Royal Cars Oxford
Royal Cars Oxford
2.5
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Monday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Tuesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Wednesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Thursday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Friday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Saturday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Sunday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
About
Recognised as the largest private hire service provider in Oxfordshire, Royal Cars have been family run since humble beginnings, with only 4 cars. they have been a staple of the community for 30 years. With passion and drive they expanded and now offer the most diverse service available. Currently Royal Cars boast a fleet of over 500 vehicles including 8 seaters, wheelchair accessible and executive vehicles, something for every occasion. Royal Cars is the greenest service in Oxford with a 75% Hybrid fleet. In an effort to offer the safest service in the region they have installed CCTV in all their company cars. Also, all their drivers are DBS (Disclosure and Barring Service) checked and have undergone a medical examination before being licensed by the local District Councils, your safety is very important to Royal Cars. We accept all types of work, from local runs to airport transfers to long-distance pickups and drop offs and weddings. Royal Cars for a Royal experience.
Duration: < 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


2.5
178 reviews
Excellent
51
Very good
4
Average
2
Poor
8
Terrible
113

Annette
Oxford, UK1 contribution
Feb 2020
I booked a taxi this morning from JR Maternity, after checking the fare calculator (which said the fare would be £5.90) I was expecting the fare to be around £5.90 to £6.50. Imagine my surprise when at the end of the journey I was charged £8.50. I had been at the hospital for 24 hours as my daughter was in labour so of course I was exhausted and just paid the fare, but I am not happy that the fare was almost £3 more than the fare calculator. When I used their live chat app to complain they must have checked their fare calculator and came back with the excuse that it was saying the fare should have been £7.50. I am not a newbie tothis company I have used them before several times for the same journey. I have usually paid between £5.70 and £6.90. I am not impressed and would rather walk than use this company again!!
Written February 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Oliver
Oxford, UK2 contributions
Jul 2021
Tried to book a car 12 hours in advance to travel to Park and Ride. Told by booking centre that we should leave 45 minutes to allow for drivers cancelling and refusing the booking in the morning. Clearly a very unreliable company if booking not possible and recommend that anyone needing to be somewhere reliably do not book using this company as they risk having their booking cancelled by the own companies admission. Other company in Oxford happily accepted same booking. Man on phone was also very condescending and rude and on questioning why drivers would refuse said "Do you not understand how this works".
Written July 28, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Robuk15
Oxford, UK3 contributions
Nov 2021
Booked taxis, PHV0240, driver number 334, kassam stadium to didcot. Drove dangerously, significantly over the speed limit. Over charged, quote £20.90, tried to charge £35.40 - paid after complaining, £30.

He then returned 20mins later, when I was in the shower, scared my young daughter by banging on window, shouting through the letter box etc claimed I hadn’t paid. I showed him receipt and app of my bank a/c with payment.

This man should not be allowed to drive a cab. More vulnerable customers could be put in danger.
Written November 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dan H
Cullompton, UK7 contributions
Dec 2021 • Family
Booked by phone and very accurate tracking online so looked like this would be a very good experience. However, when the driver turned up he was rude shouting at us all saying he would lose his licence if he picked us up. Apparently he could take a maximum of 8 people. There were, of course, only 8 of us and he wouldn't listen to this and continued to shout at us. Although some of us offered to get the bus instead he shouted at us telling us to get out and go away. Incredible that somebody could treat us in this way and on our first visit to Oxford. I would recommend using any other taxi company in the area as an alternative to Royal cars.
Written December 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lillibetjayne
2 contributions
Oct 2021 • Business
Use this company with caution. The first driver we had was great. Journey from the station to Hill End with 4 passengers and luggage, a hybrid car and lovely service for £9.50. The return journey, same trip with 3 passengers and luggage, a different driver tried to charge us £30. He had a selection of implausible reasons. Anything from 'covid' to he had to 'open the boot'. Appalling service, giving cab drivers a bad name.
Written October 4, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bryan Perry
1 contribution
Aug 2022
Awful experience. Pre-Booked 7 seater for 1115 to take us to a wedding for noon in Oxford town hall . Got confirmation by text. At 1120 I phoned only to be told they would get there asap. Phone at 1135 still not arrive. When pushed further saying we need to be on time they said they would try to find out where the vehicle was, only to be told they didn’t know how long it would take. I then insisted that they sent 2 taxis to get us there on time. They said they would try but couldn’t promised.Really terrible attitude. We eventually got two taxis and arrived just before the ceremony stressed out. Only to be told it would be a bit later as 13 people also were going to be late as they too were let down by this firm and had to catch a bus. Nightmare. Don’t rely on this company use another one if you need to get somewhere on time. Poor service no organisation.
Written August 7, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

margaret p
Oxford, UK498 contributions
Aug 2021
We have been using Royal's for years, (on average 3 taxies a week), prompt service by
polite drivers DBS checked, also you can request a lady driver. On request/pre-booking they have allowed our cats to travel, (in a secure Cat basket). We recommend 100%.
Written August 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

helenwhiting2018
Oxford, UK3 contributions
Jul 2023 • Friends
Absolutely dreadful experience with Royal taxis tonight. The driver tried to rip off my daughter by charging £36 to travel from Woodstock to Long Hanborough (3miles). The driver had already received payment of £36 to get to Woodstock from my daughters friend so really this should have only cost a few more pounds if you check online with their fare calculator! The driver was trying to justify this extortionate fee with a very convoluted tale of how the A34 was closed! Sorry mate but you don’t use the A34 to get to Woodstock and I fail to believe that at 3am the roads are gridlocked because of it! Fortunately the payment failed initially and the driver had to come back by which time the noise woke me up. What the driver didn’t understand is we have used taxis at this time before and are aware of the costs so his attempt to rip my daughter off failed. I offered £10 which he eventually accepted after some ‘persuasion’. I am very disappointed with Royal. I am one of their original customers from back when they started in 1991 and in those days rated them as the best taxi company in Oxford. This may just be a rogue driver but it’s completely unacceptable and needs addressing. Royal sort it out!
Written July 14, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Helen Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback and apologies for the experience you had with us. As a loyal customer we do not this experience to spoil the relationship we have enjoyed for so many years and would love the opportunity to make it up to you. If you write an email to feedback@royal-cars.com we will be more than happy to look into this and find a resolution. Apologies again for this experience and thank you for this feedback. Have a great day. Regards Royal Cars
Written September 29, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ANG
2 contributions
Jun 2020 • Solo
The person who answered the phone at the call centre was extremely rude. I was uncertain whether the building I was being picked up from is the main entrance of the establishment so I told the controller there was a nearby store as a landmark. He proceeded to belittle me for not knowing the name of the building and told me I need to look around and figure it out. Needless to say there were no signs to indicate exactly which building I was in and no personnel around to ask as it was after midnight. Horrible and disgusting service. Absolutely no sense what is good customer service.
Written June 21, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Iain G
1 contribution
Jun 2022 • Couples
Would just like to say a massive thanks to Royal Cars. We used them for transfers from our hotel in Botley to and from Blenheim Palace for a concert we attended at the weekend.
We booked in advance and not being from the area we were keeping fingers crossed that all would be okay.
I did ring and check on the afternoon out taxi was due to be met with a reassuring automated message that our taxi was booked, and then a text to confirm our driver was on his way.
After the concert finished we made our way to the pick up point, and began to wonder if it would be a free for all with someone else jumping in our taxi. There were several Royal Car drivers on the area and all of them were professional in asking to confirm your name with them.
We then received a call to say our driver was on his way, and then when he was in the area he made contact to arrange a meeting point.
Brilliant service and both our drivers were the ultimate professionals.
If in the area again would definitely use again and would highly recommend them.
Written June 19, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 174
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Royal Cars Oxford - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Cars Oxford

Royal Cars Oxford is open:
  • Sun - Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM



Royal Cars Oxford Information

Excellent Reviews

51

Very Good Reviews

4

Royal Cars Oxford Photos

14