We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tudor World

40 Sheep Street | Shrieve's House Barn, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6EE, England
+44 1789 298070
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Non starter

Found the ghost tour and decided to give it a go on a windy Tuesday. Turned up and was greeted by a... read more

Reviewed February 2, 2016
PRobbo83
,
Dover, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great for children

Visited as eldest (primary age) is looking at Tudors as school topic. Absolutely great - would... read more

Reviewed January 31, 2016
Melissa O
,
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Read all 732 reviews
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Overview
More
This award winning museum is situated right in the heart of the historic town of Stratford upon Avon within a Grade 2* listed historic building. The attraction depicts various aspects of Tudor life in an exciting atmospheric setting. The museum also runs the Walking tour with William Shakespeare; museum ghost tours and is popular with school groups.
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good32%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“ghost tour” (112 reviews)
“walking tour” (48 reviews)
LOCATION
40 Sheep Street | Shrieve's House Barn, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6EE, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1789 298070

Similar Things to Do in Stratford-upon-Avon

Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 260 of 718 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2016 via mobile

Found the ghost tour and decided to give it a go on a windy Tuesday. Turned up and was greeted by a sleeping man who took a few moments to come round, at first we thought it could be part of the experience but we...More

4  Thank PRobbo83
JanetF2301, Owner at Tudor World, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016

Dear PRobbo83, we sorry to hear you had a bad experience. The ghost tours, which have taken place for the last 17 years, are performed every evening. Unfortunately, anyone can become ill suddenly and not be at their best. In the future, if you have...More

Reviewed January 31, 2016

Visited as eldest (primary age) is looking at Tudors as school topic. Absolutely great - would recommend to anyone locally who has a child doing this at school and would like to support a local enterprise

1  Thank Melissa O
Reviewed January 31, 2016

The walking tour was fantastic, for £3.50 (Student Price) we were treated to a 90 minute guided walk around the town. The guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable, his dedication to character was great and he managed to make a cold wet day very enjoyable....More

Thank 430daniele
Reviewed January 30, 2016 via mobile

Wow! So much fun!! We had loads of genuine spooky activity on our tour but even if we hadn't Shaun our guide made it a brilliant experience. Go along to support this great independent attraction and revel in the atmosphere created by dedicated staff 😀

1  Thank Lesley B
Reviewed January 30, 2016

I didn't have time to visit the museum but went on a walking tour for £3.50 (student price, £5 adults) and it was absolutely amazing! The tour lasted for almost two hours and was very interesting, entertaining and informative especially for me as a student...More

2  Thank Annette_Ritournelle
Reviewed January 23, 2016

Small museum, BRILLIANT for children. Please support this museum as it is one of those places that could be easily missed and closed down which would be a shame.

Thank MiniThailand
Reviewed January 22, 2016 via mobile

Saw this before we came to Stratford, and as a huge history geek, especially the Tudors. We loved every part, the smell boxes where a very fun part. The whole experience was brilliant!!! Wish we could have done the ghost tour as well!

Thank Singegnere
Reviewed January 17, 2016

Very strage to go through the past in this house, was a bit spooky but lots of fun, the way they live then all those years ago.

Thank janetstalder
Reviewed January 17, 2016

really enjoyed my trip back in time here,was quite cold upstairs,so can imagine what it must have been like with no heating as we know it today.smells from the stench of the time.examples in little boxes to try.yuk.a must see in stratford.

Thank annieb64
Reviewed January 16, 2016

Didn't visit the museum so can't comment on that. Shakespeare Walking Tour was excellent; fascinating information, visits to main places of interest & excellent value for money at £5 per head for an adult. The actor who lead the tour had the adults & young...More

Thank Jo H H
Nearby
Sponsored by:
Nearby Restaurants
Lambs Restaurant
1,791 reviews
.02 miles away
Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar
2,895 reviews
.05 miles away
The Opposition Bistro
1,411 reviews
.02 miles away
The Fourteas
1,691 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Royal Shakespeare Theatre
2,715 reviews
.11 miles away
The MAD Museum
1,101 reviews
.11 miles away
Swan Theatre
566 reviews
.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
anneisit
August 27, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from JanetF2301 | Property representative |
Yes, there is a ghost tour every evening at 6pm and 4 on Saturdays.
0
Votes
Tina H
August 11, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kerry H | Reviewed this property |
To be honest its fine for any age, my daughter is 9, I'm in my 40's and there was a 60 + 70 year old. It's only small and you can make it as fun or serious as you want. I wouldn't say it was frightening at all.
1
Vote