Goodwood Racecourse

Goodwood Racecourse, Chichester: Address, Phone Number, Goodwood Racecourse Reviews: 4/5

Goodwood Racecourse
4
About
Described as 'the most beautiful racecourse in the world', Goodwood Racecourse sits on top of the picturesque Sussex Downs, just a short distance away from the cathedral city of Chichester. Hosting 19 race days a year there is plenty to enjoy from May to October, the highlight of which is the Qatar Goodwood Festival, affectionately known as 'Glorious Goodwood'. This five-day Festival welcomes the world's best horses, jockeys and trainers, as well as attracting a number of famous faces each year who come to enjoy the racing and social spectacle of summer racing on the Downs.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Popular mentions

4.0
268 reviews
Excellent
119
Very good
72
Average
26
Poor
20
Terrible
31

Fiona N
91 contributions
Excellent
Oct 2021 • Couples
Goodwood finala
Excellent deal for the Richmond enclosure , a much nicer atmosphere then glorious Goodwood can't wait till next year
Written October 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

steve s
London, UK6 contributions
Overpriced mediocre racing
Oct 2021 • Couples
Overpriced racecourse with poor service and expensive mediocre food options.

More service personel needed and less stewards.

We will not return.

When will racecourses realise that if you charge expensive admission the punter expects good everything.

Not for us
Written October 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

danidon1
Lancaster, UK65 contributions
Beautiful course with plenty of amenities
Sep 2021 • Couples
We went on one of the midweek racing events so it wasn’t as busy as it can be, but we loved it just as much as if it was Glorious Goodwood. There was plenty of seats and lots of different areas in which you could sit even away from the racing. There was a live brass band which was lovely with lots of deckchairs to sit on. The food at the various stalls around the grounds was all top quality. There was a ride service which took you from your car if you were parked further away that gave you a lift in a kind of golf buggy in between your car and the course.
Written September 12, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nicholas M
Portsmouth, UK31 contributions
GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY
Sep 2021
I attended 'mid-week racing' on 7 September. Before I go on, I'll make one thing clear: I'm not a horse-racing enthusiast and attend meetings, occasionally, purely for the totality of the experience.
Booking: done online, quickly despite the website not being the easiest to navigate. My Gordon package ticket cost £30, including a free drink and a meal. This compared with £20 for a ticket bought at the course but still represents good value-for-money.
Getting there: travelling from Portsmouth, I ummed and ahhed about whether to travel by train or car. The train won out and I was rewarded with the complimentary bus service from Chichester station to the race-course. Around midday, the road to the course was surprisingly clear, so the car-option would have worked as well.
Ticket-collection: I had to queue for 10 minutes. My printer had failed so I was only able to present the office with what looked like the very worst kind of modern 'art' with the booking reference just about showing. Despite this, I got my ticket. I had to explain to the lady serving me that she had failed her Ryanair ground staff aptitude test.
Facilities: these lack the grandeur of Ascot but do the job. The parade ring is particularly nice but nothing man can do on this site will ever top the magnificent view across the South Downs.
Seating: I can't think that there were more than 5000 customers - perhaps management could give the figure - but I didn't have any problem finding somewhere to sit.
Food: I used my meal-ticket for the fish & chips in a box. This was nothing more than OK, with the chips being better than the fish. At Ascot, the quality would have been much better but I would have had to pay over £10 for it.
Drink: the Sussex bar was never overwhelmed and the waitresses notably friendly. But £6.50 a pint is a bit of a rip-off. Had it been priced at a fiver, I would have had three rather than two.
Music: I don't much like jazz and I got the impression that your jazz-band didn't much care for it either. Off to YouTube for some more Pocket Belles action.
Racing: the quality looked OK.
Will I be back? Not by myself but this is a good option for my next set of house-guests. I suspect, however, that Glorious Goodwood is more me.
Written September 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

