Tockwith Skidpan

Tockwith Skidpan, York: Address, Phone Number, Tockwith Skidpan Reviews: 2.5/5

Tockwith Skidpan
2.5
Popular mentions

2.5
54 reviews
Excellent
13
Very good
6
Average
2
Poor
8
Terrible
25

Simon B
Horbury, UK14 contributions
Years of driving experience packed into an hour!
Aug 2021 • Family
My 19 year old son loved it, he had an hour with a fantastic instructor who rearly knew his stuff and how to teach car control. He now knows what to do when he hits something slippery, years of experience and potential expense packed into an hour!
To be clear if you are looking for an experience to turn up to in your white trainers this may not be for you, it's functional, oily and all the better for it!
If you want to learn how to control a car whilst having an absolute blast I'd thoroughly recommend.
Written September 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jewel1701
Knaresborough, UK9 contributions
Junior Experience
Dec 2020 • Family
My son turned 13 today. He has a love of cars and wanted a junior driving experience. We couldn’t fault it. Elliot loved every minute, he was taught so much in the hour by Simon Moore the owner. Elliot has not stopped talking about it and can’t wait to sample the karting, super cars and skid pan. Thank you TMS.
Written December 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Alfie1210
Chipping Norton, UK24 contributions
Such a laugh
Jul 2020 • Friends
Had a great laugh using the skip pan!! Very slippy and good to practise your car control. Staff were friendly. We had lots of fun and will return in the future.
Written July 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Andy
1 contribution
Poor quality
Jul 2020
Arrived to find a very rude lady on reception. Said driving was shut but website said open! Let us go on but was unhelpful and grumpy. Track was full of potholes and wrecks your car. Avoid!
Written July 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

FrenchPerson
Leeds, UK287 contributions
Tockwith driving experience
Jul 2019 • Solo
5* from me as it seems they’ve had some bad reviews unfairly... came today for 1h30 of driving practise (in my own car). Expected potholes as have read the reviews - must admit its a bit bumpy but at least the straight road is smooth. Great place to practice in between driving lessons like I am and at £20 for an hour and a half that’s great value for money. I will definitely come back in between my driving lessons for a bit of basic practice eg pulling out, stopping, roundabouts, reverse parking. Great facility I’d recommend to all and nice and quiet on a Sunday morning. Staff member in the office was really polite too and talked me through everything. Thanks.
Written July 28, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad the facilities are of help to you whilst learning to drive.
Written July 29, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Angela123614
Sheffield, UK10 contributions
Ferrari Experience booked with Driving Gift - Absolute rubbish
Apr 2019 • Couples
My daughter booked a Ferrari Experience for my husband's birthday on 27 April 2019. We drove all the way from Barnsley to York only to find absolutely nothing!! After driving and searching for the venue we eventually came across Tockwith Skid Pan who told us that Driving Gift hire the venue from them. The telephone number which we have used in the past to book the time etc is now not in use. SO PLEASE DO NOT HAVE ANYTHING TO DO WITH DRIVING GIFT. We seem to have lost our money for the actual Ferrari experience plus the wasted time travelling and the money wasted on our petrol. If anyone knows if they are still in business please let me know. PLEASE BE AWARE OF THIS SHAM FIRM.
Written May 22, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello I am sorry that you had a wasted journey. Driving Gift used to use our facilities. They have not done so since November 2018. This is when as far as we aware they stopped trading. We have had numerous people contact us to in relation to DRIVING GIFT. The only advice that we can offer is if you purchased the voucher directly from them there is no way of getting into contact with them. If you purchased it from another source then we suggest you contact them and explain the situation. If the voucher has not already been redeemed then you should be entitled to a refund. Please note that Driving gift have nothing at all to do with the Tockwith Centre nor the Skid Pan.
Written May 23, 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

bryan p
Kingston-upon-Hull, UK142 contributions
Wrong place
Sep 2018 • Family
I realize tockwith skid pan is different from drive gift I believe people are giving bad reviews for drive gift and I apologize to skidpan because today my son did drive gift and it looks nothing like so span so I apologize to owners of skidpan and suggest you sort website out as I can see people are giving bad reviews but it's to do with drive gift
Written September 15, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Thank you for your response. Yes unfortunately we do get back reviews for the drivinggift events because people just post on trip advisor under Tockwith and that automatically gives use the reviews. We also do get good reviews for the driving gift events both of which are always passed onto them.
Written September 17, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

CJones1088
Huddersfield, UK39 contributions
Badly organised
Sep 2018 • Couples
Terrible organisation and next to no facilities. Booked for my partner as a little surprise wish I hadn’t wasted my time. You are asked to arrive half an hour early which is pointless as it is at least an hour and half before you can even drive the test car.

Avoid Saturday morning as they appear to overbook the juniors and you are just waiting around. There’s no communication about what time you’ll be driving apart from an hour slot (which was not met) and waiting for your name to be called. It looked if you queued up you got to drive the test car earlier but you were not told to do this.

I brought at a discounted rate and it’s clear why it was on sale, my advice if you’ve booked this would be to try and get a refund and save your money to put towards a properly run driving experience. But it’s definitely put me off anymore in the future.
Written September 15, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello Thank you for your review this will be passed onto Driving Gift who are the company that you had the experience with Please may I just mention that this company has nothing to do with Tockwith they just hire the circuit to run their events on. This review will be passed on to Driving Gift.
Written September 17, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ljs250876
Driffield, UK30 contributions
RIP OFF
Aug 2018 • Family
Bought his for my son for an experience in a GTR was cancelled twice due the car being broken, re chose a Ferrari.
Arrived at the venue and GTR was working, stayed with the Ferrari and he was accompanied by an older gentleman who clearly thought it was a Sunday as he never reached over 30mph.
Small circuit total rip off

Do not waste your money perhaps Red Letter Days would be more worth it.

Very amateur set up.
Written August 4, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello You came on a driving gift day to drive a sports car. These days are not run by tockwith but by DRiving GIft Ltd Your comments will be passed onto them
Written August 5, 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SunniHull
Kingston-upon-Hull, UK89 contributions
Excellent experience
Jun 2018 • Couples
I had a four car (6 laps in each) gift experience.
The staff were all very professional, really friendly and it all ran on time perfectly. As the only female I was a little nervous but each of the instructors put me at my ease and seemed genuinely enthusiastic, each giving their own unique advice on how to get the most from each car. Weather was lovely and I do think this of course added to the overall experience. The only very minor downside is the track is relatively short in my opinion(although I don't have anything else to compare it to) and it would've been better to have had longer sections to get real speed up.Venue is very basic and I would suggest not really suitable for taking kids. If poor weather there isn't really much coverage for spectators or when waiting to go in the next car.
I would definitely do this again and think it was worth the money.
Written June 11, 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 54
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing