Albert's Shed

Albert's Shed, Shrewsbury: Tickets, Tours, Hours, Address, Albert's Shed Reviews: 4/5

Albert's Shed
4
12:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 1:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:00 AM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
About
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

4.0
40 reviews
Excellent
16
Very good
11
Average
6
Poor
2
Terrible
5

Cudds
Anglesey, UK5,884 contributions
Over zealous security and ………
Dec 2021 • Couples
Very popular place for live music , we paid £5 to get in and were searched a bit over the top and so many different types of security , on the door , inside , yes they have a job to do but their presence ( not all of them ) was of intimidation and escalation.
Remember they ( security ) are sober the punters who have come for a dance , singalong and enjoying the moment will have lots to drink , it’s a bar that serves alcohol and sometimes we can all get vocal and shout over the loud music , security need to be trained to de-escalate.
The music in the shed was good but what spoiled it for me was the price for the drink orders were never the same and when I pointed this out to one of the barmen he wasn’t happy , I did get a round in and the girl who served me the round price was right I asked her to show the price to the Barman and he was arguing with her.
Come off it the drinks system is automated , touch what you have ordered it’s fool proof.
Don’t get me wrong we have been here before , it’s a popular venue and we always have a great laugh but the over zealous security and round price issues took the gloss off our night.
Written December 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nicholas A
Telford, UK404 contributions
A dump!
Sep 2021 • Couples
Attended last night (Saturday) boiling hot inside toilets absolutely disgusting metal stairs wet and slippery making them unsafe and finally the young member of the security team showing his immaturity behaving in an ‘aggressive’ manner picking on one of our party members stating “I’ve told you 3-4 times to move out of the way” (fire exit) which was an untruth. His attitude when dealing with people who are in drink is the sort of behaviour which would cause problems rather than de-escalate them. Worst security staff member I’ve ever witnessed in action. Tbf ruined our night with his poor attitude whilst out celebrating a family event.
Written September 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Cudds
Anglesey, UK5,884 contributions
We loved the live music .........but
May 2021 • Couples
The live music was top draw , we loved it but the staff were a bit slow on the drink orders and the Covid doorman police were well over the top, they were always too much , asking people to sit down and not dance - well don’t hire a band and have over the top door staff.
They are over the top . Pushy & handsib
Written June 27, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Gigi
Shrewsbury, UK5 contributions
Best hub for music in shropshire
Feb 2020 • Friends
The shed is the only venue apart from stadiums and live music sessions where I feel that music is appreciated and the experience is made by the music and what you hear. It is like no other. The mood entering the doors the diverse decor from comfy and cosy to social, all the staff who are so helpful and love their music too, the shed as a Haven for music and a good cold drink to quench my thirst it deserves it's high acclaim from the people in shrewsbury. I have come here with my friends for years and will do so for much longer. On this night I came with my friends on an open mic night and the draw inside for so many musicians and music lovers,the entire experience was electric. Very heartwarming to be a part of. Being served by staff every time who are always happy and enthusiactic to help, feeling welcomed is so so important to me as it really makes a difference when I want to make memories with my friends even when it's busy it really does a little chat or a laugh whilst getting the drinks done. I was served with a kind smile after a long hard day and poured my favourite pint by a fellow with long dark hair, his air guitaring was so fun to watch listening to the music and got us in the mood for a dance. The only thing that made this a four instead of a five is the slight messyness of the ladies loo which can happen on busy nights, but mainly the floor around a booth we were sat around where my shoe stuck to the floor! Mustave been a previous customers drink, hilarious trying to fight the floor for my shoe back and took nothing from the night I just hope no stilletos get the same treatment as my trainers did. All in all, I'd recommend this venue to anyone who wants a night of music and great times to rememeber.
Written March 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hey, thanks for your kind review! You'll be pleased to know Albert quickly realised our new flooring was getting sticky and no amount of mopping was ever going to rectify the problem. We are now the proud owners of a fancy floor-scrubbing machine and there is no longer any danger of having to walk home barefoot after surrendering your Vans to the Shed floor 😉
Written March 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

gemma1982
Shrewsbury, UK40 contributions
Air con needed!!
Jan 2020 • Couples
Been to this place a few times now. Everytime I've been in, it is always boiling hot and very uncomfortable. Maybe invest in some aircon and I'm sure people would stay for longer.

