Boulders Indoor Climbing Centre

Boulders Indoor Climbing Centre

Boulders Indoor Climbing Centre
4.5
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Boulders Indoor Climbing Centre in Cardiff is a fantastic experience for the whole family guaranteed to pack your day with adrenaline and adventure!Never climbed before? It doesn’t matter! NO EXPERIENCE IS NECESSARY. Under the guidance of qualified instructors, you will step outside of your comfort zone in a safe and controlled environment. All equipment is provided – just bring your spirit of adventure and a willingness to challenge yourself!Expertly trained instructors are on hand to guide you every step of the way and pitch you against climbs that are appropriate for you.With climbing walls that reach between 4 to 12 metres in height, Boulders is designed to cater for the most intrepid explorer, through to the more sedate traveller.Boulders offer climbing activities for all ages, including:Climbing classes for children, families, students and adultsClimbing Birthday partiesIntroduction to Climbing coursesChildren’s holiday activitiesStag and hen activitiesChildren under the age of 7 will have a blast playing in Pebbles, a climbing adventure play area at Boulders, which features everything from cargo nets with mouse holes, to junior climbing walls and perspex floors!After your vertical adventures, you can relax and contemplate your achievements in the cafe, which serves an adult and kids menu, from baked potatoes and freshly baked paninis, to smoothies and milkshakes, coffee and cakes.Parents are welcome to watch any of the climbing activities, or just relax for a well earned rest in the cafe.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
326 reviews
Excellent
255
Very good
54
Average
6
Poor
5
Terrible
6

Christian
1 contribution
Jan 2020
I tried 20 mins to book a "Give it a Go" through their phone number, but kept getting hung-up on after going through their menu. When I eventually did get through and asked if there were any spaces I was put on hold whilst the guy went to check. After 10 mins of being on hold I gave up since by this point the bus that I would have taken to get to that session had already come and gone.

Maybe the sessions themselves are fun, but the booking process sure as sh*t isn't.
Written January 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Elaine S
3 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
I haven't visited (not for lack of trying) and doubt I will. Tried to book climbing for a birthday for 5 children and was told parties are only on weekends -no problem, I'll just book the climbing part. Oh no wait, 2 of the children are 7, 3 are 8 so they have to climb at different sessions altogether as the times are different so there's no point booking at all.
This conversation via a chat bot took the best part of 45 mins as there is no phone number apparently and each reply from boulders took 5-10 mins to come through.
I rang the climbing centre in Treharris (they have a phone number!), and I booked a private session where they can all climb together, in under 3 minutes. Job done.
Written August 10, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nat-Traveller
Cardiff24 contributions
Feb 2020 • Family
12th birthday party
Second birthday party we’ve had here as the kids had a great time before so booked again. They were well looked after by Max and the team. Kids loved climbing even though some where less confident they were encouraged to do as much as they wished and all took part. Would definitely recommend to others.
Written February 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

24KateG
Newport, UK95 contributions
Aug 2021 • Family
I went with a nine year old boy for a ‘family beginners’ session. The staff are really friendly and very understanding about first time visitors. The instructor was very clear and encouraging, never pushing you beyond what you were comfortable with. We had a great time.
Written August 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sammyjo1234
1 contribution
Mar 2015 • Family
Had my sons birthday party here yesterday for 12 4 year olds.
On arrival we weren't welcomed and shown the party room or play area. Just given the wrist bands to hand out to the children as they arrived.
The play area itself was fine, the children really enjoyed it, however it's an hour and a half just stuck in this small area and the food is served afterwards. In most parties it's usually 45mins play then food then play for half hour.
Nobody from Pebbles came to me to tell me when the room would be ready or what would be happening. I went to check myself and was told 5-10mins and it will be all set up with the hot food aswel.
I left it 15mins before I got everyone upstairs and still no member of staff there to welcome us or ask if we needed anything.
The party room is a meeting room with white boards on the walls. Not appealing at all to children.
When I looked at the long table set up for the party I felt so embarrassed as it looked bare, it was a long table set up for 12 kids with 1 plate of sandwiches piled high in the middle of the table and 2 what looked like metal mixing bowls with crisps in and 2 small plastic bowls with random bits of chocolate in.. Not even enough for 12 children.
I was told hot food would be served at the party, on the telephone when I booked I was told it would be chicken nuggets chips and some sandwiches and nibbles. I went downstairs to ask where the rest of the food was and was told only the chips to come, no chicken nuggets as only climbing parties get those!!! If I'm told chicken nuggets will be served I expect them to be served! Regardless they did nothing about it.
The food was poor the service was poor, may as well have hired a hall and done the food myself to save the embarrassment of the party food served.
The children did all enjoy themselves, but let's be fair children would enjoy an any soft play. Last year we had a party at play zone and the staff where amazing with the children, wish I went back there this time.
Written March 30, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, Thank you for your review of the centre. We are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your soft play party at Boulders. We pride ourselves on our customer service and so we are very disappointed to learn about your experience and we will do all we can to rectify the situation. We have your contact details from the booking and will be contacting you shortly to discuss your experience. Kind regards, The Boulders Team
Written April 1, 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Angay
Cardiff4 contributions
Mar 2015 • Family
We took our two children for a climb today as it was my sons 8th birthday. He was a little nervous but fortunately they were with an excellent instructor, Rhys, who was brilliant with the kids! He really gave them confidence and the enthusiasm to want to go back again! It's an amazing place with a really great energy and the fact that we were lucky enough to have such a great instructor with our children just made the whole experience more enjoyable.
The little cafe is great with friendly staff taking the time to ask the children if they'd had fun which was appreciated.
I would have given Boulders 5 stars but for the toilet situation where both sexes use the same facilities. My 11 year old daughter said she was chatting to a man whilst she was washing her hands. They had apparently been in cubicles next to each other and had come out the same time! It was only then I went to have a look at the layout. I do think parents should be advised of the shared facilities when they go in so they can decide if their child needs accompanying or better still, change the facilities altogether.
Other than this, it was a really enjoyable day and we'll definitely take the kids back!
Written March 15, 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

AngelPawsCardiff
Cardiff, UK56 contributions
Jan 2012
We took a party of 12 children to Boulders for a joint birthday party on a cold Sunday in January.

Never having been to Boulders before, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. I was completely blown away! The place is huge with climbing walls (and ceilings!) everywhere you look. The kids had a most incredible time shinning up and down the walls on ropes, and bouncing back to the ground with the greatest of ease. The instructors were brilliant - all young and energetic with a great way of talking to the kids which made them hang on their every word and want to get to the top of each climb. The party food was good - nothing out of the ordinary, but there was plenty of it, and what was supposed to be hot was just that.

My teenager enjoyed it so much she's signed up to a class to learn more.

Highly recommended - we'll be going back!!
Written January 22, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MichaelJ
2 contributions
Mar 2019 • Friends
I visit boulders quite often and have no complaints regarding the climbing itself but the cafe service has been getting quite bad as of late with long waits, around 30 mins for food and even orders given to other customers, it is very obvious that the one person that is serving is very overstretched at times in taking orders and making them. More staff or simpler menu required.
Written March 29, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Jetta11238, Thank you for your review. We've taken your feedback on board, as well as feedback from others. We will be making some changes to the menu and the way we rota staff in peak periods. Kind regards, Liz
Written July 26, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SianJ1984
Cardiff, UK86 contributions
Jan 2018 • Friends
Visited today for a taster session with a friend, neither of us having ever climbed before. Our guide Toby was excellent, quickly had us at ease & encouraged us to keep pushing ourselves. Managed to try a few different walls of varying difficulty always feeling safe but in a relaxed fun environment
Great experience & cannot wait to return
Written January 6, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi SianJ1984 Thank you for your review of Boulders! We're glad you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Liz Ayres
Written January 24, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

il_padrino_9
Penarth - Vale of Glamorgan - Wales129 contributions
Jan 2017 • Family
Our daughter loves this facility and attends every Saturday morning without fail. She has become a keen climber through attending classes here and it is clear that she receives excellent guidance. We never have to worry about her safety.
Written January 12, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 323
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Boulders Indoor Climbing Centre - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Boulders Indoor Climbing Centre

Boulders Indoor Climbing Centre is open:
  • Mon - Thu 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
  • Fri - Fri 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
  • Sat - Sun 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM


Restaurants near Boulders Indoor Climbing Centre: View all restaurants near Boulders Indoor Climbing Centre on Tripadvisor

Boulders Indoor Climbing Centre Information

Excellent Reviews

255

Very Good Reviews

54

Boulders Indoor Climbing Centre Photos

57