Owlerton Greyhound Stadium
Owlerton Greyhound Stadium
4.5
1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Sunday
1:00 PM - 6:00 PM
About
Experience the thrills and excitement of first class greyhound racing at Yorkshire's premier racetrack. Situated just 5 minutes drive from Sheffield's vibrant city centre, Owlerton Stadium is the perfect venue for partygoers, couples, families and companies looking for a fun and affordable night out with a difference.
Duration: More than 3 hours
Does not meet animal welfare guidelines
Tripadvisor does not provide bookings for this experience because it does not meet our animal welfare guidelines.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • Julie m
    10 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Night out with friends
    Had a lovely meal with a group of friends. This is our second visit.Staff and food exceptional. Although the night was spoilt by a group of "adults"on the table next to us -that were acting like 5 year olds, by throwing food at each other-but hitting other people on surrounding tables. The staff (not manager) dealt with it so well and made sure it didnt spoil our night.All credit to those young girls-well done.Shame on the childish adults who should have known better
    Thanks for your review! We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your night here at Owlerton Stadium, and apologise if other guests dampened your evening at all! We hope to see you again soon!
    Written July 31, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written July 16, 2023
  • Emily M
    Sheffield, United Kingdom79 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    A good night out with friends
    A decent night out with friends. Three course meal. Food was ok - came with a nice selection of vegetables. Quite traditional on the desert side - sponge pudding and custard, cheesecake - that sort of thing. Had a decent view of the dog track from the table and a runner came to us for bets. Drinks were waiter service so no queuing at the bar. Enjoyable and a little different. Will be going again. The only downside is having to pay ahead in for the meals when you book online. If you book over the phone then it’s £10 deposit per person.
    Thanks for your review. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your night! See you again soon!
    Written July 31, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written July 27, 2023
  • dalesalmon89
    Chesterfield, United Kingdom1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fantastic night
    We attended on Saturday night we hired a box it’s was great. The food was amazing no complaints from anyone. We were not aware that we could pre book buckets of beers. I questioned why we couldn’t buy the buckets on the night. I couldn’t understand why we could buy the beer at full price, as much as we liked but not at the discounted price.
    Visited July 2023
    Written August 1, 2023
  • Myloweb
    Stockport, United Kingdom137 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Entertaining
    Hired 2 boxes and took 40 staff and customers. The service for the bar was great and staff regularly came to see if we needed anything. The starters went down a storm with a little buffet style and everyone loved them. We then opted for Steak Pie Chips Peas and Gravy which was self service and plentiful. A really enjoyable night had by all and we will definitely return.
    Thanks for your review! We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your night here at Owlerton Stadium! We hope to see you again soon!
    Written December 14, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled on business
    Written August 2, 2023
  • Ben Lingard
    Rotherham, United Kingdom14 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Very good, only 1 issue. Would recommend!
    Came to Owlerton today (22/8/23) for the 3 course meal panorama restaurant deal. The venue is fantastic. Comfortable restaurant, lovely restaurant staff, food was nice enough. The entertainment is brilliant and as someone who had never been before today, I must say I will definitely be coming back. The only bad thing I would like to bring up is that the lady who worked at the betting station upstairs near the panorama restaurant was extremely rude. I personally had no issues with any staff all night, the restaurant staff that greeted us were lovely, the waiters and waitresses were very helpful and quick and everybody else were brilliant, however this lady was patronising to any questions we asked and was very reluctant to help. She may have been having a bad day, but I wouldn’t be surprised if there aren’t more complaints regarding this as I heard her speaking to multiple people like this. The offers are great, the info booklet you get is very in depth and the drinks are well priced. I must say this place is a 9/10.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written August 22, 2023
  • anirokuk
    Sheffield, United Kingdom88 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    A night at the dogs
    Been here a few times. It's a good night out. And extremely good value for money. 5 of use went for a birthday treat. £11.50 at ticket. Which includes. Entrance, free bet, free drink and chicken and chips meal. Plus if its the month of your birthday, and you take some I'd. You get in for free. It's well worth a visit.
    Thanks for your review. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your night! See you again soon!
    Written December 14, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written September 21, 2023
  • DianeSheffield
    Sheffield, United Kingdom239 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Retirement in the VIP box
    I booked a VIP box for my Husbands retirement party we just wanted a few select friends and what a choice it was from enquiry to the night everything was amazing. The staff in the office promptly replied to any request we had and put them in place and what can I say about the night all the staff were amazing especially our waitress Ellie who looked after us all so well. The food was brilliant the selection of starter's was perfect and then we booked the Traditional menu of the Steak and Ale pie as we thought it would appeal to most of the guest it was gorgeous so full of meat and the accompiments perfect. Thank you to all the staff in every department for helping give him the night he deserved after 45 years service at Royal mail
    Wow what brilliant comments! Thank you very much! We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your night here at Owlerton Stadium! We hope to see you again soon!
    Written December 14, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited September 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written September 29, 2023
  • frankbigley
    Hope Valley, United Kingdom44 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great night but the reception process is poor
    Everything is great apart form the reception process for the VIP boxes in the OEC. Clunky, a bit of a mess. Not suitable for old and infirm people. Food, drink and staff were all wonderful but they are let down by the process of actually getting to your box
    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food, drinks, and service during your visit. However, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the reception process. Your feedback is important to us, and we will work to improve the process to ensure a smoother and more accommodating experience for all guests. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon for an even better experience.
    Written April 22, 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited December 2023
    Traveled on business
    Written December 25, 2023
  • sim0nburns
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great night
    Went for a works Christmas party and booked one of the VIP boxes. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful throughout the night, always coming to take drink orders and bets - never an empty glass. The food was amazing and so much of it - definitely worth the cost. If you are thinking of going or booking a box I would recommend it.
    Visited December 2023
    Written January 9, 2024
  • Faye B
    3 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great night
    We booked to go for our works Christmas outing and had a fantastic night. The food was lovely and the people taking the bets were so helpful for those who hadn’t a clue. The only reason for the missing star is I had rang a few times before attending as I needed further info regarding food allergies and wanted to upgrade as it wouldn’t let me online and no one returned my calls. Overall a great night was had by all.
    Visited December 2023
    Written January 16, 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles900 reviews
Excellent
591
Very good
211
Average
45
Poor
24
Terrible
29

Hwalker2
Huddersfield, UK16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022
Took 22 friends and family to the dogs to celebrate my 80th birthday. What a wonderful venue. It's changed quite a lot since my first visit there 70 years ago. At the time, my uncle was the tote bookie, so my family has a long association with this stadium.
Food first : a great selection of pies, pasties prawns pickles with veg and sauces, all beautifully produced and presented. Followed by steak pie with peas chips and gravy all to die for.
Staff: friendly and smart ever helpful whether they just brought your drinks, food or took your bets.
Venue: a new set of boxes well appointed with oval tables and comfy seating. Complete with a perfect view of the track from a plate glass window or the large balcony all at the finish line.
Brilliantly organised. The whole evening for 22 people cost only around £550 including drinks and tips.
Value for money indeed.
Can't wait until I'm 85 to come again.
Written November 2, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We’re so glad you enjoyed it! We hope to see you again before your 85th birthday! We will pass on your amazing comments! See you soon!
Written November 16, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Courtney P
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Family
I booked a table at the owlerton stadium for my partners birthday, there was 10 of us going (including a baby) so was classed as a party of 9. When we turned up we were not directed to the bar area (we’d not been before) and kind of had to guess where we were going. Once we got to the bar I asked if we were in the right place the lady assured me we were and would take us to our table, well as a party of 10 I would have expected more than 2 separate square tables with 5 seats between them. I asked the lady if I could push them together she said that was fine and proceeded to let me push the tables together and arrange the chairs while she just watched. When I asked about more chairs I was met with an ‘erm I could maybe try and get you one from another table’ to which she proceeded to go and pinch a chair from one of the other tables. We still did not have enough chairs. My partner (whose birthday it was) stood up for the entirety of our visit even eating his chicken and chips stood up. After we’d got seated in a fashion I went to redeem our free drinks vouchers, the pints and the kids j20’s were fine but 4 of us were given half a glass of wine which I feel is not satisfactory and was not stated on the website whilst I was booking. Staff were also slow to clear tables however it was very busy so I can understand this to an extent. After all this I asked to speak to a manager, to which I was met with ‘well your booking was only down as 9’ to which I explained that there was not enough chairs to start with, he sort of offered to get another chair but we were leaving so explained it wasn’t necessary. He then said he could offer us a round on the house which we appreciated but still doesn’t make up for the fact this was a birthday night out which was not enjoyed by anyone as we were squished together and 2 of the party had to stand up. I was also disappointed to know there weren’t any high chairs so the baby had to sit in the pram to eat! I do appreciate I had rang up in the day to add on an extra child and the staff had to move our table but I would’ve rather been told they couldn’t accommodate the extra child than being squashed and not having enough chairs! Overall we had a really bad experience and will not be returning in a hurry.
Written August 22, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are truly sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction! Please contact via marketing@owlertonstadium.co.uk so we can address the issues raised directly with you.
Written August 24, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David M
Ipswich, UK154 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2022
Visited for a birthday Celebration, this is the time we have visited for the greyhound racing and both times did not disappoint.

This really is a great night out, the food in the restaurant is excellent quality and on a Tuesday night, £16 for 3 courses is most definitely value for money. Plenty of waiting staff around to cover all the tables, they are all very efficient, friendly and helpful, the same can be said of the tote runners.

Good views from our table on the lower level, however having previously sat on the middle level the views do appear to be good all around, there are also plenty of TV screens dotted around so you are highly unlikely to miss any of the action.

Will definitely be back to try and win back some money the next time we are in the area 😊
Written March 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wow what great comments! Thank you so much! We are so pleased you enjoyed your evening with us!
Written March 21, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Arthur l
6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019
We’ve been coming on Boxing Day for about 10 years and this year was ruined by the terrible food .
You changed the bacon for gammon which was not cooked properly raw in middle and it wouldn’t feed a child.
The pie Pastry was over cooked and not edible .
We have booked again but if it hasn’t improved it will be the last time.
As a party of 4 we useualy have a good time together but when you are spending a lot of money on a day out and
can’t eat the food it’s not a good day.
Yes we did complain to the waiters and was told they would report it in the kitchen and would get back to us but that’s the last we heard and when the collected the dishes nothing was said so we complained again but we are still waiting for a reply.
The Boxing Day brakefast should be what it says ,and needs to go back about 3years to that menu.
A very disappointing day out.
Written January 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

peter s
31 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022
We used to be regulars here 20 years ago but we could be regulars again after this visit ….the venue has improved dramatically over the years …it has a “ classy” feel about it ….the staff are very welcoming and efficient( mainly young people who are obviously well trained and managed) …the meal was excellent value and it was easy to have a tote bet as you enjoyed the racing .
This is a perfect fun night out but you must book ( especially for the restaurant ) as even on a Tuesday night there was a full house .
It’s nice to go downstairs at the end of the meal …have a bet with the bookies and take in the atmosphere .
Plenty of car parking (£1) makes for easy access and 15 races every Tuesday Friday and Saturday are ideal …..try it ….highly recommended .!!
Written November 15, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wow what a great review! Thank you very much! See you again soon!
Written November 16, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lindsay-and-Neil
Sheffield, UK1,121 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 • Couples
Although we enjoyed our experience, we left early as the Napoleon Bar was packed to the rafters, and during current times, that felt too unsafe as no one wore masks or even bothered social distancing at all. To us it felt too much of a risk as we were packed in like sardines. On a previous visit we'd sat in the Panoramic Restaurant and this felt fine as everyone was a reasonable distance apart.

The basket meal of chicken & chips was good and the racing great as always.
Written November 3, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit. If you would like us to look into this further for you please email enquiries@owlertonstadium.co.uk with full details
Written November 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

paul y
Chesterfield, UK79 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020
Face coverings were not worn inside the venue. We were in the panorama restaurant even though everyone was told when being seated that it was mandatory. Staff did not challenge the customers that were not wearing the face coverings. There were drunk people shouting with no face coverings and people were being asked to leave due to drunkeness.
Written September 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant albeit not quite the review we seek. Please be assured that whilst you may have observed some of our customers without face coverings, not all disabilities are visible and we have taken great care to balance the safety of our customers, staff, those who are vulnerable and those who are exempt from wearing the coverings. We have reviewed our CCTV from the evening and are quite happy in that our staff did challenge those without coverings and as you have pointed out, ejected one person who failed to comply
Written October 5, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Steviefox69
Batley, UK219 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022 • Couples
Having been before on a Sunday night and enjoyed our night we decided to visit last Friday and it was an absolute hell hole.

Indoor seating area/bar was absolutely full of families with kids running around with no supervision. The volume of noise was terrible, everyone shouting across the room to their friends, you couldn’t hear yourself think never mind hear each other talking. People were stood in front of the screens so you couldn’t actually see anything. There was a twenty minute wait for the bar when there was hardly no one waiting so completely missed one race.

A particularly drunk family on the next table knocked a glass onto the floor which completely smashed and that broken glass was left there all through our visit with the unsupervised kids running all around it.

Outside was no better, kids with no adults present running around bumping into everyone and at one point climbing over the fence onto the track.

Visiting on a Friday was a total different experience to a Sunday and we left after two hours as we couldn’t stand it anymore and I left with the headache from hell.

I wouldn’t visit again on a Friday, I’ll stick to Sunday if I return. Was not a good experience at all.

If you want an enjoyable night
Written October 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry to hear you didn't experience our usual high standards on your recent visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. If you would like us to look into this further for you please email enquiries@owlertonstadium.co.uk with full details
Written October 26, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ABP
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 • Couples
Last night we went to Owlerton for an 18th birthday.
I would personally like to give a special mention to Annie, who had an amazing sense of humour whilst taking our bets, she really made our night.
I would also like to give a special mention to a young dark haired chap called Aiden, who is so professional on every basis, he was always on hand to ensure our meals were as expected. As well as ensuring a constant flow of drinks was coming to the table.

I would like the managers of the two members of staff mentioned to acknowledge my review and give them the recognition they deserve.

Thanks.
Ash.
Written October 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Ash, Thanks for your great review, we will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff involved. Hope to see you again soon!
Written October 8, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Linda0154
United Kingdom19 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021
On Saturday 12th June, my husband and I attended the Owlerton Stadium Restaurant at Sheffield to celebrate his birthday. We had not been for a few years because of the service we had received on our last visit. Sadly, nothing had changed, both of us are physically challenged on arrival we found disabled access was not particularly good, but eventually found an old unreliable lift. On the first floor and were directed to a table behind a pillar in what had been a snack bar, it certainly was not the restaurant we had booked, the table was around 50 yards from the viewing window. My husband told the woman in charge, the table was no good as we could not see the course, she said there is a TV you can see the races on, she was told I am partially sighted and could not see the TV so far away and behind a tinted screen. She walked away.
I was distraught and wanted to leave but we decided as we had paid, we would wait for the 0meal. Wish we had not, it was disgusting, cold uncooked vegetables, and some of the waitresses had ponytails swinging around and should have had their hair tied up, so nothing had changed in that area. We did not see a dog at all that night. We left as soon as we could.
If I had wanted to watch dog racing on TV I would have stayed at home where I would have been able to see it, and my disability would not have been ignored. We left as soon as possible and we will not return. So, if you want a good night out do not go there.
Written June 14, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your visit to Owlerton but we would very much like to clarify a few points you have raised. The purpose built disabled access lift is in good working order and serviced frequently with daily inspections taking place as part of our opening up routine. The area you were in is adjacent to the main Restaurant and has been tailored as an extension of the Restaurant in order to facilitate our customers safely in line with current government restrictions during the pandemic. The furthest seated viewing point from the window is 7 yards. TVs are located throughout the bar, and Stadium to help facilitate viewing but it is noted this isn’t the same as watching the racing trackside albeit we aren’t currently able to facilitate free movement around the stadium unfortunately due to restrictions. It is truly a shame you didn’t mention your concerns regarding the food on the night as we can quite easily rectify any issues right there and then. There is little we can do after the event but I can assure you all temperature checks and food hygiene regulations were met and adhered to.
Written July 8, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 895
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Owlerton Greyhound Stadium - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All Sheffield HotelsSheffield Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Sheffield
All things to do in Sheffield
Casinos & Gambling in SheffieldAmusement Parks in Sheffield
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars