We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The retreat

81-83 Mill Street, Stoke-on-Trent ST13 8EU, England
+44 1538 385503
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Mrs Jill Cooper

Love this place, made to feel very welcome, I am a regular customer to have beauty treatments here... read more

Reviewed March 24, 2018
Jill C
via mobile
Perfect

Booked on a Groupon offer so wasn't sure what to expect. It was a bit of a long drive for us but... read more

Reviewed March 22, 2018
Netty12ah
,
Cannock, United Kingdom
Read all 66 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Retreat is an award winning spa, health and beauty centre situated in the historic market town of Leek, Staffordshire. Offering hair, beauty spa and health treatments it also incorporates the Jester bistro, open for breakfast and lunches or just a coffee! Our goal was to create a place of complete relaxation for our clients. A solace away from the cares and turmoil's of working life, an inspiring and healthy retreat...
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good18%
  • Average12%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
81-83 Mill Street, Stoke-on-Trent ST13 8EU, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1538 385503
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"spa facilities"
in 4 reviews
"full body massage"
in 3 reviews
"dressing gowns"
in 2 reviews
"lovely birthday treat"
in 2 reviews
"shower gel"
in 2 reviews
"steam room and sauna"
in 2 reviews
"beauty treatments"
in 2 reviews
"lovely relaxing day"
in 2 reviews
"value for money"
in 7 reviews
"staff were all friendly"
in 2 reviews
"groupon offer"
in 2 reviews
"food was lovely"
in 2 reviews
"lovely lunch"
in 2 reviews
"lovely place"
in 2 reviews
"hosing"
in 6 reviews
"masseuse"
in 2 reviews
"fab"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 66 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

Love this place, made to feel very welcome, I am a regular customer to have beauty treatments here, very relaxing place , friendly staff , give it a try if you have never been xx

1  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2018

Booked on a Groupon offer so wasn't sure what to expect. It was a bit of a long drive for us but well worth it. Do not be put off by the outside appearance as once inside it is a lovely place. All the ladies...More

Thank Netty12ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay in this cosy cottage, which had everything we needed to relax. Fab Jacuzzi bath for those cold winter nights. Not far to walk into town for restaurants and pubs which we did one night. We also had a massage in the spa...More

1  Thank PinkButterflyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

Been today to have my nails done which I have done every 2 weeks amazing place amazing people and love my nails every time . Would not go anywhere else.

Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017

Avoid at all costs. Check out the pictures of the acrylic nails that I was left with. After having perfect acrylic nails done at another salon, I came here to have them infilled where the nail technician proceeded to ruin them. Each nail is wonky,...More

Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thretreatleek, General Manager at The retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Dear Amy, We're sorry that you're so unhappy with your treatment, but as we explained in our initial response, you asked the therapist for 'coffin' shape and then when she proceeded to file your nails into that shape, you stopped her part way through and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I spent an afternoon at the Retreat yesterday, and what a lovely experience. Although quite a small spa it was very comfortable with a relaxing homely feeling. Staff all very welcoming and highly proffessional. A lovely lunch, a relaxing afternoon and my...More

Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with my partner and toddler. As we were attending a family members wedding at The Ashes, it seemed like the perfect place to stay.... It turned out not to be, the cottage is a gable end of terrace house on...More

1  Thank BettyEss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thretreatleek, General Manager at The retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

I'm sorry that the cottage wasn't everything that you expected it to be. We're also very sorry that there was a problem with cleanliness, this was due to an issue with cleaners, which has now been rectified. However, we're disappointed that you described the cottage...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2017 via mobile

What a great place to go and visit for the day for a nice relaxing bit of time out. ALL the staff are brilliant, they are attentive, well mannered, and can't do enough for you so to make your visit enjoyable. The meals are excellent....More

Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017 via mobile

Went here today with my friend for a lovely relaxing day, we got there and was welcomed by friendly reception staff and then showed upstairs to the spa where again the staff were all friendly, smiley and very very welcoming. During our visit we had...More

Thank Mandaball123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

We were lucky that we arrived early for our session in the spa, and enjoyed a relaxing ten minutes in the jaccuzzi, as the small spa area soon became busy, and we were not able to go back in. The reception was friendly, and we...More

Thank debwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thretreatleek, Owner at The retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we're glad you enjoyed your time at The Retreat and your treatment. On some occasions the spa is busier than others and we try to stagger treatment times so that the wet area facilities...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Premier Inn Leek Town Centre Hotel
846 reviews
.55 miles away
Hotel Rudyard
289 reviews
1.94 miles away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
161 reviews
7.15 miles away
The Mousehole Bed and Breakfast
48 reviews
7.74 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Primo Piano
376 reviews
.31 miles away
Pronto
76 reviews
.31 miles away
The Market Kitchen Cafe
97 reviews
.34 miles away
The Napoli
373 reviews
.26 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Foxlowe Arts Centre
89 reviews
.32 miles away
The Nicholson Museum & Art Gallery
22 reviews
.42 miles away
St Edward's Church Leek
9 reviews
.27 miles away
Brindley's Mill
6 reviews
.13 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
julie m
May 20, 2015|
Answer
Response from thretreatleek | Property representative |
No the £99 is for the rental of the whole cottage which is 2 bedroomed.
0
Votes
julie m
May 20, 2015|
Answer
Response from thretreatleek | Property representative |
Hi Julie its £99 per night in the cottage, and use of the spa is just £10.50 for cottage guest.
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor