We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brewhouse Yard Museum

Brewhouse Yard Castle Boulevard, Nottingham NG7 1FB, England
+44 115 876 1400
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A Nottingham must-see (but only open weekends)

I think this is officially called The Museum of Nottingham Life, but it's located on Brewhouse... read more

Reviewed August 17, 2017
griffinkate
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Very interesting..

Thoroughly interesting and enjoyable museum, actually would rate this higher than the castle. Well... read more

Reviewed August 12, 2017
Karl T
via mobile
Read all 208 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good31%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
LOCATION
Brewhouse Yard Castle Boulevard, Nottingham NG7 1FB, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 115 876 1400
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"nottingham castle"
in 22 reviews
"air raid shelter"
in 10 reviews
"school room"
in 5 reviews
"castle ticket"
in 5 reviews
"victorian kitchen"
in 4 reviews
"walk down memory lane"
in 3 reviews
"chemist shop"
in 3 reviews
"weekends and bank holidays"
in 3 reviews
"step back in time"
in 7 reviews
"cobbler"
in 3 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 3 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 10 reviews
"interesting place"
in 4 reviews
"free entry"
in 5 reviews
"ye olde trip to jerusalem"
in 4 reviews
"staff were very helpful"
in 3 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 3 reviews
Filter

21 - 30 of 206 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2017

I think this is officially called The Museum of Nottingham Life, but it's located on Brewhouse Yard, hence the confusion - on our visit Google Maps seemed to think it was two different museums! Anyway, it's very well worth a visit. There's so much to...More

Thank griffinkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath G, Guest Relations Manager at Brewhouse Yard Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Brewhouse Yard. We are very proud of our volunteers and the contribution they make. I am so pleased you enjoyed you visit with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly interesting and enjoyable museum, actually would rate this higher than the castle. Well laid out and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend it. Charming little museum depicting Nottingham life, particularly liked the little chemist shop.

Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath G, Guest Relations Manager at Brewhouse Yard Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thank you for this review. And for you recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

My children really enjoyed this visit, they really liked listening to the lady explaining to them about how life used to be in the old days. Also looking st the old toys that children used to play with.More

Thank woolleywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath G, Guest Relations Manager at Brewhouse Yard Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Brewhouse Yard. I am so glad your family enjoyed it. I will pass on your comments to Our Cook Avi. Who is our pride. Not only does she give her time to volunteer but she is registered...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2017

Loved this museum, there's something here to interest everyone and staff are very helpful.Wish it was open more often. Feel the fee of £2.50 is too low. Suggest £5.

Thank angie562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath G, Guest Relations Manager at Brewhouse Yard Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Thank you for your comments. It's rare people recommend raising the entrance fee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

After booking tickets for the castle it was a little frustrating to find out as soon as you get in that it isn't a castle anymore. On our way out someone told us we could use our tickets to visit Brewhouse. It was the best...More

Thank ailsahewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath G, Guest Relations Manager at Brewhouse Yard Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

I am so glad you enjoyed our museum. Thank you for taking the time to write this review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017

Our Justice Museum ticket took us in here the following day where friendly engaged staff talked us through exhibits when we asked, and didn't press themselves on us when we didn't: perfect. Some had personal experience of the early C20 kitchen on display. Lovely little...More

Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath G, Guest Relations Manager at Brewhouse Yard Museum, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

I'm glad you were able to come back with your castle ticket and enjoy Brewhouse. Sounds like you met our cook in the kitchen. More remarkable because our cook is registered blind and yet she is able to receive such praise. She is truest inspiational

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

The houses and caves are themselves a good visit but the volunteers made the exhibits alive. The shop was a super glimpse into pre supermarket days. The children's toys through the ages on first floor brought back many memories. The attic floor has shop Windows...More

1  Thank Peelgirl1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath G, Guest Relations Manager at Brewhouse Yard Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Brewhouse Yard Museum. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017

This I found was better than the castle, lots to do interesting recreations and lived in caves that back onto buildings that you could imagine living in. If you go on the right day it's free as the city council have done the odd free...More

1  Thank cameron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath G, Guest Relations Manager at Brewhouse Yard Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our little museum. I am glad you enjoyed the caves. They are a real surprise when you visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017

Our visit was an "add on" with the visit to the Castle. It really should be the main attraction. Far more interesting and the staff are brilliant. After being disappointed at the Castle, this made our day. Can you remember, I had one of those,...More

Thank ingerps2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath G, Guest Relations Manager at Brewhouse Yard Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

I'm glad that we were able to save the day and that you enjoyed your visit with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017

I have rated it "poor" only because it only opens at weekends and we were there mid-week. Surely in the summer months this museum should be open?

Thank Cavershamroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath G, Guest Relations Manager at Brewhouse Yard Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

I am sorry you were disappointed and hope that you will be able to return at another time. we are hoping to address the issues in the future and opening hours are one of the things we will be looking at

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 41 hotels in Nottingham
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
770 reviews
.20 miles away
St James Hotel
776 reviews
.21 miles away
Yardleys Restaurant & Hotel
2 reviews
.23 miles away
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel
1,392 reviews
.24 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Cumin Restaurant
1,512 reviews
.17 miles away
World Service
908 reviews
.13 miles away
Fothergills
525 reviews
.13 miles away
Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem
427 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Nottingham Castle Museum & Art Gallery
1,905 reviews
.16 miles away
Castle Rock Brewery
15 reviews
.28 miles away
The Robin Hood Experience
39 reviews
.18 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Barbara S
May 28, 2017|
Answer
Response from Kath G | Property representative |
Sorry for taking so long to reply. I am sorry but at the moment Brewhouse Yard is only open 12-4 at weekends.
0
Votes
Lauren A
January 22, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kath G | Property representative |
Yes the caves are part of the museum and there is no extra charge to see them
0
Votes