Sub 13
Bars & Clubs
Read more
5:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Monday
5:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Thursday
4:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Friday
3:00 PM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
1:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Sunday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Write a review
About
Bath's premier cocktail bar serving the best cocktails in town since 2004. Big city style in an intimate, friendly environment. Sweeping leather booths and subtle lighting attract an intimate and vibrant crowd. And our hidden gem, the Perrier-Jouet Champagne terrace is a city centre oasis thats open till 1am and heated for the winter.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Reviews may contain information about traveler safety at this business.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
1,040 reviews
Excellent
815
Very good
109
Average
35
Poor
27
Terrible
54

G9566
Bishops Stortford, UK25 contributions
We came to Sub13 for post dinner drinks on New Years eve. Safe to say, the staff were beyond prepared for the evening: the service was faultless. We sat outside, and were able to seat ourselves and then were quickly greeted by a friendly waiter to take our first orders. I could no believe how efficient it was- never have I ordered a drink and have it arrive so fast! This was the case throughout the evening, and all waiters were equally friendly and funny. The DJ they had on, Soulful Sounds, was a great booking and suited the atmosphere very well. We've since looked up his playlists. I'd suggest Sub13 to others visiting Bath and think the staff should recognise that they really triumphed during what is essentially the most challenging night of the year. Their communication between each other must be incredibly tight, and it was really noticeable. Well done all!
Written January 4, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jess L
East Grinstead, UK1 contribution
Friends
We came here for a cocktail making class on a hendo and had such an amazing experience. The cocktails were delicious, Aamir was entertaining and constantly had us laughing, drinks were flowing and all the Hen's had the best time. Would definitely recommend-thank you Aamir!
Written September 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Jess L, So pleased to read about your cocktail making experience, really glad you had such a good time and thank you very much for taking time out share your review. Positive feedback like this is always a pleasure to receive so thanks! Hope to see you again soon, Tim Whelehan Director
Written October 1, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PhileasFoggIII
Norwich, UK10 contributions
Friends
Have spent a few weekends in the Georgian city and this place is a stand out venue! A great vibe, excellent cocktails, and packed with people enjoying themselves. A big thank you to our server Bea who looked after our group brilliantly, the bar was full and yet the attentive service made us feel like we were the only ones in there. Rocking!
Written December 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Chloe
Bath, UK1 contribution
Friends
I visited on a Friday evening without booking and was therefore expecting a long wait. We arrived at 19:30 and got seated at 22:25, nearly 3 hours, however we expected a wait and knew that it was open until 3am so didn’t complain and was finally looking forward to getting a drink.
During wait, we witnessed several people pushing into the queue which the staff did not keep an eye on and obviously extended our queue time. Also, whilst we were stood in line the gentleman at the door was incredibly rude to us. Staff kept coming over to shout “2m” at us when we were trying to keep our distance but other groups were pushing up against us. There was no need to shout, a polite reminder would have done fine.
After a very patient wait, we got seated out the front. Within minutes of being seated, without even having chance to order a drink, we were informed that this area was closing at 11pm. That was 30minutes. So we had queued for 3 hrs to be told we had 30minutes at our table so we were extremely disappointed. This should have been communicated to us whilst we were queuing.
We ordered one round of drinks on the app which had a service charge of 12/12.5% I think. This also seemed to be mandatory not optional?? I don’t think it’s ok to be made to pay that when I hadn’t received any ‘service’ apart from that one tray of drinks from a waitress. And for all I know that fee goes to the management!
There was also no communication regarding who was able to sit at the tables in the back? It seemed almost random selection.
Finally, to top everything off, we witnessed the rude gentleman at the door, push another gentleman down the steps. He then fell onto my friend (who actually injured his knee from the fall) and he fell onto some girls who must’ve also at least got a couple of bruises. The men were clearly in a disagreement however the younger lad did nothing to make the bouncer physically throw/push him down the stairs!

Unbelievable experience. Will not be returning.
Written April 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks for taking the time to publicly share your criticisms about our opening weekend. As you will know, we have been closed for four months, so were relieved to finally open and pleased that it was busy. Our team is under extraordinary pressure to conform to the ever changing COVID restrictions. For example, on the night in question our queue was observed by council representatives who ordered our security team to more forceful in enforcing the social distancing precautions that everyone should really be aware of by now. I am sorry if this seemed rude but when people do not respond to gentle reminders, we are legally obliged to become more forceful or risk being closed down. As you outline, our garden was indeed full from about 6pm, so we put into place our plan to use the pavement tables as a “landing zone”. On being sat down, tables were issued with tickets. These groups were then brought into the garden in the order they arrived, according to the size of the group. I can’t personally think of a fairer way to manage the process than that. Contrary to your review they were not selected “at random”. On being seated, everyone is given a ticket that clearly states when the pavement tables have to be taken inside (11:30pm) and when we stop taking orders (11pm). Whilst I would love to be able to make this later, we are legally prevented from doing so. The app adds a service charge, which can be removed on speaking to a member of staff. 100% of this service charge goes to our amazing staff, who were working flat-out to serve as many people as possible, and to get as many seated in the garden before the pavement shut as we possibly could. I must also refute your allegation that other guests were pushing into the queue. The only people who would have been admitted without queuing are the five groups we booked tables for on Friday. Finally, as to the security incident you refer to, the “rude gentleman” is in fact our highly-experienced and professional head door supervisor. The instance of verbal abuse to a member of staff that the ejected person committed inside the venue, along with his state of advanced intoxication, was certainly enough to warrant his removal. And his threatening behaviour at the door as well as inappropriate remarks to another female member of staff were quite sufficient fort him to be rebuffed in that way. I have consulted the incident book and there is no record of any third parties being affected physically by the incident - did your friend speak to management on the night so that first aid could be provided and apologies rendered? I am sorry if your experience was a disappointment, but when we have all worked so hard to make the reopening a success, to read comments such as this made online, rather than communicated to us on the night when we can make amends, or privately as constructive criticism, is something of a kick in the teeth. Yours, Tim
Written May 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Georgia H
1 contribution
Friends
Sub 13 was not what we expected for my friends 21st. After being told on the phone numerous times, we would have a private booth to ourselves, next to the DJ booth, 5 of us were seated around a tiny table in the corner of someone else’s party. A £30 booking fee, and a £250 minimum charge did not give us the standard that we expected! The manager Leo was disgustingly rude, and instead of offering a solution just argued with us and told us he would give our table to someone else who wanted it! We asked if the minimum spend could be revoked due to the huge disappointment but he told us there was nothing they could do as he doesn’t understand why we expected any more….although we expected what we were told we would get! He was comparing us to the people waiting outside, claiming we should be lucky to be sat here, although I can guarantee they weren’t asked to spend £250!
He not once apologised. He was far more concerned about buying shots for himself and the lady next to us, than resolving any sort of issue for anyone!
When asked where the DJ booth was, it was through a brick wall on the other side of the building!
Thankfully the party we were sat near left early and let us have the much bigger area that we originally paid for. Although other parties were allowed to take our seats completely free of charge, with no minimum spend at all?
Also, what we were told was a club, was a tiny dance floor absolutely packed and unable to get through!
Would not recommend this place at all! You do not get £250 worth of an experience, shocking customer service, and you are sold a fake reality!
Written August 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Georgia, Disappointing to be reading this after we went out of our way to mitigate your complaints about the location of your booking on the night. I am sorry that you misunderstood what you had been offered. This is what we emailed to your friend who made the booking: A table in the Large Vault - seats 6-28 people (this area may be shared with another group) • The large vault is in our basement club area, which is open until 3am with the DJ starting at 9pm • Click here to see a photo As you can see, we not only informed you that you would share the area with another group but you were sent a photo so you could see the space you were offered. It wouldn't be possible to sit in the room with the DJ because that is a dance floor! Instead you had a lovely table by the window in our large vault, and could access the dance floor (about five metres around the corner not "the other side of the building") at will whilst having a base for the night. You are right that other groups were seated at tables without a minimum spend, but these people had waited 2 to 3 hours in the queue and paid £5 each on the door, rather than walk straight in at 10pm. It is this VIP service for which you are paying the £30 fee and minimum spend! It is my feeling that you simply wanted us to refund your package cost (which you had already drank) and there was nothing we could do or say that would have made you happy. It is telling that this review has not been written by the person who made the booking, because they will be well aware that what you received on the night was exactly what they were offered and agreed to on the night. Such a shame you allowed this to ruin your night, when everyone else was having such fun! All the best, Tim
Written August 24, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Annon
4 contributions
Friends
I have visited Sub13 every Saturday for the past 4 weeks and on this ine occasion I was so so so disappointed. It was my birthday so the girls paid £150 for a bottle of vodka and we were moved onto a table reserved for Bath Rugby who were 45 minutes late for their table and only 2 of them turned up and they were happy for us to stay there. However the staff would rather let girls who are buying drinks for £8 stay and us to leave taking the bottle with us. I am so very disappointed. However Jamie was amazing and as a staff member he really brings the place up in ratings. Thanks Jamie 😇
Written June 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Annie D, I am disappointed, given the behaviour of your group, that you have decided to go public like this, because I now have to reply explaining your disgraceful conduct. Something I am usually loth to do. You were hopelessly intoxicated. In such a situation we are legally obliged to stop serving you, and we asked you to leave for your own safety and (due to Covid) that of your fellow guests. By this time you had started moving around the venue, joining other people’s tables and ignoring the social distancing rules that are in place for the safety of our staff and guests. One of your party was copiously sick all over the table and floor, at which point you decided to move to another table, which as you said was reserved for another group. You hid the reserved sign under the table, making a shameful scene when you were informed that we needed the table back. You became so abusive that you smashed two glasses and shouted in the face of management and security without wearing masks, before we finally managed to remove you from the premises. I find your conduct on the night absolutely disgusting. Whilst hospitality businesses like ours have struggled, re-opening with carefully planned measures to allow us to serve customers safely, people like you make a mockery of the rules and than take to TripAdvisor to publish complete falsehoods in order to try and damage our already fragile recovery. You should be ashamed of yourself. Please do not return to our venue - you are not welcome. Yours, Tim
Written June 22, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BJN
Chippenham, UK3 contributions
Friends
DON’T GO HERE. This place used to be really good and a fabulous atmosphere until a disappointing visit!! They now make you order on your phones where they internet is completely limited due to the area and you struggle to get signal. Each order you place, they charge you a service charge and you have no choice but to pay it as they say it’s the only way you can order a drink. The menu actually states that if you don’t want to pay if you don’t have to. After checking with the staff they said if we contacted them after our visit they would reimburse the £30.00 pounds to my account. After contacting the bar 3 times by email, they continue to ignore me. Just a way of scrounging more money for a service they don’t actually provide apart from collecting your glasses. Extremely overpriced disappointing and won’t be returning!
Written March 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi BNBN24, Thanks for your feedback. I am slightly confused because we have free wifi (without password or even a email sign up) throughout the venue to allow people to connect to our ordering app as well as browse their socials etc. Had you asked any member of the team they would have been happy to help you connect your device Ito that if you were unsure how to do so. You can also let a member of staff know you'd like to order without service, and they will take an order on a tablet, we would also have been able to refund the service if you had asked on the night. Unfortunately it is also not possible after the night because the tips have already been distributed amongst our hard-working team, who receive 100% of the service charge. Thanks, Tim
Written June 30, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JecRumsey
JecRumsey2 contributions
Friends
What a joke!? We were a group of 4 (30+ year old) women who waited outside for 90 mins watching group after group cut the que ahead of us - we asked the staff on several occasions when we would be allowed in only to be told they were dealing with it. Hugely disappointed we wasted so much time when no one cared about our custom. Took 45 minutes for our drinks to be served to us on the “waiting area” tables. No one cared and we felt completed disregarded and invisible. No amount of asking or pleasantries with the staff made them more inclined to let us in. Such a shame...
Written July 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi JecRumsey, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I have to be honest, we did not get it right when you visited last weekend. We have been getting to grips with an extraordinary situation, with unprecedented demand and capacity reduced to ensure social distancing, we have found things tricky to manage. We are learning each day however, and feedback like yours has enabled us to make changes and improve. Our normal smooth operation has been stretched by new ways of working: an app to place orders and pay for drinks, table service throughout, reduced capacity and expanded seating on the pavement. I can only apologise for your experience - you should not have waited so long for your drinks and you should not have been told that the pavement was a waiting area for the terrace or inside. Our security will no longer be saying this to customers, and we have taken on an additional four staff to ensure that our available tables are assigned quickly and efficiently. We have also dealt with the technical issues we suffered with the app ordering on Saturday night. I do not like to hear about anyone having a bad experience at Sub 13, but with these changes I am confident things will be better next time. I would therefore like to offer you a return visit when you and your friends will hopefully be able to experience our normal exemplary service. If you could contact us on 012225 466667 or email drinks@sub13.net to arrange this that would be great. Many thanks, Tim
Written July 29, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JMN
4 contributions
Friends
We booked a table for 16 of us for my daughters hen weekend .. we got there and the outdoor patio area was packed . We were shown to our area which was probably big enough for 10 of us. We were so squashed together we could hardly move on a very hot night! There were smaller hen parties who had larger areas than we did! We paid £250 for this (it included gin /mixers and bottle of Prosecco) but what should have been an enjoyable two hours wasn’t!
We were then moved to the VIP area which was great for us as we had room, but considering we are only allowed to sit outside together this was inside ! When we went to the toilet there were people wandering around without masks! It’s as though Covid didn’t exist! And at one stage a member of staff asked us if we would mind sharing the room with another group of people! Of course we said no to this ridiculous idea as there was only just enough room for the 16 of us!
On a plus the cocktails were great but not the night we were hoping for!
Written July 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Laura J
Bristol, England, United Kingdom5 contributions
Friends
Went to Sub 13 tonight for a birthday celebration. Had a good start to the night with some very nice drinks and good service. We got asked to move tables as our reservation time and run out and the waitress kindly set us up with another one. As we sat down we ordered another round of drinks and 30 mins later these has not arrived. I asked the server, who turned out to the the manager, where our order was and he informed me it was on the table. Some of our party had a simiar order provided a few moments earlier but ours had included a mocktail. I informed him of this and he proceeded to tell me it was still on the table. At this point I asked him if he was calling me a liar and he stated no but wanted to work with me to help resolve this.
I will not be returning to Sub 13 as I feel the manager did not address this issue in a professional manner and was very patronising. This was finally resolved when the gentleman who had taken an order confirmed they had not been delivered to our table.
Also the "optional" service charge is added onto the bill-customers should be asked if they want to pay this rather than having it added straight on.
Written January 22, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Laura J, Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I spoke to the bar manager you are referring to on the night, he is extremely level-headed and very experienced in helping to resolve issues. I have never seen him so shell shocked by rudeness, and in his own words he has never experienced such rudeness in his entire career. All he was trying to do was help resolve the issue, but was met with an aggression he actually found quite upsetting. I am sorry to have to say this but we have to explain our side of the situation for fairness, seeing as how you decided to write a public review. An optional service charge, which you can remove if required, is fairly standard practice. We always remove the service charge without question when requested by a guest.
Written June 30, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,037
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Sub 13 (Bath) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Sub 13

Sub 13 is open:
  • Sun - Sun 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
  • Mon - Wed 5:00 PM - 1:00 AM
  • Thu - Thu 4:00 PM - 1:00 AM
  • Fri - Fri 3:00 PM - 3:00 AM
  • Sat - Sat 1:00 PM - 12:00 AM


Restaurants near Sub 13: View all restaurants near Sub 13 on Tripadvisor