We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All photos (675)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“national trust”(55 reviews)
“house tour”(35 reviews)
“sunken garden”(29 reviews)
About
Castle Ward will take you on a journey of discovery. The 18th-century eccentric house with two distinctly different styles, classical and Gothic, will entice you to explore further. This truly beautiful 332-hectare (820-acre) walled demesne, with...more
Contact
Castleward House Castleward Estate | Strangford, Downpatrick BT30 7LS, Northern Ireland
Website
+44 28 4488 1204
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Castle Ward
from $63.66
More Info
from $63.66
More Info
from $72.98
More Info
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveler rating
322
156
39
19
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
322
156
39
19
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national trust house tour sunken garden game of thrones stable yard second hand bookshop the main house interesting house the barn mount stewart tea room book shop walking trails extensive grounds gothic style stately home husband and wife
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good place for a day out. Great walks and obviously GOT elements. Can do a lot of stuff without having to pay for GOT special activities. Teenage lads got to pose at lots of GOT sites.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank simeony2014
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is nothing of what we used to see in GOT. But the place is nice and a nice walk will bring you to the old castle ward (location of GOT). It was late so we didn’t have time to visit the new “castle”. Near...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Licia B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stumbled upon Castle Ward while touring the Ards Peninsula and Strangford Lough, and fortunately made the decision to visit it. As National Trust members we were not required to pay an admission charge. The extensive grounds (with views of Strangford Lough) and the exterior...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Seehanes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second visit here and we had forgotten most of features that we had seen on that occasion. This is a house of two halves designed by a man and wife with widely differing views on the style that the house should be...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Des H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on a wet day which meant that unfortunately, we weren’t able to go on a walk which had earmarked in our NT best walks book. However, we did manage to get onto one of the tours. Having our 20 month old son with...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank sebo999
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

I’ve been a local to the down area and have been visiting castle ward since before I could walk. However, every time I visit the grounds I am always excited and when I leave always regret having taken so long to visit again. The views...More

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank BigOldTommyt
CastleWard_VETeam, Manager at Castle Ward, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello BigOldTommyt, Thank-you for leaving us a five star review! It is lovely to hear you have been one of our long-term supporters, we could not do the work we do without visitors like you - so thank-you! Don't leave it too long this time!...More

Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

Had another lovely day at Castleward. The sun was shining and after a lovely walk around the woods at the perimeter we had a picnic on the lawn at the house as we listened to the jazz music playing from the courtyard. So many walks...More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank KarenC4718
CastleWard_VETeam, Manager at Castle Ward, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello KarenC4718, Thank-you for your review. It certainly sounds like you had a thoroughly enjoyable visit with us - we have music on most weekends throughout the summer! Hopefully we will see you again soon, Melissa

Reviewed August 5, 2019 via mobile

When we arrived at Castle Ward, we were disappointed to learn that there was no guided tour of the house on offer. Although there were docents on staff, we didn't find them all that approachable with the exception of the lady at the exit in...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank waterfordguy
CastleWard_VETeam, Manager at Castle Ward, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello waterfordguy, Thank-you for leaving us a review after your recent visit, we always welcome feedback. We have guided tours of the house Monday - Saturday and we operate a free-flow system on a Sunday so visitors can explore the house at their own leisure....More

Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

As a Game of Thrones Fan I loved this place. But as a National trust me ever this is one of the better ones. Large grounds lots of different walks, activities and tours of the house. Can be quite hilly. Nice cafe several gift shops....More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank TheAbductee
CastleWard_VETeam, Manager at Castle Ward, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello TheAbductee, Thank-you for leaving a five star review - we are delighted! There is certainly so much to see & do here, you could spend days exploring the estate! We are glad you enjoyed the Game of Thrones element to Castle Ward. Best wishes,...More

Reviewed July 26, 2019 via mobile

We visited for Antiques Roadshow and enjoyed the grounds at the same time . Every time we visit there's plenty to see and the grounds are a pleasure to walk around . They're well maintained and really beautiful .

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank 2020vision
CastleWard_VETeam, Manager at Castle Ward, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello 2020vision, Thank-you for leaving us a five star review. Antiques Roadshow was an absolutely success and Castle Ward looked breath-taking in the beautiful sunshine- you certainly got to see it in all it's glory! Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon, Melissa

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Portaferry Hotel
454 reviews
1.76 miles away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
303 reviews
4.30 miles away
Denvir's Hotel
141 reviews
6.17 miles away
Dunleath House B&B
15 reviews
6.28 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 60 nearby restaurants
The Artisan Cookhouse
169 reviews
.99 miles away
The Smugglers Table
215 reviews
4.00 miles away
The Cuan
596 reviews
1.05 miles away
Salthouse Restaurant
115 reviews
1.72 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 33 nearby attractions
Clearsky Adventure Centre
151 reviews
.00 miles away
Delamont Country Park
134 reviews
4.51 miles away
Strangford Lough
69 reviews
.28 miles away
Exploris Aquarium
430 reviews
1.81 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kmjjacobs
April 7, 2019|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Rowley84 | Reviewed this property |
In my experience all sizeable National Trust properties.
0
Votes
fiona5drums
March 3, 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Roamerabout7070 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Fiona, I don’t know but suggest you call the Castle Ward office who should be able to help. Good Luck
1
Vote
Natalie815
January 20, 2019|
Answer
Response from redhead_roaming | Reviewed this property |
It might be worth emailing them to see what you’ll see on the tour compared to what you’ve found online to see (at the very least, you can come at it from the direction of whether the cycle tour is worth it). You’ll probably... More
0
Votes