We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: | Bath, Bath, England
Phone Number: +44 1225 424609
Website
Description:

A trip to Bath Racecourse is an exciting and unique way to spend an...

A trip to Bath Racecourse is an exciting and unique way to spend an afternoon or evening with friends and family. Ideally situated on Lansdown Hill overlooking the picturesque City of Bath, Bath racecourse is just a short bus or taxi ride from the City centre and offers exciting flat racing and premier hospitality. Steeped in history we have been racing since 1811 and host 19 flat racing fixtures between April and October. With a variety of weekends, evenings and weekday meetings to choose from, including popular family days and music nights, a trip to the races is a perfect addition to your stay in Bath.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 120 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 29
    Excellent
  • 47
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Ladies day

We bought grand stand tickets for ladies day, the stand is fine but with the weather so bad the people who paid only ten pounds for their tickets were crowding in it was so packed... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed 6 days ago
polly057
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 117: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we had our wedding reception here at the race course on the 16th of july this year, the day went perfectly due largely to the excellent support and preparation put in by Olivia and her whole team at the race course. our day had many things going on from tea and cake in the afternoon to a bouncy castle and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
Upholland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went here on our trip to bath. It was ladies day and so busy. The weather was poor and so people were crowded in covered areas. We paid for grandstand tickets but didnt end up in there as there were no signs, I did ask someone and they sent me the wrong place. Basically this was very poorly organised.... More 

Helpful?
Thank 690bev
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Attended ladies day yesterday, paid £65 for hamper experience, bar had very limited choice of drinks, no mixers no vodka in single shots however they would sell a 70cl bottle for £90, more choice in the marquee opposite apparently and only £20 a ticket. Drink prices were extortionate, £30 for a bottle of proscecco. 16 very disappointed ladies

Helpful?
Thank 57CHRIS57
bathracecourse, Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Sorry they did not enjoy their day, we price our drinks tariff carefully in line with other sporting venues. We are sorry that there appeared to be a miscommunication at the bar regarding the availability of spirits but understood this to be resolved on the day. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We bought grand stand tickets for ladies day, the stand is fine but with the weather so bad the people who paid only ten pounds for their tickets were crowding in it was so packed people were standing shoulder to shoulder, a real fire hazard.firstly we should have had tags to say we had paid this money has they had... More 

Helpful?
Thank polly057
bathracecourse, Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your experience however the £10 Centrecourse tickets are for a separate enclosure in the middle of the track and no ticket holders would have gained access to the grandstand area as all tickets are checked upon entry. We take health and safety extremely seriously, which is why we had additional stewards deployed at all bar entrances because... More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I visited for evening racing and had a meal in the new Royal Pavilion restaurant in the new Langridge stand. Excellent vies from the viewing balcony and lovely food, friendly stff, prefer a smaller track where can get around it easily. Would recommend to any racegoers.

Helpful?
Thank Roosterbooster12
bathracecourse, Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your day at Bath Racecourse and we look forward to seeing you soon. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We held our daughters wedding here, the fantastic location and brilliant staff made a special day, very very special. Thank you to Olivia and Tom.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
bathracecourse, Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Dear Mr Auty, thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to host you and your family - what a beautiful day you had! More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were holidaying in the area and went to an evening meeting could only get overpriced hotdogs or burgers not good choice when you have a wheat allergy. Not to good if cold or wet

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
bathracecourse, Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Dear Andrew We are extremely sorry for your disappointment with regards to the lack of gluten free options. We will take your comments on board to see if we could add some tasty alternatives! We do hope to see you soon and welcome your feedback. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

This is a small friendly track with decent facilities - only downside is that the view office 5 furlong start cannot be seen from the stands and has to be viewed on the screen. Hopefully the new grandstand that is due to open soon will address this. Good value for money with decent food outlets and bar facilities... Albeit the... More 

Helpful?
Thank drudrew2015
bathracecourse, Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we're really pleased that you enjoyed your day. The comments you have made have absolutely been taken on board so thank you for taking the time to write to us. Our new Langridge Grandstand is now open and you're right, the view is fantastic. We hope to see you again soon when you're down from... More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Great evening for racing but unfortunately there was work going on so the new stand wasn't open. You can see it will be great when it does open as there will be plenty of room for more punters! Easy to park or if like us you have a minibus even easier! Food and drink expensive but as you are a... More 

Helpful?
Thank jules-n-gang
bathracecourse, Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you very much. The new Langridge Grandstand is now open and we'd be delighted to hear your feedback. The new 1811 bar is a fantastic edition with more indoor space and new eateries serving posh hot dogs, paella and much more from £5.50. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

We visited for a Friday meeting which was not too crowded. We were able to get food and drinks easily and enjoyed sitting outside in the sun. We could see the horses in the parade ring and wander round to the track when the race started.. If the weather had been bad there was very little shelter

Helpful?
Thank Jo L
bathracecourse, Manager at Bath Racecourse, responded to this review

Dear Jo Many thanks for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your day! You'll be pleased to know that we now have our new Langridge Grandstand which provides additional cover as well as new bars and eateries. We hope to see you again! More 

Travelers who viewed Bath Racecourse also viewed

 

Been to Bath Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bath Racecourse and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
11 months ago
Bournemouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Bath Racecourse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?