We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Satrosphere Science Centre

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: The Tramsheds | 179 Constitution Street, Aberdeen AB24 5TU, Scotland
Phone Number: 44-122-4640340
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description:

Satrosphere is Scotland’s first science and discovery centre. Originally...

Satrosphere is Scotland’s first science and discovery centre. Originally opened in 1988 we have been engaging people with science for over 21 years. Our interactive, hands-on exhibits and live science shows help our visitors discover more about the world around them and the science of how things work. With free parking and delicious coffee and cake in our Tramsheds Coffee House, a visit to Satrosphere is not to be missed.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 78 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 20
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Through the eyes of a child

After reading some of the reviews we were a bit apprehensive about visiting with our young grandsons. Satrosphere was always a favourite with our children so we decided to give it... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
Elizabeth R
,
Banff, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Banff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading some of the reviews we were a bit apprehensive about visiting with our young grandsons. Satrosphere was always a favourite with our children so we decided to give it a go. The 3 year old loved the whole experience and was fascinated with lots of the exhibits as appeared most of the other children visiting at that time... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visited with a friend who won a competition run by some newspaper for a free entry. We travelled from Montrose to go to the science centre in Aberdeen. Upon arrival we handed over our free pass and were let in. as we walked around it is very clear it is aimed more so at children. The science involved is very... More 

Helpful?
Thank KB014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

I visited satrosphere remembering it from when I was a child. They havnt seemed to update much of the attractions there since. At £5.75 an adult it is overpriced and a waste of time.

Helpful?
Thank CatrinJones93
ThomasSatrosphere, Marketing Officer at Satrosphere Science Centre, responded to this review

Hello Catrin – We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. As a charity, we strive to keep our entrance fee competitive. This revenue is a key source of funding for us to continue with our charitable mission which is to engage and enthuse people in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics - STEM. Perhaps you did not attend... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

Over the years I've taken my children to the Satrosphere in Aberdeen. As captured within other reviews on Trip Advisor the entrance fee £5.75 for an adult (correct at Nov 2015) is over priced for the quantity and quality of the exhibits. Most hold your attention for less than a minute. Contrasting this against the Bamboozeleum at Landmark Forest Adventure... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank inspire867
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

As with previous visits with our grand-child, he was instructively entertained during the Halloween session. He particularly enjoyed the insects but the quiz was a little over his head. The experimenting session wasn't as good as the bubble session on our last visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
Portlethen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

My daughter and myself took my granddaughter along to Satrosphere during the October break. I was very disappointed as many of the activities were very rundown looking and just generally badly maintained. The coffee shop attached, however, was clean and the coffee excellent. In its present state I didn't think satrosphere was worth the entrance fee.

Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda A
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

Service in the cafe attached to Satrosphere is terrible. Staff look like they really don't want to be there and service is terrible. I attended with my wife and 3 year old daughter. My daughter had the children's box meal and requested a cheese sandwich which was a plastic cheese slice on brown bread. My wife got her panini followed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tanky2015
ThomasSatrosphere, Marketing Officer at Satrosphere Science Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are disappointed that our service did not meet your expectations. We have spoken with the staff who were on duty that day and it would appear that we were experiencing a very busy period. Obviously this is not an excuse, but may go some way to explaining the apparent inattentiveness. The Tramsheds Coffe... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

We visited (mum, dad and two 3 yr old twins) in the October holidays. Glasgow Science Centre it aint, but even so, it was a disappointing experience. The building was cold (it was warmer outside) and dark, a number of the exhibits appeared not to be working, the dinosaur costumes in the fossil looked filthy, the toilets weren't great either.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank larryj2000
ThomasSatrosphere, Marketing Officer at Satrosphere Science Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are disappointed that your visit did not meet your expectations. We are aware of the constraints of the building in terms of lighting and thermal insulation and we are currently reviewing the options to improve the general visitor experience. The Centre attaches great importance to hygiene and we are sorry and concerned by... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
560 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

While it is house in a rather impressively architecture building, it is a somewhat average science activity centre that looks like it needs a good revamp. Even though it is small compared to others I've been to, it does have a couple of interesting hands-on activities that might keep younger kiddies engaged for about an hour.

Helpful?
1 Thank TippOz
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Fab place to take the kids, lots to do and explore and its in one large area so you can always keep your eye on the kids of you have more than one....

Helpful?
1 Thank Paula2611Aberdeen
ThomasSatrosphere, Marketing Officer at Satrosphere Science Centre, responded to this review

Hi Paula, Thank you very much for your comment! We hope to see you soon :-) More 

Travelers who viewed Satrosphere Science Centre also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Satrosphere Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Satrosphere Science Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?