We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 179 Constitution St | The Tramsheds, Aberdeen AB24 5TU, Scotland
Phone Number: 44-122-4640340
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description:

Aberdeen Science Centre, formally Satrosphere, is Scotland's first science...

Aberdeen Science Centre, formally Satrosphere, is Scotland's first science and discovery centre. Originally opened in 1988 we have been engaging people with science for over 21 years. Our interactive, hands-on exhibits and live science shows help our visitors discover more about the world around them and the science of how things work. The Tramsheds Coffee House has been outsourced to Hudsons Catering, serving fresh coffee and homemade cakes daily A visit to Aberdeen Science Centre is not to be missed.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 94 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 23
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
A fun afternoon out!

My expectations weren't too high when we went to see the robotics exhibition after reading some quite negative reviews. However, we were pleasantly surprised! I absolutely loved... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 6 days ago
Jenny S
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Not big but lots to see and do. Kept our grandchildren occupied for a couple of hours. An interesting place to visit anytime but ideal on a rainy day.

Helpful?
Thank Alastair W
abdnScienceCentre, Visitor Experience Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent review, we're all glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the centre. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My expectations weren't too high when we went to see the robotics exhibition after reading some quite negative reviews. However, we were pleasantly surprised! I absolutely loved the show in the planetarium, it was really beautiful and interesting. I think that the most fun that we had was with the lego robot-building up the stairs, although we were possibly a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
abdnScienceCentre, Visitor Experience Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review, we're all glad to hear you enjoyed your visit in particular the planetarium and lego robots. I will make sure to pass on your comments to our enthusiastic staff. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went here with my 2 boys to see the robot exhibition. Unfortunately I was pretty disappointed by it. My little ones were disappointed as the book we seen it advertised said that there was going to be an iron-man there but unfortunately there wasn't which was the reason as to why they wanted to go - however this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lunchable
abdnScienceCentre, Visitor Experience Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear that our robots exhibition has been wrongly advertised and you were expecting to see Iron Man, it would be great if you could let us know where this was advertised to see if we can prevent disappointing future visitors (info@asc.scot). We have had a meeting with the staff,... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you could score zero I would, I went to satrosphere when I was a kid and I'm 30 now, how times change. You could literally be in and out of here in 20 minutes and for 18 quid for a family it's certainly not worth the money. There's a swinging pendulum where you doodle on a sheet of paper,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Garvla132
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Always new things. Most stations have been there for years! some are broken and don't work. Very dissapointing when you pay so much money to do a 10 piece puzzle or watch a youtube video we can do at home, I was there 10 years ago. Still has the same stuff. most is beyond the demographic who dont have the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
abdnScienceCentre, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hello Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry if you did not enjoy your visit. Our team works continuously to develop new shows and workshops and it's possible that you did not have the opportunity to participate in one of them. Regarding the exhibits, some of them were designed for very young children... More 

Portlethen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Started off this morning looking forward to the bubbles exhibition at the Science centre. I hadn't been at the Stratosphere since it was in justice mill Lane so looked forward to seeing the new building and exhibits. On arriving parking was fairly easy, which in Aberdeen is no mean feat. On entering we were met at reception by a cheerful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ness888
abdnScienceCentre, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hello, We are profoundly sorry if you were disappointed by your visit. We did not intend to misguide you in thinking that our programme had more to offer than our Bubble Show. We acknowledge that the lack of details has given the wrong impression. In addition to this, the Centre was really busy and we did not manage to satisfy... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

this place is great for young kids but is a bit on the expensive side where most musiums in Aberdeen are free this is one of the few that you need to pay to get into

Helpful?
Thank unclejimjam
abdnScienceCentre, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Science Centre, responded to this review

Hello unclejimjam, We're glad to know that the children who were with you had a great time! Our team works continuously to develop new activities and we are always delighted to get good feedback. Regarding the price, I would like to point out the fact that we are a small charity which, contrary to other visitor attractions and museums in... More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

Decided to do this as my 8yr old brother was a science addict. Got there at 12:30, the place was easy enough sign posted but the car park is quite small. The members of staff were lovely and advised us on all the shows throughout the rest of the day. There was plenty of activities that you could take part... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

Having not been to Science Centre since our own children were young we were unsure what to expect. Took 6 and 3 year old grandsons and they loved it. Staff who do the demonstrations were excellent and very capable of pitching it for a very mixed age audience. Stayed for lunch which was freshly prepared and very good value for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

Popped in for a quick coffee. Hadn't been in for years and was pleased to find much that was familiar, but disappointed to find that, for example, the wonderful DNA painting had been obliterated and the rainbow curtains need a clean. Coffee was good and staff were pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank RealYstyck

Travelers who viewed Aberdeen Science Centre also viewed

 

Been to Aberdeen Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aberdeen Science Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?