We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: | Bath, Bath, England
Phone Number: +44 1225 424609
Website
Description:

A trip to Bath Racecourse is an exciting and unique way to spend an...

A trip to Bath Racecourse is an exciting and unique way to spend an afternoon or evening with friends and family. Ideally situated on Lansdown Hill overlooking the picturesque City of Bath, Bath racecourse is just a short bus or taxi ride from the City centre and offers exciting flat racing and premier hospitality. Steeped in history we have been racing since 1811 and host 19 flat racing fixtures between April and October. With a variety of weekends, evenings and weekday meetings to choose from, including popular family days and music nights, a trip to the races is a perfect addition to your stay in Bath.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 123 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 30
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Fab birthday lunch at the races

My hubby booked Bath races for my birthday as a surprise. He booked the curry buffet and access all areas for the 10th September. When we arrived we went into a large marquee... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 days ago
f0xyf0x124
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 120: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My hubby booked Bath races for my birthday as a surprise. He booked the curry buffet and access all areas for the 10th September. When we arrived we went into a large marquee and I could see my hubby was a little disappointed and through we were going into the proper restaurant. However, after he got settled at our table... More 

Helpful?
Thank f0xyf0x124
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We visited on gentleman's day as part of a stag do in Bristol, you can get a shuttle bus from just outside Bath station so it's very easy to get to. Even if you're not into gambling, just being a part of the atmosphere and enjoying the food and drink available is well worth the trip. We had a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin C
bathracecourse, General Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your first racing experience with a visit to Bath Racecourse at our first ever Gentlemen's Day, it was a fun day with lots of positive feedback and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,021 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been to 30 racecourses in England now and Bath is a beautiful place, definitely in my top three. It helped that it was a beautiful day and we were able to sit oh front of the grandstand in seats which even though they were only a few levels up, gave great views of the whole course . An excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank LargelyMonk
bathracecourse, General Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are very proud that you rate us highly out of all the racecourses you have visited, we work hard to deliver a great experience. I will pass on your feedback regarding the beer and ales to our catering manager. We hope you will return to visit the racecourse again and enjoy a pint of... More 

lewes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and i visited bath racecourse on the 31st and we were very pleasantly suprised we had tickets for the roof top garden and it was fab the views were great and the staff were very helpfull i cant wait to return great venue great facilities and lovely course

Helpful?
Thank billmarylewes
bathracecourse, General Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your day and the new Roof Garden area. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we had our wedding reception here at the race course on the 16th of july this year, the day went perfectly due largely to the excellent support and preparation put in by Olivia and her whole team at the race course. our day had many things going on from tea and cake in the afternoon to a bouncy castle and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
bathracecourse, General Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful time celebrating your wedding at Bath Racecourse. The team were thrilled to work with you and your husband to make the day as special as possible. We all wish you the best for the future as husband and wife. More 

Upholland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went here on our trip to bath. It was ladies day and so busy. The weather was poor and so people were crowded in covered areas. We paid for grandstand tickets but didnt end up in there as there were no signs, I did ask someone and they sent me the wrong place. Basically this was very poorly organised.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 690bev
bathracecourse, General Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your experience, grandstand tickets would have only allowed access to the grandstand area, sorry if you found this unclear. Your experience leaving the racecourse was disappointing, we take health and safety extremely seriously, we had additional stewards deployed across the whole site and car park. The inclement weather did slow traffic leaving the site as quickly as... More 

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Attended ladies day yesterday, paid £65 for hamper experience, bar had very limited choice of drinks, no mixers no vodka in single shots however they would sell a 70cl bottle for £90, more choice in the marquee opposite apparently and only £20 a ticket. Drink prices were extortionate, £30 for a bottle of proscecco. 16 very disappointed ladies

Helpful?
Thank 57CHRIS57
bathracecourse, Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Sorry they did not enjoy their day, we price our drinks tariff carefully in line with other sporting venues. We are sorry that there appeared to be a miscommunication at the bar regarding the availability of spirits but understood this to be resolved on the day. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We bought grand stand tickets for ladies day, the stand is fine but with the weather so bad the people who paid only ten pounds for their tickets were crowding in it was so packed people were standing shoulder to shoulder, a real fire hazard.firstly we should have had tags to say we had paid this money has they had... More 

Helpful?
Thank polly057
bathracecourse, Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your experience however the £10 Centrecourse tickets are for a separate enclosure in the middle of the track and no ticket holders would have gained access to the grandstand area as all tickets are checked upon entry. We take health and safety extremely seriously, which is why we had additional stewards deployed at all bar entrances because... More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

My wife and I visited for evening racing and had a meal in the new Royal Pavilion restaurant in the new Langridge stand. Excellent vies from the viewing balcony and lovely food, friendly stff, prefer a smaller track where can get around it easily. Would recommend to any racegoers.

Helpful?
Thank Roosterbooster12
bathracecourse, Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your day at Bath Racecourse and we look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2016

We were holidaying in the area and went to an evening meeting could only get overpriced hotdogs or burgers not good choice when you have a wheat allergy. Not to good if cold or wet

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
bathracecourse, Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Dear Andrew We are extremely sorry for your disappointment with regards to the lack of gluten free options. We will take your comments on board to see if we could add some tasty alternatives! We do hope to see you soon and welcome your feedback. More 

Travelers who viewed Bath Racecourse also viewed

 

Been to Bath Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bath Racecourse and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Bournemouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Bath Racecourse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?