Hexham Racecourse

Hexham Racecourse: Hours, Address, Hexham Racecourse Reviews: 4.5/5

Hexham Racecourse
4.5
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Write a review
About
Hexham Racecourse is a thoroughbred horse racing venue located in Northumberland (UK), where a warm and friendly welcome always awaits you. Hexham Racecourse takes full advantage of a natural amphitheatre of sloping grass below the stands to provide superb viewing of racing as well as the magnificent surrounding countryside. Hexham Racecourse has its own Caravan Park for tourers and tents a three bedroom Lodge to rent and Static Caravans for sale.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
82 reviews
Excellent
45
Very good
30
Average
2
Poor
4
Terrible
1

johnwhite18
United Kingdom640 contributions
First time at the course it’s fantastic place great views across outstanding staff a credit to the industry we are both members at Ludlow race course and Hexham just as good we had 3 nights at the on site touring park at £20 a nights nice shower block and toilets but you need to time going there it’s only has two showers apart from that we will make to trip up the 172 miles from home
Written June 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your lovely review John we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very pleased to hear that we are as good as Ludlow. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards from the management team. Just to point out to others that there are two ladies showers and two gents just incase someone thinks we only have two in total.
Written June 25, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Graham S
Hexham, UK106 contributions
Couples
First timer at the races, called with friends for ladies day and what a great day we had, loads of people having fun, the bars were busy but waiting time to get served was only a couple of minutes, well done to all the staff, they were all professional and friendly helping with my experience of the races. Will definitely be back as it was so much fun. Didn't win my fortune but did have a win and the atmosphere was great.
Written June 24, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your recent visit to Hexham Racecourse on Ladies Day. Many thanks for sharing your feedback as this allows us to continue to improve the raceday experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Written July 1, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

joesE1724LU
Cumbria47 contributions
Friends
We have attended the Pavilion restaurant many times over the last few years and yesterday was the best yet and previously it was always very good. The choice for starters was great and replenished often. The carvery was very good and excellent choice of veg. The desserts and cheese board also excelled. The staff were very good and never let our glasses get empty. Accompanied by great Tote staff and a great days racing.
Written May 12, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Pavilion Restaurant. We will pass on your comments to the rest of the team. Many thanks for sharing your feedback as this allows us to continue to improve the raceday experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Written May 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

pjags
Darlington, UK115 contributions
Couples
Before racing we always visit the town first, parking is free in Tesco for up to 3 hours so you have a reasonable amount of time to look around and get something to eat or drink. On this occasion it was impossible to get a table in Weatherspoons which is always very full on race days.
From the town centre it is a short drive up to the track, there is ample parking.
When you get here not only will you notice the wonderful views but you will also notice the drop in temperature so it is advisable to have an extra layer.
Entrance was £12.00 into the paddock, great value for seven races.
The parade ring is very central with excellent views across the course.
The bars and cafe areas are small and can get quite busy here.
Hot drinks are £2.00, hot chocolate is available although not listed, they also serve a nice soup and a roll.
In between racing you can spend your time just taking in the scenic views and atmosphere, great course, dogs allowed.
Written May 5, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful countryside views that surround our wonderful racecourse. Many thanks for sharing your feedback as this allows us to continue to improve the raceday experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Written May 13, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

