We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

West Coast Tours - Oban

#4 of 18 Tours in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 1 Queens Park Place, Oban PA34 5RS, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1631 566809
Website
Description:

West Coast Tours offers a range of day and sightseeing tours.

Our day tours...

West Coast Tours offers a range of day and sightseeing tours.

Our day tours to Mull, Iona and Staffa allow visitors to visit two or even three islands in one day as well as regular bus services to Tobermory and joint tickets with Duart Castle.

Our City Sightseeing open-top bus tours operate in Glasgow, Oban and Bute and offer expert commentary and the ability to hop-on and off.

We also operate a fast passenger ferry link between Campbeltown and Ballycastle in Northern Ireland called the Kintyre Express which offers visitors the chance to combine both the west coast of Scotland and the rugged Causeway Coast of Northern Ireland.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 212 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 137
    Excellent
  • 36
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Super day out

We took the Three Isles Tour (Mull, Iona & Staffa) This is a great way to do a lot within a short space of time. Our group consisted of three kids (ages 9, 11 and 14) we all... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday
9MDTravels
,
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 193: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We took the Three Isles Tour (Mull, Iona & Staffa) This is a great way to do a lot within a short space of time. Our group consisted of three kids (ages 9, 11 and 14) we all enjoyed the trip. Fortunately we had calm sailing conditions and the trip to Mull was lovely, the scenery is superb. On arriving... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 9MDTravels
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a lovely day sightseeing on Mull, Staffa and Iona, Ireally didn't think I would see any puffins but was wrong, lots of the lovely little birds flying around and bringing food back to their nests, quite breath taking, one landed a couple of feet away from me. Staffa is truely amazing. Iona is a beautiful peaceful place with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona and Jed W
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The three islands visited are breathtakingly beautiful. I must remark though, that this is not a tour. The company simply issues you all the boat, ferry and bus tickets for the day and there you go, finding your way alone. It is not a guided tour, so don't expect to get information about the sights visited. The bus driver talks... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Homestme
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

West Coast Tours organized a great day trip to Staff, Iona, and Mull. Everything was top-notch from the ferry across to Mull, the bus tour to the other side of the island, the boat ride to Staffa with Staffa Tours, the boat ride back to Iona, the ferry back to Mull, the bus to the big ferry, and the ferry... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank eyedive90
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a reveiw for us. I am glad that you had such a good day. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We couldn't have asked for better weather (the hottest so far 28°c) We booked online and all good.lots of emails and communication. So happy and looked like the day for us. had to go online again to find somewhere to stay the night.(would have been nice if poss recommendations from trip company as we ended up in a bed only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ilona H
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I will take your comments on board and pass them on especially regarding the noise from the sound system on the bus. I am glad that you enjoyed your day with us and I look forward to seeing you when you come back again. More 

Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The tour experience is really awful. Would not suggest you to take this tour especially if you have a tight schedule. They offer two tours to the three islands everyday: 7:30am-6:30pm and 9:30am- 8:30pm. Since we need to drive two hours to another town after the tour, to avoid late night driving we took the early-bird one. The tour doesn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Aishuishui_L
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the tour with us. We have since been made aware of the problem that occurred on the day of your tour. I am very sorry that this happened and it is certainly something that we have looked into. The ferry... More 

Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
335 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Spent 10 hours today (July 19) on the 3 isle tour and did not see any puffins on Staffa. Really, no wildlife sightings at all...just hundreds of people.

Helpful?
Thank WhirledTraveler4Peas
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. That's a shame that you never for to see any puffins but they are wild birds and so we cannot always guarantee sightings. The puffins will normally start to leave Staffa from the beginning of August. More 

Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A group of six of us took this two island tour from Oban. It was well packaged, ferry tickets from Oban to Mull, coach across Mull, and ferry to Iona. The staff member in the main office gave us very detailed instructions for our tour and the coach driver on Mull had very good commentary. Certainly plan on a full... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank derbyking98
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am glad that you enjoyed your day with us and would recommend us. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The ferry to the Isle of Mull is fully booked a long time in advance due to the numerous company buses that occupy the most suitable ferry (those in the morning in Oban and those in the evening from Craignure). It is therefore very complicated to visit this island and the islands around without paying for such organized tourist trip.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hilsen71
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. The ferries tend to book up very quickly and obviously they only have a limited number of spaces for cars that they can take over. However, I am glad that you still got to see everything that you wanted to and that you still had an enjoyable day... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved this three island tour and were blessed with a fine day. The commentary on the coach by Collin across Mull was so amusing and interesting and we learned a lot. The magical time on Iona and Staffa will stay with us for a long time. A couple of suggestions that could make the tour even more pleasurable. More... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. I am so glad that you had an enjoyable day with us. With regards to your comments about the time spent on each island, those times are determined by our partners especially Caledonian Macbrayne as we have to ensure that we are back in time for... More 

Travelers who viewed West Coast Tours - Oban also viewed

 
Isle of Iona, The Hebrides
Ellenabeich, Isle of Seil
 

Been to West Coast Tours - Oban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of West Coast Tours - Oban and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from West Coast Tours - Oban staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?