We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 2-4 Winecellar Entry | 2 High Street, Belfast BT1 1QN, Northern Ireland
Phone Number: 442890312582
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 121 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 50
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Hidden Gem.

Stumbled across this place quite by chance, After an early morning flight and a day of sightseeing this was exactly what we were looking for. Very friendly staff, good range of... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 weeks ago
steve k
,
bourne
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in for lunch on Sat afternoon 15th July. Starters were OK potato wedges from a bag and mushrooms in a cream sauce. Mains were truly bad. 2 cheap sausages that tasted like Dennys and champ was a joke. Stew was just as bad. As a local called in here 1st time for food sadly it'll be a one off.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BobBelfast
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Bob, thanks for your comment. It's always good to receive feedback so we can improve service. Just wondering if you mentioned any of this to your servers? I've spoken to the staff who served you yesterday and they said that you made no comment to us about your food and finished all your food completely. I would encourage you... More 

bourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stumbled across this place quite by chance, After an early morning flight and a day of sightseeing this was exactly what we were looking for. Very friendly staff, good range of beers and huge portions of home cooked food. Would definitely recommend a visit

Helpful?
Thank steve k
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Steve! Glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Welcome back anytime! More 

Springwood, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called in for a weekday lunch. The service was friendly enough but very, very slow. We waited for an hour for three servings of Irish stew and a burger. The burger, mine, was the worst burger in recorded history. The bacon was so hard it was impossible to put a fork tyne into it. The Guinness was good even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ciaran-O
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Ciaran, thanks for your review. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us and you were kept waiting on food - not acceptable. I will investigate this immediately! More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

This was a nice pub, staff were friendly and accommodating of us four girls singing and climbing all over the furniture to dance and clap! There was live music and plenty of tables to sit at. They only serve food until 9pm I believe, so unfortunately we didn't get to sample this. Nice pub right in the city centre

Helpful?
Thank Ally R
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Ally, dancing an clapping always encouraged! Glad you had a good time. Welcome back anytime :) More 

Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
641 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

In central Belfast, Whites claims to the be oldest pub in the city. It's a small, quirky place (check out the unusual decorations). Quite nice atmosphere, not too crowded on the Thursday evening I visited, typical choice of draft beers, good mix of patrons (young and older, locals and tourists).

Helpful?
Thank LMOverby
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi LMOverby! Thanks for the review. Welcome back anytime! More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
708 reviews
417 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

We called here on a busy Saturday evening and its a great bar. It's very quirky (wooden legs dangling from the ceiling?!?), nice and traditional and has a great atmosphere. The bar staff are friendly and the live music that we saw was great too.

Helpful?
Thank cazbatt
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Cazbatt! Thanks for visiting us on Saturday! I'll pass the comment onto Ryan who was singing that night! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

Was here this afternoon for something to eat the food was excellent and the staff are very friendly would highly recommend this great place !!!!

Helpful?
Thank northenireland
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks for your lovely comment and thanks for visiting! I'll pass the nice comments onto the kitchen and staff! More 

Prescot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

Had a few drinks here on Sunday 1st May when in belfast on a couples weekend away. Bar service was poor as the barmaid was also the waitress it seemed, guiness was good when we got it though. Decided to eat and all ten of us ordered at the same time which I don't think the kitchen could cope with,... More 

Helpful?
Thank pmason1974
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Pmason, thanks for the comment. We only had one table of ten in on Sunday and this was at around 5pm when there were 3 staff on duty. You ordered 5 small stews, 4 Pies and an a plate of Fajitas. All stews ordered were put through as "small" which is why you received a small bowl. We apologise... More 

belfast
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

The oldest bar in Belfast. Wow the feeling you get when you walk in. There is an open fire (witch wasn't lit) dim lighting, old wooden table's with a candle on each one the most lit up part in this bar is the actual bar its self, theres even legs hanging from the ceiling lol. the pictures on the wall... More 

Helpful?
Thank relaxingbelfast
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi relaxingbelfast! Thanks for the message. Glad you enjoyed our CREEPY pub ;) To be fair, the woman in this pictures is pretty creepy! We're a small pub so we're sorry you didn't get a table to yourself. We are currently refurbishing upstairs to make more room for our customers so please feel free to drop by again and enjoy... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

Very comfortable very old tavern. Friendly bar keepers. We had a couple of glasses of wine and soaked in the abiance. A little hard to find - on one of the small alleyways.

Helpful?
Thank Breakaway1954
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Breakaway! Thanks for the comment. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and I'll pass the feedback onto our bar staff. Welcome back anytime. Jim More 

Travelers who viewed White's Tavern also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to White's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of White's Tavern and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from White's Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?