We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About The Fat Swan
Come aboard The Fat Swan and enjoy a decadent boat cruise. We are a grand party boat that is a great venue for hosting an array of special events to be celebrated on the Thames. The Fat Swan is decked out with luxurious fixtures and fittings and she is ideal for those looking to celebrate in styleSUPPER CRUISES EITHER GET A GROUP PARTY TOGETHER OR BOOK INDIVIDUALLY. Relax aboard The Fat Swan on a three hour evening supper cruise. The experience of cruising on the Upper Thames and enjoying some of the finest local restaurants food.This is a must for every one. Sit back and enjoy an evening on the river, drink a glass of your favourite beverage and watch the world float past. Pick up is in Caversham around 7 pm and you are dropped back around 10 pm. We offer Indian, Chinese, Thai and Fish and Chips - all the meals are supplied from Reading's leading restaurants.
Read more

The Fat Swan
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
13Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 5
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Suki wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
An absolutely awesome dining experience. The food Michelin 5 star delivered with excellent service. Spices in food were spot on. Melt in the mouth naan and beautiful authentic Indian food at it's best. You don't know what your missing.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Bridgeman42 wrote a review Sep 2013
Fleet, United Kingdom2 contributions
Read the reviews and hoped everything would be OK. It was. Jon greeted all of us and was very helpful to those a bit unsteady on their feet as we boarded for our afternoon trip. We had a very pleasant cruise up to Mapledurham Lock. We had an excellent tea on the return journey. Lovely sandwiches followed by scones, jam and cream. There was also a choice of teas or coffee. I could not fault the occasion and as far as I aware our organiser had no problems booking or contacting the owner. The only disappointment was the weather and you cannot blame Jon for that! Excellent trip and good value for money.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2013
Helpful
Share
Response from JonBoy8711, Manager at The Fat Swan
Responded Sep 29, 2013
Nice Review Thank you ..
Read more
AMA10_10 wrote a review Sep 2013
Maidenhead, United Kingdom23 contributions11 helpful votes
As one of a party of 'senior citizens' I had a wonderful trip on the Fat Swan. I would definitely not avoid it! The boat is beautifully finished and the food was very attractively presented. Loads of clotted cream for the scones too! Jon was very knowledgeable and it was a joy to sit alongside and hear some of the stories of the Thames.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2013
Helpful
Share
Response from JonBoy8711, Manager at The Fat Swan
Responded Sep 21, 2013
Thanks for a real review i am glad you had a good time we have had a few fake reviews posted on here
Read more
Rob S wrote a review Aug 2013
Reading, England, United Kingdom1 contribution9 helpful votes
We booked this boat in feburary for a surprise party in august. Initial response was good, with a tour of the boat provided. All seemed good, so we we paid £500 pound deposit. As the party date approached we were unable to contact anyone at the company. We also tried the owners other company all to no avail. We tried facebook messages, voicemails and visiting the boat on several occasions. We have had absolutely no contact at all. Luckly we managed to find another venue at the very last moment. As a result we have had to start a small claims proceedure. I would seriously recommend avoiding anything to do with the fat swan.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2013
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from JonBoy8711, Manager at The Fat Swan
Responded Sep 2, 2013
Another 1 review complaint...we have no idea who you are Rob you defiantly never had a party booked
Read more
kenworthytravel wrote a review Aug 2013
Reading, United Kingdom8 contributions7 helpful votes
Would love to give a big thumbs up to Sandy & Jon for a fantastic day out on the Thames on Sat. Everything was spot on, very accommodating,nothing was to much trouble.Many Thanks, we will be back for sure.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2013
Helpful
Share
Response from JonBoy8711, Manager at The Fat Swan
Responded Aug 9, 2013
Thanks Karl i am really pleased you and Leigh had a great day
Read more
Previous