Castle Howard
Castle Howard
4.5
Historic SitesPoints of Interest & LandmarksArchitectural BuildingsCastles
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
Castle Howard is one of England's finest historic houses, set in a thousand acres of sweeping parkland dotted with statues, temples, lakes and fountains. Inside discover world-renowned collections gathered by succeeding generations of the Howard family. Built over 300 years ago, today it still remains a family home.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Castle Howard and nearby attractions

See what travelers are saying
  • Ti-the-axeman
    Coventry, United Kingdom11 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Well worth a visit.
    Everyone was really helpful and friendly. We were given as much time as we wanted in the house. The digital tour (bring earphones) was great. The owner himself narrates the guided tour which was a nice touch. Informative yet concise. The house itself has a fascinating history, the time it took to build, the people who lived here and even the fires it suffered. The grounds, walled gardens and outdoor attractions alone made it a great day out. All credit to the owners for keeping such an interesting part of our history alive. Best to book online as there is sometimes a discount.
    Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience and your visit to Castle Howard and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks, Team Castle Howard
    Written July 17, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written May 28, 2023
  • Dharshika M
    York, United Kingdom21 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lovely day out
    A lovely family day out . We enjoyed visiting the house and guides were so helpful . Highlight has to be Peter on the piano who really lifts the atmosphere . All the other guides were so helpful and informative too . The woods , adventure play area were lovely too !!
    Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience and your visit to Castle Howard and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks, Team Castle Howard
    Written July 17, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written May 28, 2023
  • david s
    Fareham, United Kingdom7 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Day visit to Castle Howard
    Day visit to the castle. Well staffed by enthusiastic and knowledgable staff. The gardens were beautiful as was the building. The interior was impressive and artifacts were on display. There was no restriction on photography. The former staff quarters now the cafe,was pleasant and food and drink was available at a modest price. The whole experience was good value for money.
    Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience and your visit to Castle Howard and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks, Team Castle Howard
    Written July 17, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written May 30, 2023
  • Kevin S
    Pontypridd, United Kingdom6,523 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    You can easily spend many hours here.
    An impressive building with multiple lavishly decorated rooms in keeping with different historic periods. Fans of Dowton Abbey will recognise many features, for myself unfamiliar with the TV programme each room was a surprise. Photographs hardly do it justice, and certainly not the main hall with the castles signature domed ceiling, beautiful. The entrance fee seems expensive but combined with acres of open gardens to walk around dotted with follies such as the Temple of the Four Winds and the walled garden you can easily spend many hours here.
    Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience and your visit to Castle Howard and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks, Team Castle Howard
    Written July 17, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written June 1, 2023
  • julesandkarl2018
    Wells, United Kingdom220 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Almost perfect
    First of all, the gardens alone are worth the admission fee, they are absolutely wonderful. Certainly one of the best watee features I've ever seen and the walled garden is superb! The house, however, although full of treasures, I felt only a handful of rooms were presented. The gardens and house is just short of £30 and I'm not sure the house was such great value. The cafe in the house delivered a small selection of food but this, to be honest, was not the best quality and it was a LOT of money. Finally, the toilets in the courtyard (by the cafe) are some of the worst I've seen in a stately home / NT property etc.
    Thank you very much for your comments and notes about your day. We're delighted you enjoyed our Gardens, and we're sorry that you were disappointed with parts of your visit. We appreciate your generous feedback. We'd like to hear more about your visit so we can address some of the issues you raise - you can email us at feedback@castlehoward.co.uk We really hope to see you again in the future. With thanks, Team Castle Howard
    Written July 17, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written June 8, 2023
  • ene4620
    Exeter, United Kingdom185 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful place to spend a day.
    We visited this beautiful estate whilst holidaying in North Yorkshire and would highly recommend a visit. Due to the fact we have a dog we did not go into the house but spent many hours in the beautiful gardens! The walled garden is amazing with its statues and fountains. There is a nice cafe overlooking one of the lakes. Plenty of seats to relax surrounded by beautiful lawns and woodlands.
    Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience and your visit to Castle Howard and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks, Team Castle Howard
    Written July 17, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled as a couple
    Written June 22, 2023
  • Monty Col
    Stonehaven, United Kingdom115 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great day out
    Great day out the kids and our first time in 9yrs, so was nice not to have to have a buggy and sadly not our dog with us. Entrance price is good, house is always good with very polite and knowledgeable staff on hand. Tractor/trailer around is brilliant especially when legs get tidy, gardeners were very polite and extremely helpful. Love the new play area and bridge but was disappointed that the food selection at the lake was very limited and that the main restaurant didn’t sell some of the amazing pies, scotch eggs or meringues that they sell in the shop. Overall a good day out
    Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience and your visit to Castle Howard and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks, Team Castle Howard
    Written July 24, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with family
    Written July 17, 2023
  • Colleen R
    Seattle, Washington9 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A Peaceful Day!
    During my first solo overseas trip, I stayed in York and was able to pre-book a taxi from York to Castle Howard. I spent half a day there and wished I had stayed longer. I started off eating lunch in the café where the food was delicious. Then I enjoyed a relaxing stroll through the gardens. The gardens are beautiful, quiet, and peaceful. I sat and enjoyed the view of Castle Howard from the water fountain and later enjoyed a walk around the pond. At the end of my trip, I enjoyed a detailed tour of Castle Howard with a tour guide. The tour guide clearly communicated his in-depth understanding of the history of Castle Howard. I learned so much. Unfortunately, I had to leave the tour early as my taxi had arrived. I highly recommend taking a tour. I hope to visit again.
    Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience and your visit to Castle Howard and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks, Team Castle Howard
    Written July 24, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Written July 17, 2023
  • Barrie H
    Swaffham, United Kingdom81 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Lovely house
    Great looking pile famous for being used in many films and TV programmes. You enter via the stables where there is a tea rooms serving fabulous scones with Strawberry jam and cream delight. The interior of the house is more than impressive with paintings and antique furniture.
    Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience and your visit to Castle Howard and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks, Team Castle Howard
    Written July 24, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2022
    Traveled as a couple
    Written July 21, 2023
  • EmmaS1801
    117 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ the staff are a credit to the Howard family.
    I took my mum to Castle Howard for the day and we had a fabulous time. First of all, the staff are a credit to the Howard family. They are welcoming, friendly and knowledgable. Every member of staff we came across greeted us even if we were just walking past. Grace at the boathouse was lovely too. If the boat trips are running it's well with a trip across the lake. We've had the best day. It's well worth a visit.
    Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience and your visit to Castle Howard and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks, Team Castle Howard
    Written July 31, 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Traveled with friends
    Written July 26, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as wait time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles3,952 reviews
Excellent
2,318
Very good
928
Average
382
Poor
197
Terrible
128

Cheesey1000
Caister-on-Sea, UK232 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Couples
As we were in the area on our holidays
We thought we would have a day at castle howard booked tickets on line no concessions for seniors but paid the full price of £22 each, total £44.
We parked up and thought this looks good but after a tour through the house which did not take long we came down to earth not much to see in main house gardens are very sparse except atlas fountain. Its a nice few hours out but not worth £44 at all i understand they have to maintain this wonderful building but, paying this price one would expect more. Some national trust places are just as grand but charge less for more. We went to Beamish today by far better value for money
Written August 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

vfoulser
York, UK18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Family
We go to Castle Howard most weekends as we are Silver Members and so can enter house and gardens for free each time. If you are local this is the best way but for the occasional visitors, the entrance fee is worth it.
The garden centre and cafe and most shops are free.
You can have hot food, snacks as well as tea, coffee etc, Shops sell a complete range of food.
The decoration of the house at Christmas was magnificent and now we are looking forward to walks in the woods every weekend.
The lakes are beautiful and adventure playground for children
Written January 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoy being Friends of Castle Howard and that you're using your membership regularly. Thank you for the feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again at the weekend. Best wishes
Written January 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TerSag
Bury St. Edmunds, UK983 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 • Couples
This is about the Castle Howard Butchers ... visit and behold the wonder of freshly prepared and locally sourced produce. The two gentlemen behind the counter, ready to advise about the best cut, the best cooking and the best serving. It’s more expensive than your average supermarket, but quality costs and I know that our 6lbs of sausages will deliver the best tasting breakfast.
Written February 14, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Farm Shop and we will be sure to pass on your feedback to our butchers. We hope you enjoyed the sausages! Thank you again for your lovely feedback.
Written February 18, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Charlotte W
York, UK52 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Solo
Disappointed as an annual gold member. I browsed the website for any events and when I saw the stately superstitions I was enticed by the idea. I went to book and I was surprised even as a member it was £21 each, nevertheless I went ahead to book it hoping for something completely different.

The first notes to make is the tour started 20 minutes late, they took us all to start the event by stating it had been cancelled as the tour guide was unwell, a bitter joke given such a long delay.

Advertised as "Flickers of light, footsteps, and the unexpected sounds of a servant’s bell can pierce the silent eeriness of these spaces" the lights were turned off in one of the cellar rooms and a man dressed as a clown came out but with 30 people in a crowd it only really impacted one family the rest of us stood unfazed and by this part of the tour quite bored. Later in the tour one of the guides took his phone out and played a song from it again not really what I expected… the tinny sound effects from someone's phone.

The tour was meant to "lead you through these ghostly cellars, dark passages, and fire-damaged rooms" I was really hoping to enjoy this part of the tour however the atmosphere again ruined by the lack of decor or authentic feel. The rooms and corridors were cramped with building materials, old kitchen appliances and chairs from events. It really ruined the feel of it especially with such a large group of 30 people avoiding these obstacles. I was expecting an experience with some jump scares and some interesting facts, but the whole thing felt a bit of a joke, there was no sudden nosies, there was a doll which a guide pressed to make a crying noise and the singular clown.

Very disappointing for the price charged should have at the least been included in the membership as it was clear with no spooky decor or anything that no money had been put into this event.

After the event I went to the cafe to redeem my "food package" I pre paid for within the entry price. I asked if the drinks were included in the price to the gentleman serving the hot dogs and got an abrupt "no". Another lady was surprised by this as we thought we had seen this included. Upon returning home and having internet I had check this and the food package stated "This ticket type includes a Ghoulishly Gourmet Hotdog + Drink (Vegan alternative available)" an additional £5 spend on something that should have been included.

Upon trying to leave the event we went to to leave through the door in which we arrived, it was shut and dark, we tried to find alternative ways out and shortly a staff member unlocked the doors and came out and allowed us back through. If it was an emergency exit it should have never been closed off with no signage to get out.
Written October 23, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with our Halloween event this year. This is the first year that we have run Halloween events in this format, and we work closely with the writer and creative to ensure our experiences are consistently unique and high quality. One of the big draws of the tour was the chance to see parts of Castle Howard not accessible to the public. Historical content is woven into the narrative of the event, in the hope that we can give visitors a bit more of an understanding of some of the spaces visited as part of the experience. These include service areas, and areas that were significantly damaged by fire and we do hope that you enjoyed the rare opportunity to see these spaces. As we are not an attraction dedicated to scare experiences, we wanted to ensure we delivered an event that kept the nature of Castle Howard while making the most of the eerie atmosphere of the building. We have received positive feedback regarding the format of this event but we apologise if you felt your experience in this instance did not meet expectations. We were aware of some traffic issues on the roads on the night of your visit, so we did allow some guests to join a later tour – to avoid disappointment. We are sorry to hear that you weren't offered your hotdog which you were entitled to with your ticket. Please email: mcollier@castlehoward.co.uk with your name and date/time of your visit so we can investigate this further. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we take into consideration all feedback when developing our events and experiences. Thank you, Team Castle Howard
Written October 24, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

john r
12 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 • Couples
Just visited the .narnia Christmas experience.
Very good but BEWARE ON PARKING CHARGES.
we pre booked on the Web site are we're advised limited numbers and paid £5 parking.
When we entered reception I asked price to enter and parking cost. Apparently no parking charge if your a walk up chap said he thought it was wrong but nothing he could do.
Waited for my partner to arrive and when to another window . Girl was adamant £5 parking even though chap at next window just paid walking entrance price as we were talking.
Anyway spoke to duty manage who stated with same payment story that everyone must pay and she would speak to staff about not charging and they should. Even though on Web site and price list at entrance no parking charged are mentioned.
I stressed this was wrong as pre booking is penalised.
I recieved a £5 to use in shop
Written November 19, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello John, All 'Christmas in Narnia' guests are charged for parking due to additional trackway, lighting, safety barriers and staff members. Your car parking ticket will have been scanned upon entry to the ticket office, with your admission to the House. If you are a staff member, member with us or have a disabled badge, car parking remains free. If any 'Christmas in Narnia' guests have not purchased car parking through See Tickets, they are now charged upon arrival at the Ticket Office. Thank you, Team Castle Howard.
Written December 10, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lisa r
127 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 • Family
We visited today and enjoyed Into the Woods, even the teenagers enjoyed it which is no easy feat. There was plenty to see and the house was well presented. I personally enjoyed this year more than last year. The only reason I marked this down by one is yet again the car parking. While I understand the need for extra lighting and matting it did feel like we were penalised for spending more money. Had we chosen to only visited the gardens, cafe and garden centre we wouldn’t have had to pay for parking (we visited all of those and spent additional money in them all) but because we added the house we had to pay for parking. Given that we had spent £113.92 on admission (which included the £6.92 booking fee which was added on top of the ticket fee), then a further £42 in the cafe and £12 in the shop to then charge another £5 for parking seemed to be taking advantage of visitors. Having said that I would still recommend a visit but just be aware of the compulsory parking fee which isn’t charged if you aren’t visiting the house.
Written November 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience and your visit to Castle Howard and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. We charge for car parking for our Christmas events because we invest in more infrastructure due to of the scale of the event. We add trackway to the overflow car park, install tower lights and appoint staff to manage the car park. The £5 charge per car helps to cover these costs. Thanks, Team Castle Howard
Written December 5, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hollymia91
Scunthorpe, UK15 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 • Family
I have to say I am so incredibly disappointed in Castle Howard this year. It is such a shame as the actual Christmas house display is lovely, but the rest of the organisation, cafe, and customer care (with the exception of one lady in the gift shop) was absolutely abysmal.

Firstly, the cafe as they call it is an absolute joke. It’s more of a canteen with limited, ridiculously overpriced food options. The fact that they are using paper plates, cups, wooden cutlery is an absolute sham as they are just throwing it all one big bag for landfill? If your going to use eco friendly catering options, why then put them in a plastic bag for landfill. The most obvious solution to this would be to serve the food on actual crockery, which would have been nice, seen as it was £6 for half a bread roll and soup in a paper cup!!
The coffee was cold, and the hot chocolate was undrinkable. It cost £39 for three hot drinks, 3 pieces of cake, two soups in a paper cup & a Turkey roll - the price would have been more bearable if you weren’t self service on pop up tables.

The house is beautiful, and the train service which they offer from the entrance to the house is great, especially for my disabled grandma, only problem being the train stops running at 3pm which they fail to tell you on entry. This meant a long walk back in gale force winds & rain for many of the older guests the castle attracts. We even had to provide lifts back to the Carpark in our car, for other guests who arrived on a bus trip, but who couldn’t make the walk back to the entrance.

The staff in the house had no idea what to do with people, there was no organisation and no clear sign posts for entrance or exits, causing chaos with people trying to get in & out.

It’s such a shame, as this has the potential to be a lovely festive day out, but it has been left down this year & in all honesty, we won’t be rushing back.
Written December 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Holly, We sincerely apologise that you have had a disappointing trip to Castle Howard. Our aim is always to create an enjoyable, magical, and safe event for all visitors. We would like to address a few of your comments on here, please: Christmas Marquee: Although the paper cutlery is disposed into a bin, this is then separated into items that can be recycled by our waste disposal team. Due to the quantity of customers visiting us at this time of year and the COVID-19 pandemic, we have opted to not use crockery and instead implement recyclable alternatives. I will certainly pass on your comments regarding the quality of the food you consumed to our Catering Manager. House: We are pleased to hear you enjoyed ‘Christmas in Narnia’ and the Kelly Car offering. It is stated on our website that the Kelly Car is running on a limited schedule and finishes prior to House closure on some dates. This is due to a staff shortage. Staff: We have taken on additional staff in the run up to Christmas but are still experiencing a staff shortage. This is due to the pandemic and is not dissimilar to other organisations within the Hospitality industry. Our new staff members have been trained and are working incredibly hard, to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience at 'Christmas in Narnia'. If you’d like to follow up your complaint formally with our House team, you can do so via house@castlehoward.co.uk. Thank you, Team Castle Howard.
Written December 10, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

R Giansanti
Staffordshire, UK26,305 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
Castle Howard is all decked out in a Venetian Christmas theme. There are many Italian ornaments, beautiful carnivale costumes on display, and decorated rooms.

From the entry point, to the castle is a decent walk. There is a train service provided for those who might have difficulties walking that far. The gardens are pretty barren right now but there are some lovely walks around the yard.

English Heritage members get £1 off when they show their cards. The adult entry fee is £20. Parking is free.
Written January 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback following your visit to us at Christmas time, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Best wishes
Written January 7, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SLF
Salisbury, UK164 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022
I had been looking forward to visiting Castle Howard for literally years and finally had the chance. We had a stressful journey and arrived at the entrance (lovely staff) at 12.45 to find out that the house closed at 3, I thought we’d be pushed to do it. Needing a cooked lunch we hurried into the cafe in the house and chose gammon and chips which was only just lukewarm, not great value. We also went without a much needed coffee as there was only one staff member to do both and we didn’t have time to wait. We then entered the house and were pretty much ignored by the first two house stewards so we learned little about the entrance and hall. We subsequently met a couple of really friendly and knowledgeable volunteers which made such a difference and we were really grateful to spend time with them. Sadly there are so few rooms open to the public that the house tour doesn’t last long. At £25 I felt that there would be more on show. There are three rooms of display panels and costumes but we came to see interiors not to read panels. Outside the grounds were lovely and we had a good walk. I just loved the walled garden which boosted my spirits. Sadly I would recommend that people just pay for a garden ticket or choose another of the country’s magnificent houses if you want to see interiors.
Written June 29, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, Thank you for your feedback about your visit to Castle Howard. We are sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectations in some areas and would like to take the opportunity to address some of your comments: Early house closure: Due to the Senbla concert series at Castle Howard, the House and Gardens did close early to accommodate for this. We advertised this through our social media channels and on our website but apologise if this information was missed. An early closure is not a regular occurrence for us at Castle Howard and only happens when major events take place. Rooms: The first four bedrooms of the visitor route are closed due to restoration works occurring. As Castle Howard remains a family home and continues to evolve over time, restoration is vital to ensure that this home can be preserved for future families and visitors to enjoy. To thank visitors for their support during this period of restoration, we have provided a complimentary guidebook and Nick Howard has opened up his office as a room to view. Exhibitions: There are two exhibitions currently on display, which includes the 1940 fire and Castle Howard On Screen: From Brideshead to Bridgerton. The fire exhibition and unfurnished rooms aim to provide our visitors with insight into what happened on the 9th November 1940 and a view of the damage that still remains and needs restoring. Conservation is ongoing at Castle Howard and we are extremely grateful to visitors who contribute to restoring the House and Estate through their admission and spend in our retail outlets. The fire of Castle Howard is a rich part of its history and a story we would like to tell our visitors. The Castle Howard On Screen exhibition aims to showcase and celebrate the films and TV shows which have taken place here and how these productions benefit the restoration of Stately Homes. We are very grateful for your feedback and will use it to improve the experience for future visitors. If you have any other comments to add, you can do so via our Post Visit Survey on the following link: https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/H3PJRZW Thank you, Team Castle Howard.
Written August 9, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vegpledge
Cheshire, UK179 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 • Family
The house itself is closed which is understandable and we also appreciate why they need to keep parts open. They just don’t seem to have organised it very well.
There is no transport at all internally. I can’t see why they could not have organised something, it is a big old site and there is a fairly steep hill down to the boathouse and Skelf Island. It would not be hard to have an open sided shuttle pulled by a tractor to be sanitised at each end. We went with my parents for whom it was a long way.
The food offer in the courtyard is more or less a coffee shop. Why not set up some stalls in the courtyard itself? There is pizza down at the boathouse which contrived to be both burnt and raw. Also very expensive for what it is.
But the worst bit of unthoughtaboutery is the boathouse cafe itself where the people who just want to grab and go ready made stuff have to queue with those who want teas and toasties and other made to order stuff. It took 20 mins to get a ready made sandwich and a couple of cans of coke.
It would be really easy to have separate queues if they stuck the bespoke ordering point outside.
The farm shop asks people to go in alone while they shop for essentials but, let’s face it, nothing in there is essential. That said, the produce is very good.
Kids said the playground was good but we’ll wait until it is all fully open before going back.
Cracking view from the front of the house out over the lake though, imagine waking up to that.
Written April 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 3,811
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Castle Howard - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024)

All York HotelsYork Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in York
All things to do in York
Amusement Parks in York
RestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars