The Hole In The Wall

The Hole In The Wall, Chichester: Hours, Address, The Hole In The Wall Reviews: 4/5

The Hole In The Wall
4
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
About
From the multi-award winning team from Big Smoke Pubs After a huge refurbishment we are please to welcome you to our newest Pub in the heart of Chichester. We strive to give our customers the best beer range in town alongside excellent food, friendly service and comfortable surroundings. ✅ 20 Rotating KEG lines ✅ 8 Rotating CASK lines ✅ 4 Rotating CIDER lines ✅ Small batch SPIRITS ✅ Fantastic freshly cooked FOOD all day ✅ WINES from around the world Come and say hi!
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
The area
Popular mentions

4.0
107 reviews
Excellent
54
Very good
21
Average
9
Poor
9
Terrible
14

John W
4 contributions
1st visit after a recommendation
Nov 2021 • Couples
Lovely pub, great atmosphere. Great selection of well kept ales.
We both had fish n chips which was overcooked and disappointing. Service ok.
Written November 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Karen C
Chichester, UK30 contributions
Slow service
Oct 2021
Good food and nice pub but didn’t enjoy the two hour wait for it. Pity really as food was really nice but had lost the will to live by the time it arrived.
Written October 9, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

kevin
1 contribution
Hungry, needed food, picked right
Sep 2021 • Family
Excellent food & customer service, bar staff very friendly & happy. Those home made Yorkshire puds are to die for, quantity of food spot on, nice vegetable selection, lots of lamb. Superb
Written September 26, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Janja
London, UK147 contributions
The best choice in Chichester
Aug 2021 • Family
My parents and I stopped in Chichester on the way to Southampton and we found this pub by chance. Yes it was full and (two kind gentlemen gave their table up for us) we had to wait a little bit for our food, but we didn't mind as we loved the vibe of the place. Haddock & fish and halloumi burger were very tasty and the friendliness of the employees was just top. Highly recommended!
Written August 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Thank you so much for your kind review, we are a friendly team and we love to create a great atmosphere for all of our guests. Hope to see you again. Kindest regards
Written September 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Restaurant goer
Portsmouth5 contributions
Order at the bar, not at the table.
Aug 2021 • Friends
Nice restaurant, food OK but not quite as advertised. Service was lacking.

Service - We arrived early and were asked if we’d like table service or bar service, we said table service. Our friends arrived in time but it took around 20 minutes for them to be asked for drinks. Then it was longer for the food order. After the main, it was a while before the plates were collected. We asked at the bar for dessert menus but they never materialised. We asked the server and it took so long that we took the bill and left.

Food - the roast was very nice but belly pork was advertised but it was a thin slice of roast pork that arrived. Very disappointing.
Written August 24, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello So sorry that the table service you requested was not provided, our team are usually very up on this for those few guests who still prefer that over bar service, it sounds like a complete misunderstanding on their part. I will chat with the team to make sure they are up on this. The pork belly is a large joint, boned and rolled by our butcher then cooked in house and sliced - I will suggest to the Chef that he slices a little thicker in future. I am sure next time you visit our team will be more on the table service for you. Many thanks
Written September 3, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Talfox
Lewes, UK19 contributions
Gorgeous pub, lovely staff, great food and drinks selections
Aug 2021 • Couples
Popped in here in passing whilst on a day trip to Chichester. We'd already walked past some other average looking/loud music-blaring pubs and bars on the way up from the station , and so glad we opted for here. Such a nice atmosphere with great music on the record player (just the right volume too!) Very tastefully decorated with real character. Fantastic selection of ciders and drafts on tap. I wasn't too hungry, so just opted for chunky chips and my partner tucked into a burger, and we both thoroughly enjoyed our food. Peach Sea Cider on tap was a bonus too, and my partner enjoyed his Irish whisky. All the staff we spoke to were also super friendly! Thanks The Hole in The Wall, we look forward to coming back soon!
Written August 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks so much and were super glad you found us on your trip! We are a friendly bunch here and we like great music but certainy not blaring (at least not at lunch time- we do like to turn it up abit in the evenings!) We hope you will be back to visit Chichester soon and remeber us when you do. Cheers
Written August 23, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

T figg
7 contributions
Bad Sunday roast
Jul 2021
We went back to our favourite pub today for Sunday roast after lockdown was lifted, so disappointed the lamb was tough roast potatoes tasted like they’ve been sitting around in a hot plate for a few hours,my partner had a burger which was Burt and dry ,I over Hurd the table next to us saying there roast beef was dry, after meal thought we’d have another drink but there was no staff at the bar 2 we’re clearing plates the other 2 were out the back having a fag .I really hope do improve but at the moment won’t be going back which is so sad because it’s such a lovely pub
Written July 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello So sorry about your experience it the food - it is ceratinly not a normal experience as you can see from our many great reviws over different platforms. We can certainly assure you that no staff members on duty would be smoking outside! If they had finished work and having a well deserved beer they would be covering their work tshirts or had got completely changed. We have 3 members of staff on duty during the lunch rush and 2 afterwards - sometimes it can be a little busier later than expected so they may be clearing tables but if someone is waiting at the bar to be served they will get there as soon as they can! We hope to welcome you back for another visit where I am sure you will be happy!
Written August 23, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lyndon2011
Haywards Heath, UK73 contributions
Good selection of Big Smoke Beer
Jun 2021 • Couples
Visited for lunch and so discovered Big Smoke beers (Higher Planes NZ Pale was very refreshing) and a good range of 'pub' and Asian themed food. We sat outside in the garden most of which is covered. Very friendly service. Only downside was shaky wifi outside.
Written June 27, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hey there, thanks for your review, we are a friendly team and were glad you noticed that. We have taken steps to get the wifi outisde, using extenders and such, sometimes it can be a little shaky when many people are signed into it. But hey, surely less wifi leads to a better time with your friends and more chatting?! Thanks again
Written August 23, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

eilidhmaria
Hampshire, UK114 contributions
Good Find
Jun 2021
Looking for a Old fashioned pub and came across this place. From the minute we walked in, the young lady behind the bar made us feel very welcome. She was very knowledgeable about the beers and even gave my husband a taster of two of them so he could make a choice. The triple cooked chips were the best I have tasted in a long while and the food, burgers were of very good quality. Only disappointment was that the burger did not come with coleslaw and had to pay £3 for a small pot of it.... most places will include it in the dish. £3 was very excessive for this, especially when you pay £1.60 in Waitrose for as tub that lasts for 5 meals.
Written June 25, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thanks for your review, were glad you found our team friendly and enjoyed the beers and food! You will be super glad to hear that our burgers now come with a side of Coleslaw as well as fries - We love constructive ideas from our customers. Cheers
Written August 23, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Alex H
5 contributions
Great town pub with friendly staff and good beer
May 2021 • Couples
Fantastic town pub with a great selection of beers and does a solid Sunday roast. My whole meal was refunded due to a mix up with the order, an unnecessary gesture but very much appreciated.
Written June 20, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review1 Were super glad you enjoyed your visit, and your sunday Roast! With the mixed up order and your very kind response to that happening we felt we should show you that we apologised for that so of course we offered to refund- hopefully you will spend it back with us on another occasion! Thanks again
Written August 23, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 107
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing