We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: | Holiday Inn Stratford, Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England
Phone Number: +44 1789 269669
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Description:

The best 45 minute sightseeing cruise in Stratford upon Avon!! We offer...

The best 45 minute sightseeing cruise in Stratford upon Avon!! We offer excellent sightseeing cruises and we're the only company to have a boat with a licensed bar, wonderful cream teas and a Live commentary by our own on-board guides. Our guides share the history - and the amusing unknown history - of Stratford & Shakespeare during your cruise. We're a family business that operateS 365 days a year, river conditions permitting. We can also cater for private parties - birthdays, hen parties, anniversaries, Christmas, schools & coach groups - we do just about everything! Our ghost themed evening cruises are popular with local residents and tourists alike. If you'd like to know more please call or drop us an email.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 231 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 154
    Excellent
  • 57
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Flowing by

A short evening cruise from the Crowne Plaza (formerly Holiday Inn) jetty as part of a conference event. In pleasant sunshine we were introduced to the riverside delights of... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 days ago
NeilAB
,
Whitley Bay, England
via mobile

Similar Things to Do in Stratford-upon-Avon

Add Photo Write a Review

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 230: English reviews
Whitley Bay, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

A short evening cruise from the Crowne Plaza (formerly Holiday Inn) jetty as part of a conference event. In pleasant sunshine we were introduced to the riverside delights of Stratford by our on board host 'Romeo', including the 'millionaire accommodation with private jetties and boathouses. With easy banter and a few local 'pub quiz' questions with a glasses of bubbly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NeilAB
Derbysbire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took this river cruise on Saturday at 1pm. Luckily for us there were only 6 passengers aboard, which made for a lovely uncrowded atmosphere. The crew were lovely and made is an entertaining trip along the Avon. The trip lasts about 45 minutes, and its definitely something we would do again when we are in Stratford upon Avon. We've... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scarlettangel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Cruise was a lovely introduction to Stratford upon Avon. The crew were very welcoming, service was very good and it was fin and informative. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Maryjane H
CaptainBancroft, Guest Relations Manager at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this review

Dear Maryjane H Many thanks for your kind review. We enjoyed meeting you all at the beginning of your conference. I hope all went well today despite the drizzly weather. Kind regards, The Bancroft Crew More 

Redditch
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fabulous and entertaining cream tea cruise with our Redditch Running Club Run Morton Stanley on Saturday 10th September. The Bancroft team looked after us exceptionally well.We highly recommend this cruise and the cream tea wasn't bad either...Thanks guys we had a giggle ( Romeo is funny !).

Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
CaptainBancroft, Guest Relations Manager at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this review

Hi Natalie D, Thanks for taking time to post a lovely review! I'm glad Romeo kept you entertained and you enjoyed the cream tea. As you're from Redditch Running Club I guess you've already burned off all the calories! Hope to see you all again next year. Best wishes, Bancroft Cruisers Team More 

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tried 3 times to book with Bancroft Cruises this week. Emailed last weekend and Monday, no reply. Phoned up on Wednesday and left a message, no call back. Finally phoned again today only to get a message from the answer machine stating fully booked all weekend. Poor form not phoning people back.

Helpful?
Thank marshalexander99
CaptainBancroft, Guest Relations Manager at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this review

Dear Marshalexander99, Many thanks for your review. We're sorry you didn't receive a response. To ensure guests knew we were out of service we updated the website and phone message to inform that we were closed until 16th September and then fully booked over the weekends. Unfortunately as we are a small company we don't have the resources to man... More 

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely cruise this afternoon. Romeo made it even more enjoyable because he managed to get the information over in a great fun way without being over-the-top. Enjoyable cup of tea on board.

Helpful?
Thank Septaugenarian
CaptainBancroft, Guest Relations Manager at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this review

Hi Septaugenarian, Thanks for taking time to leave a review after your cruise. We think it's lovely to get out on the river and offer an interesting commentary with a little bit of humour. We like our tea too - nothing better than a nice cup of Yorkshire tea!! Hope to see you again soon. The Bancroft Team More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spur of the moment trip to Stratford, only an hour from home. Decided to have cruise down the river. Lovely clean boat, very friendly staff, and great cup of tea. Would recommend if around there

Helpful?
Thank Melon58
CaptainBancroft, Guest Relations Manager at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this review

Hi Melon58, So glad you enjoyed your cruise on The Rita Ellen. We work hard to make sure our guests are looked after and the boat is shipshape so it's lovely when we receive such nice reviews. As you're not too far away let us know when you're back in Stratford and we'll treat you to a free cuppa and... More 

Greasby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had beautiful weather when we took the cruise. The tour was made by the guide Romeo. A very engaging and funny guy. Interacted with everyone including the kids. He was also very knowledgeable about Stratford and the surrounding areas. I'd recommend Bancroft cruisers to anyone

Helpful?
Thank timgilbert2016
CaptainBancroft, Guest Relations Manager at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this review

Dear timgilbert2016, Many thanks for your super review. We can't arrange great weather sadly but but we think we have a great team and Romeo is a bit of a star with the guests! It's great to hear that we've hit the mark with everyone, including the youngsters! Hope you come for another cruise in the near future. Take care,... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

we organised my mother in law to be's hen party for Saturday 27th August. Fiona was amazing from the start by keeping in contact with me. we had 1 hour 30 mins with afternoon tea. they had decorated the boat beautifully and we're constantly asking if we wanted anything. Romeo our guide was a hit with the ladies and even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ginnette B
CaptainBancroft, Guest Relations Manager at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this review

Hi Ginnette B Thanks so much for your kind review. I'm glad you felt looked after! It's so nice to arrange cruises and then meet up face to face. You were a lovely group and it's so great when we know that everyone enjoyed the event, decorations - and Romeo's dance moves!! Thanks again for taking time to write your... More 

Waterlooville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

lovely 40 minute cruise along the river with informative guide. Lots of local knowledge and snippets of information to help keep you informed about your surroundings, not a pre recording either! Both crew great fun and easy to get along with. Booking is recommended as can get very busy, not to be missed!

Helpful?
Thank David W
CaptainBancroft, Guest Relations Manager at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this review

Dear David W, We're very pleased you enjoyed your cruise with us in August. We pride ourselves on offering a live commentary and having a friendly crew! Many thanks for taking the time to post your review - we really appreciate it! Hope to see you soon for another relaxing cruise on The Rita Ellen. Kind regards, The Bancroft Team More 

Travelers who viewed Bancroft Cruisers also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Bancroft Cruisers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bancroft Cruisers and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Bancroft Cruisers staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?