for their friendliness and talent, so thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the performance of our Visitor Assistants. We cannot wait to pass your kind comments back to the team, we know they will be very appreciative! V&A Dundee is committed to encouraging sustainable practice and tries to incorporate eco-friendly methods into museum operations as much as possible. It pleases us to know that our visitors recognise these efforts and share in our conservation objectives, we know that even the smallest changes can help make positive impacts on the environment. Thank you again for your stellar review, we hope you get the chance to come back and enjoy V&A Dundee soon!
    Written August 14, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Written August 13, 2023
  • Jill S
    Hastings, New Zealand36 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Loved my visit
    I visited the museum with my mother, who is a member. We had a delicious lunch, and really enjoyed the Tartan exhibition, and then a browse through the gift shop. We had a good chat with two of the staff who were demonstrating loom weaving, which was interesting too. The building is beautiful, inside and out, but the only disappointment is the lack of dedicated parking. If only I lived closer, I'd definitely be back.
    Thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely 5-star review! It is wonderful to hear that you had a positive experience exploring the museum with your mother. Tartan is the first exhibition completely curated by our team at V&A Dundee, so it is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your time within the display. It is great that you had the chance to experience Tatha Bar & Kitchen along with our shop and interactive loom. We are always happy to welcome praise for our passionate and friendly Visitor Assistants, so thank you for taking the time to acknowledge their hard work. We look forward to passing your kind comments back to the team, we know they will be very thankful for your feedback. We are grateful that you recognise the impressive architecture of V&A Dundee and that you took notice of its unique design. Please know that we offer free Architectural Tours every Monday to Thursday at 12:30, which may be of interest to you for your next visit. We understand your frustrations regarding parking and apologise for any inconvenience caused on the date of your visit. There are several parking options within close walking distance of the museum that are managed by Dundee City Council or other organisations. Should you ever need advice or recommendations regarding parking, please feel free to contact the museum in advance to explore options and our staff will be happy to help you. Thank you again for your excellent feedback, we can’t wait to welcome you back to the museum sometime soon!
    Written August 18, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written August 14, 2023
  • Romanoff57
    Bath, United Kingdom42 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Underwhelming
    A first visit to the V&A Dundee and I have mixed feelings. The architecture is impressive and sits well against the water and next to the Discovery. Once inside first impressions are positive with the sense of space and light, and the clever use of wood and stone on the walls and staircase. The Tartan exhibition was mildly interesting but I guess there is only so much you can say about tartan so it feels stretched and padded out with a lot of fashion exhibits. The lighting is very low level which I understand may be necessary to protect the exhibits but at the same time it makes it very hard to read the signage. Also, there is a lot of audio accompanying the exhibits - music, voices, film clips etc and they overlap each as you walk around other in a way that is distracting. £16 per head seemed a bit pricy. The Scottish Design galleries is a great concept and has some fascinating pieces but we felt it could have been much bigger and expansive - there must be thousands more pieces in the V&A archives? Especially when you emerge from the exhibitions and realise that so much of the vast open area of the building is taken up with the cafe, shop and reading areas.
    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you have mixed feelings about your experience at V&A Dundee, but appreciate you leaving a 3-star review regardless. It pleases us to know that you took pleasure in the building’s architecture and location on the Tay. Please know that we offer free Architectural Tours of the museum every Monday to Thursday at 12:30pm, which may be of interest to you should you choose to revisit the museum in the future. We understand your comments regarding the museum’s interior areas and use of space, we certainly have a very intriguing layout that pushes the boundaries of the conventional gallery. Please know that in addition to hosting exhibitions, V&A Dundee serves as a multi-disciplinary platform for a wide variety of community activities such as concerts, design markets, and live performances. While providing gallery displays is a core part of what we do, we must always ensure that our areas are readily flexible so that they may adapt to the needs of our evolving programme. Even with a wide range of activities taking place within the museum on any given day, our areas allow us to feature up to four exhibitions at a time. Though we are open to your opinion regarding Tartan ticket pricing, it is important to mention that this exhibition brings together a dazzling selection of more than 300 objects from over 80 lenders worldwide, illustrating the material's universal and enduring appeal. While we would love to offer free experiences across all aspects of the museum for our valued visitor community, we must keep in mind that the museum is a charity and relies on income raised through ticket sales, membership sales, and fundraising to sustain operations and keep our learning programmes going. We are forever grateful to everyone who supports the museum’s many programmes by making donations and ticket purchases, as they contribute to the survival of the museum and help to establish it as a cultural resource within the heart of Dundee. To assist those who face cost barriers, the museum does offer a variety of concession options for visitors to choose from depending upon how they identify. In addition, everyone is eligible for an automatic discount if they purchase tickets in advance online or over the phone as opposed to in the museum. We are sorry that you found the audio throughout the exhibition distracting. Please know that visitors who are sensitive to sound are welcome to request noise-cancelling ear defenders and earplugs, which are available upon request from our ticket desks should they prefer a silent experience. Additionally, visitors who may struggle with the low lighting or signage are welcome to take advantage of the large-print guides which are available in our gallery spaces to help those who may require textual enhancement. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with a review, we are very grateful for your input and impressions. We hope that you get the chance to return in future at some point, we would be pleased to welcome you back!
    Written August 24, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written August 15, 2023
  • rogerbrisley
    5 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Tartan? Just so much more!
    At first thoughts the visiting Tartan exhibition was not for me. I was there to experience the space that is the V&A Dundee. However the exhibition was most enlightening, The existence of tartan in other cultures across the world, whether by adoption from Scottish visitors or a local craft. Touching upon socio economic matters the exhibition portrays tartan as if a fungus with not just the typical tartan fruit such as the kilt visible but a much larger body of mycelia spreading but largely hidden across the world. Excellent and would revisit. The permanent exhibition of Scottish design was also worth a visit in its own right. Topped off with an excellent lunch made for a great day out.
    What an amazing review! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that your experience at V&A Dundee exceeded expectations and are absolutely chuffed by your unique biology metaphors! Tartan is the first exhibition which has been completely curated by our team at V&A Dundee, so it is so rewarding to receive such positive responses from our visitors. It is great to know that you got the chance to explore the Scottish Design Galleries and enjoyed an excellent lunch in Tatha Bar & Kitchen. Please note that Tartan will be on display until 14 January 2024, so you will have plenty of opportunities to return for additional visits if you wish. Thank you again for your kind words, they mean so much to us. We hope to welcome you back to V&A Dundee sometime soon!
    Written August 18, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written August 15, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles2,697 reviews
Excellent
786
Very good
442
Average
604
Poor
488
Terrible
377

Charles A
Hasland, UK9 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2019
I wasn’t going to bother to review my visit in November 2019, however I read today in my Institution of Design Engineers Magazine that the museum is one of three only to have reached the final of European Museum of the Year- I really dont understand how it deserves such an accolade?

Here are my observations:
Impressive external design like a ship. Inside vast cavernous ground floor of wood panelled nothingness except a café and rather expensive gift shop. Scottish Design museum was partially of interest but occupies less than a tenth of the building, limited in number of exhibits, it was exhausted within 20 minutes for me as engineer interested in design!! The Mackintosh Oak Tearoom guide was interesting to talk to until her supervisor rather rudely suggested that she go talk to someone else- but we were the only one in there!! The Robotics Exhibition was expensive entry and underwhelming. With acres of unoccupied floor space an hour at most is all I could muster enthusiasm at this museum after having driven 200 miles to see it. A glorified kids activity centre and first floor restaurant were both empty yet when we wanted to have a cup of coffee there (table with a veiw of Dundee) were told that we had to buy a meal in order to sit at a table- no wonder the restaurant was empty.

In summary, a great disappointment... and this cost £80million of public funds to build ... Hmmm
Written January 28, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following your visit in late 2019. I understand that you were underwhelmed by your visit, and hope that you will be able to return in future to enjoy changes to our programme and exhibitions which may be of more interest to you. Our Visitor Assistants are very knowledgeable about all of our exhibits, and always happy to talk with visitors about objects. Though they are always on hand to answer your questions, It is also the case that all of our staff are required to assist all visitors within the galleries. We hope that you will be able to return to V&A Dundee in future, and enjoy a more positive experience.
Written January 29, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sally M
Carnoustie, UK5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
After more than a year of making the same stupid joke that we can't be bothered crossing the road to visit the V&A, me and my boyfriend decided that we might as well, since I had a three hour break from uni. I thought that the visit might take up maybe an hour or so of that time, so off we went. Went in, spent 5 minutes freaking out on the Really Terrifying Stairs, realised that the only exhibit we were interested in seeing (the Robots one) cost a tenner per person, went down the lift and looked at the overpriced stuff in the gift shop. 15 minutes after we arrived, we wandered straight back out the door. TBH, if you're visiting here, the bench out the back of the building with a view over the Tay is a lot more interesting.
Written January 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

C. Stewart
Dundee, UK8 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Friends
As a Dundonian it saddens me to give such a poor rating of our newest "attraction" and I wasn't going to review this at all but due to friends from other parts of Scotland and abroad visiting Dundee this weekend just gone, and after reading lots of negative reviews regarding the V&A I felt the need to.
Unfortunately I have to agree with the vast amounts of the negative reviews, it is indeed an impressive building but once inside extremely underwhelming. A vast open space of nothingness but as its free to get through the front door it's worth your time to have look. The viewing terrace does offer fantastic views of the river. The cafe's and gift shop (tacky) are pricey. The free exibits are sparce and you can get round them in minutes. The paying galleries are in my view too expensive.
So if your planing to visit Dundee just to visit the V&A please take some time to research what else Dundee has to offer.
There is far more to Dundee than the V&A, just 10 minutes walk into the town centre there is the fantastic McManus Museum and Galleries free to enter. Just next door to the V&A is Discovery Point an excellent and informative exabition center telling the story of the RRS Discovery, the ship that took Scott and Shackelton to the Antarctic. You can also take a tour of the ship itself which is nestled in dry dock inbetween the V&A and the Discovery Point building.
A five minute drive from the town center towards Broughty Ferry there is another wee gem, Dundee Museum of Transport and for a small entrance fee there are three large areas full of interesting exhibits and a small tea room that is well priced. Another five minutes drive from the transport Museum into Broughty Ferry you have Broughty Ferry castle and Museum which is also worth the visit.
Getting back into Dundee another place worthwhile visiting would be Verdant Works, a museum showcasing the history of the Jute industry that Dundee was built on. Also if your interested in thing of astronomical proportions then a trip to The Mills Observatory in the west of the city is worth visiting.
There is so much more, great parks, wildlife center, sports facilities, ice skating etc. Plenty of places to eat from fine dining to local independent cafes, plenty bars, live music and nightclubs.
So to sum up, come and visit the V&A but plan your visit there is plenty to see and do in Dundee and due to where its situated in Scotland and with its abundance of hotel rooms its the perfect place to use as a base to explore the rest of our beautiful country. Do your homework and you wont be disappointed
Written February 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LJXX1979
Edinburgh, UK42 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
Was really looking forward to visiting the v&a with my husband as a special day out. So special we were prepared to make the 200 mile round trip and give ourselves a few hours of soaking up this magnificent building and fascinating exhibitions we had read so much about. How wrong we were.... and what a waste of a precious weekend off that we don’t get many of together.
The building is magnificent, being a building professional I can really appreciate the design and quality of its quirkiness. As we entered excitedly for our afternoon of culture we were met with a awesome interior - so far so good! A wide airy ground floor with a cafe and open plan shop were busy as we swept up the huge staircase to enter the exhibits. That’s really when we realised there was absolutely no substance to this building at all. 2 small free exhibits that we wandered around in 20 mins left us baffled as to where the rest of this ‘museum’ was hidden?? Loads of open space, shops, cafes and restaurants were busy but there was just nothing to see... we headed up another corridor thinking the rest of our afternoon would be at the end of it - nope, just empty locked ‘lecture rooms’. Was this really it we asked ourselves? A robot exhibition that cost £12 per head was available but after hearing 2 families complaining that they had spent over £40 to enter it and walked around the room in under 15mins we decided against it.
A coffee in the ground floor cafe in a recyclable
paper cup ( no crockery or cutlery here) ended our 30 minute visit and our 4 hour round trip to get home.
This place needs to work out what it is - Food outlet? Shopping experience? Open space for kids to run around? Certainly not what it says on the tin. It’s there in its current form to make money first via its retail and food outlets and pricey exhibits and the ‘free’ stuff as an add on.
Don’t make the visit to Dundee if this is the only
Place you want to visit, if your walking past, sure nip in and enjoy the architecture for 10 mins. But if your after exhibits head to the National Museum in Edinburgh and save your time!
Written January 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy visiting V&A Dundee, especially after having travelled such a long way to visit us. V&A Dundee has been designed with a variety of different spaces for everyone to enjoy with lots of light and big, communal areas. Activities are available for families and children, and there are lots of quiet spaces to enjoy the welcoming atmosphere. Visitors can explore our three gallery spaces, including major design exhibitions. We hope that you can return in future for upcoming changes to our programme which you may enjoy more than the current range of exhibitions. 
Written January 28, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lovetolunch1
Dundee, UK19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 • Friends
Visited new Mary Quant exhibition..absolutely brilliant and would highly recommend a visit.
Helpful staff and clear information / signs meant it was a very safe and socially distanced place to visit.
You should pre-book a visiting time and pay online to visit MQ (other areas are free).
The exhibition is well laid out and covers the main periods of Mary Quant with her stunning designs. Good use of video and informative displays. Really enjoyed the visit. Loved the clothes and make up. She really was iconic and inspirational.
You can also purchase Mary Quant related items in the spacious ground floor gift shop.
Written September 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

CAS
11 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020
Very disappointing amount of exhibitions for the size of the building. Expected a lot more. You could do it comfortably in 30 minutes if you don’t pay for the special exhibition.

We booked a time slot to enter the museum, but upon arrival were also informed that we could not pay for the special exhibition on the day because you separately must book a time slot for that.

When we booked our ticket for entry to the museum, you could not book the special exhibition time slots. Having never visited this museum before we assumed the times museum entry slot we had booked would mean we didn’t have to book anything further. However, we were helpfully told that they always do time slots for special exhibitions. Maybe this should be made clear on the website.
Written September 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

geoffjclarke
Westhill, UK16 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
Great if you want a coffee, but what else to do or see! You pay to see the current 'Robot' exhibition, but very underwhelmed with the experience. There is hardly anything else to see that is interesting and thought provoking, as previously mentioned the V&A is in serious need of exhibits that will draw people back. Spoke with staff at a nearby 4* hotel and all their guests who had visited were very disappointed.
Needs to listen to the negative feedback or visitor numbers will fall significantly
Written January 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Gordon M
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020
What an anti-climax and dissapointment. Very poor, nothing like a museum and suffice to say that there is a very serious issue with any museum or arts or cultural establishment where the area occupied by a cafe, catering and shop exceeds the area occupied by the exhibits themselves.

With acres of unoccupied floor space an hour at most will see you breeze through this terrible excuse for a museum. A glorified kids activity centre and cafe.

There were more interesting and historic items for sale at the Errol car boot sale 14 miles away!

The shop sells an eclectic range of itacky tems which have absolutely nothing to do with Scotland, or the museum.

Embarrassed to have this as a Scottish museum.

Interesting building architecture though!

At a cost of 80MM pound it is almost as bad as Aberdeen Art Gallery's 30MM refubrishment cost.

A real tragedy for Scottish Arts & Culture!
Written January 19, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
I’m sorry that you didn’t feel that the exhibits within the museum matched your expectations.  As a design museum, we are proud to showcase the achievements of Scottish design across a range of disciplines, alongside major design exhibitions from around the world. We hope that you can visit to enjoy more of our programme in future, and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following this visit.
Written January 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shonz7
Aberdeen, UK324 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
Architectually stunning from the outside and thankfully it is free to enter the indoors. The phrase style over substance springs to mind, there is a whole lot of space with no exhibits. We thought £12 entry each to see the robots exhibition was too costly. We walked around the Scottish design galleries and had a look at the eclectic shop. All in all done and dusted in 30 minutes, what a let-down.
Written February 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

WeeTam51
Wishaw, UK551 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
Up in Dundee for a wee winter break, had to see this new museum.

The external views are truly magnificent and if the sun is shining it's even better.
The internal views are good and enjoyed the free entry but was a bit disappointed that the ground floor was just really a cafe.

Upstairs was better with some interesting design exhibits, however I did not expect to have to pay £12 to enter the Robot exhibition.

I enjoyed my visit but wouldn't rush back to see the interior exhibition
Written February 5, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed visiting V&A Dundee. Similar to other museums around Scotland, we do charge entry for our major design exhibitions, though these are priced at accessible rates and we have a range of concessions and off-peak prices available. Please keep an eye on our website and social media for special events linked to our exhibitions that may be of interest to you, and our full programme of events and exhibitions throughout the year.
Written February 6, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 2,667
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

V&A Dundee - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Dundee HotelsDundee Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Dundee
All things to do in Dundee
Casinos & Gambling in Dundee
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars