Retro Cardiff
Retro Cardiff
4.5
12:00 AM - 4:00 AM, 3:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 AM - 4:00 AM
9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 AM - 4:00 AM
9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 AM - 4:00 AM
7:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 AM - 4:00 AM
3:00 PM - 12:00 AM
About
Duration: More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles384 reviews
Excellent
311
Very good
28
Average
20
Poor
1
Terrible
24

Jody R
Blackpool, UK2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2014 • Friends
We booked the cocktail bar for a hen night and what can I say... it was brilliant!!! They couldn't do enough for us. With a large decorated area reserved for us, free bubbly, shots and coke for my cousin who is pregnant. The cocktails were really nice, and at 2 for £7 you couldn't ask for anything more. The music was fab, we had such a laugh. So thank you Retro for making it such a great night!!
Written July 23, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
This is so great to get a review from a customer who had an area booked!!! Your night sounds so good, I wish I had actually been there! Ha! Glad that you enjoyed our special Retro cocktails & our customer service!!! This will be passed onto the staff & they will be very pleased to hear the positive feedback!! Please let us know if you are coming to visit again!! :) Happy 2015!!! Retro
Written January 6, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hayleypritch92
Cardiff, UK21 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2015 • Friends
If you're looking for a fun night out with amazing music you should go to retros! Went here for a friends birthday and absolutely loved the music, if you love s club 7, steps, spice girls and a cheeky bit of 90s r&b retros is the place to go. Drinks average price for a Saturday night and free entry before 10:30 was a bonus! Over 21 policy means no teeny boppers! Only thing is it gets boiling in there so they need to invest in some air con!!!
Written May 28, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Hayley! Thanks for your amazing review! So glad to see that you always have such a great night with us!!! We actually do have air con but with all our Retro lovers partying away, maybe it doesn't seem like it!!! (It is because so many people love coming to us! Haha!) We hope to see you again soon! Thanks again, Allison
Written June 1, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

VegFox
Oxford, UK52 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2017 • Friends
It was easy to organise a booth with Ellie, she was friendly and always replied quickly to my emails. We were sent the wrist bands in good time and met at the door within minutes. It really helped make James' night very special. He loved the balloons (so much so that about 6 of them remained tied to him all night and even went home with him today!) and the aeroplane and stars.
Would recommend to someone organising a party!
Written June 19, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Sophie, Thank you for your brilliant review, it's definitely brought a smile to my face! We aim to personalise our VIP areas as much as possible, especially when you're celebrating such a special occasion so it's very rewarding to read comments like these. It's always nice to know when we've made someone's night! Thank you for your recommendation and do hope to see you again the next time you're in Cardiff! Best Wishes, Ellie
Written June 21, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hasta_luego
Cardiff, Wales159 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2015 • Friends
I visited Retro on Mill Lane on Saturday night. There were 4 of us altogether who each paid £8 (!) for the privilege of entering this hole of hell. Considering most of the places in Cardiff have free entry on a Saturday this place clearly has some serious ideas way above its station. How its billed as Cardiff's No 1 nightspot on here baffles me. The place is filthy. The floor is awash with sticky spilt booze, it smells, you're given vile plastic pint glasses and its about as far away from 'retro' as I have ever encountered. The sad thing about this is that it wasn't always like this. It used to be a place you could go to have a real good dance with your mates and sing along to some cool, but cheesey, old school tracks in a nice atmosphere where everyone just wants a good laugh.

After about 10 minutes or so of having booze spilt all over us and listening to the most horrendous 'current' dance/house music (that the DJ didn't even see fit to play to the end – I guess because the tracks were sooo bad) we'd had enough. The idiot that spilt an entire bottle of rose wine over my friends trousers and shoes was the icing on the cake. (This by the way he was swigging from the bottle – a glass bottle – so why was I having to use a plastic?)

As we left I went back to the cashier and complained that they weren't playing anything 'retro' and that it was a complete and utter rip off to charge £8 entry. She said that the music was ‘at the manager’s discretion. I said the place was called 'Retros' and billed itself as Cardiff's No 1 nightspot for the 90s vibe - the sign outside didn't say 'Hey! This Place Is Called Retro's But We're Not Really -Only When The Manager Feels Like It!!'. I said the DJ was playing some horrendous current dance music and that's not what I had gone there for. At this point a couple then approached the cashier and, ignoring me, she duly asked them for £7 each!! I said hang on a minute! You just made us pay £8 each 10 minutes earlier! She quipped it was longer than 10 minutes and I said 'Well ok - let's not split hairs - a maximum 15 minutes and that included waiting to get a drink'. The bouncer then came over and said "You heard what sort of music it was as you came in". Now that implies to me that they'd suckered me and they knew it. I said as it happened I hadn't been able to distinguish what they were playing from outside, just the beat. I said I'd gone there as previous experiences had been good and you were always guaranteed some 'cheesey 90's'. I said I didn't hand over £8 to just 'take my chances'. I chose to go there because of what it advertises itself as and I, as a punter, was looking for that sort of music to end my Saturday night off. Needless to say I could feel the menacing vibe emanating from the bouncer at this point and as I am a woman who has never ever been physically ejected from anywhere in my life decided to leave. In answer to my questioning why the couple were paying £7 each and I had paid £8 I was told that this too was at the manager's discretion. (Mr Manager's Discretion clearly rules in this place over everything - even the customer).

As the representative of Retro's on this board (Alison - who only appears to be responding to positive reviews) - points out : Our offer is a fun, cheesy 90's venue. No Alison it absolutely is not. You are ripping people off with your charging structure and you don't care what your customers think. You are scamming people as Retros clearly does not do 'what it says on the tin' anymore. Its a con. Why anyone in their right mind would want to subject themselves to this I really don’t know. 15 minutes of my life have been wasted forever. Stay away people!
Written September 2, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, Thanks very much for your review and your feedback of your experience at Retro. As you would have seen with your own eyes, our venue is very busy on a Saturday night as we are such a popular venue in Cardiff and as you stated, Number 1 on Tripadvisor for nightlife. As great as this is, it does mean we get a lot of people in the venue who will be dancing around, with drinks in hand and occasionally bumping into others and spilling drinks as a result (this is something I would expect to happen at any nightclub). This does mean that the floor can get sticky, but we have ample staff on duty to ensure any spillages are cleaned up as quickly as possible. Our staff are all trained to a very high standard and we feel that they do an amazing job at this. If you scroll through our reviews, you will see that a very common statement is about how fun & great the music and atmosphere is. These are reviews all written very recently, so based on the feedback from other customers we feel that we are still delivering the same fun 90s offer and experience that we always have done. We have many returning customers who have been coming to our venue since we opened, every single weekend. Our DJ plays 90’s music and any current music that may be played is remixed with 90s tracks. This is an example of us keeping to our 90s offer, but also offering current music for customers. Our DJ’s work hard to create mixes such as this to keep our older & younger generations happy. The DJ only does this for a short period of time during the night, the rest of the time – the music is strictly 90s. In regards to someone ‘swigging out of a bottle’ – we would never sell someone a wine bottle to drink out of. This would have been given to him with glasses to use, however we haven’t got staff to follow our customers around to ensure that this is being done – although, if any member of staff had spotted this, this would have been dealt with immediately as this behaviour would not be tolerated. Please, in future if you see something like this happening at Retro – and you don’t feel happy about the situation, you can always report it to a member of staff who would deal with this. Entry into Retro does change throughout the night. The price can vary between £5 – £8, depending on what time of night it is. This is a very common thing throughout all of the venues in Cardiff. Each venue on our lane charges entry on a weekend, unless they are a restaurant. You will find the smaller bars even charge to get in. We do offer a guest list option which is advertised all over our social media platforms and our website which you can get on next time. This gives you free entry & queue jump before 10.30pm. If you would like to visit us again, just drop us an email & I can arrange this for you. The price is very much up to the manager’s discretion – as it would be with all other venues in the city…. and across the world. In fact, nearly every decision in a venue does come down to the manager’s discretion, pretty much wherever you go. In response to your point that I have only replied to positive reviews – I believe you haven’t actually scrolled down further than the first page, as there is only one other review that hadn’t been replied to when you wrote this – which yes, was a negative review, but it was actually also the most recent review which I hadn’t even looked at yet. Just for your peace of mind, it has now been responded to. If you do scroll down further and find a negative review (you will have to scroll down a lot as we have so many positive reviews before it…) you will see that it has been addressed by me. I am sorry, but I do not accept your statement that we are scamming people – we are very much a fun, energetic, 90s bar which thousands and thousands of customers love and have reviewed us so highly. I am sorry that you feel your experience wasn’t matched with the majority of all our other customers. Kind regards, Allison
Written September 3, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kathryn T
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2015 • Family
Rude and unpolite staff, even though Hen night was booked we were told we were to late even thought most of the party was already inside! When we said we would take the rest if the party out....Bouncer remarked, 'look at the place its rammed we dont need you' donot go to this dive If you want a good night.
Written July 21, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, Thanks very much for your review. We always appreciate any feedback from our customers. After reading your comments we have deduced that you are a member of the same party who left the previous review which we have replied to. Please take a couple of minutes of your time to read our response to the incident. Our staff are fully trained and qualified to handle customers professionally and politely and we are sorry that you feel this was not the case in your experience. Many thanks, Retro
Written July 28, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

dangermouse2014
Cardiff, UK5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2014 • Friends
only giving 1 star as zero stars isn't an option...
i'd heard great things about this place and it's fab music and atmosphere. unfortunately, when i ventured in while on a hen night 7th of this month i was absolutely disgusted by stench!! think abattoir meets sewage works and they have an incontinent child and you'll be somewhere close. couldn't hear the music over the sound of the entire party of 11 heaving from the stink and having to look at the nasty tiled communal sink in the ladies that was covered in mildew... rank!!!
i woke up the following day with a very nasty infection in my foot!! coincidence? i think not!! :(
Written June 16, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

dakotafly
Perth, UK22 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Well, what can I say. My other half loves this place and she finally persuaded me to come in. After paying £8 (I literally couldn't believe it) I entered a dingy, over crowded bar that reminded me of Coyote Ugly, except with bad music, sticky floors, a distinct lack of attractive women dancing on the bar and no "thing" whatsoever! I dunno, it's clearly popular, so a lot of people would probably like it, personally, I'd rather so the dishes.
Written October 11, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Gemma W
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2017 • Friends
The bar staff are lovely, they couldn't do enough for customers. the security are on top form, during an altercation they were very quick to step in to diffuse it . The manger is fair and very loyal to her staff. However the dj is rather rude and a let down to such a good team they have.
Written August 7, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Gemma, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for your kind comments regarding our staff, we do very much appreciate it. As you mentioned, there was a rare altercation at the venue on Saturday and our doormen were extremely pro-active in diffusing the situation. However, during this incident we know that you took it upon yourself to approach the DJ and hassle him. When he asked you to step away you became aggressive and accused him of filming you, which did not happen. He merely stated that there were CCTV cameras on you (as there are in every club in Cardiff) and that if you continued he would film you so that he had evidence of your behaviour. After this you approached the front door where our doormen were still dealing with the altercation and demanded to see a manager. You failed to comprehend the seriousness of the situation around you and when I pointed out that our manager was currently engaged with the incident and you should send an email on Monday so that we could address your concerns, you still persisted in your demand of our manager. I also asked you to go back inside the venue so that you would be away from the dispute that was unfolding in front of us but you refused, preferring to endanger you and your friends. Our manager did eventually speak to you and reinforced that our DJ had done nothing wrong. Please bear in mind that she had a lot to deal with at that time and your insistence that you were more important did not help the situation. I'm sorry that you did not have the Retro Experience we aim to provide, however, your apparent vendetta against our DJ is unacceptable and despite our every effort to appease you on the weekend it deeply saddens me that you have taken to this forum to slate him. We did note your concerns on the night and explained the circumstances several times. I hope that if you visit Retro again you have a much more enjoyable night. Kind Regards, Ellie
Written August 9, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Laurat9001313
Newport, UK1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2015 • Friends
As a part of a group of 20 hens my party had the misfortune to book with you.
(3 weeks in advance)
Only to be told (after entry) that we were too late hard to believe we've never received the confirmation of time for us to attend only a booking reference written in a business card.

The attitude on the receptionist was utterly rude and incomprehensible as she screamed in my sisters face overly gesticulating towards the time on her screen.

more than 14 members of my party flew in from Belfast that day only to be caroulled into an over capacity club, it was dangerous to be present as there simply wasn't enough room. We were left stood on stairs being shoved and pushed from all angles.

It's filthy and the toilets can be smelt throughout, after 20 minutes at the bar I finally got a drink whiçh I was forced to abandon due to the door staff backing my sister into a corner and shouting in her face. After the rude receptionist had attempted to embarrass her when she enquired as to our booking.

Once the door staff had barred my sister we left, the way they did it was so sly, they tried to eject her without the rest of the party noticing?
I also spoke with another group of hens who had been given the same treatment.

My aunt spoke to the rudest of the bouncers who told her there are over 200 people in my club we do not need you.......

Save yourself the hassle we had a great night in walkabout!
Written July 21, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Laura, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Retro. We appreciate all types of feedback regardless of its nature. However on this occasion and after an investigation performed by the management of the incident in question, we do feel we need to correct you on some of your points that you have made. In response to your review; • At Retro we do not issue booking confirmation on business cards. All bookings are taken over the phone, email or private message on Facebook. This is where you would receive all of the details and instructions such as arrival time, dress code and final confirmation. The only thing that would have been given to your party to resemble a business card on the night would have been one of our Celebration Vouchers, which is to be redeemed at the bar for a free bottle of bubbly & 2 cocktail pitchers as a gift from Retro. This would have been given to you at the front door upon entry, from one of our team. • During our investigation we have studied our CCTV footage and it is clear to see that one particular member of your party who was talking to our ‘receptionist’ was displaying aggressive body language towards her. At this point, we would like to point out that our staff are there to do their job & not to tolerate any aggressive behaviour. Just on this matter alone, our door staff do have the right to remove anyone who is acting this way. • At no point were you “left stood on the stairs “- this is just where you chose to place yourselves upon entry. No member of staff would have been in the position to escort you anywhere inside the venue as your booking did not include a privately reserved area. Again, all of the information regarding your guest list booking would have been sent to you via the platform you booked through. • Our CCTV footage shows that the member of door staff (who is a trained professional and registered with the SIA) conducted himself in a non-aggressive and professional manner. • After the disruptive behaviour from the member of your party, the hen was left to be comforted by a member of our staff because she was so upset and embarrassed that the members of her party were causing problems. The hen also apologised on behalf of these people for their attitude and behaviour. In fact, the majority of your party apologised on behalf of the person complaining and behaving in such an appalling and embarrassing manner. We hope that you can appreciate that we have given this matter our full attention by investigating the incident to the best of our ability. If you would like to discuss this matter further please contact us directly at info@retrocardiff.co.uk where we will be happy to speak with you.
Written July 28, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JonnMarques
Perth, Australia72 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2014 • Friends
I have been here twice and they were both similar, saturday night overcrowded, a few rough guys thinking they are the strongest man in the world obviously looking for some problems. Hard to get a drink due to overcrowded place took me 20 minutes to get 1, the drinks are at resonable prices. This is in Millane, right in town centre. Great atmosphere with some smiley party people. I think tHe boucers should stop a few people to get in to make this place more safe and enjoyable for people that only want to have a great time. Helpfull staff but i do think they need more bodies.
Written August 31, 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 382
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Retro Cardiff - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Retro Cardiff

Retro Cardiff is open:
  • Wed - Thu 9:00 PM - 12:00 AM
  • Wed - Sat 12:00 AM - 4:00 AM
  • Fri - Fri 7:00 PM - 12:00 AM
  • Sat - Sat 3:00 PM - 12:00 AM



Retro Cardiff Information

Excellent Reviews

311

Very Good Reviews

28

Retro Cardiff Photos

84