We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Newmarket
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
Great Atmosphere

We stayed here as it was local to Newmarket Racecourse and convenient for access to Cambridge and... read more

Reviewed May 19, 2019
A8862DHdavidw
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Uncomfortable.

Room was clean, bed was very very uncomfortable , shower was terrible . A minute wash basin. Will... read more

Reviewed November 4, 2016
Gordon C
,
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Read all 12 reviews
All photos (20)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good8%
  • Average8%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible25%
May 19, 2019
“Great Atmosphere ”
Nov 4, 2016
“Uncomfortable.”
About
A charming Suffolk gastro pub just 2 miles from the racing town of Newmarket. Friendly service, great atmosphere with 6 En suite letting rooms.
Contact
45 Chapel Street | Exning, Newmarket CB8 7HA, England
Website
+44 1638 577237
Call
Improve This Listing
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Newmarket
from $44.42
More Info
from $22.53
More Info
from $15.45
More Info
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
5
1
1
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
5
1
1
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here as it was local to Newmarket Racecourse and convenient for access to Cambridge and the surrounding area. The rooms were basic but really clean and tidy and great value for money. Phil who runs the show was brilliant and couldn’t have been...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank A8862DHdavidw
Reviewed November 4, 2016

Room was clean, bed was very very uncomfortable , shower was terrible . A minute wash basin. Will definately not return.

Date of experience: November 2016
2  Thank Gordon C
Reviewed September 16, 2016

This pub has kitted out rooms to make money with no aforethought for it's customers. The room was badly laid out, making it suffocating and oppressive. Breakfast is not included but we couldn't wait to get out both mornings. We arrived on a Monday afternoon...More

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Maudestan
Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

We live in the village and invited friends to come with us to the charity day bash. We had terrible trouble getting served, the landlords and staff would blatantly ignore you and serve those people who I assume we're friends or regulars even if you...More

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank 603ronw
Carolyn P, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2016

I am sorry your visit was so terrible. We had no idea we were going to be that inundated with people hence the lack of bar staff. I can assure you people were not blatantly ignored they were just extremely busy. As for you being...More

Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

We had a family party here and booked 6 rooms for relatives. The staff were amazing and very friendly, they made us feel like nothing was to much trouble the whole weekend. The food for the party was great and plenty of, the breakfast was...More

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank luciab06
Reviewed May 27, 2016

Lovely pub. Friendly landlord/bar staff. Have been visiting here over a number of years but hadn't been for a couple of years. Unfortunately food very poor and disappointing. Chips very over cooked unable to eat any of them Pasta carbonara in a thick mushroom sauce...More

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Sally G
Carolyn P, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

I'm sorry you had a bad experience. We've had 3 very good reviews on other sites this week on our food and we very rarely get any complaints. We would be happy to offer you a free meal should you wish to return and once...More

Reviewed May 25, 2016

Popped in here for a quick lunch today and WOW! what a great surprise. The inside is nothing like the outside of this hidden gem (and it really is hidden). The staff were so friendly and attentive. I was surprised at the range of wines...More

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank NinnynGrumpy
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

Had Sunday Lunch with a group of friends including 8 children and I have to say it was a very pleasurable experience! Very well organised and friend staff, very good food and a great selection of drinks to suit all tastes at a very reasonable...More

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Robert M
Carolyn P, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

Thank you very much for your kind comments. They are very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed September 23, 2015 via mobile

Friendly local as a pub. We stayed overnight and had an early start the next morning, but even though they were aware of this, our bedroom (4) was directly above the bar and very noisy jukebox. We expect some noise when staying in a pub...More

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank essexgirl23
Carolyn P, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2016

I would like to point out to other Tripadvisors we were not the owners of The Wheatsheaf at this time. We took it over in November 2015. Many thanks Carolyn and Chris

Reviewed July 26, 2015

Great food, top class, lovely venue, great staff, whether you are dining in the evening, or lunch time, or for Sunday lunch, you really cannot go wrong with eating here.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Romana H
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 nearby hotels
Rosery Country House Hotel
160 reviews
.18 miles away
Cadogan Hotel
46 reviews
1.91 miles away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
672 reviews
2.01 miles away
White Hart Hotel
187 reviews
2.02 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 107 nearby restaurants
Sam's
62 reviews
.92 miles away
The White Horse
44 reviews
.20 miles away
The Rosery Hotel & Restaurant
54 reviews
.19 miles away
Studland House
33 reviews
.61 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 23 nearby attractions
Burwell Museum
42 reviews
1.84 miles away
Devil's Dyke
6 reviews
2.01 miles away
Palace House
390 reviews
2.11 miles away
Chippenham Park
64 reviews
3.69 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Wheatsheaf staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Frequently Asked Questions about The Wheatsheaf