Thanks
Written January 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Julie-Ann B
Welshpool, UK432 contributions
Great gig venu
Nov 2019 • Couples
We went to the Undercover Hippy gig. First time to this venue and very impressed. Loved the look, bar good, lots of loos so now waiting. Great sound and friendly staff. Bouncers present and active. We had a great time and will deffinately return.
Written November 5, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Anne W
Chester, UK18 contributions
Alberts Shed Shrewsbury is unique
Aug 2019
We visited Alberts shed bar in Shrewsbury on two occasions. On first night we saw a singer called Sam Draisey who had a wonderful voice, and played guitar. He sang some of his own songs as well as covers like James Taylor and Johnny Cash. Would go see him again. Next night we caught the end of the interactive quiz. Wished we had been there earlier to take part.
Alberts shed is really quirky inside, with old cut off cars and oil drums for seating. There is something on every night. It’s definitely a bar we will go to again when in Shrewsbury

Written August 6, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

nickj0nes001
Wrexham, UK58 contributions
Quirky
Jun 2019 • Friends
Certainly something different. Good range of beers, but the strong smell of disinfectant as you walk through the door was overpowering, spoilt the experience and what our group remembered the most. A shame.
Written June 23, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

NicD1980
9 contributions
Customer Service
Jun 2019 • Friends
It is very easy to malign bad customer service and the good gets ignored. However, on a busy night, I was served by a chap called Ben and he could not have been more helpful and professional. Refreshing. Keep it up!!
Written June 3, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for that, always nice to get positive feedback about a member of the Shed crew. Albert thinks of young Ben as the great-grandson he never had!
Written June 5, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Amy lewis
4 contributions
Rude Staff
Apr 2019 • Couples
Came to Shrewsbury for the first time with my partner. We poped into the bar for a drink at 8.10pm after a lovely day shopping and walking around in the sun. We said hi to a few people that we met earlier that day then went to the bar. The man behind the counter was called Ed, he straight away said “no I’m not serving you!”. We were so confused. I asked why and he said because you were just talking to the group of people. I explained we had only just met them and he said no you haven’t I am not serving you in here. Completely in shock by the rudest I asked to speak to the manager. So a supervisor came. She was young and wasn’t much different. SO RUDE. Didn’t listen to me, just said “what’s up”and Ed was in the background going don’t serve them. This was a real shame and actually ruined our day. The place looked amazing, it was quiky and clean but the staff really do ruin the place! I will never go there ever again because of this experience. I would say Ed needs training on how to deal with the public, and both staff need to listen more. If the group of people did something wrong why were they still inside?.
COMPLETE LET DOWN. Definitely need a new supervisor and Ed needs training!
Written April 21, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your 'review'. Unfortunately you appear to have failed to recall some of the details of your visit and, to be fair, this is often the case when someone gets as intoxicated as you appeared to be at the time of your visit. So please allow me refresh your memory. You called the Bar Supervisor Ed a "bell-end" and told him he was "sh*t" at his job. I think pretty much anybody would be reluctant to serve you after being on the receiving end of that abuse. You claimed that your companion was Bulgarian and spoke no English despite him having already conversed with staff in perfect English. The "supervisor" you refer to is actually the Assistant Manager and I fail to understand what her age has to do with anything. You claim she was "so rude" but all she did was attempt to explain to you why service had been refused. When you then proceeded to call Ed a "dick", you were informed that verbal abuse of the staff was more than sufficient reason for you to be refused. So I am a little sorry you feel your day was "ruined" however, you did upset a couple of the members of the team with your horrible attitude so shall we just 'call it quits'? Generally when people sign up to Trip Advisor solely to leave a negative review, it is in the hope that the business will take on board constructive criticism and improve so that future visits may be better. However you have stated that you will "never go there again" so I fail to see the motive behind your contribution. Maybe just another rant? At least this time it isn't being directed to someone in person and for that, we at the Shed are truly grateful.
Written May 5, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 40
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing