We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

York Boat Trips (YorkBoat)

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: The Boatyard Lendal Bridge, York YO1 7DP, England
Phone Number: +44 1904 628324
Website
Sunday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Description:

YorkBoat are delighted to offer a unique perspective of York on-board one...

YorkBoat are delighted to offer a unique perspective of York on-board one of our comfortable riverboats. We have something for everyone including sightseeing trips,BBQ cruises, relaxing lunch and dinner, party cruises and self-drive boats. Escape the city rush and relax with YorkBoat. All of our vessels have fully stocked bars, open top decks,and toilet facilities. Finalist in the 2012 Visit York Awards for Outstanding Customer Service.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 534 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 217
    Excellent
  • 193
    Very good
  • 71
    Average
  • 28
    Poor
  • 19
    Terrible
Trip on the Ouse

Very informative and well worth a visit? Guide pointed out all of the historical features and where to get best photos of the Minster

4 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Davy S
,
Wootton Bassett, England, United Kingdom

Similar Things to Do in York

Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 528: English reviews
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
678 reviews
393 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

A good hour on the river with open seating on a lovely day. The commentary was both informative and amusing. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Maxim123153
YorkBoat, Guest Relations Manager at York Boat Trips (YorkBoat), responded to this review

Thank you so much for the 5 * review, we really appreciate your feedback More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Went on afternoon trip on the Ouse which we had booked online. I had read the terms & conditions which said we were unable to print tickets out more than once and if we didn't we would be unable to use photo evidence. The ticked didn't print properly so we turned up anyway as the office was closed on a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
YorkBoat, Guest Relations Manager at York Boat Trips (YorkBoat), responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5* star review, we will pass on your compliments to Stuart, we certainly are lucky to have such beauty and great architecture viewed from our cruises More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

250ml bottled Carlsberg from supermarket for over 3 pounds is poor.doesnt go far enough up river. Not really worth it tbh. Not bad on a sunny day. But 9.00 pounds c'mon now.plus a drink and ur talkin minimum of 30.00 pounds

Review collected in partnership with Windows 10 app

Helpful?
1 Thank michskinn
YorkBoat, Guest Relations Manager at York Boat Trips (YorkBoat), responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write a review, in an hour we cover the main aspects of the city from the northern outskirts up at Clifton, through the city all the way down to the millennium bridge, also we charge £2.20 for a 275 ml bottle of carlsberg More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The boat ride is up and down, it is much nicer to walk it. Weather was pouring rain and very cold. The advertisement said you would see sights that you can't see if you walked not true. If you have kids with you they will enjoy it. Otherwise it's quite boring.

Helpful?
Thank Maria R
YorkBoat, Guest Relations Manager at York Boat Trips (YorkBoat), responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write a review, it may be a much better cruise for you when the weather is much better More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I went on the evening cruise, it was wonderful. Some great views, interesting commentary, and lovely music. A very enjoyable evening and a lovely way to end my birthday!!

Helpful?
Thank Penny W
YorkBoat, Guest Relations Manager at York Boat Trips (YorkBoat), responded to this review

Many thanks for your 5* star review for our Evening Cruise, they are a great way to end the day whilst in York More 

Wootton Bassett, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very informative and well worth a visit? Guide pointed out all of the historical features and where to get best photos of the Minster

Helpful?
Thank Davy S
YorkBoat, Guest Relations Manager at York Boat Trips (YorkBoat), responded to this review

Thank you for taking a cruise with us, we certainly hope you can visit us again soon More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We all had a fab afternoon on this boat, we were served with afternoon tea and wine, the tables were decorated with table cloths and the different sandwiches and cake were delicious. The trip was smooth, we all thoroughly enjoyed it and would come back again. The downside was the very pleasant Captain who was narrating the journey was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jetlee56
YorkBoat, Guest Relations Manager at York Boat Trips (YorkBoat), responded to this review

Thank you for joining us on our new Afternoon Tea Cruise, it seems to be doing well, we will look into the skippers commentary and how it wasn't heard by anyone onboard More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

last time we had been ( for a day trip ) to York we went on a tour bus which had a recorded commentary and lost the personal touch this time is was a skipper talking live and although he must have done this numerous times a day did include a few wee funny line and gave a running commentary... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gilliane M
YorkBoat, Guest Relations Manager at York Boat Trips (YorkBoat), responded to this review

many thanks for the 5* review, we do like our live commentaries as things do change around York and our skippers can keep up to date More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We used the boat trip in July. It lasts for 45 minutes and we boarded at Lendal Bridge. It is a different experience of the city. We learned more and saw a little more of York than we knew already. It has both covered and uncovered seating, so can run in all weathers. It cost £20 for two adults and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
YorkBoat, Guest Relations Manager at York Boat Trips (YorkBoat), responded to this review

Many thanks for joining us for a cruise and taking the time to write a review, we hope you will join us again, have you tried booking your tickets online fora cheaper deal? More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time on the boats with my friends. However you do have to go prepared with cash, including the £30 deposit... I wouldn't say it was a bad price at £35 an hour, or £25 for half an hour, especially if there's quite a few of you going on the boat to spread the cost.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
YorkBoat, Guest Relations Manager at York Boat Trips (YorkBoat), responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Red Boats, they are a great way to skipper your own boat for either an hour or half an hour More 

Travelers who viewed York Boat Trips (YorkBoat) also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to York Boat Trips (YorkBoat)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of York Boat Trips (YorkBoat) and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Bedford, Texas
4 months ago
London, United Kingdom
4 days ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from York Boat Trips (YorkBoat) staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?