Air Decker
Bus Services • Public Transportation Systems
Read more
Write a review
About
The A4 Air Decker service operates 7 days a week, all year round except Christmas Day and New Year's Day, to provide you with the most direct route between Bath and Bristol Airport, also serving Saltford, Keynsham and South Bristol.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

3.5
97 reviews
Excellent
40
Very good
16
Average
10
Poor
7
Terrible
24

John D
2 contributions
Jun 2019 • Business
I use the service once a week and often early on weekday mornings. A female driver in middle ages is often on and her snobby attitude when she is already late ( 5-10 mins late) is not acceptable. I have seen her attitude with more than 4 passengers boarding in the past 2 months and a few visitors from abroad who I've seen bemused at her snooty attitude. Considering a pattern of when she is on and the bus being late with the attitude, I write this review to remind drivers and the bus company that we passengers pay the wages and deserve politeness and certainly promptness from drivers who overall are decent and professional.
Written June 22, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

plymouth
Plymouth, Devon 1,417 contributions
Feb 2018
That transportation can now be reviewed on Tripadvisor and it's not as if this is a scenic railway or such like. I've used the service quite a few times between Bath and Bristol airport and every time I've wondered if it was the right decision. It's not cheap but is more 'sustainable'. On balance, I'll keep using it unless I need to come out of the airport and need the car immediately.
Written February 24, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your review of our Air Decker service. We're glad to hear you will continue to travel with us and look forward to having you aboard again!
Written February 26, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KayF18
Perth, Australia24 contributions
May 2017 • Couples
From Bath to Bistol airport took us 1 hour 40 mins on 26th May. This was the beginning of a Bank holiday and the roads were very busy.
Written May 26, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Grushenko
Bath, UK41 contributions
Jun 2022
I've used this service several times to get from Bath to Bristol Airport. It does take a long time (nearly an hour) but is usually reliable, and reasonably priced. However on my recent trip to the airport the 3.00 a.m bus from Bath broke down a mile or so from the airport. With no guarantee that a replacement could be arranged quickly, I, along with most of the other passengers, completed the journey to the airport by foot. I put this down to bad luck, but on the return journey on Friday 17th June, the bus broke down again. This time having to transfer to another bus in Keynsham. Thankfully this transfer happened very quickly on a very hot day. It won't put me off using the service again but next time I'll also consider alternative ways to get the airport.
Written June 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate all comments. It is nice to hear that you have found our service reasonably priced, and reliable on previous occasions. We are disappointed to hear that on both journeys there was a mechanical issue with the bus that you were travelling on. We endeavour to deploy replacement vehicles as swiftly as possible but this does depend on where the bus issue develops. Our depot is in Keynsham so if a breakdown occurs towards Bath/ near the airport it can take up to 30 minutes for the bus to reach the passengers. With the breakdown you experience in Keynsham this was why the transfer happened quickly. Our service is normally very reliable and we are hoping to revert to our pre-covid 30 minutes service frequency from Sept/ Oct onwards which will improve this further
Written June 28, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sam
Bristol, UK142 contributions
Jun 2021 • Business
I get this bus most days to work from Bristol to Bath and I can say it usually takes 50 minutes journey time. Sometimes it does take longer, like during the morning peaks as the service tends to cater to the locals aswell as people travelling to and from the airport. The drivers are VERY friendly. Highly recommended to use.
Written June 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the excellent 5* review. We expect high standards from our driving team so it is great to have such positive feedback. As lockdown has lifted, we have seen an increase in traffic which can have an impact on running times during peak periods. We are monitoring this closely and hoping to revert to our 30 minute service frequency as soon as is viable.
Written June 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Clinton C
1 contribution
May 2023
Bus over half an hour late at Bristol Airport. I used the time in the queue to purchase an e-ticket online from Air Decker, only to be told by very officious driver that the ticket had to be in paper. Somehow I was supposed to print one whilst waiting in the queue. I pointed out the difficulty of this as politely as possible. The driver then said that he had no means of scanning my e-ticket code to verify its validity. It seems ludicrous that the company can issue a ticket whose validity cannot be verified by their staff. Smart bus, though, and comfy and speedy once it got going
Written May 16, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

John Doe
1 contribution
Apr 2023 • Solo
Very inconsistent buss service. Often times you’ll be waiting 1-2 hours for an airport bus. I suggest working on consistency through the bus schedule. A developed app giving live time of the busses would be very convenient.
Written April 18, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback. We are currently operating an hourly service to and from the airport, subject to there being no issues with vehicles and traffic on route. Pre pandemic we operated a 30 mins service frequency which is much more attractive. Due to a decrease in demand and a shortage of drivers. we have been unable to return to this to date. Whilst we don't have a dedicated app for Air Decker our live timings and tracking is available through UK Bus Checker which is free to download on any smartphone. I hope this will help in future.
Written April 28, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lisa11111112
Bath, UK3 contributions
Jan 2023 • Family
The hourly service makes the trip from bristol airport to bath take up to 2-2.5 hours (1 hour wait + 1.5 journey time) - this is longer than flying from Geneva. It is also very difficult to navigate the uphill walk from the bus stand to the terminal, especially if it is raining. overall a terrible experience, which will discourage many people from using the bus to get to the airport. Poor value for money if more than one person are travelling.
Written January 6, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback and sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the experience. We used to offer a 30 minute service frequency pre-Covid, but due to the depleted international travel in 2021-2022 we had to revert to our old 60 minute service frequency. There is also a national shortage of bus drivers which is particularly prominent in the West of England, which impacts on what we are able to deliver service wise. We are optimistic that we will return to a 30 minute service frequency at some stage which understand is more attractive to travellers. I note your comments about the current drop off and pick up point for bus and coach services. This is a temporary solution whilst Bristol Airport build and complete their dedicated transport hub so this will change in the future. Once again thank you for your comments which we most certainly will take on board to further improve our service.
Written January 6, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SteeeeeveLondon
London23 contributions
Jun 2018 • Couples
I take this service a few times a year. It's never been anything other than mediocre. I always seem to get the same driver, who is possibly the grumpiest man on the planet. My friends and I have a running joke to try and get him to display the slightest hint of customer service. A hello. A smile. Something. Nobody has ever succeeded. The timetable is flexible with the notion of time. Even at 4am, it always seems to be a few minutes late. And you can forget any kind of apology from three-times cover star of Worst Bus Driver magazine if the service is late. You might get a glower if he really likes you. The bus costs £20 return from Bath to Bristol, about twice what an advance return on the Heathrow Express costs to Heathrow. There's nobody to talk to if it's late and no helpline to call. So only risk it if you have plenty of time. Ultimately, I take it because it's a bit cheaper than a cab and it's a lot more sustainable. And because one day, I hope to achieve the unthinkable and actually get the driver to crack a smile.
Written June 19, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that the Air Decker service wasn't up to your expectation when you travelled. We pride ourselves on good customers service and often receive praise about our drivers so to hear on multiple occasions that you have been unhappy with the driver isn't ideal. Please could you email in with details of the times and dates that you have travelled in the past, so that we may look into this. We look forward to hearing from you.
Written June 21, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

bristol bath local
Bath, UK19 contributions
Jul 2017 • Friends
Got this bus back from the airport and it cost two people £29 from Bristol to Bath single. Would've been better to get a taxi and might have even been cheaper. Guy driving was so so so rude, will 100% choose another travel method when going to BA in the future.
Written December 21, 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're sorry to hear that your journey wasn't up to expectation when you travelled. We would appreciate it if you could email in to us so we could get some further information from you.
Written December 27, 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 87
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Air Decker (Bath) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

Frequently Asked Questions about Air Decker



Air Decker Information

Excellent Reviews

40

Very Good Reviews

15

Air Decker Photos

1