We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 179 Constitution Street | The Tramsheds, Aberdeen AB24 5TU, Scotland
Phone Number: 44-122-4640340
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description:

Aberdeen Science Centre, formally Satrosphere, is Scotland's first science...

Aberdeen Science Centre, formally Satrosphere, is Scotland's first science and discovery centre. Originally opened in 1988 we have been engaging people with science for over 21 years. Our interactive, hands-on exhibits and live science shows help our visitors discover more about the world around them and the science of how things work. The Tramsheds Coffee House has been outsourced to Hudsons Catering, serving fresh coffee and homemade cakes daily A visit to Aberdeen Science Centre is not to be missed.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 98 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 23
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 26
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Disappointing robot exhibition

The robot exhibition was disappointing as the exhibits did not move and could not be touched. The exhibition area was dowdy and uninviting. The cafe was a disaster. The staff... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Elizabeth617
,
Perth, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 97: English reviews
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The robot exhibition was disappointing as the exhibits did not move and could not be touched. The exhibition area was dowdy and uninviting. The cafe was a disaster. The staff were unhelpful when I queried the flavour of the fruit smoothie served. I was told "that is the way it came out".

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth617
abdnScienceCentre, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry if you did not enjoy the exhibition. If you come back we would recommend that you take part in our available shows and workshop, which run throughout the day, as these are very hands-on. Our team works continuously to develop new shows and workshops reflecting the... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here for the robot exhibition, my youngest was disappointed because the robots were only for display and not to be touched.

Helpful?
Thank Evi Y
abdnScienceCentre, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent review of Aberdeen Science Centre. We are sorry to hear your youngest was disappointed with the Robot Exhibition. If you do decide to visit again we would recommend that you take part in our available shows and workshops as these are a great part of the experience and are very hands-on. We strive to... More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was expecting big things from the advertising about this place. Quite disappointed to be honest. Cost £16 for 2 adults and 1 child. It is basically a d contacted small warehouse floor with a cafe. You can see what they have tried to do but it falls massively short of expectations. This is my own opinion of course. You can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danny S
abdnScienceCentre, Visitor Experience Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for your recent review, we will take your comments on-board in an aim to improve. If you do decide to visit again I would recommend that you take part in our available shows and workshops as I can guarantee this would improve your visit. Thanks again, More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arriving at the attraction you can see the place is a little bit shaby and exhibits are old as some previous reviews have stated, however the children loved it. The staff were great with them answering all the questions and ensuring they could work the exhibits. While the children made robots with k'nex I was speaking to staff members... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamesmoir789
abdnScienceCentre, Visitor Experience Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent review of Aberdeen Science Centre. We are really please that you enjoyed our shows and workshops, the We Are Aliens show in the Planetarium is one of our favorites too! It's great that you found the staff were helpful and engaging with the children, I will ensure your feedback is passed onto them at... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

Not big but lots to see and do. Kept our grandchildren occupied for a couple of hours. An interesting place to visit anytime but ideal on a rainy day.

Helpful?
Thank Alastair W
abdnScienceCentre, Visitor Experience Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent review, we're all glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the centre. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

My expectations weren't too high when we went to see the robotics exhibition after reading some quite negative reviews. However, we were pleasantly surprised! I absolutely loved the show in the planetarium, it was really beautiful and interesting. I think that the most fun that we had was with the lego robot-building up the stairs, although we were possibly a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
abdnScienceCentre, Visitor Experience Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review, we're all glad to hear you enjoyed your visit in particular the planetarium and lego robots. I will make sure to pass on your comments to our enthusiastic staff. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

I went here with my 2 boys to see the robot exhibition. Unfortunately I was pretty disappointed by it. My little ones were disappointed as the book we seen it advertised said that there was going to be an iron-man there but unfortunately there wasn't which was the reason as to why they wanted to go - however this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lunchable
abdnScienceCentre, Visitor Experience Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear that our robots exhibition has been wrongly advertised and you were expecting to see Iron Man, it would be great if you could let us know where this was advertised to see if we can prevent disappointing future visitors (info@asc.scot). We have had a meeting with the staff,... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

If you could score zero I would, I went to satrosphere when I was a kid and I'm 30 now, how times change. You could literally be in and out of here in 20 minutes and for 18 quid for a family it's certainly not worth the money. There's a swinging pendulum where you doodle on a sheet of paper,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Garvla132
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Always new things. Most stations have been there for years! some are broken and don't work. Very dissapointing when you pay so much money to do a 10 piece puzzle or watch a youtube video we can do at home, I was there 10 years ago. Still has the same stuff. most is beyond the demographic who dont have the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
abdnScienceCentre, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hello Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry if you did not enjoy your visit. Our team works continuously to develop new shows and workshops and it's possible that you did not have the opportunity to participate in one of them. Regarding the exhibits, some of them were designed for very young children... More 

Portlethen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Started off this morning looking forward to the bubbles exhibition at the Science centre. I hadn't been at the Stratosphere since it was in justice mill Lane so looked forward to seeing the new building and exhibits. On arriving parking was fairly easy, which in Aberdeen is no mean feat. On entering we were met at reception by a cheerful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ness888
abdnScienceCentre, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hello, We are profoundly sorry if you were disappointed by your visit. We did not intend to misguide you in thinking that our programme had more to offer than our Bubble Show. We acknowledge that the lack of details has given the wrong impression. In addition to this, the Centre was really busy and we did not manage to satisfy... More 

Travelers who viewed Aberdeen Science Centre also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Aberdeen Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aberdeen Science Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?