caz
3 contributions
Perfect
Aug 2021 • Family
Goodwood Family day Aug 2021 Saturday 28th . We went and had the most amazing day , Lennox meant a chilled atmosphere , great for kids . We had a girl whom has learning disabilities and your staff made her day extremely happy . I didnt catch the officails name but he was really lovely and gave us tickets to go see the horses in the paddock . She loved it , also the lady whom had the donkeys was so patient and understanding about her disability . The ladies whom were on the go all day doing face painting and didnt stop , made great efforts for my girl to be able to have her face painted x This made her day even more perfect . Would recomend the Family days , every entertainment was free for the kids , no stressed mums and dads dishing out money . Perfect , amazing and great day we all had x Will be back to the next event .
Written August 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Paul H
Chichester, UK3 contributions
August Bank holiday - family race day.
Aug 2021
First the positives - overall a great day out, so well done Goodwood. It’s a great facility and the atmosphere was very good. Certainly a hit with the children especially the rides. Toilets were clean, it felt safe and parking arrangements were excellent. Even the weather was fantastic, however you can’t really take the credit for that!

Now the negatives - only one niggle really and that was the food. Firstly there was very little choice in the Lennox enclosure and what was there was extremely poor quality (further impacted by the cost of substandard food). There was a sausage, burger and fries van, which couldn’t even get fries right (soggy, stale and clearly cooked in advance and then topped with the cheapest cheese imaginable). Furthermore no vegetarian/vegan alternatives to meat (definitely a missed sales opportunity Goodwood). Then the ice cream - again poor quality, substandard and severed with disdain (£16.00 for 4 small, and they were small, even in the eyes of 6 and 8 year olds for 99’s).

Being local we know what you can do Goodwood, but on this occasion we were disappointed.

We will definitely go back, but next time it’s a picnic for us 😀
Written August 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Remotelyworking
Calne, UK238 contributions
A brilliant day out. Just love the unique atmosphere of Glorious Goodwood.
Jul 2021
Fabulous day out @ Glorious Goodwood for my birthday! The Stewarts Cup with Private box in the March Grandstand - view over the course and parade ring. Bubby on tap and lovely snacks and nibbles served all day by friendly and professional hospitality team.
Seating, balcony and access to the Grandstand - expensive but worth it - we had a really good & fun day, even of my Horse didn't win !

I've been several times and done the Park & picnic and always get into the Richmond Enclosure badge.
Written August 27, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Chrishcardiff
London, UK164 contributions
Not so glorious
Jul 2021
This is the fourth time I have been to the Glorious meeting and this was by far the worst of the lot. Things have gone badly downhill. Overcrowded, poor quality races scheduled for the Saturday and far too many drunkards. I may not be back.
Written August 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, Thank you for your comments in regards to your experience during the Qatar Goodwood Festival. We do review the events after each fixture and will look at further measures that we can take to improve the overall experience for all those attending. This includes working closely with the security teams and Sussex Police to ensure that our events at Goodwood are run as safely as possible for all of our guests. We are sorry to hear you did not feel this was represented at the time of your visit, and will pass this on so those overseeing this area so they can investigate further. Goodwood Racecourse is committed to safeguarding the well-being of all visitors and ensuring that the best possible day out is had by all. Anyone deemed to be under the influence of drink or drugs will be removed from Goodwood Racecourse. The schedule of racing on the Saturday has not changed in the last five years and consisted of two of the most competitive races of the week with 28 runner fields a piece. Thank you again for joining us, and we do hope to see you again at the racecourse for an improved experience next time. Kind regards Goodwood
Written August 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

sue W
1 contribution
Goodwood racecoyrse
Jul 2021
Having paid £200 for my husband and I to spend a day at the Qatar race festival I am at a loss as to what we got for our money. Included in our package was free car parking, a race card each, use of the Sussex lounge, a main meal and a drink. My main complaint is that apart from the room being vastly overcrowded the “meal” offered was nothing short of disgusting. We had to queue a la fast food chain and had a choice of fish and chips served in a cardboard box or lamb kofta in a foil bag. The fish was grey with soggy batter and equally soggy chips and the kofta indescribable. I have never seen worse food. A fast food hamburger from a chain would have been delightful compared to this. The consequence was that neither my husband, who is allergic to fish, nor I had anything to eat all day. We did find a kiosk to purchase a KitKat and a cup of tea. We will not be going back.
Written August 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, Thank you for your comments in regards to your experience during the Qatar Goodwood Festival. We do understand your frustrations and we have passed on your feedback to our catering partner Levy. Our Sussex Lounge offering was a new experience for 2021 and was aimed at larger groups, to be able to give them a space for the day away from the crowds. We will review the way in which food and beverage is packaged in future and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that if you decide to visit us again, you have a vastly improved experience. Kind regards, Goodwood
Written August 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Chris R
Bognor Regis, UK3 contributions
The Part of Goodwood not so Glorious is it Racecourse
Jul 2021 • Friends
Goodwood racecourse will always remain a favourite to many people sinply because of its location and surroundings . As a so called Premier Racecourse it is Mile's behind many other courses and I would not even place it in my top dozen.
Out of the expensive admisson fees nothing appears to be spent on infrastructure. Most of the Stands are outdated and basic expectations to my mind are poor. Owing to high winds in the early races no big screens could be used , that was understandable, but the PA system was totally inadequate and nothing could be heard whilst these races were being ran . At the conclusion of these races a lot of People were unsure as to the results .

Other issues are the already expensive drinks being exacerbated even further by the £1 deposit required on the glass, which are actually not glass but some sort plastic. Many People simply abandoned any idea of getting their deposits back
as the que to reclaim it were long and the service slow. This is clearly an obvious ploy by the Goidwood Management, when you employ 6 peole to collect £1 but only 1 to return it you are on the biggest certainty that tge races cant claim. .The35 minutes between races is not enough time to purchuse the drink , consume it and return the glass/container . If you are going racing like me to enjoy the sport and not as a day on the drink then you are hardly likely to want to stand in a que when one of the many top class races the track holds is about to start. Goodwood Racecourse are making a fortune out of this racket and are certainly not spending any of it to my mind to improve the experience of the racegoer.

The other shamefull exploitaion of the public includes £5 for a book of adverts masquerading as a racecard.
Along with the mugging I got for the drinks the expense of the food is simply outrageous. £12 Fish and Chips that if any decent outlet tried to sell on the High Street /Village would see them out of business in weeks as you certainly would not return in a hurry for anymore of what I had served up.

Goodwood Racecourse are taking their Clientel for mugs and will attempt to squeeze every last quid out of you . Admission prices are simply not value for money and I left swearing never to return.
Written August 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi there, We appreciate your feedback but we were unfortunate to experience very high winds which owed to health and safety concerns and the big screen being lowered, we are looking into the issue with the PA system which was also affected by the strong winds in addition and will be speaking to our media contractor, Racetech about the matter. We do of course understand your frustration with the queues you encountered when you wanted to enjoy a drink and something to eat. By way of background; our catering partner Levy planned their operation on the basis of 2019 attendance figures and the numbers of people attending the Qatar Goodwood Festival. However, the spending capacity of our guests was about three times the expected figure. This led to much lengthier queues at our food and beverage areas and we can only apologise for the length of time you waited in the queue. To compound matters; Levy also faced a reduction in staffing levels each day because some staff were pinged by the NHS Covid-19 App requiring them to self-isolate. We did have a staffing contingency plan in place but this was quickly exhausted to backfill staff absences and support the busiest bars etc – similar issues existed with the £1 eco-cup staffing which we will off course be addressing. As a racecourse we endeavour to review our pricing and offering to provide the best customer service and I am sorry to hear on this occasion it did not live up to expectation. We hope that you will visit us again, so that we can deliver a much better raceday experience for you. Kind regards, Goodwood
Written August 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 264
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing