We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Cantref, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 8LR, Wales
Phone Number: 44-1874-665223
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 271 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 128
    Excellent
  • 75
    Very good
  • 31
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 16
    Terrible
Great Day out

Visited the farm today (August Bank Holiday) and had an amazing day. The weather was great which helped as the majority of activities are outdoors. The price to enter is... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago
mogz1987
,
Tredegar, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 271: English reviews
Sir Benfro, Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A fantastic little place with great staff who really know how to interact with children and their families. Not to big and no hidden charges which is a great relief having three children!!! Plenty of things going on during the day which makes it easy to plan your day around the shows and opportunities to handle and pet the animals.... More 

Helpful?
Thank niamair
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited the farm today (August Bank Holiday) and had an amazing day. The weather was great which helped as the majority of activities are outdoors. The price to enter is relatively expensive but everything is included apart from the pony rides. These are priced at £1 each so nothing to expensive.. My children are both under 3 and they had... More 

Helpful?
Thank mogz1987
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited with two young children. Our son enjoyed his pony ride and made his day. The rides overall were good and lots of grass to sit down. Prices were fair and facilities good. Animals well looked after and happy. We will return but maybe on a quieter day. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Original plan was to visit the farm as wasn't sure about all the kids being brave enough. Last minute change of plan and we were able to book a 1.5 hour pony riding session for all the family for later in the day. Staff were friendly, ponies were well behaved and the ride was perfect... wear long trousers to avoid... More 

Helpful?
Thank KappyMe
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Awful waste of money, place was dirty and run down. The pig was in an awful state with scabs all over his side. The animal feed box was dirty and empty, the only attraction that the kids showed any interest in was broken with no signs to say it was out of order the sledges for the slide were all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo W
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We are surprised to hear that you left after only an hour and a half because we have 13 shows/activities running throughout the day such as bottle feeding, pet handling, tractor rides, pig racing, mini farmers where they can help to feed the animals etc combined with indoor and outdoor... More 

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited with our 3 children and feel it was very over priced. Yes everything apart from pony rides is included but we went for a day outing and were all bored within a couple of hours max. Limited animal interaction. Dated rides. No staff organisation on the big slide, had to wait ages for the sledges to become free whilst... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucyv1981
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. We usually find our visitors stay for about 5 hours by the time they have dipped in and out of our programme of shows every half an hour and used our attractions such as the sledge, paddle boats, swamp ride, sand and water play, pedal tractors, ball cannons, indoor and... More 

Kidwelly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Well cared for, steady, sturdy horses. Competent and friendly guides. Safe & pleasant riding in a beautiful setting. Would definitely go again.

Helpful?
Thank Tessa F
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review

Thank You for your 4 star review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your ride and found the guides helpful. We hope to welcome you back to the riding centre in the future. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone over priced run down and not much to do The play area part was dirty the toilets were stinking toilet roll all over the place urine all Over the floor. The only thing my daughter liked was feeding the sheep at one point one jumped over the gate for the man to throw it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kendrick90
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit back in April. I am sorry if the toilets needed cleaning when you used them but they are cleaned at regular intervals. With many small children using the toilets unsupervised they can become dirty in a very small space of time. If a toilet check was missed over the lunch... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lots of activities for children aged approx 4-11 as well as pet handling, shows etc for all ages. Great activities/events, attentive staff, good food and a surprisingly relaxed atmosphere. More disabled/baby change facilities would be beneficial to stop queues but this is not a major issue. Thanks for a great day!

Helpful?
Thank Allie11413
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Cantref and found our team helpful. We hope to welcome you back in the future. More 

Merthyr Vale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice simple review; Good points; Entry fee, staff, variety of activities, facilities, programme of events Bad points; Swamp ride isn't technically a ride just a traffic jam on water! Small portions of food for adults only the size of what you would feed small children so take your own at least.

Helpful?
Thank Ricky H
Gwen E, Owner at Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre, responded to this review

Thank You for your 4 star review. We are glad you enjoyed the variety of activities and found the staff helpful. We are sorry the Swamp ride was congested at the time of your visit and that you felt the food portions were small. I am surprised to hear about the food as we have never had this comment before.... More 

Travelers who viewed Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre also viewed

Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Llanthony, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Leominster, United Kingdom
Cardiff, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cantref Adventure Farm and Riding Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?