Harewood House

Harewood House, Leeds: Hours, Address, Harewood House Reviews: 4/5

Harewood House
4
Historic Sites • Architectural Buildings
Read more
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Write a review
About
From the moment you arrive, Harewood captures your imagination and feeds your curiosity. It's a place filled with art, culture and heritage which continues to develop and thrive today. One of the Treasure Houses of England, the historic Georgian property sits within "Capability" Brown designed landscape with remarkable views from the award winning Terraces. Come inside and you'll be blown away by rare Chippendale furniture and jaw-dropping interior designs in the State Rooms. Make sure you leave time to explore the well-trodden corridors of Below Stairs. A place where young kitchen hands can get hands on with history, dress up and discover life a servant or you can enjoy a changing programme of contemporary art exhibitions in the Terrace Gallery. With bags of space to run around, a massive adventure playground, penguins, flamingos and parrots there's no shortage of adventure for kids of all ages
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Harewood House and nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
1,461 reviews
Excellent
680
Very good
414
Average
178
Poor
103
Terrible
87

shazbatzannie
Bakewell, UK526 contributions
Couples
We were booked into see a concert in the evening & decided to spend the day here first.

The house itself was beautiful but I wasn’t so keen the current exhibition of Radical Acts. It didn’t seem to enhance the visit at all. Probably better placed in a modern museum. The volunteers that we spoke to in the house didn’t seem too keen on it either.

It was a lovely sunny day so after the house and lunch at the courtyard cafe we walked round the lake, to the walled gardens. It was very pretty on a summers day. We had a quick look at the penguins & birds. Lots to do for families.
The concert in the evening was amazing but
Unfortunately, the experience was tainted by waiting in my car for 2.5 hours to exit the grounds, after paying an extra £10 for the privilege.
Written July 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased you enjoyed your day with us including the concert in the evening. Your feedback regarding the concert has been acknowledged and discussed with our event provider, with an action plan in place to improve the experience for future events held at Harewood. Best Wishes
Written July 10, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul T
Bracknell, UK100 contributions
Couples
For history buffs it told a great story and subsequent filming of various TV & historical films, including Victoria, Downtown Abbey, Emmerdale.
Due to my wife’s disability, we were unable to visit/ walk around the grounds. Although there is a facility for those who can’t walk far, there is a “buggy “ to get to the 3 main sites.
The main house is very well organised with a strict 1 way system with an electronic guide book available using a QR reader, this unfortunately had to be uploaded a few times. There are a number of volunteers offering additional information to assist with a full explanation.
The “below stairs “ can be a bit difficult if you struggle with stairs, but well worth it. You vacate via a cafe, which is very busy due to various restrictions and staffing levels.
We didn’t visit the church or the shop/ restaurant.
There are various locations for picnics in the grounds and sufficient toilets
Written September 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

jodie w
1 contribution
Friends
After being a regular over the last few years this year was a disappointment. There wasn't as many stalls as there has been in the past and the live music was a bit drab. For a £16.50 entry fee i probably wouldn't recommend this one. The grounds are nice though.
Written June 2, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Holly S
4 contributions
Family
Harewood is amazing in a lot of ways but it’s downfall is it’s extremely poor operational management. Excessive Queuing to get in is the norm and it’s frustrating because it seems like it could be easily avoided if they created two more clear lanes. They don’t seem to be able to work out a system to allow pre booked ticket holders to go through a different entrance. Waiting to queue whilst other people pay when you could quickly flash your ticket and drive in is irritating when this happens every single visit no matter what day of the week.

We are members and booked today for the first Christmas weekend with our two young daughters. We booked back in September so have been looking forward to this for some time. I’d been explaining to my toddler for weeks what we would see and do. On arrival there was a queue that was not moving for 40 minutes. Anyone with young kids will appreciate the stress of babies and toddlers crying and not knowing whether we should stick it out longer or go. We didn’t find out until we aborted our day out to turn round and go home that the high winds had caused havoc with their phone lines and systems aka they had no WiFi (for some reason the staff went to the back of the queue to tel people who had just arrived what was happening rather than start at the front or work from the middle where people had been waiting longest). Awful situation for them to deal with and I feel sorry for the people on the ground dealing with this but where is the contingency plan, why could nobody think on their feet? Why not have someone manually check tickets and wave people through rather than ruin people’s Day. Ok so it wouldn’t go through their normal system but so what? Instead a massive queue of angry customers started turning round to leave. After our kids had been screaming and crying for some time (and having been to the loo outside in the snow!) we left, our kids missing out on our one Christmas activity we had planned. Very disappointing for our whole family and having to answer a 2 year old asking ‘where is Christmas harewood’ all day broke my heart. It’s too late to book in elsewhere as its all booked up and so we decided to pay to go to soft play instead.

Handled very badly and annoyed a lot of loyal customers I’m sure. Who is in charge of operations? Anyone? Why is there no plan for situations like this? Doesn’t take a genius to come up with a plan ASAP. We will not go next year for Christmas and I’m unsure whether we will renew our membership as Christmas was a bit part of this for us.
Written November 27, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We're sorry to hear your experience the other day. We will ensure your feedback is passed on to the relevant departments, many thanks and best wishes.
Written December 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vikinglongboat
Derby, UK97 contributions
The House is magnificent and we enjoyed being able to wander through the various rooms at our own leisure. Another positive was that, although the staff were wearing masks, they weren't pestering visitors to wear them as i had experienced at another attraction the day before. Sensible policy leaving it to personal choice as it should be now masks are no longer required by law or Government guidance. We enjoyed the bird garden, especially the beautiful cockatoo called Molly although we also echo a few sentiments on here by other posters. The enclosures are tired and the penguin enclosure was frankly upsetting. I'm sure the animals get the enrichment they need but for public presentation, the enclosures need sprucing up in terms of painting the wood frames etc to tidy it up a bit. The ferry boat wasn't running despite their being no wind. Although it was a cold day. Disappointing. Nice gift shop and plenty of toilets. Overall a bit disappointing for what is supposed to be a gem of the north but i would imagine on a lovely summers day our opinions of the place might change a bit more for the better. Staff all very friendly and a credit to the place.
Written February 24, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for leaving your review and I'm pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit with us. Your kind comments about the team and Harewood are much appreciated. We are working hard at maintaining the bird enclosures and we hope you can visit again in the summer when you can see them in a different light. Best wishes.
Written March 8, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

c b
Truro, UK7 contributions
Food festival was really disappointing. Nice cheeses, beers etc to buy but the actual ‘plated’ food stalls were vastly overpriced and very underwhelming…the food standard is what you’d expect at a music festival. I queued almost 40 minutes for a rip-off chickpea curry which ended up in the bin. Nobody in our party had anything of an acceptable standard.
Obviously we won’t be going again. In future Harewood House should maybe consider the quality of their stall holders.
Written June 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

John L
Shropshire, UK774 contributions
I had to look up the meaning of quintessential, but this was definitely not what we were served. We were joining up with our daughter, her husband and a friend on the terrace for a tea booked for 1:15. We had to hurry through the house to get there on time. We needn’t have bothered as drinks ordered did not arrive until we chased and we waited 45 minutes before complaining again about the lack of the tea and were told “it’s just coming, we’re very busy”.

Our mistake at that point was to stay; we should have gone. The "tea" when it came was of poor quality and dry. The vegan items looked awful and, we were told, tasted so. When it came to paying, the staff didn't know what drinks we'd had and eventually we weren't charged for them.

Our complaints were initially brushed off and then some offers were made grudgingly. As we live on the other side of the country, we will not take them up and, after our experience, do not want to. Looking through other reports, there have been regular poor reviews of the catering.

It's a shame, because the house and grounds are wonderful, but the tea left a bad taste in our mouths!
Written July 16, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear John L, Many thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are sorry to hear that your Afternoon Tea fell short of our usual high standards on this occasion. We take all feedback very seriously and we can assure you that we will be addressing the points in your review with some additional staff training. Once again, thank you for your feedback. Harewood House Trust.
Written July 26, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jenny J
10 contributions
Family
I haven't visited Harewood House for several years but after reading what was on offer from their website I decided it would be a wonderful place to take my grandchildren.
We parked up and the first visit was to the loo in the car park. As a disabled person I was quite shocked by the state of the disabled toilet. The floor was swimming in water, the walls and pipes and the whole toilet looked really dismal and very scruffy.
The girls wanted to visit the adventure playground before lunch and this was OK although not as large as I expected from the website.
It was lunch time and we headed to the Courtyard Cafe. I would have taken sandwiches but this would have been impossible in the time frame due to my lack of mobility.
We can only say that the cafe was shocking. As we walked in there was a fridge with some sandwiches and pork pies and sausage rolls. There were no labels on anything or price tags.
I knew from the website again that there was no hot food but my goodness I would never visit this cafe again.
We limited the girls and just bought two sandwiches, one of which was supposed to be a child's grab bag including sandwich, piece of fruit, drink and crisps.
We also bought a drink and a pork pie and sausage roll and a couple of bags of crisps.
This totalled £36 odd!! What a scandal!
We had to ask for serviettes which were almost thrown at us by the extremely rude member of staff.
We took our food and went to sit down inside. The tables were all dirty and the floor was awful. I think it was self clean but surely this should be checked from time to time.
We sorted out the food and found we were missing the child's grab bag. At that time we didn't realise that this included the extras above as we were just given a sandwich.
We never got the other items and never again would I go there.
The bird garden was enjoyable and our final stop was to be the Woodland Wonderland. We had high hopes! Only to be let down again. We went through it in a couple of minutes. It was well built but not at all what was expected and my older granddaughter thought it was a joke.
I'm sorry but this trip, for one day has cost a fortune and was so disappointing.
Written August 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your visit. I am deeply disappointed to hear about your experience of Harewood whilst you were here and for the issues you have outlined above; it is not in line at all with the experience we strive for and there were obviously multiple problems that affected your visit. We would like to be able to respond to this more fully if you are able to get in contact with us? Please can you email info@harewood.org? In the mean time, please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing day. We will be discussing this feedback with the various teams involved. Many thanks.
Written August 19, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

terry4800
Warrington, UK784 contributions
Really enjoyed the visit. It was a really cold day so didn't really explore outside - would be good to come back in summer. The visit to the house is well planned. There's an app you can download as a guide and has all you need to know about each room and its history. The tour around the house took us about 90 minutes and you see all the main rooms, kitchens and there's a cafe as you exit. Because of covid there was a one way system in operation. We did call to see the penguins and they looked ever so sad - can't be much fun stuck in a small enclosure. So sad penguins aside (why do you need to keep penguins?) it was a really enjoyable visit.
Written January 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It's great to hear you enjoyed your day with us and we will make sure your feedback is passed on to the Bird Garden.
Written January 28, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Claire B
Dubai, United Arab Emirates40 contributions
Couples
We visited and upon driving through the park to the barrier were advised my employees that it was by booking only. First annoyance...who books to visit a park?! Adding to that who checks a park’s website before going?? Also, surely a sign at the entrance of the park to state bookings only would be helpful!
The employee then advised we could walk the perimeter of the park. We did this then after ten minutes were shouted at by security to say we were not allowed to walk where we were. Clearly we know the meaning of perimeter and followed this and the employee did not. Embarrassing and a complete waste of our day!
A Sunday stroll....who needs all of this effort and hassle?!

To note I’ve been in here before over Xmas with the Xmas lights etc and paid the entrance fee and even then I didn’t think it was worth the money. I’d really question what I’m paying an entrance fee for in February with nothing spectacular to see but a stately home, a pond and nice grounds. That’s ten a penny for free everywhere else!
Written February 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,428
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Harewood House

Harewood House is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Harewood House tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 1 Harewood House tours on Tripadvisor