dawn a
Liverpool, UK51 contributions
Couples
As frequent visitors to the races we decided to visit Hexham, as we hadn’t been before.
The course is situated deep in the countryside overlooking rambling fields, but for our visit we couldn’t take advantage of the views due to the pouring rain. Thankfully this didn’t put a dampener on our day.
We booked a table for two in the Henderson Suite and we were really pleased with the service, our waiter and was always on hand to fill our glasses!
The food was really nice, the starters were plentiful with a great choice, that goes for the carvery, choice of curry or a vegetarian option for our mains and then numerous choices of dessert followed by cheese & crackers. I have to admit we were stuffed.
The ladies on the tote were very pleasant and all in all couldn’t fault our day....
Written October 14, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your recent visit to Hexham Racecourse. We will pass on your comments to our caterers. Many thanks for sharing your feedback as this allows us to continue to improve the raceday experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Written October 19, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bucketlist R
Ashton in Makerfield, UK464 contributions
Couples
Set in an absolutely gorgeous landscape this racecourse is a classic for racing fans. On a glorious and sunny day there’s plenty of space for you to set up your chairs and picnic rugs to enjoy the experience. You can get up close to the horses being saddled and the parade ring too. Look out for the popular and successful jockeys and trainers for a win that completes the perfect day.
Written June 2, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your recent visit to Hexham Racecourse. Many thanks for sharing your feedback as this allows us to continue to improve the raceday experience.
Written June 26, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Borderblade
Borders,Scotland28 contributions
Friends
We visit Hexham Races a couple of times a year and the same problems are there that have failed to be addressed. The gripes I complained about last year are still going on, and yesterday s meeting (Heart of all England) showed a few more. Down stairs bar, horrible pint of lager, badly poured, had to send a pint back twice to get it filled properly, and saw others doing the same. The John Smiths was fine. Spoke to some ladies on a 40th birthday celebration day out ,they had asked for a bottle of prosecco and were amazed to be told they don't have any. When there are large groups attending on a fun day out, surely one of the most popular celebration drinks should be available? We went to the upstairs bar which was better straight away as they had actual real glasses not plastic ones,You could get food in the corner.next the bar, But I was amazed to see a large bag of rolls just lying on the ground which was being stood on by the waitress as she worked. The sound system downstairs isn't good enough either, you cant hear anything unless you go into the toilets. The tv screens show some races from other meetings ,but you hear anything, and as soon as the winner crosses the line,it cuts to advertising weddings at the venue. So punters cant see results anywhere which is annoying if you have put on bets at various courses , The tote guys can tell you numbers that have won but not names of horses. I would suggest one screen be used showing the results of the day. Entry at £20 to get into the club enclosure is actually more expensive that York's fantastic Grandstand with all it's facilities and Kelso is around £3 cheaper, and it usually has better quality racing on show. Hopefully the sound will be sorted out soon,and we can see the results somewhere in the bar area.
Written May 1, 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your visit to Hexham Racecourse. Your comments regarding the service on the bar have been passed to our catering team. Unfortunately our TV coverage is governed by SIS who try to keep the results of each race on the screens for as long as possible.
Written June 7, 2016
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brianthelion
Birmingham, UK2,245 contributions
Solo
Fabulous first visit to this excellent course. Free coach from station to track and back a big bonus as it's isolated.
Classic country track with a mish mash of facilities being employed as best they can with Covid demands.
I had club ticket which has a nice bar with ultra warm radiators a major bonus.
Lovely setting and staff were as helpful and friendly as you could hope for.
I'll be back.
An easy must do recommendation.
Written December 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your lovely review, it's always good to hear that you had a helpful, friendly welcome. Do hope we see you return to Hexham. Regards Lynn C
Written June 18, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Riff G
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK56 contributions
This review is regarding the campsite, rather than the racecourse.

On the flyer that is issued to campers, among other things it states "Please respect the privacy of others whilst on the park and keep noise to a minimum." What an absolute joke!

We had finished pitching our tent when a party of around a dozen chavs (aged about 4 to 60) turned up. Now, I don't like to judge people on face value and will give people the benefit of the doubt. However, my worst fears were confirmed.

They were pitched in two large tents and one fishing tent rather close to us (plus a small red tent which sneaked on later then sneaked off before any staff turned up the following morning) .

From the moment they arrived, they never let up with their racket. They had the audacity to ask us if they were too loud, (talk wise or music). We said they were a bit loud so they agreed to switch off their music as we were going to bed shortly (around midnight).

However their voices continued and at 01.10am, their repetitive chavvy music was turned back on louder than before. Also, their conversations got louder, swearier & more shouty. This went on until 03.00am when one drunken member of the group said he was going to drive home. At 04.10, an alcohol/drug-fuelled domestic dispute between a rather foul mouthed couple began. Nice!

We told the group a few times throughout the night to keep the noise down.

At daybreak, the whole brood began to talk louder again without any due care or consideration to other campers. We could also smell cannabis being smoked. I even heard one shout out laughing to his mates to "be quiet or they’ll keep people awake", which received a jeering laugh.

This group of individuals should never have been allowed anywhere near a campsite as they obviously can’t behave in a considerate way. The sneering, mocking looks we got proved to us that they knew what they were doing and didn’t care, even after the site manager (when we eventually managed to contact him) had words with them the following morning. They really should have been evicted from the site there and then.

Had the group not been due to leave that following morning, we certainly would have packed down our tent and requested a refund for our second night. Some of their party hung around until midday before leaving. We were afraid to leave our tent unattended whilst they were still present as I dread to think what they would have done to our possessions in our absence. Just what we needed when we were already tired, angry and weary at the hands of these idiots.

Trying to contact staff "out of hours" or even during daytime hours is nigh-on impossible (either not answering or no voicemail). Most other campsites have an emergency contact number, but not here.

The toilets and showers are clean (although water spills on the floor in the shower due to their shape and design) and the view is nice.

But if unvetted (and un-evicted) chavs are typical of the clientele that stay there, we will not be back!
Written July 30, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Many thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor. Please would you contact the Racecourse Office on 01434 606881 to discuss further. Many thanks, Hexham Racecourse
Written August 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

freddiedoncaster
Stockton-on-Tees, UK2,451 contributions
I’ve just returned from a two day trip to Northumberland and I just had to visit Hexham races again!
It literally is the racecourse in Britain with the finest views.
Although it was one of the coldest days of the year i still managed to take shelter in one of their bars, especially the one in the club enclosure as the views from there are outstanding.
What I did find interesting was the fact that they don’t have a grandstand, however this doesn’t deter from the what always is a wonderful day out.
Written December 13, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Hexham Racecourse.
Written August 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 82
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hexham Racecourse

Hexham Racecourse is open:
  • Mon - Fri 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM